Customer Reviews


135 Reviews
5 star:
 (66)
4 star:
 (50)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mystery, killers, intrigue and a hint of magic
I picked up this book not really knowing what to expect. What I found was a beautifully crafted world in which poor Miranda seems to be chasing her tail looking for her apparently dead husband and suspected of criminal activity. She then sets out to find her missing husband with not much except determination, common sense and a stray cat.

The author keeps a...
Published on March 8, 2012 by allrandom32

versus
22 of 30 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Miranda Eats a Meat Pie for Dinner
This book is BORING. I downloaded it because the premise is interesting and it had good reviews. Wrong. Have you ever joked about how in books and movies you never see people eating or going to the bathroom? This book is a testament to why that is. It is not interesting to read about. The story has a lot of potential--a suspicious disappearance, a mysterious cat, shady...
Published on May 24, 2012 by myrtleturtle


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mystery, killers, intrigue and a hint of magic, March 8, 2012
This review is from: Cat's Paw (Perfect Paperback)
I picked up this book not really knowing what to expect. What I found was a beautifully crafted world in which poor Miranda seems to be chasing her tail looking for her apparently dead husband and suspected of criminal activity. She then sets out to find her missing husband with not much except determination, common sense and a stray cat.

The author keeps a brisk pace, which is a quality that I appreciate in novelists and also contains thoughtful characters that have real dimension to them. You find yourself thinking ahead and speculating about characters and possibilities the whole way through and wondering whether the author was trying to lead you into drawing a false conclusion or whether she was actually just placing nice hints along the way to finally solving the mystery for those readers that are observant enough to see the clues.

I also enjoyed Miranda's relationship with the cat. The cat is certainly very mysterious and has a number of unusual qualities. But this is part of the mystery that the author weaves, you sense that this cat was placed deliberately there for Miranda, but don't know why or by whom.

If you enjoy mysteries and intrigue this book has many of them and on different levels.

I especially enjoyed the twist at the end of the story, you may find one of your legs kicking the other for not picking it up earlier in the piece. A highly enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, March 16, 2012
By 
Sandra Johnson (St. Paul, MN United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cat's Paw (Kindle Edition)
There was so much about this book that I really enjoyed -- the richness of the language, the timeless setting, the interesting little details about such things as a lighthouse and a meteor to name a few. I also liked the heroine, a small town lady, who kept growing stronger as she searched for her missing husband. Also interesting was the strange cat that she took with her as she searched. I also liked the fact that the magic was more subtle than a usual fantasy. When I told my husband I was reading this book, he mentioned that he had read it a few years ago and it was one of his all time favorites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Cat's Paw" is strongly recommended for school and community library fantasy/mystery collections., October 6, 2007
This review is from: Cat's Paw (Perfect Paperback)
When Miranda Glivven's husband doesn't return from a secret assignment for the government, she goes out to look for him, starting at his last known location. Miranda's only companion on her quest for her missing husband is a cat. She finds that no one, not the authorities, nor the local citizenry, seem to want to help her. Some of them even think that Miranda is using magic (a treasonous offense) because of that cat. Set in a world where magic is officially denied, even while it is consistently rumored to exist, "Cat's Paw" is an entertaining and compellingly written novel that deftly combines mystery with fantasy. Author L. A. Taylor (she passed away from cancer in 1996) is revealed as a master storyteller of immense and imaginative talent. "Cat's Paw" is strongly recommended for school and community library fantasy/mystery collections. Also recommended reading are her earlier novels "Footnote to Murder" and "Blossom of Erda".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mysterious, intriging, and heart warming, March 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cat's Paw (Kindle Edition)
What a great read!!!The characters grab you by the heart immediately. Miranda is a brave woman facing her fears of the big city and her boys bravely stay at home keeping the lights aglow (literally). Communication is not what it is today and you can feel her concern for them,even though she has complete confidence in them.Finding their father and her beloved is more important than anything even her safety.

This is a mysterious land with different landmarks and strange inns and trains.The author does a wonderful job of making you see these in your mind's eye. The descriptions are excellent and intriguing. I would have liked to have the great bath that Miranda had at the Railway Inn. I wonder how the meat pies tasted.

Even the golden cat seems to tug at your heart. He is an amazing animal.His five toes certainly keep you wondering about him.

This book keeps you looking for clues as to the outcome of the story and the twists at the end are so fun.

Buy this book and join Miranda and her friends and family in this fascinating land. Mystery, intrigue, and romance await you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, July 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cat's Paw (Kindle Edition)
This story has eveything: great characters, mystery, magic, action, love, etc. I appreciated that the heroine, Miranda, was a middle-age wife and mother and had depth, personality & appeal. It was perfect for entertainment on a long afternoon. I'd definitely read more by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this book and woman and cat!!, June 20, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cat's Paw (Kindle Edition)
I have so enjoyed this book, reading it straight through, and savoring it still, weeks later!! I love our main character and her 'cat' and all the relationships and happenings. Miranda is strong, determined, focused, and has interesting thoughts... I knew who the cat was very early, but enjoyed the other surprises that crept up on us. I was moved by the people, their thoughts, the situations that developed. Good, enjoyable book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good entertainment, May 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cat's Paw (Kindle Edition)
A pleasant, well crafted and entertaining fantasy with well developed characters and a nice magical twist to the 'search for the missing' plot.

A sensible, well grounded main character, a middle aged woman with older children and a missing husband she finds it necessary to search for. A stray cat provides the touch of magic which carries the storyline along very nicely and provides additional interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Read!, April 29, 2012
By 
Sandy Bose (Chicago, Illinois USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cat's Paw (Kindle Edition)
I stayed up until 2 a.m. reading this book because I Had to know how it ended. This is a great romantic suspense novel with some magic thrown in for good measure. The characters are well-drawn and really do grab you. Miranda's husband, Alexi, a lighthouse light keeper, has gone off to do a special and secret project for the Governor. His letters stop coming. So Miranda leaves her two sons in the care of neighbors and goes in search of her husband. She only has one of her cats for company. The story tells the story of her search and the unexpected resolution.

This book is extremely well-written. Great and memorable characters. Excellent descriptions. Very believable dialogue. A fast moving plot with twists and turns. It's just simply a fantastic read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 30 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Miranda Eats a Meat Pie for Dinner, May 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cat's Paw (Kindle Edition)
This book is BORING. I downloaded it because the premise is interesting and it had good reviews. Wrong. Have you ever joked about how in books and movies you never see people eating or going to the bathroom? This book is a testament to why that is. It is not interesting to read about. The story has a lot of potential--a suspicious disappearance, a mysterious cat, shady politicians, a police cover-up--and despite all this the protagonist spends most of the time getting her train ticket punched. The author makes a big deal about the strange cat who follows her around, but once they get underway it literally does nothing but poop in the hotel room. The title should be "Miranda Eats a Meat Pie for Dinner" because that's all she really accomplishes (Seriously, someone should count up all the time they mention meat pies because it's a lot. I would do it but I think my eyes would melt if I read one more boring word of this book). It's really painfully obvious from the beginning what happened to the husband, and who is the bad guy, and the "truth" about magic. I am mostly annoyed that the author took the time to create this whole interesting, complex universe and then didn't do anything with it. The parts about the magicians are waaaay more interesting than Miranda reading a newspaper. Which she does. A lot. I only finished it to find out what happens, and that was disappointing too. The point, this book is boring and you should not read it. Now I'm going to eat, for some reason I am craving a meat pie...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice writing style, predictable plot., November 9, 2012
This review is from: Cat's Paw (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book though it was a little predictable. The main character was well drawn, as were some (but not all) of the secondary characters. The plot itself marched along with delightful little elements of mystery. One of the things I liked about this book was that nothing was over-explained, which is a weakness of the fantasy genre. If you are looking for something with lots of excitement and big plot twists, this isn't it. If you are looking for something that dependably keeps your attention and encourages you to turn the page while sitting on the bus or eating lunch, this is a good choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Cat's Paw
Cat's Paw by L. A. Taylor
$3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.