Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


64 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Truth That was Waiting to be Told
In USA Today (11/18/2011) Richard Wexler, director of the National Coalition for Child Protection Reform, cited that 75% of reports alleging child abuse are not substantiated upon investigation. Yet three to five decades AFTER alleged abuse, claims against Catholic priests are routinely deemed "credible" with no investigation at all, casting the accused into the limbo of...
Published on November 28, 2011 by Charlene C. Duline

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Perpetrator-As-Victim, The Church-As-Victim
Who is going to tell the kids that if they are abused by their pastor and tell someone, they stand at least a 50% chance of being shunned and regarded as liars and traitors?
Published 1 month ago by David M


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

64 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Truth That was Waiting to be Told, November 28, 2011
By 
Charlene C. Duline (Indianapolis, IN USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
In USA Today (11/18/2011) Richard Wexler, director of the National Coalition for Child Protection Reform, cited that 75% of reports alleging child abuse are not substantiated upon investigation. Yet three to five decades AFTER alleged abuse, claims against Catholic priests are routinely deemed "credible" with no investigation at all, casting the accused into the limbo of "zero tolerance."

Now comes David F. Pierre, an investigative writer who tracked case after case of priests falsely accused and engaged in steeply uphill battles to clear their names. Catholic Priests Falsely Accused: The Facts, The Fraud, The Stories stands alone among the genre of compelling legal and moral exposes. This book leaves the reader with one clear truth: child sexual abuse is a societal and cultural tragedy, but the solution is not to be found in unjust witch hunts. Every Catholic should read this sobering account, then take a deep breath. This book is the other truth that has been waiting to be told in the story of scandal in the Catholic Church.

Charlene C. Duline
Author, Drinking from the Saucer: A Memoir
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thought-Provoking, December 18, 2011
This review is from: Catholic Priests Falsely Accused: The Facts, The Fraud, The Stories (Paperback)
This book is very well written. It reminds me of the way journalists are supposed to be; the author has obviously done his research and carefully cites all of his sources. I do have to admit that reading it angered me. I guess injustice has a way of doing that to people. I plan on buying his other book as well and buying more copies of this to share with others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, the innocent victims' story is told, December 17, 2011
This review is from: Catholic Priests Falsely Accused: The Facts, The Fraud, The Stories (Paperback)
There are so many good and faithful priests who continue their ministries in honesty, integrity and sheer courage. When these innocent men are falsely accused the media treats them as guilty until proven innocent...only the media never reports the court's finding of innocence. The author is bravely documenting the effects of these false accusations and finally a more well rounded view of the collateral damage of the sex abuse crisis is being told. Highly recommend this book for those who choose to think independently of media brainwashing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honest book, January 10, 2012
By 
B. Bratton (Palo Cedro, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Catholic Priests Falsely Accused: The Facts, The Fraud, The Stories (Paperback)
Great book. The Church has always had attacks from within and without and that probably won't change. Innocent priests are going to jail. It's time a book like this was written to expose the culprits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An incredible account of an unreported scandal, March 12, 2012
By 
This review is from: Catholic Priests Falsely Accused: The Facts, The Fraud, The Stories (Paperback)
When talking about the enormous decline in sexual abuse cases inside the Catholic Church in recent years, it is customary to preface the remarks by saying that even one case of the clerical abuse of minors is too many. Such a qualifier is completely justified. The sacred dignity of the priesthood demands that priests be held to high standards. The innocence of children (so destroyed by our hypersexualized culture) must be safeguarded at all costs. Even a single case of sexual abuse of minors is one too many.

However, a second qualifier should also be made when talking about the scandals. In the cases of sexual abuse accusations against priests, a single false accusation is one too many. There must be an equal zeal to defend the honor of reputable priests whose lives are being ruined by fraudulent claims and unscrupulous accusers. It cannot be tolerated that to the scandal of clerical abuse of children is now added the scandal of Catholic priests being falsely accused.

However, this is exactly what is happening. David F. Pierre's latest book Catholic Priests Falsely Accused: The Facts, The Fraud, The Stories is an incredible account of this great unreported scandal. He tells not just a few isolated cases but documents a systemic disregard for the reputation of priests, a hostile judicial review of cases and a marked media bias against the Catholic Church.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars interesting book, January 17, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Catholic Priests Falsely Accused: The Facts, The Fraud, The Stories (Paperback)
I'm not finished with this book yet, as I probably read two or three at a time, but it's very good. I have an e book on my Kindle and purchased this book as a gift for a priest I know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is an excellent story of priests falsely accused during the recent witch hunt by the media, March 3, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
An excellent book on the truth of falsely accused priests denied justice. I recommend it to all, not just Catholics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must Read, March 2, 2014
By 
Pen & Ink (100 miles from Baltimore) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This should be required reading for every journalist and television/radio reporter. It should be put in every parish and diocesan library and bookstore. Defending priests falsely accused does not excuse the real perpetrators. Pray for our priests.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True to life, December 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I personally know a priest who I believe has been falsley accused. Two and a half years ago he was accused, publicly suspended, and left in limbo. There was one accuser who had no credibility. The investigation is complete but the priest cannot even get a hearing. He was pressured to request laicization. The matter sits on the bishop's desk month after month awaiting the bishop's decision. I think the bishop is afraid of bad publicity if he dismisses the charges and hopes the priest will just go away. This injustice and so many others make me question whether I belong in the Catholic Church. I certainly have lost respect for this bishop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should Be Required Reading For Every American, October 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
How many people, including faithful Catholics, are aware that priests are denied the right to review their own personnel files, denied the right to confront their accuser, denied the right to defend themselves, denied basic Constitutional rights that the rest of us enjoy? Falsely accused priests have their lives completely ruined, their vocations--their livelihood unjustly taken from them, their reputations destroyed by greedy lawyers like Jeff Anderson & Co. & the "victims" who view the Catholic Church as their own bankroll. Innocent Catholic parishoners are watching their parishes being sold to pay the "victims" of these false accusations. The bishops don't fulfill their canonical obligations to their own priests because they are very willing to sacrifice innocent priests to save their own hides. The Church hierarchy is terrible need of a purging. Maybe this book can help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Catholic Priests Falsely Accused: The Facts, The Fraud, The Stories
Catholic Priests Falsely Accused: The Facts, The Fraud, The Stories by David F. Pierre Jr (Paperback - November 3, 2011)
$14.95 $8.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.