Customer Reviews


106 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (28)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (46)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars interestingly exiciting
lots of action and weird turn arounds, actors really do a good job in there rolls and
surprise ending worth the purchase although I have seen it several times already
Published 10 months ago by Ken Stone

versus
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pass
CATCH .44 is a dark, slow moving, thuddingly dull film. Written and Directed with Aaron Harvey it is a film borrowed from so many previous movies about drug dealing, double crossing, attempts at being clever without success, and near constant killing (no, slaughter by gunfire would be a more appropriate word.

The basically behind the scenes Mel (Bruce Willis,...
Published on December 26, 2011 by Grady Harp


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pass, December 26, 2011
By 
This review is from: Catch .44 (DVD)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
CATCH .44 is a dark, slow moving, thuddingly dull film. Written and Directed with Aaron Harvey it is a film borrowed from so many previous movies about drug dealing, double crossing, attempts at being clever without success, and near constant killing (no, slaughter by gunfire would be a more appropriate word.

The basically behind the scenes Mel (Bruce Willis, who appears to need a new agent to get some appropriate new material for him to chew) sets up a drug interception using three girls with whom he has successfully worked before - Tes (Malin Ackerman), Dawn (Deborah Ann Woll) and Kara (Nikki Reed) - this time making the interception at a diner in the middle of nowhere. Of course there is a lot of girl talk about their mission, an interruption by a madman Ronny (Forest Whitaker) who earlier has murdered a sheriff and poses then as the sheriff to add to the mess. At the diner things just progress from bad to unbelievable, as nearly everyone is brutally murdered and it all ends in a reduced cast (many are dead by now) cat and mouse game that is as dull as yesterday's lunch.
There are some night at the gas station scenes a la Ed Ruscha by cinematographer Jeff Cutter that are artsy, but the rest of the film is a waste of talent. It makes us wonder how tough it is for actors of the caliber of Forest Whitaker and Bruce Willis to turn up some worthwhile material that takes advantage of their skills instead of these blood bath bores they seem to be accepting as scripts. No real saving graces to this film. Grady Harp, December 11
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another Disciple Trapped In The Church Of Tarantino: A Solid Film That Lacks An Original Voice, December 9, 2011
This review is from: Catch .44 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I had heard and read so many scathingly critical comments flung at writer/director Aaron Harvey's "Catch .44" that I was convinced it must surely be a disaster of epic proportion. I'm not sure what anyone else anticipates when sitting down to a straight-to-DVD endeavor, but my expectations tend to run fairly low. Thus, I was actually pleasantly surprised by this film. I found it quite entertaining in its own right with a number of noteworthy performances. Harvey shows a deft hand when handling dialogue and that ends up being a saving grace to the movie. My fundamental issue with the production has little to do with entertainment value and almost everything to do with originality. Like so many young filmmakers, Harvey clearly aspires to be the next Tarantino (and why not?), but "Catch .44" is so derivative that it begs to be judged in an unfavorable light. Even the DVD packaging references the sublime "Reservoir Dogs." I could forgive the similarities in structure and theme such as the chronologically scrambled narrative, overlapping timelines, the eclectic assortment of outlaws, and the clever/cool conversations that have little to do with the plot. But from moment to moment, every sequence in the film seems to have been lifted from another movie and cobbled together. Seriously. For every individual scene, I could name a comparable scene that served the same purpose from an earlier and similar movie.

Taking that out of the equation for a moment, I actually thought the film was successful enough. Despite the presence of Bruce Willis in a minor role (though you'd never guess that from his huge head on the DVD cover), the actual lead of "Catch. 44" is up-and-comer Malin Akerman. Akerman plays a former strip club hostess and pickpocket who was drafted into a larger criminal enterprise by Willis. She and two gal pals (including True Blood's Deborah Ann Woll) have a late night assignment at a rural diner where the score looks to be a load of drugs and cash. But, as you might guess, things don't go exactly to plan and the story shifts into flashbacks to see how we arrived at this point. Forest Whitaker and his numerous accents are on hand, as well, as an enigmatic and dangerous stranger. Before the night is over, the diner will host a series of confrontations and it remains to be seen if anyone will be left unscathed. It's all fun and amusing with appropriate twists and turns, I just felt like I'd seen it all before.

The cast is actually quite good. In general, I really like Akerman who is known largely for her comedic work (various romantic comedies, TV's The Comeback, the fantastic Childrens Hospital, Funny or Die Presents...) as well as her sultry turn in "Watchmen." Here, she displays a toughness that is unexpected and believable. Never heard of her? She's got some high-profile pictures in the offing including the adaptation of Broadways "Rock of Ages" and the biopic of porn star Linda Lovelace in which she is the lead. Whitaker seems to be having a good time as the unstable powder keg who somehow fits into the plot puzzle. Looking for Willis, though? He's got a couple of scenes and is amusing enough as the standard crime boss oddball. The girls actually listen to a Bruce Willis song from the eighties and mention the actor by name, but the gag ends up being a bit too jokey for my taste. Clearly Harvey has an ear and can write, he just needs to develop his own voice. But for now, "Catch .44" ends up being another in a long line of Tarantino wannabes, although a reasonably entertaining one. KGHarris, 12/11.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A very entertaining action mystery in the vein of "Pulp Fiction". Nothing outstanding but still very much worth seeing. I say B+, December 4, 2011
By 
Tony Heck (Belgrade, MT USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Catch .44 (DVD)
"I worked with you for seven years...always liked you, always looked after you, but I never trusted you." Tess (Akerman) and her friends have one simple task. Meet a trucker at a restaurant and take the truck from him. Things do not go as planned and secrets begin to come out, as well as bullets. This movie was a surprise. After watching "Set-up" with Bruce Willis (who was in it for about 5 minutes) I was skeptical. While he is not the main star in this one either this one actually is a pretty good movie. This movie reminded me a lot of "Pulp Fiction" in the way that it jumps back and forth all the time until you have every part of the story. Akerman and Whitaker do a great job in this and for someone like Malin Akerman to take a role in an action movie and pull it off as good as she does is also a surprise. While not a top notch action movie this one is still very much worth while and will not let you down. Overall, a very good movie that is well worth your time. I give it a B+.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What a horrible movie, December 1, 2011
By 
This review is from: Catch .44 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This movie was briefly, and i do mean briefly, available on PSN, as a see it before it hits theaters. Oddly enough, it comes out on DVD about 11 days after the theatrical release. I'm confused. This is another train wreck of a film, much like Trespass with Nick Cage and Nicole Kidman. Only this time we have Bruce Willis as a head con man, Forest Whitaker as another con artist/killer, and Malin Akerman whom i only know from 27 dresses. Two big name stars, one an Oscar winner, the other an action icon. This is Bruces second "stinker" straight to DVD (the first being Setup), and now Forest has jumped on board?!! Come on. This movie takes itself to seriously and can't decide whether it wants to be a dark comedy, drama, or crime action thriller. It succeeds at being none of the above. Just feels that the story was thrown together in 10 minutes, the script seems to be read line by line, and the plot is just plain stupid. Although it tries to be clever. I give up on most of the stars i grew up with. I love all of the ones i listed and can't figure out "why" their movies are being snuffed out. I really have nothing else to say about this film, so as not to spoil it. But it's just more gun play, drugs, sex, and cursing, thrown together for a quick flick. Believe me, most of the films on PSN, or Xbox 360 that say see it before it hits theaters. There is a reason for that. :) 88% of fans want to see it according to Rotten Tomatoes, that will be a LOT of disappointed folks.

Btw:Bruces character "Mel" may remind you of the similar part he played in The Whole Nine Yards, but don't let this fool you. It's not even close to that. Also he looks horrid, like he lost about 50lbs. Lets hope he picks up at the box office before the end of 2012. :d
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars An Embarrassment, March 4, 2012
This review is from: Catch .44 (DVD)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Rebecca: This is so bad it's almost good.

Enid: This is so bad it's gone past good and back to bad again.

Aaron Harvey's "Catch .44" reminded me of Gary Lennon's horrible 2007 opus ".45" and reinforced the notion that any movie that includes the diameter of a gun barrel in its title is something to avoid. Whereas Lennon's gimmick was unconvincing moronic violence spliced between segments of documentary style parody, Harvey relies on unconvincing moronic violence spliced into a scrambled timeline. "Catch .44" might be dumb-downed relative to ".45" but it does have better lighting and color.

While not quite a constant 94-minute mockfest moment, there is much unintended humor in observing how obviously close-to-laughter Forest Whitaker and Malin Akerman are as they desperately struggle to keep straight faces while dealing with Harvey's silly dialogue and inept acting for the camera direction.

In the now de rigueur tradition of recent ill-advised attempts at cinema, the director and his editor inflict a pretentious commentary on anyone masochistic enough to select the audio commentary option on the DVD menu. In this the delusional writer/director appears to sincerely believe that he has made a cutting edge film.

Even a casual viewer can see that this thing failed before it got out of the starting gate because of Harvey's second rate work in pre-production. The obvious question being; why don't these direct-to-video geniuses use some of their budget to hire competent re-writing staffs before taking the project into production?

Unfortunately, even if you are able to suspend disbelief enough to self-knowingly go with this thing (a well-practiced skill for anyone who watches student films); it never engages. There is simply no flow, fun, suspense, or surprises in this grim and overwrought melodrama, and Harvey appears to have forgotten to include a climax. Flow is an especially difficult dynamic to get right in a scrambled timeline story and Harvey and his editor are simply not skilled enough to effectively manage the task.

The movie might have worked if released as a parody of a Russ Meyer film, if forced to view it again I would pretend that it was.

Then again, what do I know? I'm only a child.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worthless Movie, January 6, 2012
By 
This review is from: Catch .44 (Amazon Instant Video)
This was the absolute worst movie I have seen in quite a long time. I only watched it because it had Bruce Willis in it. Why he did he do this movie (was he blackmailed? Did he have a stroke? Did he want to do one really absolutely bad movie before he died?) I do not know. I will be cautious about any of his movies in the future. An absolute waste of viewing time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A decent low budget pot boiler, December 15, 2012
By 
Robert Badgley (St Thomas,Ontario,Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Catch .44 (DVD)
Catch 44(released Dec/11)stars Bruce Willis as Mel,Forest Whitaker as Ronny,Malin Ĺkerman as Tes,Deborah Ann Woll as Dawn,Nikki Reed as Kara,and others in this tight little mix-it-up filmed in Louisiana.The film certainly betrays its low budget roots(most of the action takes place in side somewhere;a definite sign),but the production staff ends up pulling off what I think is a decent enough thriller/drama within the confines of its restrictions.
The story involves the boss Bruce Willis and his right hand man Forest Whitaker.Malin is a waitress in a dump of a strip club Willis runs,and Whitaker has a crush on her.She had been angling for a chance to meet the head man and finally gets it.After the meeting Willis hires her to do jobs for him.Malin hires two other girls,Woll and Reed,as her assistants.They mess up one job and move on to an interception of some drug money at a remote diner.They sit in the diner and the rendezvous time comes and goes.
At just after 3AM they get up and hold at gunpoint all the patrons and demanding to know where the truck is.After the dust settles both of Malin`s associates are dead and she is in a Mexican standoff with the cook,who also happens to work for Willis.In walks Whitaker who has been prowling the town and its environs for the last few hours.He killed a cop and had been riding in his car.He also had pulled over Malin and her friends earlier,but she didn`t recognize him.It seems she only met Whitaker for about 15 minutes when he originally took her to see the boss many years before.Now Whitaker is telling Malin he loves her and wants her to shoot the cook.She balks once but finally gets up enough nerve to shoot.As she suddenly turns towards Whitaker(we saw that coming a mile away!),the camera pulls outside.
Later,Willis finally arrives and finds the diner littered with bodies.He sits down in a booth,loaded gun on the table,across from Whitaker,who is bleeding from his left ear area.The movie up to this point had been plot jumping;reach one stage,jump back to explain events up to that point,go ahead a bit more and jump back to explain that,and so on.Well,this is the place where the movie initially came in.Willis tells Whitaker a parable about Running Bear,then after all is said and done,he shoots him dead.Before he leaves he puts the song of Running Bear(Johnny Preston)on the jukebox.As Willis is about to exit he hears the click of a trigger and looks around.Malin is still alive,and she shoots him.The camera leaps outside to Willis` chauffeur who hears two shots ring out.As he gets out of the car,gun in hand,Malin is there to disarm him and off she rides with the drug money on the seat beside her.
Willis plays his part well,as does Whitaker,who plays a psychotic,with multiple personalities beautifully.Everyone else does a good job also on the acting front.The film itself is done well,but there is just nothing here to suggest the wow factor.It goes along at a good clip,is executed nicely,but I just couldn`t see anything else in it that would make me give it any more marks than I did.
Technically the film is in its w/s a/r of 2:40:1 and is clear and crisp.The only extras are the trailer and some commentary.
All in all a decent enough thriller that is raised to a better level thanks to the performances of its main stars Willis and Whitaker.The rest of the cast does fine work also,but it isn`t enough to get this film any higher than 3 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Step One - Admit You Have A Problem, December 25, 2011
By 
MadMacs (Honolulu, HI United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Catch .44 (DVD)
Been 20 years since 'Pulp Fiction' and still some filmmakers *have* to try their hand at their version. We need to be honest: The 99% Fail Rate for plagiarism is something that needs to be beat into this new generation of filmmakers, actors and producers. S-T-O-P. If we don't, we'll keep seeing this kind of dung being pooped out forever because they're not receiving honest critique. False compliments and unconditional love from family members is not an appropriate formula for film productions and cinephiles.

The unseemly addiction to Tarantino is sad and looks to yet infest another generation. The first step in rehab is admitting you have a problem.

But I give '.44' credit - this one has Bruce Willis in it. But ol' Bruce has been doing quite a number of pure money gigs the past couple of years. He's done a bunch of throwaway performances that I believe are setting up his retirement fund; a fruit orchard in the French countryside with his visiting grandkids.

I digress.

This film lacks any emotional content or context; one of those productions where every single character is intentionally worthless and unredeemable. There's no connection to be made when everyone is a pure unadulterated scumbag. In fact, the flick's would-be heroine is a slimy fast talking manipulator whose ability to steal is matched only by her apparent skill in smuggling cocaine. Again, that's the lead character. Yay?

The only interesting character of note, and he's no peach, is Forest Whitaker's mentally unstable hitman. But despite the amazing skill he showcases as an actor - it's not unique. We've all seen Forest 'do' crazy and off-kilter before. It's old hat for the artist and nothing that I would call attention to unless the film itself sucked.

And this film sucked.

Additionally, it would be an understatement to say that the script reads like a rip-off of every Tarantino-esque script, sans the cleverness or edged timing. One will never achieve success if all you do is "homage" other creators.

I suspect Writer/Director Aaron Harvey wanted this, in part, to be a female empowerment flick. But I'm not clear on how drafting the characters as completely worthless human beings as being empowering. Pure strength doesn't equate empowerment. That would be the moral equivalent of pointing out various dictators across the globe and saying that's the kind of behavior one should attempt to emulate since they're using pure strength for success.

Really?

Finally, it will be a day too late when young filmmakers finally stop using the stop-the-film-to-add-graphic-names/titles-to-the-characters. It was old and tired a decade ago. It definitely hasn't improved with age. Now it just looks tacky and weak. Again: S-T-O-P.

No surprise - this is Director Harvey's second feature film. His first? A slasher flick.

It shows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Direct to DVD Junk, December 23, 2011
By 
E. David Swan (Denver, Colorado USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Catch .44 (DVD)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Red flags started going off the moment I saw the movie box. First of all the title is too clever for its own good and really exists entirely BECAUSE someone thought it was clever. It has actors who've appeared in great movies but these same actors have appeared in terrible movies *cough* Battlefield Earth. It also uses the desperate, "In the Tradition of..." on the back of the box referencing several movies that Catch .44 is nothing like. The movie has one thing going for it, Forest Whitaker. I could watch Forest Whitaker knit a quilt and probably enjoy it. Unfortunately Forest talks with this bizarre Scarface accent that sounds increasingly silly as the movie progresses. The back of the box also advertises that it "co-stars" Academy Award nominee Brad Dourif who appears for about 2 minutes in a scene completely divorced from the rest of the movie.

The plot of the movie is pretty much irrelevant and the movie gives away the ending in the first 10 seconds. It's all just a vehicle for shooting and f-bomb dropping and the pivotal scene where Whitaker, Malin Akerman (Watchmen) and some other dude find themselves in a three way Mexican standoff with guns pointed at each other. This scene goes on FOREVER. I swear it's like 30 minutes of `drop your gun', `no YOU drop your gun', `no you drop YOUR gun'. There is rambling about money and drugs and setups but it's all so dull and tedious.

If I were not obligated to review this movie I would have quit early on. At the 20 minute mark I could not believe that it had only been 20 minutes. The movie is padded within an inch of its life and the dialogue is insufferable. With lines like, "I'd say you got some BALLS, woman." I often felt embarrassed for the veteran actors reading these lines. There is a lengthy scene at the end of the movie with Bruce Willis (looking very old) and Forest Whitaker (continuing to channel Scarface) that is PAINFUL to watch.

This movie is not a realization of anyone's vision. It's made strictly to part fans of mindless violence and gratuitous profanity from their money. There is a scene where Whitaker is in a cop car and hears a thump from the trunk. He opens the trunk and shoots a guy several times. Who is this guy? He can't be the cop because that guy got shot in the head. That's about as gratuitous as violence can get. Although with the utterly pointless scene with Dourif I have to wonder if this movie was dramatically cut down in which case I applaud the produces for sparing the viewers additional torture but it makes for an incoherent mess. Catch .44 reeks of desperation and has all the hallmarks of a straight to DVD movie. The last two straight to DVD movies I reviewed actually surprised me being better than anticipated but this one just exists for no good reason. Skip it.

BTW: I know that even good movies have been using CGI blood splatter but it REALLY looks stupid and cartoonish. I wasn't a fan of it in Kick Ass but at least that WAS a cartoonish movie but in a movie trying to be gritty it just looks ridiculous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Watch No Country For Old Men instead, January 19, 2012
By 
This review is from: Catch .44 (DVD)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
For those of you that watch about any movie that comes out this movie will be just fine.

If you're a little more picky about how you spend a couple hours of your night I would skip this movies. The director seems concerned with style more than substance. Either than or the director knew the cast he had to work with wasn't going to be able to deliver so he had to use other methods to keep the viewer's interest. There are multiple sections of the movie where a song is playing as you watch the character sit there or do mundane items. Probably high-art to some but it came across a way to sell the soundtrack.

1 - part No Country For Old Men
2 - Part Boogie Nights
3 - Part Forrest Gump (the long music sections)
4 - Part 70's drive in movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Catch .44 [Blu-ray]
Catch .44 [Blu-ray] by Aaron Harvey (Blu-ray - 2011)
$19.99 $7.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.