Customer Reviews


160 Reviews
5 star:
 (85)
4 star:
 (51)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cool Cat Style: Classic, Hand-Drawn Animation Enhances This Charming French Caper
From the famed French animation studio Folimage comes the charming animated treat "A Cat in Paris." This little film, filled with simple pleasures, was nominated for a 2012 Academy Award and just seems pleasingly different from the increasingly boisterous tone of most U.S. animation. It's a small movie, to be sure, without particularly lofty goals--but that's what I...
Published 18 months ago by K. Harris

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful tones and drawings
This is NOT a kid's movie, don't let a young child watch it because of the violent premise. The way the city is drawn and the palette of colors is just beautiful. The role of the cat is fun but there is a plot hole at the end. Pleasant evening.
Published 21 days ago by Beverly J. Leach


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cool Cat Style: Classic, Hand-Drawn Animation Enhances This Charming French Caper, October 5, 2012
From the famed French animation studio Folimage comes the charming animated treat "A Cat in Paris." This little film, filled with simple pleasures, was nominated for a 2012 Academy Award and just seems pleasingly different from the increasingly boisterous tone of most U.S. animation. It's a small movie, to be sure, without particularly lofty goals--but that's what I enjoyed about it. It's a flight of fancy, a bit of sophisticated escapism that you don't have to be anesthetized to enjoy with your older children. This is a real family film (not just a kiddie flick). As they enjoy the mischievous feline, you can relish in the Paris backdrop and fondly recall rooftop chases from "To Catch A Thief." This two-pack release has both the DVD and the Blu-ray feature and you may opt to see the film with its original subtitles or with the new soundtrack. For American distribution, Marcia Gay Harden, Anjelica Huston (with a fairly peculiar accent) and Matthew Modine headline the vocal talent.

In addition to the 62 minute feature (in both English and French), this release has a cute short film entitled "Extinction of the Saber-Toothed Housecat" (also rated PG) and "The Many Lives of A Cat" Video Flipbook.

Despite these extras, though, the real star is the main show! The furry critter in the leading role is living a double life. During the day, it's a domestic pet for a troubled young girl reeling from the violent murder of her father. During the night, it prowls the cityscape with a human cat burglar scoring exotic treasures. Harden voices the girl's mother and Huston is a new housekeeper. As Harden, a police inspector, closes in on the criminal ring that was responsible for her husband's death--the two worlds get pulled closer together. And as danger approaches, might our nighttime criminals actually take on the roles of unexpected heroes? I think it's a safe bet, but it's a pleasure to see how. One particularly memorable scene (in the dark) is done simply with crude line drawings and was my favorite moment in the whole movie.

"A Cat in Paris" may not be for the very young, but it is certainly for the young at heart. It just has a cool vibe. It looks great and it's a lot of fun. What more can I say? That's more than enough for me, even with the film's modest ambitions. KGHarris, 10/12.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best kids films this decade, September 30, 2012
------------------------------------------------------------
"A Cat In Paris"
(Folimage/New Arts, 2010/2012)
------------------------------------------------------------
A real gem from French animators Jean-Loup Felicioli and Alain Gagnol... This brilliant, stylish, wildly creative thriller has a look and feel unlike anything being produced in the United States these days. Visually the film is gorgeous: the graphic design is odd and angular, with purposeful nods to film noir's camera angles and use of darkness and shadows, along with a color palette that's filled with rich, unusual choices. The delicious graphics are complimented by a slinky spy-jazz score that feels alternately moody and retro.

Thematically, "A Cat In Paris" is practically an anti-Disney kids' movie: it's stylish and unpredictable; there is a dead parent, but it's the kid's dad, not her mother (who, rather than being dead is a strong, no-nonsense police detective... A great female role model, along with the movie's young heroine...) The story is intelligent and brisk, a refreshingly original plot about a clever cat who slips out at night to join a lithe, roguish burglar who likes stealing stuff just for the challenge but has a strong sense of right and wrong when it comes to taking care of little kids. Best of all it presents cats in a favorable light and makes fun of dogs instead. Like I said: the opposite of Disney.

Lots to love here: alt-oriented families who enjoy material that's fun but off the beaten track will definitely want to check this on out! (Joe Sixpack, ReadThatAgain children's media reviews)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sprighlty tale of cops and robbers, a cat, and a kid, February 12, 2012
This review is from: A Cat in Paris [Region 4] (DVD)
The style of animation is not one I especially appreciate. That's quickly forgotten though as I became absorbed in the sprightly tale of cops and robbers, life and death, a cat and a kid, all set to a vivacious score. There are some dark themes touched on but the story bounces along without dwelling in the dark places for long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cool Cat Style: Classic, Hand-Drawn Animation Enhances This Charming French Caper, October 9, 2012
From the famed French animation studio Folimage comes the charming animated treat "A Cat in Paris." This little film, filled with simple pleasures, was nominated for a 2012 Academy Award and just seems pleasingly different from the increasingly boisterous tone of most U.S. animation. It's a small movie, to be sure, without particularly lofty goals--but that's what I enjoyed about it. It's a flight of fancy, a bit of sophisticated escapism that you don't have to be anesthetized to enjoy with your older children. This is a real family film (not just a kiddie flick). As they enjoy the mischievous feline, you can relish in the Paris backdrop and fondly recall rooftop chases from "To Catch A Thief." This two-pack release has both the DVD and the Blu-ray feature and you may opt to see the film with its original subtitles or with the new soundtrack. For American distribution, Marcia Gay Harden, Anjelica Huston (with a fairly peculiar accent) and Matthew Modine headline the vocal talent.

Despite these celebrities, though, the real star is the main show! The furry critter in the leading role is living a double life. During the day, it's a domestic pet for a troubled young girl reeling from the violent murder of her father. During the night, it prowls the cityscape with a human cat burglar scoring exotic treasures. Harden voices the girl's mother and Huston is a new housekeeper. As Harden, a police inspector, closes in on the criminal ring that was responsible for her husband's death--the two worlds get pulled closer together. And as danger approaches, might our nighttime criminals actually take on the roles of unexpected heroes? I think it's a safe bet, but it's a pleasure to see how. One particularly memorable scene (in the dark) is done simply with crude line drawings and was my favorite moment in the whole movie.

"A Cat in Paris" may not be for the very young, but it is certainly for the young at heart. It just has a cool vibe. It looks great and it's a lot of fun. What more can I say? That's more than enough for me, even with the film's modest ambitions. KGHarris, 10/12.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Charming Film, October 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Cat in Paris (DVD)
My initial interest in A Cat in Paris came from an excellent review but I was also interested in seeing the film from my own interest in cats and that the film is hand-drawn animation. The story revolves around Dino, a cat that lives a double life. By day, he is the pet of ZoŽ and by night, he is the companion of a bugler, who appears to be as flexible as a cat. ZoŽ's mother, a somewhat neglectful parent, is a police inspector, seeking to capture a notorious criminal. The characters of the two stories soon join together when the criminals her mother is after endanger ZoŽ.

I enjoyed the animation. The colors are magnificent and the style of drawing was a refreshing change from the CG animation that is more often used for animated films. I must add that I got so caught up in the story that I didn't try to guess the cast members that were doing the voices, as I usually like to do. The DVD includes a short film called Extinction of the Saber-Toothed Housecat (a very tongue-in-cheek story) and The Many Lives of A Cat Video Flipbook. A Cat in Paris is a charming story, imaginatively drawn and boasts a marvelous jazzy soundtrack. A Cat in Paris is a wonderful film for the family that, I, for one will want to see again for the artistry of the animation and the fun of the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "COLORFUL, ENJOYABLE, ENTERTAINING!", July 26, 2012
I enjoy most animated movies, especially with colorful characters, and an exciting story. The introduction of a cat and a child, bad guys and the police, and who's running for their lives, or who is being chased. There's plenty of excitement with a theme of good-verses-bad. Fun-filled, Enjoyable, and Entertaining. Highly Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cute cat burglar!, March 30, 2013
By 
kjrt (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Cat in Paris (DVD)
I stumbled upon the trailer on iTunes and bought the dvd because I knew I would enjoy it...and I did!

I agree with previous reviewers that it's a nice breath of fresh air from your typical Disney/Pixar/Dreamworks fare today. The characters weren't designed to be licensed for toys or slapped on merchandise that would sit on store shelves; they were created simply for the sole purpose of telling the story. The overall visual look has a nice, loose quality to it and has a definitive drawing style (reminds me of a certain fine artist, but I can't put a finger on who exactly.) It's just refreshing to still see hand drawn animation these days as great as highly exacting, pixel perfect rendered 3D art is. The story is lighthearted, humorous, and has some interesting twists! I only watched the subtitled version so can't speak for how the english dubbing was.

I highly recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Engrossing animated feature, March 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Cat in Paris (DVD)
My eight-year-old daughter discovered this title at our public library and after watching it, we liked it so much we decided to get a copy for our home library. Dubbed in English, this 2010 French animated feature is pure delight from beginning till end. The story is a cops and robbers burglar story and the deft narrative devices and beautiful hand-drawn animation elevate it above a regular cartoon feature.

Set in Paris, the story centers around a young girl named Zoé (English dub by Lauren Weintraub) who lives with her widowed police commissair mother Jeanne (English dub by Marcia Gay Harden). Zoé's cat likes shadowing a burglar named Nico (English dub by Steven Blum) and when the cat gives Zoé a 'present' in the form of a bracelet, Jeanne realizes that the bracelet might be tied in to the spate of burglaries in the area. Jeanne and her team are on the trail of a notorious criminal named Victor Costa (English dub by JD Blanc) who was also responsible for Jeanne's husband's death.

The story moves on at a fast pace and kept our interest. The plot is engaging, peopled with interesting characters, both benign and sinister, and my daughter could not take her eyes off the screen. She loved Zoé's character as well as Nico, and though she was a little afraid during certain nail-biting parts, she enjoyed the movie immensely.

The feature runs at 62 minutes, in full color, and there are several bonus features:
"The Many Lives of a Cat" Video Flipbook
"Extinction of the Saber-Toothed Housecat" Bonus Short Film
Alternate Original French Audio Track with English Subtitles
U.S. Trailer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of fun, April 5, 2014
I was afraid that it would be in French with subtitles, but I didn't have any reason, it was all English.
This is a great little film, I loved all the characters especially Zoe. The animation was a pleasure to look at and it was a nice simple friendly story. The music and the general attitude was lighthearted and wholesome, I always had the feeling that the good guys would win in the end. With all that being said the movie had strength enough to pull me in and hold me so firmly that I almost shed a tear when Zoe found her voice and I did shed a tear when her new family came together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful tones and drawings, March 25, 2014
This is NOT a kid's movie, don't let a young child watch it because of the violent premise. The way the city is drawn and the palette of colors is just beautiful. The role of the cat is fun but there is a plot hole at the end. Pleasant evening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9dc66258)

This product

A Cat in Paris
A Cat in Paris by Alain Gagnol (DVD - 2012)
$29.95 $14.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.