Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant, enjoyable, and universal
Cartoonist Jeffrey Brown's Cat Getting Out of a Bag and Other Observations was a surprise a few years back, a gentle, fun and funny book that I bought at least half a dozen times in 2007 to give out as Christmas gifts. Now the artist (Clumsy, I Am Going to Be Small) is back with another cat book, one that goes a few steps further than his first.

While Cat...
Published on October 14, 2010 by GraphicNovelReporter.com

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The cat's meow
Cats ARE weird, anyone who has a cat will tell you this. They sometimes run about for no reason chasing nothing, they squeeze into the strangest of places and go to sleep there, they meow for food and then walk away without touching it once they've received it.

Well, Jeffrey Brown has noticed these things too and has decided to make a 100+ pages book on the...
Published on February 22, 2011 by Sam Quixote


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant, enjoyable, and universal, October 14, 2010
This review is from: Cats are Weird and More Observations (Hardcover)
Cartoonist Jeffrey Brown's Cat Getting Out of a Bag and Other Observations was a surprise a few years back, a gentle, fun and funny book that I bought at least half a dozen times in 2007 to give out as Christmas gifts. Now the artist (Clumsy, I Am Going to Be Small) is back with another cat book, one that goes a few steps further than his first.

While Cat Getting Out of a Bag was a mixed bag of topics and stories, Cats Are Weird pretty much just follows the antics of two cats, gray-and-white Buddy and tiger Kitty. It gives the book a bit more focus, but also manages to depict the two cats' antics in a way that is universal.

The book is mostly comprised of single-page "stories," some of which are more gags or observations, but all of which build on the insanity of the feline species. If you have ever owned cats, you can't help but nod and laugh in understanding (if not frustration) of how Kitty manages to destroy a new set of Venetian blinds in under five hours, or Buddy's escapades with a glass of water.

Most of this is told in simple, nine-panel grids, but once in a while Brown breaks out of the predictability of that format to show us some surreal scenes that would never work in any other medium but comics.

Brown's artwork is better than ever in Cats Are Weird, and this time around, most of the book is in color. It's executed in markers, which provides a warm, handmade look that you just can't get with computer coloring.

A few full-page illustrations are scattered through the book. Drawn in a more realistic style, they help break up the narrative and show Brown once again stretching as an artist.

This is hardly groundbreaking work, but it's pleasant, enjoyable, and universal. Worth buying, once or a half dozen times.

-- John R. Platt
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The cat's meow, February 22, 2011
This review is from: Cats are Weird and More Observations (Hardcover)
Cats ARE weird, anyone who has a cat will tell you this. They sometimes run about for no reason chasing nothing, they squeeze into the strangest of places and go to sleep there, they meow for food and then walk away without touching it once they've received it.

Well, Jeffrey Brown has noticed these things too and has decided to make a 100+ pages book on the subject. It's mostly silent and alternates between colour and black and white pages, and it all looks very pretty, printed on good paper and packaged in a dinky attractive hardcover, but what you get is the little foibles of cats filling each page and I felt that it wasn't enough content for a book.

Brown's drawing style has gotten better since the last book of his I read a few years back, "Unlikely" and his use of colour is effective. If you've got or had a cat then you'll notice most, if not all, of these observations so it's not the most engrossing read as you'll be thinking "Yeah my cat does that. And?". Hopefully his next work will have more substance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, October 4, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cats are Weird and More Observations (Hardcover)
Being a cat owner for as long as I can remember, this book certainly makes you laugh. It accurately depicts some of the random, quirky, and weird things cats do. You'll find myself flipping through the comic-book style pages thinking, "holy crap. my cat totally does this!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars my daughter & I love Jeffrey Brown, August 22, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cats are Weird and More Observations (Hardcover)
Cat and Paperbag is a little more humourous, but this book is great, as well. If you have cats and like graphic novels or visual humor, I would highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adorable book!, September 30, 2010
This review is from: Cats are Weird and More Observations (Hardcover)
If you have or like cats, you'll like love book. It really nails what it's like to have a cat and it's quite amusing and cute!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just as good as his first book!, November 18, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cats are Weird and More Observations (Hardcover)
I am a life long cat owner. I loved Cat Getting Out of a Bag, and I loved this one. Cats Are Weird is about how a pair of cats interact, whereas the other is about a single cat. I highly recommend both. You will recognize your cat in his books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this book is for any cat lover, October 29, 2012
This review is from: Cats are Weird and More Observations (Hardcover)
A friend showed me Jeffrey Brown's post cards and I just had to get one of his books. Anyone who loves their kitties will appreciate the humor in this book and totally RELATE! Mrowr!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very cute and funny book, December 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cats are Weird and More Observations (Hardcover)
Nice hard cover, too. Very cute and funny book about cats. I will look into other books by Jeffery Brown.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought four copies for friends: 100% delighted, November 21, 2013
By 
Eclectic Reader (Honolulu, HI USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cats are Weird and More Observations (Hardcover)
You just KNOW that Jeffrey Brown is a true cat-lover.

Not a sappy sentimentalist, but someone who is fascinated by cats and loves their quirkiness.

The situations he depicts in his cartoons are just so familiar to people who dwell with cats. And the simple drawings somehow capture the essence of catness (I don't know what that means exactly, but I think we actually enjoy, even admire cats for their ability to take their set of tightly-wound, instinct-bound behaviors and explore what must be to them an alien and possibly hostile environment (our homes) and deal with even stranger creatures, like ourselves.).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Jeffery Brown, Known by Many and Also Not Known by Many, January 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cats are Weird and More Observations (Hardcover)
Mr Brown wrote a wonderfully entertaining book "Cat getting out of a bag and other observations" that was in a very similar vein to this one. I got a kick out of that, despite having already been inundated with cat themed material since the widespread adoption of the internet in the early 2000's.

His second book is fine, save it is far too much in the same vein. While the comics are still amusing and adorable, they have a repetitive sense about them, and they are far less interesting. I find "Cat getting out of a bag, the sequel" to be a fine but still pale comparison to the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Cats are Weird and More Observations
Cats are Weird and More Observations by Jeffrey Brown (Hardcover - July 28, 2010)
$14.95 $10.40
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.