Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully Done!
I have played Castlevania LOS for both the PS3 and Xbox 360 and can say hands-down that this is the best version. From its stunning vistas to its wildly engrossing story its hard to find fault with this game. As you may see online many people are complaining about the default keyboard and mouse control scheme (Much like the DMC PC ports), however this scheme is fully...
Published 16 months ago by Cheme116

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars i enjoyed this game very much shows how improved the sequel is
I find this game has a good story but it had a lot of boring moments. I played it when ot came to 360 but i remember rushing thru it. I like this games combat, graphics, and story. Its just sometimes platforming is a little boring, but it is a good game. I played this before the sequel, i purchased both on sale. I prefer the sequel to this one even though the sequel didnt...
Published 5 months ago by allen


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully Done!, August 31, 2013
This review is from: Castlevania: Lords of Shadow - Ultimate Edition [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
I have played Castlevania LOS for both the PS3 and Xbox 360 and can say hands-down that this is the best version. From its stunning vistas to its wildly engrossing story its hard to find fault with this game. As you may see online many people are complaining about the default keyboard and mouse control scheme (Much like the DMC PC ports), however this scheme is fully customizable and allows for a large range of control despite what people say. If the keyboard and mouse does not suit your taste, the game comes standard with full controller support! Not only does this version come with the graphics expected from a PC game but it also is packed with all the DLC that has come out over the past 2 years which sets fans up for LOS2 coming this February. Overall, this is a fantastic game and if you can get over the fact that it "does follow the metriodvania" formula, you will have one hell of a time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for Castlevania Fans, and God of War fans., November 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Castlevania: Lords of Shadow - Ultimate Edition [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
Lords of Shadow is a fun game, but it suffers from a few flaws.

- Combat is less than stellar. Most encounters can be solved with the same combo, and most of the unlockable skills aren't useful at all.
- Combat in the air is even worse; virtually every enemy has a special attack to knock you down, making it a pain in the ass to fight while jumping.
- Combat, above all, feels like someone played God of War but didn't quite get what made it fun.

The scenery is brilliant all the way through. There's some backtracking for items, but nothing is truly hidden in a way that it's impossible to find as an observant player. My gripe with the graphics is, again, a comparison to God of War; entering new areas, the game will often wrest control of the camera from you to pan over the temple/fores/castle whatever. In God of War, often the dramatic pan is done while you're in full control, allowing you to experience it rather than watch a cutscene about it. This wouldn't be a huge problem, except there's always a couple of seconds delay before you can move again after focus returns to your character.

Also, Chupacabras are annoying as s***.

The Ultimate Edition includes the DLC packs, which is good, except for one thing. The first DLC pack is more of the "puzzle" pack, and includes more plot. The second DLC pack is the "combat" pack, and suffers from all of the flaws of combat magnified; especially given that the boss requires combat in the air for much of the later fight.

As a reboot of the franchise, the game is interesting. The plotline is quite enticing, and makes me look forward to the next game in the series. Unfortunately, Lords of Shadow simply doesn't have that Castlevania feel; no doubt in part because of the modular nature of disconnected levels and the lack of a single massive castle to explore at your leisure. It really feels more like a decent God of War clone than anything else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful game, October 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Castlevania: Lords of Shadow - Ultimate Edition [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
It's a really gorgeous and well performing game. My only complaint would be the absence of any POV/Camera control. You're stuck with viewing the game in a very exact way as set by the devs. It's not that big of a deal once your settle in to the game but it is a bit frustrating at first when you try to change the view and can't. Still worthy of 5 stars though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very fun game!, November 25, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Castlevania: Lords of Shadow - Ultimate Edition [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
This game was a gift for my girlfriend as I knew she's been wanting this game for a while now. She gives this game a 4/5 stars and explains that it is a very fun-filled game from what she's played so far but, is also very linear and you can't really explore the areas which would have been the fifth star because exploring always adds that extra bit of fun in games! The graphics and soundtrack to the game were also pretty good. If you plan on buying this game, I hope you enjoy it! ;D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great game, Decent Port. Fantastic Voice acting., November 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Castlevania: Lords of Shadow - Ultimate Edition [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
Fantastic game. This is a pretty straight forward port to PC, that is redeemable on Steam. It comes with all DLC. It has 1080 support and a few other options. The game truly shines in narrative and story line. Patrick Stewart helps make this game come to life with his style of story telling. The combat could have used a bit of more variation but it does not draw from the actual experience. All in all I would recommend this to any action game fan but not necessarily to people who are obsessed with the older Castlevanias.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good story line, October 24, 2013
This review is from: Castlevania: Lords of Shadow - Ultimate Edition [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
I have always loved the castlevania games! This game was really good and had very beautiful visuals.

The gameplay and camera angles were not the best. There was some moments where I just wanted to give up and quit the game! Overall it was a pretty good game but there were many pieces that seemed rushed or not properly tested. I can't wait for the next installments to be ported over to STEAM. I wish they would have expanded more on Gabriels story, primarily his origins and how he meet Marie, as opposed to the end.

The forgotten one should have stayed forgotten! He was such a pain to defeat! especially with cheap controls! Mind you i'm playing with an xbox controller, the camera angels and function was just terrible! Very frustrating! Can't wait for the next one though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Castlevania Ever!!!, September 29, 2013
By 
J. Lang (Long Beach, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Castlevania: Lords of Shadow - Ultimate Edition [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
This is without a doubt the best Castlevania game ever made. The story and voice acting are top notch. With that being said this is not a child's game, is definetly rated M for a reason. The graphics are amazing which allows for amazing visuals, fluid combat and awsome violence when killing demons. Also, the weapons and the upgrades are awesome, you will love this game. Finally, they are going to be making Lords of Shadow II, judging how good this game is, I will probably get that as well. Get it you won't be disappointed. Purchase it on Amazon, activate the Key on Steam and download it. (Best way to get it.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars i enjoyed this game very much shows how improved the sequel is, July 21, 2014
By 
allen (Columbus, ohio) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Castlevania: Lords of Shadow - Ultimate Edition [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
I find this game has a good story but it had a lot of boring moments. I played it when ot came to 360 but i remember rushing thru it. I like this games combat, graphics, and story. Its just sometimes platforming is a little boring, but it is a good game. I played this before the sequel, i purchased both on sale. I prefer the sequel to this one even though the sequel didnt get good reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars underrated game, June 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Castlevania: Lords of Shadow - Ultimate Edition [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
This game is way better than what some people are saying in the reviews. My biggest complant is the fixed camera but there is only like 2 times throughout the whole game that it kida sucks the rest of them time you barley even notice because the camera angle is perfect for the action. The best work is the voice acting and contary to what some say on here it has a really good story too, just remember this is a reboot (telling of the original story) so its different. All in all I would highly recommend this game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good on ya!, June 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Castlevania: Lords of Shadow - Ultimate Edition [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
Liked it alot! :D
spent hours playing it just for the storyline... then realized that there's more to it... i wanna get it all to 110% finding ways to create "combo" hits and all.... then moved to trials love it! if there's going to be any complain... it'll be great to have a training room for combos :D besides that... gotta love the story and the twist for the ultimate edition :D the true reason of what makes Gabriel Belmont into what we all known as Dracula :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.