Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
29
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$11.94+ $3.99 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 30, 2006
Ted Nugent achieved his long sought solo superstar status in 1977 on the release of his third album 'Cat Scratch Fever'. This record was a watershed moment for both Ted and 70's hard rock, but in some ways it signaled the beginning of Nugent's decline. His band would soon split, the band that created the triumverate of classic rock discs which included 'Fever'. The power struggle for unquestioned dominance of the band that bore his name was completed but at what cost? Ted would never again reach the heights of his mid to late 70's glory again. However in the mean time the current album included everything a Nugent fan wanted to hear. Balls out hard rock from a tight and powerful rock band? Check! "Sweet Sally", "Workin' Hard", Live it Up" and "Thousand Knives" fit the bill. Outrageous sexual inneundo? "Wang Dang Sweet Poontag", does that work for you! The return of a seriously good hard rock vocalist who perfectly complemented Ted's tirades? Derek St. Holmes was on hand for the entire recording after his conspicuous absence for much of 'Free-for-All' and for a very brief time the stars were in alignment. A monster hit single which became an undisputed anthem for this era? The title track of course which was all Ted would ever need to say again. Personal favorite besides "Fever" would be "Out of Control", the riff hits you like a sledgehammer and is probably the heaviest cut on the record. Buy Ted's first three and you have pretty much all you need from this icon of hard rock who let it slip away when he couldn't find replacement conspirators with the same magic after his original band took a walk.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 24, 2003
Cat Scratch Fever is a fantastic album and along with his self-titled debut are Ted Nugent's best solo albums. Although he was better known for his live shows, wicked guitar playing, and wildman image, Ted wrote some of the best hard rock songs of the late 70's and several of them are featured here.

The best known track here is the title track which is not only his most well known song but also contains one of the most recognizable riffs in rock. Tracks like "Wang Dang Sweet Poontang" and "Workin' Hard, Playin' Hard" are among his best and continue to be part of his live show. Like his self-titled debut, Derek St. Holmes sings many of the vocals here and his efforts on the underrated tracks "A Thousand Knives", "Live It Up", and "Fist Fightin' Son Of A Gun" are all outstanding. Ted's guitar work continues to be killer, particularly on "Death By Misadventure" and the instrumental "Homebound." The remaining studio tracks "Sweet Sally" and "Out Of Control" are also very good. There's not a bad monent to be found on this album. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 17, 2005
I'm from Brazil, and when visiting US in 1978 I saw Ted Nugent for the first time in Oakland, California, in the "Day On The Green" festival. I didn't know much about him by that time. Blue Oyster Cult, Cheap Trick, Journey and AC/DC played before Ted. They were ok, but when Ted Nugent started playing I said "WOW! This is rock'n'roll!" From that moment on I started buying his records. In my opinion Cat Scratch Fever is his best record. The album is real good, from the first to the last song. There you have high energy and the finest hard rock. The recording production is still very good in spite of being recorded almost 30 years ago (The drums could be a little louder and heavier, like John Bonham's, but it's ok). Well, all I got to say is that this cd has brought good feelings back to my mind, after all these years. Basically, that's why I rate it 5 stars.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2013
I was @ a record shop when I heard the "Cat Scratch Fever" album demonstrated a couple of times. I liked what I was hearing, so I thought "oh what the hell", I decided to buy THIS record. And plus, it was my 22nd birthday on August 20, 1977, so I thought I would treat myself. I have often gone to record shops & if I liked whatever THEY were playing, I would buy the record SOMETIMES, on the spot. In May of 2010, I bought this album in CD format, which incl., two Bonus tracks. I'm going to rate this album as follows:

1. "Cat Scratch Fever"...I like this song quite well...it's pretty good.

2. "Wang Dang Sweet Poontang"...This has a FASTEST beat on this entire album. It's a pretty decent song.

3. "Death By Misadventure"...If I remember right, this song tells about Brian Jones drowning in the summer of 1969. He had been a member of the Rolling Stones, before he died. I like THIS song quite well...the guitar work is real good.

4. "Live It Up"...This is probably the one of the BEST songs on this album. Great EVERYTHING about this Happy Go Lucky song. I just LOVE this & it's my TOP favorite that TIES w/ "Workin' Hard, Playin' Hard".

5. "Home Bound"...This is a STRONG instrumental, which is pretty damn good.

6. "Workin' Hard, Playin" Hard"...The meaning to this song is rather similar to "Live It Up". This is another Happy Go Lucky song. I LOVE this tune very much & it TIES w/ "Live It Up" as my TOP favorite song.

7. "Sweet Sally"...The shortest song on this album. This song is okay!

8. "A Thousand Knives"...This song is my 2nd TOP favorite on this album. This is as excellent... as EXCELLENT can get. One hell of a Dynamite song.

9. "Fist Fightin' Son Of A Gun"...I rate this song as only okay!

10. "Out Of Control"...This song is very good & I like it very much.

11. "Cat Scratch Fever"...(Live)

12. "Wang Dang Sweet Poontang"...(Live)

If one is a Ted Nugent fan, this album is definitely recommended. "Cat Scratch Fever" was the very FIRST album, that I ever bought, by Ted Nugent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 24, 2009
5 Stars = Masterpiece

Nuge hit his highest popularity mark with, "Cat Scratch Fever," the titular song all over the radio airwaves in 1977. On this album Ted shortened up his songs, & arguably toned down the over all heaviness that his former album, "Free for All," had in spades. That is not to say this album did not snarl & snap, for it did with sharp teeth, & Ted wrote some of his most catchy riffs & songs here, songs like, Wang Dang Sweet Poontang" who could forget the stuttering intro riff, let alone the chorus line. "Death by Misadventure," with it's howling leads & addictive riff & melody, &"Live it Up," more addictive riffs & melodies. "Homeward Bound," & its beautiful melodic lead guitar that starts the song,& works as the anchor for the melody, & "Workin' Hard Playin' Hard," yet another song with just an outstanding lead guitar that anchors the melody, great stuff here folks! "Sweet Sally," just another catchy riff laden song that I'll take to the grave. "A Thousand Knives," just a killer song that's filled with great melodic lead guitar! "Fist Fightin' Son of a Gun," another song of many from this album that just won't stop playing on that little radio station inside my brain. Lastly, "Out of Control," just Ted doing what he does best, Rock n' Roll!

One thing that also brings this album up to the legendary status it enjoys is the voice of rhythm guitarist & vocalist Derek St. Holmes, his voice so perfectly suited to these songs, like strings on a guitar; I could not imagine this album, or the two that came before it with out him. St. Holmes is the signature voice here, to bad Ted & Derek parted ways, a shame.

"Cat Scratch Fever" is the last iconic album to come from the Nuge, though in 2002, Ted would come back with 16 inch teeth & fire shooting eyes with his heaviest album by far, the monster that is called "Craveman!"
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2013
TED NUGENT-CAT SCRATCH FEVER: The public at large only knows guitar guru TED NUGENT for that hit ode to communicable disease CAT SCRATCH FEVER (his lone Top 40 single, discounting JOURNEY TO THE CENTRE OF THE MIND from his AMBOY DUKES years)...which is a shame, because Guitarzan unleashes one of his most consistently enjoyable albums here, deftly avoiding the mediocore material that bogged down some of his later efforts. One of TED's secret weapons is arena-ready belter DEREK ST. HOLMES, who sings searing lead on the majority of tracks including WORKIN' HARD PLAYIN' HARD and LIVE IT UP, a smart counterpart to TED's more limited gravelly screech on the title hit and WANG DANG SWEET POONTANG. Throughout the frantically paced free-for-all, UNCLE TED's in your face licks on OUT OF CONTROL, SWEET SALLY and the smokin' instrumental HOMEBOUND are always the real star of the show anyway, making CAT SCRATCH FEVER the perfect showcase for the Motor City Madman's aggressive, outrageous hard rock theatrics.

RATING: FIVE CLAWS
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 7, 2011
Within 2 years Nugent had become a top concert draw. The 70s was all about big stadium rockers, partying, getting high, and youthful rebellion. Nugent 70s works provide the perfect soundtrack to it all. He needed that one push into mainstream relavence though and in 1977 he did so with this record. With the title track going top 30, it not only became his trademark song and a staple of FM rock radio but its since become a classic item of 70s pop culture. Become a recognized "classic rock" song the world over. But the rest of the album also offers up some enthusiastic and highly cooking rock n roll. Its impossible to not grin when listening to the truely rip roaring Wang Dang Sweet Poontang, although the take from Double Live Gonzo outdoes this studio version which still has something to offer however. A pair of mid album rockers Death By Misadventure and Live It Up are without a doubt some of his best work, lots of grooves, great hooks, and an overall sense of pure fun throughout. The album is livened up once more with the memorable instrumental Homebound, featuring some truely honorable guitar work from Nuge. Its a hidden gem in other words.

The 2nd half of the album takes a backseat to the first. Workin' Hard Playin' Hard, the simplistic Sweet Sally, and the little more rough and tumble Out Of Control and A Thousand Knives. Although the 2nd half isnt quite as good as the first, this still stands rightfully alongside the first 2 records as Nugent's best work by far. Guitar lovers nowadays hold Nugents 70s work in extremely high regard and this was the bands last consistant album as the next 3 studio efforts, while offering some fun moments of simple dirty rock, lacked the inspiration and creative riffs of the original trio. Cat Scratch's offical follow up though was 1978's Double Live Gonzo, which captured the bands high energy live show which in the mid 70s' was some of the best live rock. Double Live essentially became the bands masterpiece for that reason but live and studio albums are so different it depends on the opinion of the listener which they prefer. Cat Scrach Fever is another essential for any rock, hard rock or heavy metal collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 29, 2005
The first time that I listened to this CD, I was blown away. Cat Scratch Fever, to me, is the worst song on the CD. And it is better than a lot of crap that is out there. Wang Dang Sweet Pootang is the best song. It's great to just get up and go crazy to. I love the solo, and the riff, and how they scream "Wang Dang Sweet Pootang" This is the nuge's second best effort. His best is live at hammersmith '79. Get this CD. Who cares if he is a jerk now? Just because some people do things that you happen to disagree with doesn't mean that they make bad music. Look at Johnny Ramone. He was racist, and very pro-war. But, the Ramones were among the first punk bands. They were cooler than all of they're contemperaies. And so is the nuge.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2008
I don't care if Ted strangles wild boars with his bare hands then shoots them with an uzi. Irrelevent. When he straps on his Gibson it is most definitely on. His guitar sound & tone are legendary. Fat and nasty. The king of feedback. Sounds on the verge of exploding. Damn I love it! Don't look for insightful lyrics or any deep meaning. That is not what Ted does. Ted's songs are about rockin',pussy,and the spirit of the wild. Nobody does it better. This album is a late 70's hard rock staple. Buy it now.
22 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 1999
I bought this CD a month ago. I have heard of Nugent before, but never listened to it. So I decide to know him. FIrst, I bought " Free for All", his second album, with Meat Loaf on vocals. Didn't like it, it sounded outclassed. I insisted and bought "Cat...", which is his greatest success to this day. The difference is really incredible. With Derek St. Holmes on vocals and more maturity into the music, the songs are pure rockn roll, well balanced. The drummer's work, considering the recording date of 1977, is just fantastic!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.