Customer Reviews


505 Reviews
5 star:
 (413)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (27)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


193 of 198 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Edition
There are many versions of the Catechism of the Catholic Church and even many different editions of each of those versions, so one would beg the question why review a book so readily available and so accessible. That would be a good question to ask. There is the `original edition' the `second edition' and now there is also a `definitive edition' so why would we examine...
Published on March 13, 2006 by Steven R. McEvoy

versus
136 of 139 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Catechism of the Catholic Church for the Kindle Fire problem
I downloaded the Catechism of the Catholic Church for my Kindle Fire, and I am very disappointed with the Table of Contents. I am a Faith Formation teacher and use the catechism on a daily basis. All references to the catechism found in Faith Formation documents and publications are listed as CCC and the number of the paragraph, i.e., CCC 125, CCC 2675, etc., etc. It...
Published on January 20, 2012 by poncho7476


‹ Previous | 1 251 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

193 of 198 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Edition, March 13, 2006
There are many versions of the Catechism of the Catholic Church and even many different editions of each of those versions, so one would beg the question why review a book so readily available and so accessible. That would be a good question to ask. There is the `original edition' the `second edition' and now there is also a `definitive edition' so why would we examine this work?

The answer is that like with Shakespeare, for which there are innumerable editions each reader tends to gravitate towards a specific version or set of editions. In having spent many hours reading these documents over the last few months I can only state categorically that this is the `best packaging' of the Catechism that I have yet to investigate. The larger format makes it easier to work with than many of the smaller pocket version, the wide margins left for personal notes and thoughts is much appreciated. As well this edition is the only one I have found with a glossary and it also has a more extensive index then the other two editions I examined.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


251 of 260 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Faith & Reason, December 27, 1999
This review is from: Catechism of the Catholic Church (Mass Market Paperback)
Fulton Sheen once wrote that there are only a handful of Americans who hate the Catholic Church, though there are millions who hate what they think the Church is. This book is a must read for anyone who wants to speak intelligently about the Catholic Church and the faith it proclaims.
Never polemical or overly didactic, the Catechism of the Catholic Church succinctly explains the Christian faith with clarity and charity.
Even Protestants and non-Christians will find the Catechism well-documented, with copious notes and citations to Sacred Scripture, the writings of the early Christian Fathers, and other sources of impeccable authority.
Perhaps the most useful aspect of this book is its accessibility. The Catechism was written with the laity in mind. Students, laymen, and the average reader alike will find it easy to read and understand. At the same time, those interested in serious scholarship will discover a treasure trove of theology, history, and doctrine. Without the Catechism of the Catholic Church, no Christian library is complete. Whether you are a cradle Catholic, a convert, or simply have questions about the Church, you owe it to yourself to read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


136 of 139 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Catechism of the Catholic Church for the Kindle Fire problem, January 20, 2012
I downloaded the Catechism of the Catholic Church for my Kindle Fire, and I am very disappointed with the Table of Contents. I am a Faith Formation teacher and use the catechism on a daily basis. All references to the catechism found in Faith Formation documents and publications are listed as CCC and the number of the paragraph, i.e., CCC 125, CCC 2675, etc., etc. It is impossible to find references the way the Kindle catechism table of contents is laid out. I recommend that an additional page is added to the table of contents, listing CCC #s (at least every 25 paragrapsh) for example - CCC paragraphs: 25 50 75 100 125 150, up to 2675; and when we want to go to one of those paragraphs, we would just touch the number and the kindle would take us to that paragraph. I came up with my own table of CCC #s and have to place it next to my kindle to make it easier to get to the paragraph I need. If I am asked to go to paragraph 115, I go to the location screen and type the location for paragraph 125, then just page back two or 3 pages to 115. But it would be so much easier to just touch paragraph 125 and page back, without having to look on my table for the location, typing it, and then page back.

Is there any way you'all at Amazon can share this information with whoever can update the Kindle Fire digital Catechism so that customer satisfaction improves? Here is my table.

CCC LOCAT CCC LOCAT CCC LOCAT

26 940 1025 6980 2025 11905
50 1060 1050 7105 2050 12000
75 1160 1075 7240 2075 12190
100 1260 1100 7380 2100 12300
125 1360 1125 7490 2125 12410
150 1540 1150 7635 2150 12485
175 1670 1175 7770 2175 12560
200 1805 1200 7855 2200 12770
225 1920 1225 8010 2225 12880
250 2030 1250 8105 2250 12975
275 2230 1275 8215 2275 13120
300 2360 1300 8310 2300 13210
325 2460 1325 8585 2331 13360
354 2570 1350 8635 2350 13425
375 2760 1375 8760 2375 13540
400 2860 1400 8970 2401 13690
425 3045 1420 9070 2425 13790
450 3170 1450 9210 2450 13915
475 3295 1475 9340 2475 14040
500 3510 1501 9425 2500 14125
525 3670 1525 9530 2525 14230
550 3880 1550 9760 2550 14310
574 4035 1575 9890 2575 14500
600 4250 1601 10075 2600 14615
625 4390 1625 10190 2625 14740
650 4610 1650 10345 2650 14945
675 4790 1675 10450 2675 15040
700 4990 1700 10635 2696 15140
725 5185 1725 10730
750 5315 1750 10810 INDEX 19265
775 5505 1775 10875
800 5660 1800 10960 GLOSS 27065
825 5815 1825 11070
850 5945 1850 11140
875 6180 1877 11350
900 6300 1900 11415
925 6395 1925 11495
950 6545 1950 11610
975 6685 1975 11730
1000 6810 2000 11800
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


130 of 135 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Catholics Need This, January 21, 2002
This review is from: Catechism of the Catholic Church (Mass Market Paperback)
I grew up Catholic, served as an altar boy, followed the sacraments and thought I was a Catholic.

I received this as a gift from my parents. While thumbing through it, I realized I had no idea what being a Catholic was.

"Catechism of the Catholic Church" -- officially published by the Vatican -- is used by both protestant and Catholic schools to teach what Catholics believe. The top evangelical college in America (Wheaton College) even uses it for their Catholic theology course.

I realized while reading this I had no idea what a Catholic baptism was, what the Catholic Church said about saints, what Rome has to say about Catholics who have converted to another Christian faith. And I learned some things the priest in our Chicagoland parish was not teaching Catholic doctrine.

Whether you are Catholic or not, there is a fair chance you've bought into some of what pop-culture has said Catholic is and is not. This easy-to-read (thick, but well-organized) book will give you the Catholic position on the matter.

I fully recommend "Catechism of the Catholic Church."

Anthony Trendl
americanspeechwriter.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


144 of 151 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not worth purchasing for your Kindle, February 14, 2009
The Kindle edition is only a hyperlink text that takes you to the free internet pages of the Catechism. Thus, you are not able to annotate or clip or highlight on your kindle. You can get to all the links for free on your kindle through the sample. There's absolutely no reason to pay for this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 71 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essential but pricey for the kindle format, November 16, 2011
The Catechism of the Catholic Church is essential for anyone interested in what the Catholic church really teaches. There have been similar catechisms in the past but taking a different approach of questions and answers. In this systematic approach the reader is led through professing (what we believe) and practicing (how we live) the faith. Surely profession should lead to actions was a theme revisited in Vatican II which led the magisterium to the production of this great work.

The only disappointment here is in the cost of the digital kindle version as compared to the paper form such as Catechism of the Catholic Church: Second Edition. Apparently the marketers of this electronic version are unaware of the trend of affordability in the electronic compared to paper versions of books. It is unfortunate that the cost makes the kindle version less accessible. Surely we would prefer this work to be as handy to Catholics as their Bibles and Missals. But, with this unusual pricing approach for a format that costs little to reproduce, we are not encouraged that this will get the distribution we would like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


78 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE CATECHISM AND VATICAN II, October 4, 2002
By A Customer
The Catechism of the Catholic Church is a deposit of the Catholic faith. It contains all of the doctrines and teachings of the Church with extensive citations to supporting authority. The first universal catechism in over 400 years (the last was the 16th century "Catechism of the Council of Trent"), this Catechism, in the introductory words of Pope John Paul II, is for "every individual ... who wants to know what the Catholic Church believes".
However, for reasons I will explain later, some Catholics strive to steer other Catholics (and non-Catholics) away from the Catechism by claiming it is "against" or "pre" Vatican II. This is an utterly spurious claim, as demonstrated by the following facts:
1. Vatican II explicitly prescribed a new catechesis of the Catholic faithful. Accordingly, in 1985, an extraordinary synod of Catholic bishops mandated a new catechism.
2. The Catechism of the Catholic Church was completed and published in 1992 (First Edition) and 2000 (Second Edition), with extensive citations to: (i) Scripture; (ii) the Councils of the Church during its 2,000 year history; (iii) the writings of the early Church fathers; (iv) the writings of the saints; and (v) other authorities, such as papal encyclicals, etc. Indeed, every doctrine and teaching propounded in the Catechism (and virtually every sentence) is carefully footnoted to supporting authority.
3. The largest source of citations in the Catechism is, naturally, Scripture. That is, the Catechism cites Scripture more times than it cites any other source.
4. However, THE SECOND LARGEST SOURCE OF CITATIONS IN THE CATECHISM IS VATICAN II. That is, besides Scripture, the Catechism cites the 16 documents of Vatican II more times than it cites any other source.
5. For the record, the Catechism cites the 16 documents of Vatican II a total of SEVEN HUNDRED EIGHTY FIVE (785) times. Given that the Catechism (Hardcover Edition) is 688 pages long, there is an average of 1.14 CITATIONS TO VATICAN II ON EVERY PAGE OF THE CATECHISM.
Thus, the Catechism is predominantly based on two sources: (1) Scripture, and (2) Vatican II. So the next time you hear or read that the Catechism is "against" or "pre" Vatican II, you will know that the person asserting that claim knows absolutely nothing about the Catechism or Vatican II, or, worse, does know but is simply trying to keep you away from the actual teachings of the Catholic Church in the Catechism.
Now, why would a Catholic steer other Catholics (and non-Catholics) away from the Church's teachings in the Catechism? Simple. Since Vatican II, certain Catholics have diligently sought to "modernize" (er, subvert) the Church, but have not been able to do so by citing any of the actual 16 documents issued at Vatican II (nothing in the documents supports their agenda). Instead, as "authority" for their subversive agenda they have invoked the "spirit of Vatican II," an amorphous phrase subject to their whimsical interpretation. Indeed, ever notice how they often claim "the spirit of Vatican II requires CHANGE XYZ", but never claim "Document A, page 12, paragraph 4 of Vatican II requires CHANGE XYZ"?
This is where the Catechism of the Catholic Church comes in. Promulgated as a complete and accurate compendium of Catholic doctrine and teaching, the Catechism utterly refutes the claims of all those who for so long have misconstrued and outright misrepresented Vatican II. The Catechism is, in essence, a written corrective to the plethora of heresies advanced by those citing the "spirit of Vatican II". As such, the Catechism is arguably Pope John Paul II's single greatest contribution to the Catholic Church.
Let us be clear. There are many within the Church who grossly misrepresent its teachings and strive diligently to keep Catholics (and non-Catholics) from those teachings. Just check out the Rite of Christian Initiation of Adults ("RCIA") at your local parish. Chances are good that your local RCIA program, which is supposed to catechize (i.e., instruct) converts to the Church on the essentials of Catholicism, will not only not use the Catechism, it will not even mention the Catechism and, worse, use materials (such as "Catholic Update") that contravene Church teachings (this is why so many RCIA programs completely fail in their mission of Catholic catechesis).
Fortunately, we have the Catechism and, in it, the actual doctrines and teachings of the Catholic Church. "Straight from the horse's mouth", as they say. Whether you are a Catholic learning or re-learning the faith, or a non-Catholic interested in what the Church teaches, the Catechism is an absolute "must have". And don't let anyone tell you otherwise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Protestant's Point of View, July 19, 2004
By 
Z. D. Houghton (Indianapolis, IN) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Catechism of the Catholic Church (Mass Market Paperback)
Being a Protestant, yet deeply respectful and, at the same time, curious about the Catholic Church, I was looking to learn more about Her. Regrettably, there are many misguided people out there who have very one-sided, skewed, and often just plain incorrect views of the Catholic Church. Sometimes, as a Protestant who just didn't know any better, it was difficult for me to seperate the fact from the fiction.
That's where this book came in. I found that if you want answers on something, go to the source. And the Catechism of the Catholic Church is just the source I needed. I found this book extremely useful in learning exactly what the Catholic Church believed without all that outsider bias.
For anyone outside the Catholic faith who really wants to know more true, bare facts about what it is to be Catholic and hold Catholic beliefs, this is book is a great start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Authoritative Teaching of the Catholic Church, May 15, 2000
By 
At last the English version of the definitive and revised text of the "Catechism of the Catholic Church" has published. For anyone interested in what the Catholic Church teaches about any given topic, this work must be consulted for its official teaching. The revisions are made in light of the changes approved by Pope John Paul II, especially on the matter of capital punishment, and of the many minor corrections introduced into the text. The new index and glossary of terms make this version even more reader friendly than the original. This "Cathechism" belongs in every academic library as well as in rectories, religious houses and the homes of those interested in Catholicism. It is a rich, compelling and fascinating source of Catholic teaching. Two thumbs up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Buy, January 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The Kindle version of this edition of the Catechism of the Catholic Church is a great buy. This edition has always been more expensive than other editions because it provides more. It has a glossary in the back and this edition provides cross references in the appendix to scripture verses, Saints writings and Council documents. For example if you want to see where a particular Bible verse is referenced in the Catechism, you go to the appendix and look for the verse and it shows where in the Catechism it is used. Great for scripture studies. Now with the the Kindle version of this edition of the Catechism all these references are hyperlinked so you can just click and go to the cross references. Great for providing insights on the meaning of Bible verses. It sure makes studying the Christian faith a lot easier. I teach adult religious classes and appreciate having this edition of the Catechism of the Catholic Church on a kindle instead of carrying a large book around. This Kindle version of the Catechism is an invaluable tool to have. It is worth every penny and more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 251 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Catechism of the Catholic Church
Catechism of the Catholic Church by U.S. Catholic Church (Mass Market Paperback - April 15, 1995)
$9.99 $6.41
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.