Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Castlevania: Lords of Shadow - Ultimate Edition [Online Game Code]
Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Songs of Summer Explore Premium Audio Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Segway miniPro STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 31, 2013
I have played Castlevania LOS for both the PS3 and Xbox 360 and can say hands-down that this is the best version. From its stunning vistas to its wildly engrossing story its hard to find fault with this game. As you may see online many people are complaining about the default keyboard and mouse control scheme (Much like the DMC PC ports), however this scheme is fully customizable and allows for a large range of control despite what people say. If the keyboard and mouse does not suit your taste, the game comes standard with full controller support! Not only does this version come with the graphics expected from a PC game but it also is packed with all the DLC that has come out over the past 2 years which sets fans up for LOS2 coming this February. Overall, this is a fantastic game and if you can get over the fact that it "does follow the metriodvania" formula, you will have one hell of a time!
22 comments|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 28, 2013
Lords of Shadow is a fun game, but it suffers from a few flaws.

- Combat is less than stellar. Most encounters can be solved with the same combo, and most of the unlockable skills aren't useful at all.
- Combat in the air is even worse; virtually every enemy has a special attack to knock you down, making it a pain in the ass to fight while jumping.
- Combat, above all, feels like someone played God of War but didn't quite get what made it fun.

The scenery is brilliant all the way through. There's some backtracking for items, but nothing is truly hidden in a way that it's impossible to find as an observant player. My gripe with the graphics is, again, a comparison to God of War; entering new areas, the game will often wrest control of the camera from you to pan over the temple/fores/castle whatever. In God of War, often the dramatic pan is done while you're in full control, allowing you to experience it rather than watch a cutscene about it. This wouldn't be a huge problem, except there's always a couple of seconds delay before you can move again after focus returns to your character.

Also, Chupacabras are annoying as s***.

The Ultimate Edition includes the DLC packs, which is good, except for one thing. The first DLC pack is more of the "puzzle" pack, and includes more plot. The second DLC pack is the "combat" pack, and suffers from all of the flaws of combat magnified; especially given that the boss requires combat in the air for much of the later fight.

As a reboot of the franchise, the game is interesting. The plotline is quite enticing, and makes me look forward to the next game in the series. Unfortunately, Lords of Shadow simply doesn't have that Castlevania feel; no doubt in part because of the modular nature of disconnected levels and the lack of a single massive castle to explore at your leisure. It really feels more like a decent God of War clone than anything else.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 25, 2013
It's a really gorgeous and well performing game. My only complaint would be the absence of any POV/Camera control. You're stuck with viewing the game in a very exact way as set by the devs. It's not that big of a deal once your settle in to the game but it is a bit frustrating at first when you try to change the view and can't. Still worthy of 5 stars though.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 21, 2014
I find this game has a good story but it had a lot of boring moments. I played it when ot came to 360 but i remember rushing thru it. I like this games combat, graphics, and story. Its just sometimes platforming is a little boring, but it is a good game. I played this before the sequel, i purchased both on sale. I prefer the sequel to this one even though the sequel didnt get good reviews.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 25, 2013
This game was a gift for my girlfriend as I knew she's been wanting this game for a while now. She gives this game a 4/5 stars and explains that it is a very fun-filled game from what she's played so far but, is also very linear and you can't really explore the areas which would have been the fifth star because exploring always adds that extra bit of fun in games! The graphics and soundtrack to the game were also pretty good. If you plan on buying this game, I hope you enjoy it! ;D
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 26, 2013
A different take on the Castlevania mythos. Instead of relying on the old monster movie mash-up, they decided to take what what was already in the franchise and see if they could use European mythology.

Combat is fairly God of War, however you'll find that using the more advanced moves can make combat easier. You can use the same combo in combat but it's not nearly as cool to watch and takes longer.

The art direction is pretty amazing at times, it takes a bit for it to really kick in, once you're in vampire (bat) country the acid kicks in and the art really shines.

The music is very well done, you won't really hear old themes from the series.

Overall if you enjoy action games like God of War (which has combat based off of the 3D Castlevanias) and don't mind a different take on the franchise, give it a chance. The extra levels (Reveire and Resurrection) are a bit of a mess, but do help set up the epilogue seen after you beat the last boss.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 19, 2013
Great game that really shows what this game should look like. As more and more games release on PC, I'm happy to push my PC's power to play these games that are often better than the console counterpart. Mercurysteam did a great job on this game and the PC port. Well worth a playthrough if you like Castlevania and God of War.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 6, 2015
I read several recommendations, but I barely got into the second major level before I just stopped playing. After thoroughly enjoying and replaying SOTN many times I had high hopes, and maybe that's why I was so disappointed. It felt more like I was directing a film than actually playing a game. The whole time I was being told exactly what to do to progress to the next stage, and even exactly when to do it. There just wasn't much of game to play here...
22 comments|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 4, 2013
Fantastic game. This is a pretty straight forward port to PC, that is redeemable on Steam. It comes with all DLC. It has 1080 support and a few other options. The game truly shines in narrative and story line. Patrick Stewart helps make this game come to life with his style of story telling. The combat could have used a bit of more variation but it does not draw from the actual experience. All in all I would recommend this to any action game fan but not necessarily to people who are obsessed with the older Castlevanias.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 29, 2013
This is without a doubt the best Castlevania game ever made. The story and voice acting are top notch. With that being said this is not a child's game, is definetly rated M for a reason. The graphics are amazing which allows for amazing visuals, fluid combat and awsome violence when killing demons. Also, the weapons and the upgrades are awesome, you will love this game. Finally, they are going to be making Lords of Shadow II, judging how good this game is, I will probably get that as well. Get it you won't be disappointed. Purchase it on Amazon, activate the Key on Steam and download it. (Best way to get it.)
33 comments|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See 1 answered question


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.