Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Maxwell Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars23
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$13.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 25, 2016
One of Mr. Byrnes greatest albums.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2016
II bought this because of David Byrne and the talking Heads back in the 80's when it came out!! The show was shown on public TV and so I was also able to see it as well as be introduced to Twala Tharp!! There is nothing about any part of this that wasn't awakening to more David Byrne Music and the dance by Tharp!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 21, 2014
byrne has a style that not everybody gets catherine wheel is his finest work
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 8, 2014
Difficult to find, but an incredible score by David Byrne. A must listen to, if you are a David Byrne/Talking Heads fan. Would like to find the DVD of this stage play.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 9, 2011
Had the vinyl copy many years ago and basically wore it out beyond playability. Downloaded this from Amazon, hoping to hear the entire score (the vinyl had only half the song selections, but was a very cohesive piece of work). Amazon has chopped these songs up so pathetically bad as to really make this unlistenable. Many (all) of the songs are abruptly cut short in order to make them fit within one download, and the fluidity is gone: no pauses between songs--in fact there is OVERLAP, the segues between many songs are gone, and the entire score is, at best, choppy. What a shame...this was a true masterpiece of Byrne's. Overall this is a very amateurish compilation. Sound quality is good, but if I could give it no stars, I would.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
On this soundtrack to Twyla Tharp's broadway production all of the communal afro latin-funk style Talking Heads had been developing from the outset came to fruitation. Members of the "expanded heads" Adrien Belew and Bernie Worrell are onboard for these 23 cuts with Brian Eno also present. Together they wove a tapestry of music that is a spectacle to behold for lovers of collective 70's style funk. The music is abstract,emotional,spirtual and innovative. Most of these cuts are under 2 minutes long and generally flow together like one long piece with varriations even if each cut is seperated. And it's all here:the rhythms,the bass,the keyboard flourishes and Adrien's "zoo guitar":all the elements that made Talking Heads albums such as Remain in Light so important. A couple of songs do stand out seperately as amazing funk jams: "Dinasaur" and "Wheezing" stomp and thrust away like nobody's business. Especially for a musician who made his name on the rock scene this is solid proof that David Byrne's devotion to the rhythms and flavors of funk in it's many forms is genuine and strong and that he intended to innovate,and express that innovation to others around him. To my knowledge this was the first time funk music had made it's way onto broadway and the arrangements and production make it perfectly clear that,from the connective thread from latin to jazz (both used as elements in Broadway musicals and dance performances in the past) up to R&B/funk that this really had to happen where it did and when it did. The fact alone that Bernie Worrell is involved in this says a lot. P-Funk's music should've but never did make it to Broadway in it's heyday and if this is the medium that a musician of his caliber and connectedness to his craft than so be it. A truly amazing funk revelation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2009
I don't know what the confluence of circumstances were to make this so satisfying a musical work from David Byrne, but satisfying it certainly is. For all that the Talking Heads were moving into the same "funk" waters on the band's recordings, here Byrne and musicians make it seem so effortless. One very tangible asset is the crack drumming of the late Yogi Horton, who propels everything with an arsenal of fills, rolls and a spirit of swing. And everything here seems to pull together as a cohesive whole, something Byrne's subsequent solo offerings don't do. I find that once I start playing it, I have to hear the whole thing to the end, it's that tight. Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2009
Talking Heads - Art students who decided to make music. The first records were good but not great as you would expect from non musicians. Fairly simple pop music with an artistic edge. But after a few interesting records, around the time of "Remain in Light" with the addition of Eno (Roxy Music, Bowie) on treatments and synths, Bernie Worrell (Parliament/Funkadelic) adding funky keyboard sounds and Adrian Belew (Zappa, King Crimson, Bowie) on guitar noises they were hitting their stride with a peak of near brilliance topped by this one, sort of, unfortunately never to return.

Although this is not technically a Talking Heads recording it sounds like one. OF COURSE... the best Talking Heads recording... isn't a Talking Heads recording. It's both fitting and ironic that the best one is probably the least well known. THIS IS THE BEST ON IMHO.

Very interesting intellectually AND enjoyable on visceral level. It incorporates the latest avant guard aesthetic (at the time) with swinging funk and hard edged rock. Lots of open space, not too cluttered to give the great sounds room to shine. I'm usually not into the fad of found recordings but these incorporated some of the earliest and best.

I agree with the review by G. Mitchell "greggmitch" pretty much except I still have my original cassette which seems to have the same 23 tracks as the CD. I just ordered the CD so I haven't done a detailed comparison but I've compared the track listings and they match.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2006
This album contains a lot of experimental music, with a few early Talking Heads type songs sprinkled in. If you like Brian Eno's experimental music, you will like this album.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2006
I find the phrasing of the amazon product review rather odd: "Sounding more like a missing Talking Heads session than anything remotely like David Byrne's 1990s-era work [...]"... the implication seemingly that that's odd, as if he did it in the 90's so we should expect it to sound like some of his 90's work... I mean, this was done in 1981, why would it sound like his Byrne's 90's work? Regardless, the album sounds amazingly fresh, 25 years later... too bad about the missing tracks and the censored track... there was some material where quotes from the Koran were sampled, and that was removed out of fear that it might give offence... sad, how our freedom-of-expression culture of the West abandons principle at a drop of the hat, bidden or unbidden... oh well... I bought this when it first came out and loved it from the first time I put it on... of course, Eno's influence is quite apparent, and the result is outstanding... it seems to me, Byrne has yet to match the brilliance of this record in the past 20 years... here's hoping for another one like this from Mr. Byrne...
22 comments|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$10.02

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.