Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Microscope For Amateur Scientists
I received this Celestron Microscope kit much earlier than I expected. I am very happy with how quickly it arrived. The microscope itself is fine for my purposes. I intend to use it as a hobby, thus far, it has worked well. The optics are of great quality, the prepared slides are quite fascinating, and everything in the package is intact. Setup of the microscope was very...
Published 24 months ago by Zach .I

versus
29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great starter scope for kids
Not a fantastic scope but a great buy for the money and excellent starter scope for my grand kid. The included accessories were useless and the prepared slides nice but not enough. I purchased several prepared slides from other sources to allow grandson a chance to see the microscopic world around us. Instructions are vague at best and suggest purchasing other...
Published 20 months ago by James H. Walder


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

55 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Microscope For Amateur Scientists, April 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Celestron 44121 Microscope Kit (Electronics)
I received this Celestron Microscope kit much earlier than I expected. I am very happy with how quickly it arrived. The microscope itself is fine for my purposes. I intend to use it as a hobby, thus far, it has worked well. The optics are of great quality, the prepared slides are quite fascinating, and everything in the package is intact. Setup of the microscope was very easy and fast. Learning to use it, even if you have never laid eyes on a microscope in your life, is very simple. For such a great price, you can't go wrong with this microscope. If I have any complains at all, the plastic tweezers that are contained in the package don't work very well. Also, the frame is plastic, which does not trouble me but it may trouble some people. I wouldn't recommend this microscope for young children. It is durable, provided that you aren't careless. The package includes pretty much all of the things that you need to get started with basic microscopy. I like this microscope, it is great for my needs and satisfies my curiosity about the tiny world that we cannot see with the naked eye. For amateur science/biology, you likely won't find a microscope this good for such a price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intermediate School Microscope, September 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Celestron 44121 Microscope Kit (Electronics)
Just received this instrument today. My son needed a microscope for schoolwork; he is in a virtual charter school. Although it may look "cheap" because of the polymer body, it was easy to set up and worked from the get go. The dual built-in illumination system expedited the completion of his assignment. Despite a robust feel and build, the new, all metal bodied microscope sent to my son from school had a loose spring and detent ball upon unpacking and had an understage mirror for light. Brand unknown, we could not get it to focus nor even get an image from a prepared slide. In contrast, the Celestron was easy to set up and easy to use for a 12 yr old. For the money and its intended usage (occasional to light use), it was money well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad optics for the price, but don't expect too much., February 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Celestron 44121 Microscope Kit (Electronics)
SUPER FAST DELIVERY!
Celestron is better know for their telescopes, and indeed their top of the line scopes are pretty good. Their low end telescopes suffer from shaky mountings and cheap eyepieces.

Now, about this microscope: Decent optics for the price, and a serviceable small "starter kit" suitable for the curious with a tight budget. Keep in mind that with "toy" microscopes, the higher powers are about useless. Keep the magnification under 150x, and you will do okay.

Pros:
1. Price is good, under $30.
2. Fair to good optics.
3. 2 very adequate light sources.
4. Seems fairly durable. (Note! There are 4 little rubber feet that will need to be properly glued on with superglue. Don't lose them!)

Cons:
1. Internal reflections: As a telescope maker, Celestron should know better. All internal surfaces of an optical instrument should be flat black, with no internal reflections. (I may take this apart someday and try to fix it.)
2. Nothing is parafocal. When you zoom the eyepiece or rotate the turret to change power, it has to be re-focused. Not critical for a "toy" but compounded by "con #3" below, it's a little annoying.
3. Rotating the turret to change power also results in a slight misalignment - what was centered before is now off center. taken together with "#2 con" it becomes difficult to change magnification.
4. Although a minor complaint, there are no cover glasses provided for the 2 blank slides, and the well slide is plastic.

Given that this is intended to be a toy and it has a great price, I give this scope 4/5 stars based on the value for your dollar. Well recommended for a curious child. However, if intended for an adult or if you can spend 2x as much, go for the "My First Lab Duo-Scope Microscope" My First Lab Duo-Scope Microscope for about $55.

(Don't forget 2-aaa and 2-aa batteries for the light sources.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great starter scope for kids, August 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Celestron 44121 Microscope Kit (Electronics)
Not a fantastic scope but a great buy for the money and excellent starter scope for my grand kid. The included accessories were useless and the prepared slides nice but not enough. I purchased several prepared slides from other sources to allow grandson a chance to see the microscopic world around us. Instructions are vague at best and suggest purchasing other publications on the care and feeding of microscopes to make the experience worthwhile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, it really works great!!!, September 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Celestron 44121 Microscope Kit (Electronics)
This product is great! It really works and my daughter had so much fun learning with it!!!! It bring a few examples to use and you are going to need some batteries for the light, besides that you or your kids are going to have a great time. I'll recommend this product to anyone starting at this world or for kiddos who are interesting in science... It really work awesome!!!! The seller and time to get home was great!!! Well packed too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent for magnification to 150x, May 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Celestron 44121 Microscope Kit (Electronics)
This product is excellent from an childhood educational perspective. Great, inexpensive way to learn how a standard compound microscope works. The product advertises magnification to 600x, and while technically true, nothing will be visible at such magnifications, the optical quality is just too poor. Human blood cells will be visible, but will be too blurry to discriminate their type or true color. For looking at small insects and small objects found in nature, this will be a great entry level tool for a child. However, if you desire to see any kind of detail at the cellular level, you're going to need to spend significantly more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK for the money, October 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Celestron 44121 Microscope Kit (Electronics)
Packaging, etc. was fine. Took a while to get the pen light to work. It's a little moody. A better set of instructions as to the lighting would be helpful. Unfortunately, by the time you get the lighting system to work properly, the little person that you bought it for has moved on to some other activity. Once it works, it's just fine. The scope is more or less what you would expect for a $29 microscope. You definitely should purchase the prepared microscope slides to go along with this.

Know that it requires 2 AA batteries and 2 AAA batteries. This is not made explicit by the product description.

Finally, it would be smart to set this up before gifting. Saves time and gets immediate intrigue instead of having a child waiting around. Since this isn't a video game or an iPad that will entrance a kid, you've got to make it as easy as possible to get interested (sadly).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Customer Service, July 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Celestron 44121 Microscope Kit (Electronics)
I bought this as a family fun item. We have all enjoyed viewing things from insects to tiny salt cubes. It works well for our purposes. We did have an issue with the pen light only working for a short time, but after one quick email to VMInnovations, they sent a replacement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Kids Microscope, February 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Celestron 44121 Microscope Kit (Electronics)
Good quality optics, lighting and function for the price paid. Stage could use a fine adjustment knob to allow easier focus at the higher magnifications. My 11 yr old can easily identify insect parts, blood cells and plant cells from prepared slides.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars microscope kit, June 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Celestron 44121 Microscope Kit (Electronics)
It is nice but it is a toy. It cannot be disassembled, so the dirt on the lens could not be cleaned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x98886510)

This product

Celestron 44121 Microscope Kit
$47.95 $33.29
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.