Customer Reviews


190 Reviews
5 star:
 (107)
4 star:
 (54)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buyer Beware
Well into his career as an art forger, Ken Perenyi meets a reclusive, eccentric art collector living in Piermont, New York, in the Hudson Valley. Perenyi quotes Jimmy, the collector, as saying that art dealers "are a bunch of prostitutes. And their primary appreciation of a picture is its price tag." That serves as a leitmotif for Caveat Emptor, and indeed, the buyer...
Published on October 10, 2012 by Taylor McNeil

versus
65 of 71 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An amiable forger spills the secrets of the trade - but little of his soul
Ken Perenyi grew up in New Jersey, failed at school and seemed destined for obscurity when as a teenager he fell in with some of the drug-soaked denizens of the swinging sixties who turned him on first to acid and then to art.

In this readable but somehow elusive memoir, we learn of Perenyi's astonishing career as a forger and many of the secrets of his trade...
Published on August 28, 2012 by Alan A. Elsner


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

65 of 71 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An amiable forger spills the secrets of the trade - but little of his soul, August 28, 2012
Ken Perenyi grew up in New Jersey, failed at school and seemed destined for obscurity when as a teenager he fell in with some of the drug-soaked denizens of the swinging sixties who turned him on first to acid and then to art.

In this readable but somehow elusive memoir, we learn of Perenyi's astonishing career as a forger and many of the secrets of his trade -- but we learn little to nothing of Perenyi himself. It's interesting the way he manages to reveal so much and so little at the same time.

Unlike Han van Meegeren, possibly the world's most famous art swindler who created fake Vermeers and sold them for vast sums, Perenyi was usually content to create new works by second-rank British and American artists of the 18th and 19th centuries and sell them for a few thousand dollars.

He managed to educate himself on the exact techniques of producing cracks in the paint on different surfaces, on the correct varnish, the right canvas, the antique picture frames of which he became a connoisseur, even the tiny fly droppings that accumulate on the surface of old works of art. All this knowledge he generously shares with us.

Perenyi began by specializing in nautical scenes, still lifes, American portraits and then branched out into English sporting scenes of jockeys and hounds. His biggest score was a painting auctioned for more than $700,000 by an American artists called Martin Johnson Heade of passionflowers.

All this detail is quite interesting -- but Perenyi remains an enigma. He tells us he develops a love of good food, fine wine, expensive clothes and becomes a kind of quasi English gentleman with an establishment in Bath and another in London. He is a hard worker and a hard spender. No sooner has he built up a nest egg than the money has all disappeared and he's in search of the next big score.

But his personal life remains opaque. We're not sure about his sexuality, his loves and hatred and what he ultimately believes. And the large cast of characters we meet in the book also for the most part remain two-dimensional. The women all seem to be slim and lovely; the men are various shapes and sizes but without much personality. People close to him occasionally die -- but not much regret is expressed. The most colorful character is Perenyi's some-time room-mate Tony Masaccio, a likeable scoundrel and thief without a moral or responsible bone in his body.

Perenyi also seems to have been extraordinarily loose-lipped. It seems as many of the dealers he sells his work to know he was a faker -- and don't care. As for Perenyi, he at one point bemoans the fact that he wasn't born in the 18th century when he could have been a grand success as a painter of English hunting scenes. "I felt misunderstood, victimized by fate, and stuck in a century where I didn't belong," he writes.

Referring to Heade, Perenyi sees himself almost as channeling the artist's talent rather than diluting it with fakes. "I was convinced that Heade would thank me, if he could, for carrying on the development of his work," he writes.

From the very first chapter, the book promises a climax as the FBI investigates Perenyi's vast record of forgery and begins to close in -- but the climax is never delivered. The investigation and the book both peter out and we're told that the author continues to produce forgeries until this very day.

This book is certainly interesting -- but the author does not give us enough of himself to make it truly compelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buyer Beware, October 10, 2012
By 
Taylor McNeil (Arlington, MA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Well into his career as an art forger, Ken Perenyi meets a reclusive, eccentric art collector living in Piermont, New York, in the Hudson Valley. Perenyi quotes Jimmy, the collector, as saying that art dealers "are a bunch of prostitutes. And their primary appreciation of a picture is its price tag." That serves as a leitmotif for Caveat Emptor, and indeed, the buyer should beware. Perenyi found his calling as an artist making fake paintings, first in the style of 17th century Dutch portraits, then moving into 19th century American and British art. In this entertaining book, he details his methods--and tells how he fell into the trade, mostly thanks to the greed of dealers--and buyers.

Caveat Emptor reads like a novel, starring a cast of characters that Donald E. Westlake would have loved: wise guy New Yorkers, crooked auction house dealers, leather clad enforcers, and even the legendary--or notorious, depending on your point of view--Roy Cohn. A longtime pal makes a habit of boosting not fancy cars but station wagons: they make hauling late-night loot easier. And then there's the artsy-fartsy Soho crowd: Perenyi glides smoothly between them all. There is as much life in the fast lane as art forgery here, but that's part of the charm, at least once the rather tiresome sixties are over with.

But it's the art forgery that were really here for, and Perenyi is happy to divulge his secrets: the statute of limitations has run out, and the FBI never got the goods on him. He started producing fakes just to see if he could, and then it became his living. He spills all the details: finding old canvases or boards to repaint, and appropriately aged wood panels (drawer bottoms from antique furniture are a good source), intently studying the styles of the original painters.

He is inadvertently helped along the way by many experts, such as an old world framer maker who clues him in on the past masters' preferred way to make gesso, the primer for a canvas, using rabbit skin glue. The hot Florida sun bakes his paintings dry, rubber balls bounced on the canvas create the right pattern of cracks; he even mimics the pattern of microscopic fly droppings that accumulate over the decades on old paintings.

The art galleries and auction houses are only too glad to sell his paintings, pretty much no questions asked. Perenyi repeatedly portrays their greed, and in one amusing scene, after unwittingly getting stiffed by Sotheby's in London, gets his revenge by engineering a situation where some Sotheby's workers could lose their jobs. "Let them go out an earn a honest living for once!" he says, seemingly unaware of the irony of his statement.

Perenyi never had formal art training of any sort, but obviously is a master of the craft. Now his fakes are collected as such--perhaps someone will come along and fake his fakes! In the end, despite plenty of money stashed away and a life of leisure in the offing, Perenyi keeps at it. "Painting pictures had totally consumed my life," he writes. "The more pictures I turned out, the better they became, and that just inspired me to paint more. I lived in a perpetual pursuit of another subject." After reading Caveat Emptor, we're glad he did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buyer Beware? When it comes to the book I beg to differ..., November 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Caveat Emptor (or "Buyer Beware") is an amazing story I can only hope someone turns into a movie. Years ago I had come across art forger Ken Perenyi's name and the magazine article intrigued me. It wasn't until this past summer that I saw him interviewed on the Today Show and I realized had "come out of hiding" and penned his incredible story. I was slightly apprehensive about buying the book only because I was afraid that a story based in and around classical artwork might fall a little flat (I love art, but I draw the line at art history as I find it can be a tad tedious for my taste).
Caveat Emptor was a page turner from beginning to end. Perenyi is far from the pretentious art aficionado I had originally pegged him for, in fact his wit, sometimes faltering self esteem (especially growing of age in the 60's and trying to figure out what he was going to do with his life) and at times self-deprecating personality gives Perenyi a very human side. The goings on in Perenyi's apartment building in NYC, then called the "The Ferguson Club", was not only hilarious, some of the characters could have all been straight out of the classic Pulitzer awarded "Confederacy of Dunces". I was so taken by the building and it's tenants I had to go and stand in front of the actual building the last time I found myself in Manhattan!
There's a part of the story when one of the forgeries is going to be cleaned by Sotheby's auction house--which puts you in the room with Perenyi and leaves you with sweaty, clammy palms. Although I didn't want the story to end, I was glad that moved so beautifully and so quickly. I would much rather be left wanting more, than to have to read too much. Well done!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An insight into a unique aspect of American art history, February 10, 2013
This review is from: Caveat Emptor: The Secret Life of an American Art Forger (Kindle Edition)
A pretty amazing story; a real tell all on how he did it.

Okay, he probably doesn't tell the whole story, but he gives enough details to give you a great read. He takes you on his guiltless journey through how he became a forger, including his studies of old masterpieces, and his take on the auction house sales world. and ultimately how he fooled so many buyers.

If you like a good book on art crime, this is one to add to your stack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining but not very well-written, April 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Ken Perenyi reminisces about his early days starting out as an art forger, until recent years when the FBI investigated him. His escapades are thrilling and give an insider's view of the art industry. Not knowing much about the art world, I found it fascinating to learn how the author managed to convincingly reproduce the effects of age on paintings, and how he duped experts and auction houses.

As a story it is entertaining but as a memoir I found it lacking in writing style and substance. I would have appreciated more research into the artists he forged, or about the art industry. For instance, there is no scale with which to compare the amount he received for his forgeries. It would have been easy enough to say the average value of the original paintings at the time so that the reader can better appreciate Perenyi's skills as a forger. Also, there is no "character development" in the sense that the author does not reveal his motivations or inner thoughts beyond financial needs and the thrill of duping experts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A page turner, February 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I just finished Caveat Emptor and I'll have to say I found it riveting. I'm a graphic designer and illustrator who does some painting myself,so that may have predisposed me to purchase this book. Also Ken Perenyi lives 8 miles up the road from me in Madiera Beach, FL. I hope to meet him at some point and discuss his book. One learns a lot of how good "fakes" are created and all of the effort that goes into it. It's also interesting how he chose the artists to copy and how he was able to replicate their style. Toward the end of the book, when the FBI is hot on his trail, this book is a real page turner to find out how he stays one step ahead of the law.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating Peak into the Art World, July 25, 2012
I bought this book after reading the NYT Daily feature on it a couple of weeks ago. It's a fascinating peak behind the curtains of the art world. There's so much money at stake in verifying and selling the true masterpieces. It's no wonder the big auction houses called off the FBI once they realized they'd been selling forgeries for millions without properly vetting them. This book is a fascinating look inside a true artist's uncommon talent. We appreciate remakes of classic and modern music every day. Why shouldn't an artist who reproduces masterpieces be appreciated as well? Especially when the reproductions are apparently close to perfection. Would you appreciate a perfect copy of the Golden Gate Bridge or the Beatles' Imagine? I would.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 57 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This book is another hoax by the author!, July 24, 2012
The book is a mildly amusing afternoon's read. The reader is supposed to believe that an uneducable lout, the author, suddenly discovers he has the innate ability to read and comprehend reference books and moreover produce forgeries that virtually defy detection. With no formal training, even in holding a paintbrush, he soon becomes able to produce several forgeries a week and sell them via art dealers and auction houses. There is some technical information that is very elementary and obviously designed to convince a reader that Perenyi has great knowledge but we are to also understand that the great forger doesn't discover that paintings on canvas are often "relined" until well into his career. He hobnobs with the rich and famous including Roy Cohen and a number of Mafia made men. It is truly remarkable how easily he finds antique frames for his paintings and how his newly-made stretchers can masquerade as old. These unlikely events are lightly glossed over in much the same way we are asked to really believe that he risked sneaking rolls of forgeries and bundles of stretchers into London in his baggage. Perenyi name-drops a few London antiques markets, a print shop near touristic Covent Garden but curiously seems unaware of the real dealers that shape the London art and print world.

The book has the ring of fantasy - a work by someone who knows a bit about the art world, painting, fakery and avarice but not well enough to be able to demonstrate an intimate knowledge. This is a glib work - a nice fantasy but not believable. Eric Hebborn's "The Art Forger's Handbook" is an example of a legitimate forger's foray into the world of fakery. Perenyi's is not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars There isn't enough there there - it's only barely worth reading, October 16, 2013
By 
I got this book from the library after seeing the clip on CBS Sunday Morning. So you know the perspective of this review, let me say right from the start that I am a lover of scams, and am especially a hater of the art world. I actually applaud what Perenyi is doing, because if there is a victimless crime, this is it. The only people getting duped here are rich idiots who are too easily separated from their money.

That being said, overall this book is only okay. First off, it is difficult to trust anything that Perenyi says, because being a forger means that you are at your essence a liar. This is amply proven in his lack of discussion as to his sexual orientation. Frankly, I don't care if he is gay, straight, or bi, but he simply never owns up to it. It is eminently clear that he is gay from his portrait of his "friend," Jose, who lives and works with him, travels with him and stays with him in his bedroom, and who ended up dying of AIDS. But why not just come right out and say it? Because he is so dishonest about such a basic fact (even to the point of putting in a number of passages about sleeping with women), this leads the reader to be suspicious of everything else in the book as well.

In Googling Perenyi a bit, I found a reference to his adopting a girl from a devastated part of Africa. This life-changing event is likewise not even hinted at in the book. If he had included it, it would have given a better picture of him on the whole than the sketchy one he sets forth in the book.

Part of the "fun" of learning about a scam (or heist) is the "escape": the investigation, the evasion of the authorities, the almost-getting-caughts. I was waiting the whole book for him to get to this, and he only takes the last 15 pages to cover this very important subject. This is quite a disappointment.

On the other hand, what Perenyi does do very well is describe exactly how to create a forgery. This part is fairly brilliant, and my hat's off to the guy. I did appreciate the methods he came up with to fool all the art "experts", and how they evolved over the years as technology improved. If you want to know how to get into the art forgery business, this book is your guide. And more power to him, I say.

Overall, this is a quick read, and it is fairly interesting for what it is. It just wasn't what I was hoping it would be, and left me sort of flat at the end. Whereas from the CBS piece I got the idea that Perenyi was some sort of charismatic con artist, to be liked, the portrait he paints of himself in the book is wholly different. He is a forger, plain and simple, and he didn't have to be - he could have tried to enter the "legitimate" art world many years earlier than he did (or than he at least tried to).

Nowhere in the book does he offer any moral qualms whatsoever about what he did for over 20 years - there are no apologies. I would make sure I never had my wallet out anywhere in this guy's reach. But he also offers no philosophical statement as to why he did it either. He offers no defense of his actions. Again, this is a point that is sorely missing from the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars much more to know, September 6, 2012
By 
Avedon if only (Huntington, CT United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Caveat Emptor: The Secret Life of an American Art Forger (Kindle Edition)
This is almost a very good book - unfortunately Ken Perenyi's skills as a brilliant art forger are beyond his skills as a writer. Mr. Perenyi must have led an extraordinary life in New York during the days of The Studio and Andy Warhol, but it reads as though the manuscript was dictated - vivid memories are recalled but without any linking material or insights or reflections means there's no real narrative, just a series of remembered highlights over many years. Likewise the time he spent in London getting to know the auction houses and their weaknesses is covered as though he's writing a police report - the facts, but just the facts. His companion of many years is reported as being diagnosed with HIV Aids in London, which means cancelling plans to buy a house there, and returning to New York where his friend died shortly afterward surrounded by his family - but Perenyi never mentions him again and goes to some lengths to talk about his early girlfriends. No colour, no descriptions, no real feeling that we know Ken Perenyi at the end of the book any better than we did at the beginning. And perhaps that's the way he wants it. I found the book frustrating because I really liked the writer and his story, but because Perenyi never allows us inside his head, we're left with tantalising glimpses of a truly incredible life, presented in the blandest way imaginable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.