Prime Music

Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player


Cavalli: La Calisto [Import]

Francesco Cavalli , René Jacobs , Maria Bayo , Marcello Lippi , Simon Keenlyside , Graham Pushee , Alessandra Mantovani , Gilles Ragon Audio CD
4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)

Available from these sellers.

Amazon Artist Stores

All the music, full streaming songs, photos, videos, biographies, discussions, and more.

Product Details

  • Performer: Maria Bayo, Marcello Lippi, Simon Keenlyside, Graham Pushee, Alessandra Mantovani, et al.
  • Conductor: René Jacobs
  • Composer: Francesco Cavalli
  • Audio CD (March 21, 1995)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Harmonia Mundi Fr.
  • ASIN: B00000079W
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #339,850 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Disc: 1
1. Prologo: (Sinf) Lento, Presto - Con Vocale/Rene Jacobs
2. Prologo: Alme Pure E Volanti - Barry Banks/Maria Bayo
3. Prologo: Gran Madre, Ottima Duce - Alessandra Mantovani/Barry Banks/Maria Bayo
4. Atto Primo,Scena I: Del Foco Fulminato - Marcello Lippi/Simon Keenlyside
5. Atto Primo,Scena II: Piante Ombrose - Maria Bayo
6. Atto Primo,Scena II: De L'Offese Del Foco - Simon Keenlyside/Marcello Lippi/Maria Bayo
See all 22 tracks on this disc
Disc: 2
1. Atto Secondo, Scena I: Grave/Erme E Sonlinghi Cime - Graham Pushee
2. Atto Secondo, Scena II: Candidi Corridori - Alessandra Mantovani
3. Atto Secondo, Scena II: Bella Quanto Crudele - Graham Pushee/Alessandra Mantovani
4. Atto Secondo, Scena III: Alfin La Tanto Rigida - Dominique Visse
5. Atto Secondo, Scena IV: Da Le Gelose Mie Cure Incessanti - Sonia Theodoridou
6. Atto Secondo, Scena V: Sportgate Anco - Maria Bayo/Sonia Theodoridou
See all 15 tracks on this disc
Disc: 3
1. Atto Terzo, Scena I: Restino Imbalsamate - Maria Bayo
2. Atto Terzo, Scena II: Da Le Sponde - Sonia Theodoridou/Dominique Visse/Judith Vindevogel
3. Atto Terzo, Scena II: Ma Si Fa Gelo Il Sangue - Maria Bayo/Sonia Theodoridou/Dominique Visse/Judith Vindevogel
4. Atto Terzo, Scena III: Racconsolata E Paga - Sonia Theodoridou
5. Atto Terzo, Scena IV: Perfide, Ancora Osate - Simon Keenlyside/Marcello Lippi
6. Atto Terzo, Scena IV: O Re De L'Universo - Maria Bayo/Marcello Lippi/Simon Keenlyside
See all 15 tracks on this disc

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gem of an Opera May 4, 2000
Format:Audio CD
La Calisto is such a great masterpiece that I can't understand why it's not better known, it's a delicious comedy about a lusty Jupiter in love with la Calisto a novice of the cult of Minerva. The music is exquisite, the performance admirable. If you want to investigate post Monteverdi opera, start here. You will certainly enjoy the sensuous Calisto of Maria Bayo, and a tour-de-force performance from Marcello Lippi singing as baritone (when roaming as Jupiter) and countertenor (when impersonating Minerva to seduce Calisto). Rene Jacobs is such a stupendous conductor that it's easy to rate him as one of the finest musicians in the World, this recording of La Calisto is ample proof.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THOROUGHLY ENJOYABLE November 29, 2002
Format:Audio CD
I purchased this recording after reading the recommendation here and I must say that I agree whole-heartedly. The music is undoubtedly indebted to Monteverdi, especially Poppea, but still has an individual stamp. I find myself finding these early Baroque works suprisingly fresh and accessable.
The singers are quite fine across the board, although Montovani's Diana could have been a little steadier. Especially good are Kennylside and Bayo. But everyone sings with style and dramatic imagination. Good balance and recording. Recommended.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
12 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fake reconstruction November 5, 2004
Format:Audio CD
La Calisto is truly a masterpiece and this is revealed in Jacobs recording, which shows very good taste and excellent singers. Nevertheless, it is not Cavalli's score. Venetian opera was normally written for voices and continuo with seldom use of violins in ritornelli and a few accompagnati arias. Jacobs, as Leppard did twenty years earlier, seems not to trust Cavalli's music because he has completely re-orchestrated the original score. The result does not sound like Venetian opera at all. It is more or less like Leppard with original instruments and cleaner voices. I think time has arrived to offer to the listener more rigorous reconstructions of early music.
Was this review helpful to you?
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Look for Similar Items by Category