Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Black Than Purple!
Ritchie Blackmore formed Rainbow after departing from Deep Purple following the recording of their "Stormbringer" album. Blackmore was dissatisfied with the increasingly funky direction the music was taking along with the infighting between David Coverdale and Glenn Hughes. Rainbow consisted of Blackmore along with the backing band Elf fronted by the unknown but powerful...
Published on March 24, 2003 by J. E FELL

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Oatmeal Anyone? aka Remaster Disaster
This is a good selection of songs. For once the "geniuses" at the record company almost got it right as far as selecting the best songs to put on a Greatest Hits compilation. My complaints about the song selection are relatively minor to my complaints about the rmeastering job and sound quality, but more about that later. I would have substituted the far superior "live"...
Published on July 13, 2008 by Purplemaniac


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Black Than Purple!, March 24, 2003
By 
J. E FELL "boogaloojef" (Carterville, Illinois United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Catch the Rainbow: The Anthology (Audio CD)
Ritchie Blackmore formed Rainbow after departing from Deep Purple following the recording of their "Stormbringer" album. Blackmore was dissatisfied with the increasingly funky direction the music was taking along with the infighting between David Coverdale and Glenn Hughes. Rainbow consisted of Blackmore along with the backing band Elf fronted by the unknown but powerful singer Ronnie James Dio. The line ups changes often with the music becoming less heavy and progressive and more commercial along the way. Graham Bonnet and Joe Lyn Turner were also vocalists and members have included ex-Deep Purple mate Roger Glover on bass and the great Cozy Powell on drums. The first disk contains material from the Ronnie James Dio edition of the band. Highlights include "Man On The Silver Mountain", "Starstruck", "Long Live Rock And Roll" and a great live version of the Deep Purple cover "Mistreated". Blackmore's guitar playing ranges from the aggressive in "Kill The King" to mournful in "Catch The Rainbow". The music is progressive at times with an adaption of "Sixteenth Century Greensleeves" and "Gates of Babylon". A few good songs from this period were missed such as a cover of the Yardbirds' "Still I'm Sad", "Do You Close Your Eyes" and "LA Connection" which was relseased as a single. The lyrics favored by the band during this time contained many medieval themes favored by both Balckmore and Dio.
The second disk begins with Graham Bonnet added as singer for one album. He is featured on cuts like "All Night Long" and a cover of Russ Ballard's "Since You Been Gone". I was pleased that the non-lp b-side "Weiss Heim" was included from this period as it features some emotional playing from Blackmore. Roger Glover from Deep Purple also joined with Bonnet during this time. He not only handled bass duties but also served as producer and a songwriting partner for Blackmore. The last period of the band featured here was its most commercial. Graham Bonnet was replaced on vocals by Joe Lynn Turner. This period features the band's biggest hit "Stone Cold". Other notable cuts are "I Surrender", "Spotlight Kid", "Can't Happen Here" and the great non-lp track "Jealous Lover" and "Street Of Dreams". The disk concludes with a lively version of the concert favorite "Difficult To Cure" an adaption of Beethoven's Ninth performed live in Tokyo in 1984 with the Japanese Symphony Orchestra. A few of my favorites were missed on this disk like "Bad Girl", "Love's No Friend" and "Lost In Hollywood" with Bonnet on vocals and "No Release" and "Miss Mistreated" with Turner.
However, it is doubtful you will find a more representative compilation of the many facets of Rainbow than "Catch The Rainbow: The Anthology". It will be especially essential to fans of Ritchie Blackmore and progressive hard rock!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Rainbow Compilation!, March 20, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Catch the Rainbow: The Anthology (Audio CD)
When "The Very Best Of Rainbow" came out in 1997, I thought it was the ultimate Rainbow compilation. If I had been asked to pick 2 to 3 songs from each album, those are the ones I would have picked.
Now someone says, "pick 3 to 4 songs from each album" and again they've hit the nail right on the head. I also like how the Dio years are on disc 1 and the rest on disc 2. It nicely separates the "album oriented" tracks from the more commercial ones.
I can't find anything in the liner notes regarding remastering, but the sound is excellent and seems a notch above "The Very Best Of Rainbow".
For those of you who had the import double-album, "The Best of Rainbow", released around 1981 on JEM records, you can finally replace it. This compilation encompasses almost every track on that collection and includes material released after 1981. I'm not sure, but this may be the first appearance of "Wiess Heim" on CD.
Let's hope Ritchie decides to rock again and reunites with some former Rainbow members (my preference would be Dio)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long Live Rock n' Roll, August 25, 2005
This review is from: Catch the Rainbow: The Anthology (Audio CD)
Excellent best of from Ritchie Blackmore and the gang. Blows the single disc best of away. On disc 1 the songs with the great Ronnie James Dio on vocals are masterpieces of progressive metal. Disc 2 which features Graham Bonnet and Joe Lyn Turner doing vocals are more commercial. I personnally prefer disc 1 but, don't mind disc 2 because it's from my teen years and when MTV actually showed music videos. I highly recommend the collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Set list Great Packaging., June 14, 2003
By 
drew b "drew b" (jacksonville, florida United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Catch the Rainbow: The Anthology (Audio CD)
Hello,
This is the set you would want to get a classic rock novice to introduce them on the genius of Ritchie Blackmore and the vocal operatic gymnastics of Ronnie James Dio. All the best tracks indeed.
Sound quality is very good if heard in a car stereo mastered by Steve Fallone who did the single disc "Very Best of". His mastering is FAR FAR superior to the album remasters. MR. Suha Gur should be fired for what he did to the full albums. "Rising and Down to Earth are so bright and tinny they are unlistenble. I recommend this 2 disc set to everyone and to check out the German or Japanese remasters instead of the US made discs.
Rainbow the Anthology 5 stars Packaging, Set list, and everything else this or the Single disc Very best of are excellent introductions. But go buy the full import albums instead if you've got the dough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rainbow Anthology Is A Pot Of Gold!, February 8, 2004
By 
A. Bouchard "mad-ad" (Hodgdon, Maine United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Catch the Rainbow: The Anthology (Audio CD)
I had never heard Rainbow in my life before i bought this cd! I instantly fell in love with the guitar playing! Rainbow is now one of my favorite bands! This is one of the cds that i take in the car & crank it as loud as it will go! U should see the looks i get when people see a 15 year old listinin'to music that is older than i am! I highly recomemded this cd to any real rock n roller!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fine anthology, October 25, 2006
By 
Riley (Charlotte, NC United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Catch the Rainbow: The Anthology (Audio CD)
This is the way to do an anthology. We get great mastering and nice song selections. Unfortunately, there is also no way to please everyone.

Many lament the end of the first edition of Rainbow and their foray into the commercial scene. Personally, I first heard the band during the Stone Cold days so I really like this part of their history.

This set brings back great memories and it introduced me to their earlier music. 5 stars all the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blackmore at his best..., September 22, 2006
By 
Beandog (Clinton, IA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Catch the Rainbow: The Anthology (Audio CD)
First of all, let me say that Ritchie Blackmore is my favorite guitarist. He is arguably one of the best ever. I have been a fan since Deep Purple and I feel he did his best work with Rainbow. This collection is an excellent overview of their work. New fans will find the best from each of the group's albums and longtime fans will like having these highlights in one great 2 disc set.

The first disc covers the "Dio Years". These songs show just what a virtuoso player Blackmore is, he has the ability to play with both crunching power and gentle beauty. These songs also introduced everyone to Ronnie James Dio, who is simply one of the best singers in hard rock/metal history. I really wonder how big they could have gotten if they had stayed together. Standout songs on this disc include; Man On The Silver Mountain, Sixteenth Century Greensleeves, Stargazer, Long Live Rock 'N' Roll and Gates Of Babylon.

The second disc covers the albums recorded with Graham Bonnet and Joe Lynn Turner on vocals. Many people bash this era as when Rainbow "sold out". First of all, the songs are more radio friendly - that's not a crime. Secondly, Dio was no longer the lyricist and not everyone is going to write songs with medieval themes. The groups biggest "hits" are here as well as some great straightforward rocking songs. Favorites include; Since You Been Gone, All Night Long, I Surrender, Stone Cold, Can't Let You Go and Street Of Dreams. Also included is the live version of Difficult To Cure(performed with a full orchestra) which is possibly Blackmore's greatest guitar work - EVER!

The CD also has a very good booklet/artwork that gives a brief history of the band and a discography. Blackmore also released Stranger In Us All(with another Rainbow lineup) and has his current project Blackmore's Night.

If you are a fan of great music buy this CD. It has something for everyone - unbelievable guitar work, great vocals and great songs.

Toto, we're not in Kansas anymore - Catch The Rainbow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Perfect Rainbow Collection, June 16, 2004
This review is from: Catch the Rainbow: The Anthology (Audio CD)
All I can say is that every song that does Rainbow justice is on here. Thank god! Not like that wretched millenium edition greatest hits thing. Newcomers to Rainbow, if you've got the pocket cash, get this! If you want to get something cheaper that's almost as good, get the Very Best of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic collection, first class rock, Ritchie is master., October 7, 2003
This review is from: Catch the Rainbow: The Anthology (Audio CD)
This collection, features many of the classic tracks, from the beginnings; with Dio (see also review for his collection), to Graham Bonnett, to Joe Lynn Turner, and although the later incarnations have been compared to Foreigner (the "Turner" era); it's Ritchie Blackmore's soaring guitar that propels Rainbow well past such groups (not that there's anything wrong with Foreigner either). If someone wants a more "compact" collection (i.e., if one can't afford the two discs, or just wants to save space) The Very Best Of Rainbow is also fine. However, to get a full range of songs, the Anthology is a must have for Rainbow, Dio, Deep Purple, fans, like me. Rock On Ritchie! [He's into a more medieval groove now, so, this is one's chance to catch him when he was more "rock" oriented.] Definitely "Catch The Rainbow".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars lucky rainbow!, May 1, 2003
By 
John (New York, NY USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Catch the Rainbow: The Anthology (Audio CD)
This compilation does a great job of gathering the highlights of Rainbow. As with all anthologies, you can argue about what songs should or shouldn't have been included,
but nevertheless a well chosen and thorough collection. The most promising thing is the great sound quality of these recordings. I really hope Rhino puts together a Deep Purple anthology like this one. Two jam packed CD's from the "classic" Purple lineup. One greatest hits disc is NOT enough and the 4 disc set is too expensive.
This is a very reasonably priced and well put together collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Catch the Rainbow: The Anthology
Catch the Rainbow: The Anthology by Rainbow (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.