Automotive Deals Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis STEM Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
29
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

When seventeen-year-old Catherine Markham's parents died four years ago, it was her brother Royce who kept her going. Although Royce was twelve years older than Catherine, he became more than just her brother, he became her best friend. When Catherine learns that Royce has been lost at sea in the American Revolution, she is devastated -- until a ransom note arrives, stating that Royce is still alive and demanding money for his safe return. Determined to get from Boston to Savannah to deliver the ransom herself, Catherine convinces Royce's best friend, Derrick St. John, to take her on his ship. Just twenty-one years old, Derrick already has a past as a pirate, a past he was able to abandon with Royce's help. But he still lives with the memories of what he has done, and the knowledge that it was partly his fault his late father was falsely accused of treason. On the journey to Savannah, Catherine and Derrick fall in love, but hide their feelings from each other -- he because of his past, she because she despairs of ever becoming more than his best friend's little sister. I highly recommend this new Avon True Romance. Like the rest of the books in the series, it's a wonderful historical romance for teens. I also really loved the setting, as the colonial period has always been one of my favorites.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2002
When Catherine Markham finds a randsom note that tells she must pay 50 gold pieces to get her brother, Royce, back and her uncle refuses to send money, she goes to Derrick St. John for help.
Derrick immediately says yes to finding Royce, his best friend because Royce was the only one to allow Derrick to be a sea captain with his well-known past. However, he is reluctant to take Catherine along.
Catherine makes friends with the crew, helps a cabin boy named Lucas recover after their ship is attacked by a pirate ship headed up by DeGardineau, the man Derrick has sworn to find so he can clear his father's brand as a traitor. They get all the way to Savannah, but when they reach the Red Rooster Inn where Royce was supposedly being help early, DeGardineau's men capture them and take the gold. Now, they must find a way to get more gold for the kidnappers and try to avenge Derrick's father all before the deadline meets. Although they are close to death many times and are always disagreeing about one thing or the other, Catherine and Derrick still find time to fall in love.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 6, 2002
Karen Hawkins has written a truely wonderful book. Derrick and Catherine are wonderful and the romantic tension between the two kept me on the edge of my seat all the way through the book. I have been recommending this to all my friends. Great job Karen, I can't wait until the next one.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2003
While the title promises a pirate, that's really a misnomer for Derrick St. John, hero of the novel. Catherine, a young woman of prominent family is thrown together with the hero ... pirate when her brother is kidnapped and she needs a ship to Charleston to save him. The expected romantic misunderstandings take place with neither party revealing their feelings until the end after they have saved Catherine's brother with a little high seas action in the process.
Not bad as young adult romances go, the continued enforced guilt of Derrick got a little old after a while. Yes, he'd been a pirate once, but get over it. Catherine was your typical perfect heroine, pretty and brave and stubborn, with little personality.
While the book was the usual fair from this genre, it was a good effort and more enjoyable than most which is why it got a higher rating than I would normally give. Maybe that and that I'm [crazy] for pirates.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 14, 2002
i really enjoyed this book. it all started when Catherine Markham's brother Royce had been captured by the British. She knows no one who can help her except Captain Derrick St. John, captain of one her family's shipping business roads. So she goes to see him dressed as a boy. He soon realizes its her and he agrees to help her. On the voyage, they start to realize they care about each other when Derrick unexpectedly kisses her when the pirates attack! Soon after, they get to Savannah and Derrick has to clear his father's name from becoming a traitor to the America's. To find out if Catherine gets her brother back or if Derrick and Catherine fall in love, read the book.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 2004
This book was as good as i hoped it would be, though i didn't like how Catherine cried so much! It took me by surprise when i started liking the shipmates better than i did her. They were funny and likable. The adventure in the book was exciting, and the romance was well written. Overall i thought it was a good book.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2015
I am now in my twenties and I will be the first to admit that I do like romance novels, but this romance novel for teenagers is refreshing. There is are simply kisses between the leading characters. I like the idea of them falling in love with personalities rather than the physical. I t was charming as most Avon True Romance books are. Definitely worth reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2003
Catherine Markham has been very lonely since her brother, Royce, died at sea. Things start to look up when she finds a ransom note saying that her brother is alive. However, she only has to weeks to deliver the ransom and her Uncle Elliot refuses to pay. Catherine decides to take matters into her own hands with the help of her dog and her brother's friend, an ex-pirate named Derrick.
The romance in this book wasn't overly interesting but the fast paced, action filled plot makes up for that. There's plenty of robberies, kidnaping, and sea battles to satisfy thrill seekers. The characters are pretty likeable and even some of the secondary characters will catch your attention. All in all, Catherine and the Pirate is a fairly decent teen romance and it's worth a look if you are a fan of that genre.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 29, 2005
I have loved many of the books in the Avon True Romance list of books, but this is my favorite one on the list. I love this book for many reasons including:

1. The heroine isn't the stereotypical damsel in distress, and Catherine is a character most people can relate to.

2. The kidnap of her brother causes the readers to keep the pages turning.

3. The plot to save her brother is fantastically well thought out, and made me read the book in one day!

4. The person Catherine turns to for help is Derrick, a handsom captain with some intersting skeletons in his closet. (*Not to be taken literally!)

5. The inevitable romance between Catherine and Derrick cannot be because of her high social stature, and Derrick's family history causes their love to be a complete scandal!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2003
I really enjoyed this book. The plot involves more than the normal love story and has some interesting turns.
Catherine Markham, struck by the grief of losing her brother but yet excited about finding a ransom note, knows that she has to do something, so she runs away and finds her brother's best friend to help her rescue him. On the ship she finds herself drawn to Derrick, but he seems to be pushing her away.
Derrick ,who is now having a second chance at life, is out running the seas on his boat and working for his best friend, Royce Markham. He is trying to avenge the man who ruined his fathers name and to restore his family name. Then one day Catherine, Royce's sister, comes to him telling him that they need to rescue Royce. He obligies and soon realizes that he looks at Catherine as more than his best friend's little sister. But if she knew the truth of his past, would she turn from him? And will they rescue royce in time?
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.