Customer Reviews


1,310 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,067)
4 star:
 (121)
3 star:
 (54)
2 star:
 (33)
1 star:
 (35)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


335 of 358 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Truly a Day to Celebrate
Led Zeppelin's Celebration Day arrived at my home from Amazon, and I couldn't wait to get it into my Blu Ray player. After being rejected in lotteries for a couple of Zep shows back in the very late 70s before the tragic death of John Bonham (my inspiration for drumming), this release finally provides the opportunity to see the band perform in the next best way to seeing...
Published on November 20, 2012 by Sky

versus
185 of 200 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 5 Star Performance, 2 Star Editing
I have been a huge fan of Led Zeppelin for as long as I have been a fan of music, and I have been looking forward to the O2 show being released commercially since I watched low quality cell phone videos after the show. It was obvious that the performance was fantastic and the band sounded sensational. When they announced Celebration Day, I pre-ordered on Amazon same day...
Published on November 19, 2012 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2131 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

335 of 358 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Truly a Day to Celebrate, November 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Led Zeppelin's Celebration Day arrived at my home from Amazon, and I couldn't wait to get it into my Blu Ray player. After being rejected in lotteries for a couple of Zep shows back in the very late 70s before the tragic death of John Bonham (my inspiration for drumming), this release finally provides the opportunity to see the band perform in the next best way to seeing them live.

This performance was captured at London's O2 Arena, and could be held up as a perfect example of the way a rock group should perform live. Barring some jumpy video editing, the show is a gem. I'll get to the jumpy video editing in a sec.

The Celebration Day concert is all show. Close up shots of each band member dominate the screen throughout and capture not only the great talents of the players, but also some moments of intimacy between the bandmates that are often missed in other DVD musical shows. Most importantly, there are no theatrics here to distract from the Zeppelin classics that comprise the awesome setlist; it's just the guys playing on a brightly lit stage. And all of the boys clearly committed to each other to give performances that were true to the studio versions.

As anyone reading this already knows, Jason Bonham fills in for his Dad on drums for this show...and he completely nails the essence of his Dad's drumming style both in look and style. Robert Plant, Jimmy Page and John Paul Jones are also completely on for the Celebration Day show. Page's white hair showed his age, but his guitar work showed his expertise. Jones' bass and keyboards sounded precise. But one of the key elements?...Plant's vocals sounded terrific; I have to say that I was blown away by how much he sounded like Robert Plant circa 1977. Just amazing.

The picture quality and sound are absolutely terrific. If you've got a surround system, you're in for a pounding Rock experience. The sound has an amazing DTS mix.

Unfortunately, as I alluded to earlier, the video (most of the time) jumps around every 4 seconds (or less), so you really don't get to see the performance in a way that makes you feel like you're in a front row seat right there at the O2 Arena back in 2007. The jumpiness makes you feel like...well...you're watching a DVD. Video producers need to leave the performance to the band and stop the self-indulgent "look what I can do with 16 cameras" editing. It's the worst during the fast songs; it's almost like the video editing team said, "Fast song...let's go with superfast camera changes." And all that really does is take away from the front row perception.

There were also some minor occasions where the videographer thought the viewer might like to see effects like a filtered, red screen, stop motion, slow motion or imagery effects. That kind of video-malarkey was quite popular in the 70s and even Zep's The Song Remains the Same DVD. But c'mon, even if it was some nostalgic nod to the video ways of when Zep was at their height, I think it's something we would all prefer to do without. But none of the aforementioned really took too much away from this excellent Blu Ray composition.

For the show you get the following setlist:

1. Good Times Bad Times
2. Ramble On
3. Black Dog
4. In My Time Of Dying
5. For Your Life
6. Trampled Under Foot
7. Nobody's Fault But Mine
8. No Quarter
9. Since I've Been Loving You
10. Dazed And Confused
11. Stairway To Heaven
12. The Song Remains The Same
13. Misty Mountain Hop
14. Kashmir
15. Whole Lotta Love
16. Rock And Roll

It runs for 2 hours, but, man, it felt like 20 minutes; I was screaming for more after that last track. These guys have GOT to pull it together for the fans and put this show on the road (I'm looking at you, ROBERT!!!).

You also get (with the Deluxe Edition) a disappointing bonus DVD that has the entire show recorded at their Shepperton Studio dress rehearsal. It's kinda cool to see, but it's a stationary single view camera with poor audio. Almost as bad as all those handheld bootlegs on YouTube of the show that we had to watch up until this release. There's minimal interaction by the band members between songs, and nothing that makes the inclusion of this bonus DVD anything other than the equivalent of another YouTube cell phone video.

The packaging and accompanying booklet are fair at best. It's a CD sized fold-out that houses the Blu Ray show, the bonus DVD, and audio of the show on 2 CDs with a booklet that has some brief (but heartfelt) band member comments about the show.

But this release is not about the packaging or extras; it's about the perfect, 5-star performance that Led Zeppelin delivered on December 10, 2007 and our ability to now share the experience on Blu Ray in high def awesomeness. It's the Led Zep live Blu Ray release we've all been waiting for. Any Zeppelin fan will enjoy this disk immensely. There is no question here. Find a way to add this to your collection.

Concert: 5 stars
Sound and Video Quality: 5 stars
Video Editing: 2 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


185 of 200 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 5 Star Performance, 2 Star Editing, November 19, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have been a huge fan of Led Zeppelin for as long as I have been a fan of music, and I have been looking forward to the O2 show being released commercially since I watched low quality cell phone videos after the show. It was obvious that the performance was fantastic and the band sounded sensational. When they announced Celebration Day, I pre-ordered on Amazon same day and set aside most of my Monday night to watch the blu ray.

I cranked up my surround sound earlier tonight and popped in the Blu Ray. While Good Times Bad Times sounded great, there was something that wasn't quite right. I soon realized that it was the editing of the video. I knew from reading advance info that they filmed the show with 16 cameras. This should have been a positive, but just because you HAVE 16 cameras doesn't mean you have to continuously use them. The video very rarely stays on the same camera shot for more than 3 seconds. Once I realized that was what was messing up the flow of the show, I actually started counting. I hoped that it was a tempo thing tied to the first song, but it continued for the whole show and was very distracting. It also made it hard to observe the interactions between the band members, which is too bad because everything I read about the show was that they really seemed to be enjoying themselves.

Putting the video portion aside, they sounded incredible. Plant's vocals are at least as good as they were live near the end of Zeppelin (ie - Knebworth show), and far better than at the other one-off reunions in the 80's. On some songs, Plant's somewhat weathered voice actually worked better than his younger vocals. Page sounded great, and it doesn't sound like they did much as far as overdubs in the studio - it is Jimmy's performance, with all the highlights and the occasional warts. JPJ and Jason Bonham were powerful and as tight as if they'd played together for years.

As a fan, it was worth getting the deluxe edition for the video of the rehearsal. The video (shot from a single stationary camera pretty far back) and audio quality is obviously not up to the standard of the O2 show, but some of the performances sounded like they were even better than the O2 versions.

Despite my disappointment in how this performance was presented on video, I would still recommend it to any Zeppelin fan, provided they already owned Led Zeppelin. Zeppelin's performance and the audio CDs are 5 star, but it is mystifying to me that what may be the last performance by this epic band was edited together so poorly, especially since my understanding was that Jimmy and JPJ were heavily involved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


85 of 99 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great live album, November 19, 2012
This review is of the CD-only set, and is probably redundant: there's already been masses written and said about this album, and if you're looking at it you're almost certainly a Led Zeppelin fan of some sort and you'd want this album even if it wasn't all that good. Thankfully, it is good. Very good, in fact. The three surviving members plus John Bonham's son Jason still had the old magic even in 2007 when this concert took place, and this is a fine record of it.

I saw Led Zeppelin play live just once, at Earl's Court in the mid-70s. It was a great concert which I still remember with huge pleasure. Unsurprisingly, they have matured since then, but still generate a terrific atmosphere and perform a great set. Jimmy Page plays superbly and with a little more brevity and concision in his solos than of old, which to me is no bad thing. John Paul Jones reminds us what a very fine musician he is and Robert Plant still has a fantastic voice which he uses with real maturity. The power is still there when he needs it but there is a sensitivity and delicacy in places which, while there in Zeppelin's heyday, has matured into something very special.

The recorded sound is great, and it's a cracking live album which manages to capture the atmosphere as well as the band's performance, and a fine addition to Led Zeppelin's discography. Warmly recommended - but then, I bet you already knew you were going to buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Live Led Zeppelin Ever; Best Audio Quality BY FAR, November 20, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Celebration Day (Blu-Ray Audio) (Blu-ray Audio)
First, this was a great concert and a great performance by Led Zeppelin in London in 2007. The performance I think equals, or nearly equals, that assembled in The Song Remains the Same double-CD from 1977, I believe. The set selection is excellent as well. I don't think I've heard a better version of Trampled Under Foot- which gives you new appreciation for that song- and is worth the price alone. But every song on the album is done well, if not among the best performances out there. In any case, after listening to this Blu-Ray audio, it will be hard to ever go back to listen to the older performance again. Here's why:

The audio quality. I cannot tell you how wonderful it is to finally hear Led Zeppelin as they really are - without the hollowed-out sound, no matter how many times its been remastered, no matter how good your audio equipment is, from decades past. Right from the beginning of Good Times, Bad Times- the state-of-the-art recording, the chest-pounding bass, the full range of HD audio- it's amazing to say the least- and something every Led Zeppelin fan (especially those who have never been to a live concert- including me) must have.

If you haven't listened to this disc, and have never been to a Led Zeppelin concert in person, you haven't heard the best of Led Zeppelin. It's that simple. A must have, without a doubt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


66 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RETURN OF THE TITANS, November 19, 2012
In Greek mythology, before the Olympians, there were The Titans: gods so powerful, that their dying breath gave rise to mortals and men. There were hundreds of gods and demi-gods associated with the Age of Olympus, but only 12 Titans.

Ahmet Ertegun saw LED ZEPPELIN's titanic potential at a time when most critics and other musicians were ridiculing "The New Yardbirds" (as they were initially known), saying that they would 'crash like a lead zeppelin.'

... Fast forward 39 years ...

On Dec. 10, 2007, LED ZEPPELIN re-united as the headliners for a tribute concert at London's O2 Arena to honor the memory of Atlantic Records founder, Ahmet Ertegun. LED ZEPPELIN fans have read for the past five years that the O2 show was one of the most momentous performances in rock history: 'jaw-dropping', 'incredible' and other superlatives & adjectives were what almost everyone lucky enough to see it live said it was at the time.

Now there's evidence: "Celebration Day" is an exceptional concert-film documenting LED ZEPPELIN's only full-length reunion performance since their brief tour in 1980. It delivers on the nearly-mythic hype that immediately burst forth after that show, finally placing a proper capstone on their seismic career. It also gives anyone who was too young to catch the real thing a golden glimpse at the thunder these 'rock gods' can unleash in action.

The two-hour chronicle of their show at London's O2 Arena in December 2007 was distributed via closed circuit TV to U.S. movie theaters in October and November. After attending one such screening with an 'invitation only' guest list, everyone in attendance agreed this was a keeper -- one they'd definitely be adding to their music/video collections. Even people who said they were 'not fans' of LED ZEPPELIN were blown away by the strength of the performance, and the quality of the video production. 'The Hammer of the Gods' was wielded with full force and effect that night ... and recorded for posterity.

Inevitably, there will be comparisons to "The Song Remains The Same," LED ZEPPELIN's 1973 performance at Madison Square Garden in New York City, which became a popular theatrical 'midnight movie' during the late 1970's and early 1980's. That is a very different film, from a very different era. The over-the-top (for the time) light show is toned down at the O2, and LED ZEPPELIN plays more like a Band here than they did back then. In "S.R.T.S.", Jimmy Page was just over-powering in almost every song; here Jimmy Page's performance is un-diminished, but everyone else shares the spotlight too -- and the overall impact is far greater.

The playing is tighter, more wizended and assured, also more measured and precise. It's not necessarily 'better' (Jason Bonham doesn't look like he's going to bring down the rafters or blow the walls out like his father, John Bohham did), and Robert Plant no longer leaps all over the stage hitting all those ultra-high notes -- but his stage presence is no less commanding. John Paul Jones is the biggest surprise here (more on that later).

"Celebration Day" is a nothing less than the epic you'd expect from a group that so carefully oversees its legacy. Director Dick Carruthers keeps special effects to a minumum, and cuts out any 'non-concert sequences'. In so doing, he keeps full focus on the band and their music, as it's performed. After you view the film, it's not hard to understand why it's unlikely that a show such as this will ever happen again.

After twice attempting to sputter back to life (a sloppy four song set at Live Aid in 1985, and a quickly-forgotten reunion flop for Atlantic's 40th anniversary in 1988) which left both the band and their fans disappointed, they really got it right here.

LED ZEPPELIN could do a cash-grab tour, but it was probably best that they really went all out to honor their past and 'nailed it' the one time when it mattered to them (paying appropriate homage and tribute to Ahmet Ertegun).

If there were a live tour, it would probably require stadiums as large as the Grand Canyon, so you would never get as close to the band as this film gets you.

Their playing is not suffocatingly or academically perfect -- if it were, then LED ZEPPELIN would hang like dead-air on stage, like the studio-musicians who play behind over-hyped vocalists these days from shows like 'American Idol' or today's Top-40/teeny-bopper acts. LED ZEPPELIN's instincts for a funky groove are unerring to the point of unearthly - especially when they rip into "Black Dog," followed by an explosive blast through "Trampled Under Foot" (their interpretation of Robert Johnson's "Terraplane Blues," from 1936) and the bluesy changes in epics like "Nobody's Fault but Mine" (by bluesman Willie Johnson) and "In My Time of Dying" (by Sonny-Boy Williamson).

Blues enthusiasts to the end, they rework and enhance every piece. Beginning with the thunder-blasts that open "Good Times Bad Times" (the kickoff song) and a rousing "Rock and Roll" finale, and all points in between; including the first-ever live version of "For Your Life," (from PRESENCE), a suitably demonic rendition of "Dazed and Confused" (complete with violin-bow guitar solo -- but shortened considerably from their version in 'Song Remains The Same'), a surprisingly majestic rendition of "No Quarter" (which easily out-does that 1973 concert version), "Since I've been Lovin' You" (the only in-common song that was arguably done better in the 1973 film) and, of course, "Stairway to Heaven" -- still as awesome as ever after all these years.

Curiously, LED ZEPPELIN doesn't perform "Celebration Day" here, as they did in "Song Remains The Same." But they do perform "The Song Remains The Same" -- as they also did in the same-titled movie.

With heaps of blues schooling to match his amazing fretwork, Jimmy Page enlivens all those familiar riffs that spawned thousands of garage-bound, wanna-be rockers. Here he executes them with familiarity, while still infusing each song with a magic that makes them all sound like something fresh or new. Page's fingers are startlingly nimble here -- like a much younger man's. He's a blues-guitar-man to the core, reborn in the moment, and drenched in sweat by the end.

Robert Plant had been subconsciously working his way up to this high-point for a decade. On solo tours, backed by the aptly named band "Strange Sensation," the iconic singer found expressive new ways to put across old melodies. He retains their 'spirit' while toying with rhythms and cadences, mapping ways around those soaring high-notes that are now out of reach, all without diminishing soulfulness or reducing the overall impact of the songs. There are times when you can tell he's been holding off on smaller-scale range-scraping -- his restraint in "Misty Mountain Hop," for instance -- so that he's got enough left for the climactic and cathartic moments that 'really matter', like the end of "Whole Lotta Love."

Unlike many bands, LED ZEPPELIN has never used backup singers or musicians when performing live -- and here, that bolsters the 'LED ZEPPELIN are Titans' myth. Even on their albums, the only time they ever had a guest/backing vocalist was in "The Battle of Evermore," from their untitled 4th album (Sandy Denny, from FAIRPORT CONVENTION). Maybe it's part of the Titanic myth, but it's certainly impresive what these four can do on their own, without any 'backing' or 'backup' talent.

Jimmy Page decided to end LED ZEPPELIN after John Bonham died, noting that he was 'irreplacable'. Jason Bonham, however, definitely does his dad proud, behind a translucent gold/yellow drum kit with the image from the first Led Zeppelin LP cover on his bass head. More 'on-the-money' than his father, the drumming is still the glue that binds the other talents together. He's weighty and heavy when required, but just as often often powering the show to higher heights with undertstatement while your focus is elsewhere. Take note of how his playing builds from straight-ahead pounding to cyclonic propulsion during "Kashmir," and how he takes over and drives the band's groove in "Trampled Under Foot."

But the big surprise here is John Paul Jones. The audio-mix allows you to hear the details of complex music underpinnings even when you can't watch his hands stretch out on bass. When the camera does zoom in on his stoic gaze, especially while he's playing keyboards, his mastery is mesmerizing.

Jones' main instruments were piano and synthesizer when he worked as a teenage studio musician with Jimmy page (prior to LED ZEPPELIN). The bass was another instrument he got good at, because more British bands needed a bass player than a keyboard player when they started recording in studios, and had to have timing and note precision. Jones is a marvel at balancing bottom-end rhythm with top-end melody. After watching him do that with his hands while tapping out bass parts with his feet, even fabled keyboardists like Edgar Winter and Ray Manzarek seem simplistic. On this video, Jones reminds me of Keith Emerson in his heyday, but with an economy of motion and variance of sonic style that even Emerson never quite achieved.

"The culmination of thousands and thousands of emotions we've been going through these past six weeks to get to this point," which Plant explains - is on full display throughout 'Celebration Day.' A score of cameras catch egged-on glances, elated/relieved smiles and all manner of body language. The occasional inserts of grainy Super 8-style footage, often at odd moments, makes me wonder if --despite over a dozen on-stage cameras-- nothing captured by the videographers really worked. Fortunately, the editing-rhythm works here (clearly an end-product of many work-copy and re-edit efforts), to propel the preformance as much as the songs and on-stage talent.

Unlike "The Song Remains The Same" (or most rock-show documenaries for that matter) the band members rarely sprawl out or strike poses here. Instead, they gain intensity and maintain a 'permanent cool' by focusing their craft, and by staying physically close enough, they achieve a remarkable synergy as a band -- probably much more than they'd ever do individually or in other bands. It's almost 'transcendant' -- feeding the 'Rock Titan' myth that surrounds LED ZEPPELIN.

Yet it's a transcendent thing to watch, rare among concert films. "The Song Remains the Same" and many of the songs in the self-titled 2003 DVD box set were great in their time. But 'Celebration Day' is the great concert LED ZEPPELIN fans have long wanted, and sought on bootlegs, or other media for many decades.

This is as close as we'll ever get to having LED ZEPPELIN back at full capacity, and it will probably never happen again. So Enjoy...

The DVD extras in the 'Deluxe edition' are only for hard core fanatics -- the rehearsals at Shepperton Studios are interesting, but nowhere near as well done as the O2 production; the TV-news broadcast from Tampa, FL documents that TV news has been completely moronic for at least 40 years; the promotional pieces are probably OK if you like paying for ads you can watch for free on YouTube.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Led Zeppelin!!!! Celebration Day!!!! You Better Believe It!!!!, December 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I pre-ordered Celebration Day (Deluxe Edition 2CD + 2 DVD (CD sized digipak). This is one of the best purchases I've made in my life!!! HANDS DOWN!!! I received it on 11/20/12, opened the package, inserted disc 1 into the cd player in my company truck & was completely blown away. The cd's haven't been replaced in my player since that moment. Crystal clear, thunderous, professional, WALL OF SOUND!!! The following weekend I watched the dvd of the concert & OH MY GOD!!! A wonderful concert experience. (I didn't particularly care for the editing of footage from concert goers cellphones. Give me a break!!!) Robert, Jimmy, John, & Jason were in top form & enjoying every minute of there performance. Their interaction & feeding off of each other just gave me the chills from excitement. Jason was emotional & humbled (towards the end) being able to perform with his father's band. Watching the concert made me appreciate the cds even more. This package is money well spent.

P. S.: I bought Celebration Day (2 CD + 1 DVD, DVD sized digipak) for my 62 year old boss (he's a rock & roll fan from way back, but, you wouldn't know it by looking at him). That morning I walked by his office & Zeppelin was blaring from his computer speakers while he was working on reports. He told me he is wearing the cds out in his truck!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What was and what will never be again, November 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The 1970s have at times been derided as a lost decade in music. Despite the rise of disco and punk and some truly dreadful pop, however, giants walked the earth in those days: the Rolling Stones and Led Zeppelin and The Who, the holy trinity of British rock. They were huge, but with the death of The Who's Keith Moon in 1978 and the tragedy in Cincinnati in 1979, the loss of John Bonham and the disbanding of Led Zeppelin in 1980, and the release of the last number-one Stones album in 1981, these giants faded away. Yes, the bands or their members continued to record and tour, but it wasn't the same.

In the mid-2000s, however, there came a revival of sorts. The Stones and The Who released their last studio albums in 2005 and 2006, but most significantly, Led Zeppelin reunited in 2007 for their final concert at London's O2 Stadium. They had made brief, abortive, and poorly received attempts at reunions in the 80s and 90s, yet this show was worthy in all respects. Millions tried and failed to buy tickets for the one-time-only event, while critics raved. The band proved cohesive and dynamic: Robert Plant was in fine, powerful voice, Jimmy Page played his guitars with precision and passion, John Paul Jones' bass and keyboards helped give the music its stomp, and Jason Bonham ably filled his father's shoes on drums and percussion.

The show paid tribute to the late great Ahmet Ertegun, founder of Atlantic Records and champion of many legends, from Ray Charles and Aretha Franklin to the Rolling Stones and Led Zeppelin. Ertegun died, ironically, of a backstage fall at the 2006 concert that became "Shine a Light," Martin Scorsese's excellent Rolling Stones documentary.

At last "Celebration Day" is being released on both audio and video discs. The thunderous sound is clear and vibrant, the cinematography crisp and tightly focused on band members (though the editing is annoyingly rapid). Recordings are available in no less than nine different formats, but whichever one you buy, I wholeheartedly recommend you choose an edition that includes a DVD or Blu-Ray, as the visual experience of the concert is a must. You really need to see the intensity and camaraderie that the group manifests, the intimate pleasure they take in working together again after so many years. You can pass on the rehearsal disc, which pales by comparison.

The impeccably chosen set list, running just over two hours, is full of blues-inspired classics, and Plant credits the original bluesmen whose songs they nicked: Robert Johnson for "Terraplane Blues," used in "Trampled Under Foot," and Blind Willie Johnson for "Nobody's Fault But Mine." The show opens with definitive renditions of "Good Times, Bad Times" from the first album ("Dazed and Confused" gets more than 11 minutes later on), "Ramble On" from the second album (a fantastic version of "Whole Lotta Love" is the penultimate number), and "Black Dog," one of four essential tunes from the fourth album (including "Stairway to Heaven," "Misty Mountain Hop," and "Rock and Roll," which closes the concert with a roar).

From the sixth album, "Physical Graffiti," comes another extended song, the 11-minute, gospel-themed "In My Time of Dying" (as well as "Trampled Under Foot" and a positively epic "Kashmir"), and from the seventh album, "Presence," comes "For Your Life" in its first and only live performance (plus "Nobody's Fault But Mine"). "No Quarter" and an energetic "The Song Remains the Same" are taken from the fifth album, "Houses of the Holy," while "Since I've Been Loving You" is the sole song from the third album.

Although this show can't quite match Led Zeppelin's peak performances of the 70s, and though it can't include every important song (I would have loved to hear a bit more from the early albums, like "Communication Breakdown," "Living Loving Maid," and "Immigrant Song"), it is nonetheless a joyful triumph and an impressive monument to the enduring greatness of the band and their music. Take it from one who grew up with these songs: they are played and sung without compromise. Robert Plant is quite right in his refusal to attempt a repeat performance. Unlike other members of our geriatric rock royalty, Led Zeppelin went out on top.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great audio, *ruined* by quick-cut editing!!, January 4, 2013
What *is* it with today's video editors? Can they not simply leave the concert film intact without injecting their superfluous and *annoying* quick-cut edits? They had the ultimate setup, a 16 camera shoot coupled with DTS HD-MA sound and they effing blew it!!

I watched a "Who" concert video a while back that used the very same, exteremely annoying video editing practices. I ended up turning off my monitor and simply enjoyed the music sans video.

For once, I'd like to see a concert video done RIGHT:

1) Feel free to use multiple cameras. But you really only need 1 full-stage camera, 1 for each performer, and, perhaps, 1 for crowd shots.

2) Make use of the damn "Angle" feature that EVERY DVD and Bluray player supports. This means that the default "angle" is the full-stage shoot. Then allow the user to isolate on a given band member or the crowd using the "angle" button on their remote. Now, everyone is happy. Except, perhaps, the dingbat editors who insist on *ruining* perfectly good concert footage with their *stupid* editing and post-production practices. GMAFB...

3) If ya wanna get fancy - and this would be of interest to folks who attended the event as it was being recorded - devote several cameras to various locations throughout the performance space, thus allowing a viewer to choose an angle that represents "their" view of the show they attended.

Patent this process and call it "U R There!!" or something similar.

That's it!!!! Plain and simple!! *Then*, and only then will we get the concert videos we deserve rather than this dreck that is foisted upon us by the suits at the recording companies...

-RW-
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Led Zepp fans must have this!, December 6, 2012
To all Led Zeppelin fans: do not pass go, do not collect $200, go straight to wherever you buy music and get this collection...you will not be disappointed. Ignore comments in here about the video being "jerky" or "jumpy" or whatever else folks say abut it...I thought it was great, the idea of using so many different forms of video was inventive and creative. I listened/watched the blu-ray in one sitting, and I had chills. GET IT TODAY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Led Zeppelin go out in style, November 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If I had to sum up the concert in one word, it would be, "Thundering!" I had paid extra for the shipping just to make sure I received it the day it came out. I sat down at 7 pm, EST with the Blue Ray and I couldn't count how many times I said. "whoa, this is amazing." Having seen every Robert Plant tour since the 80's, I was sure he would be a bit weak but I was wrong. Of course his voice doesn't sound like it did when Zeppelin was still together, but, well, I'm thinking since it was a one night event verses a full tour, he could afford to give it everything he had without having to worry about doing it all over again the next day.. J. Page and J.P. Jones, well they are what they are and do what they do. No one can do it better. They where as powerful as they were ever known to be. As for Jason, I remember reading about his performance when the show actually happened. I had very high expectations, after reading how great he was. Well, now having seen and heard it for myself, all I can say is that he played as if it were his only reason for living. I believe the liner notes where he stated that it was the greatest night in his life. I'm glad for him and what he was able to accomplish. If I were him, I'd remember that night for the rest of my life. You just have to see and hear it to believe it.

If you're a fan, than you absolutely MUST own this, if you even like the band a little and do buy concerts occasionally, then this is certainly one to add to your collection.

I do have a slight problem with CD1 as it skips during Ramble on and In My Time of Dying but I'm not sure what I want to do about it, anyone else having an issue?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2131 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Celebration Day (Blu-Ray Audio)
Celebration Day (Blu-Ray Audio) by Led Zeppelin (Blu-ray Audio - 2012)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.