Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Caught in the Middle: Protecting the Children of High-Conflict Divorce 1st Edition

4.5 out of 5 stars 8 customer reviews
ISBN-13: 978-0787938796
ISBN-10: 0787938793
Why is ISBN important?
ISBN
This bar-code number lets you verify that you're getting exactly the right version or edition of a book. The 13-digit and 10-digit formats both work.
Scan an ISBN with your phone
Use the Amazon App to scan ISBNs and compare prices.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Buy used On clicking this link, a new layer will be open
$4.30 On clicking this link, a new layer will be open
Buy new On clicking this link, a new layer will be open
$30.00 On clicking this link, a new layer will be open
More Buying Choices
33 New from $19.60 63 Used from $0.01
Free Two-Day Shipping for College Students with Amazon Student Free%20Two-Day%20Shipping%20for%20College%20Students%20with%20Amazon%20Student


Suffer Love
Love Stories for Teens
A teenage girl falls for the wrong guy in this romantic young adult debut that's perfect for fans of Susane Colasanti, Kasie West, and Lauren Barnholt. Hardcover | Kindle book | See more for teen & young adult readers
$30.00 FREE Shipping. In Stock. Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

  • Caught in the Middle: Protecting the Children of High-Conflict Divorce
  • +
  • Divorce Poison New and Updated Edition: How to Protect Your Family from Bad-mouthing and Brainwashing
Total price: $41.13
Buy the selected items together

Editorial Reviews

From Publishers Weekly

That their parents' divorce adds to the burden of children's growing up is amply documented by Garrity and Baris, child psychologists in Denver who specialize in treating partners of acrimoniously failed marriages. Their book is designed to help parents and the professionals who work with them arrive at solutions to stressful situations that will enable the children of divorce to grow into emotionally healthy adults. Interparental conflict affects children at all ages, but, the authors contend, children under five are especially vulnerable, while older children more often join in the conflict by taking sides. The authors' remediation model for containing, regulating and resolving anger is presented for use by attorneys, mental health professionals and divorced parents to shape an effective co-parenting plan that does not make pawns of children.
Copyright 1994 Reed Business Information, Inc. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

From Library Journal

Although there have been other recent books on coparenting after divorce (e.g., Melinda Blau's Families Apart, LJ 1/94), Garrity and Baris focus primarily on situations where open conflict between parents continues years after a separation. Following opening chapters on the negative aspects of such conflict, the authors demonstrate how a parenting plan geared toward lowering the conflict level can help. This is realized primarily through the use of a "parenting coordinator," who is either hired by the parents or mandated by the courts. Two chapters focus on parental alienation, which occurs when one parent attempts to alienate children from the other. Although the majority of divorcing parents are not going to want a coordinator, the ideas in this book may be useful in severe cases. Recommended for large academic and public libraries.
Kay Brodie, Chesapeake Coll., Wye Mills, Md.
Copyright 1994 Reed Business Information, Inc. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Tribe: On Homecoming and Belonging by Sebastian Junger
Tribe
The popular new release from Sebastian Junger. Learn more

Product Details

  • Paperback: 192 pages
  • Publisher: Jossey-Bass; 1 edition (August 1, 1997)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0787938793
  • ISBN-13: 978-0787938796
  • Product Dimensions: 6.2 x 0.5 x 9.3 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 13 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (8 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #397,506 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

By C. M. Standley on December 2, 2007
Format: Paperback
I am a parent who shares custody with a long and difficult history. This book has been instrumental in providing me with deep insights into how my reactions and behaviors are affecting my child, and what I can do to help. Its is not a self-help book, but the information in it is instructive to help, particularly for the child being parented. I am quite appreciative of the information and how it was presented. It also gave me valuable perspective into the child custody evaluation process and the particular evaluator engaged for our matter. Its nothing a parent either needs or wants experinece with personally. I wish I had read it or been referred to it before/while participating in our evaluaiton a few years ago - My kid would have benefitted most.
1 Comment 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I am providing this to parents of young patients when divorce has or will occur. It is intended to help them recognize the importance that the child be loved and not try to make the child a partner in hating the former spouse.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I'm six years divorced, being taken back to court for a custody battle by an ex-spouse who suddenly has decided he wants to be a father.

This book was recommended by children's counselor and I devoured it. Really puts you on the side of the kids. Takes you out of the "he said she said" and battle against your ex and truly boils it down to what matters - the children.

Some parts were a little hard to read because initially it paints a doomsday picture of children and divorce, but keep reading, and you'll be glad you did. There is a light at the end of the tunnel, there are healthy ways to cope, and children need to protected at all costs. Now, if I can just get my ex to read this...
Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By T. Daly on December 31, 2010
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
i bought this when my wife left after an affair. it really puts things in perspective and keeps you focused on your kids; instead of hating on your ex. ironically i skipped all the sections on parent coordinator and my custody fight is finally over after two years and we have a parent coordinator. i would recommend that men dont fight the coordinator as hard as i did. with all the game playing its good to have someone recording them.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Caught in the Middle: Protecting the Children of High-Conflict Divorce
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more
This item: Caught in the Middle: Protecting the Children of High-Conflict Divorce