Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Celestron 93625 Universal 1.25-inch Camera T-Adapter
Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro STEM

Price:$15.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 21, 2008
T-adapters can turn your telescope into an amazing telephoto lens and this one will work with any that have a 1.25" visual back. This piece has a 1.25" inserting slip connector which replaces the Star Diagonal on your telescope and the title given by Celestron is entirely misleading, it refers to a generic measurement of an inch (actually 1.25"). The faulty description continues in the product description: it WILL NOT FIT .96" visual backed telescopes such as the Celestron C90, or the Nexstar 4GT. In that case you'll need this part Celestron 93635-A T-Adapter for NexStar 4GT Those telescopes have a .96" visual back and the T-adapter has a female ring which screws over the visual back.

In either case you still need a T-Ring to connect to your camera, be careful there too as there are now ones for 58mm digital cameras that are larger than the older 35mm.

Getting Amazon to change these descriptions is difficult so hopefully this review can correct it.
11 comment|85 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2010
The description for this product does not mention that using this T adapater will not allow the camera to focus on many Newtonian reflectors because the adapter basically extends the focuser and will not allow it to travel in far enough to achieve focus with the camera.

There are a few fixes for this. First, check the focuser on the scope to see if the eyepiece holder will unscrew and allow you to screw the camera's adapter directly to it. If not, you can purchase a 2x barlow (Celestron item # 93640) that includes a T-adaptor on it or a zoom lens with threads for a filter that will also allow you to directly attach your camera adapter such as Celestron's 8mm - 24mm item # 93230. Obviously, including a lens in the equation magnifies the image which you may or may not want.

The most expensive and intrusive is to replace the focuser with an aftermarket focuser that will allow this to work.

Other than the fact that it was not directly compatible with my scope, the quality of the T adapter was very good which is typical for Celestron products.
33 comments|38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2013
Once you realize that you have to put a lens inside this before you attach it to your camera, it works great! If you didn't realize that, or didn't realize that there should be directions included (Gee, there's a concept), than you would think this is a horrible investment. Now that I figured out I needed to put a lens in there before attaching it to my camera, I'm very happy!
review image review image review image
1515 comments|33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 11, 2011
I got this working with my Orion XT8 Dobsonian. But you need some more things with this. Of course you'll need a T-mount/ring to attach to the camera. I bought the Opteka mount for my Olympus E-500. You'll also need to add a barlow lens to the end of the adapter or else you won't be able to focus. Celestron has a package that bundles the adapter and barlow together if you don't already have a barlow.

Highly recommend this as a cheap way to venture into astrophotography.
11 comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2012
I ordered the Celestron 93625 Universal 1.25-inch Camera T-Adapter for use on a Celestron C90. It works as advertised and I am pleased with the photographs I have gotten with this combination. Some of the reviews suggested it does not work on this model of telescope. The proper mounting of the item on a Celestron C90 requires the use of the erect image diagonal included with the telescope. After my success I am presuming others were expecting the adapter to fit directly to the optical tube which requires the Celestron 93635-A T-Adapter for NexStar 4GT instead. The adapter seems to be solid and supports my heavy Canon 5D well.
review image
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
So I was having the same issue that the other people with poor ratings were stating, couldn't get the telescope and camera to focus. Basically waiting for a non-cloudy night where I could see the moon, something to focus on. 1st attempt I hooked it up, but could not get the moon to focus. Thought that I couldn't get everything to go close enough. Then I tried it one night without the camera just the adapter and the telescope, realized that it needed a lens in the adapter. Now was figuring how is this going to work. That's what the little screw on the side is for, to hold a lens in the neck of the adapter. Also however my lens inside the adapter makes the lens protrude inside the camera body. So I didn't end up screwing the adapter fully onto the t-mount. Just enough to get it to hold. Then pictures galore. Simple product just a tube to allow you to attach the camera to the telescope, like the option of changing lenses as this lets me have different magnification shots of the sky.
11 comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2016
Here's the missing instruction guide (with pictures):

1) First, we need to dismantle your Celestron lens. Start by gently taking off the rubber eyepiece (see 1st 2 screenshots)
2) Unscrew the shiny metal tube on the bottom of your lens. It should now look like screenshot 3.
3) Unscrew the plastic black tube from eyepiece. The eyepiece should be facing down as you unscrew it because otherwise the lenses will fall out. It should now look like screenshot 4.
4) Now, get out your T-adapter. Unscrew the shiny metal tube from the top. It should now look like screenshot 5.
5) Take the telescope lens from step #3 and insert into the T-adapter. Make sure the screw from the T-adapter is facing up and the lens is facing down. See screenshot 6.
6) Take the shiny metal tube from step 4. Insert down the T-adapter. Hold it place with the screw from the T-adapter.It should now look like screenshot 7.
7) Flip the T-adapter upside down. Screw in the shiny metal tube from step 2. It should now look like screenshot 8.
8) Take your T-ring and screw into the bottom of the T-adapter. Next to the screw. It should now look like screenshot 9.
9) Take your T-ring + T-adapter and gentle attach it your camera. It should now look like screenshot 10.
10) Now you can attach to your telescope like a normal lens!
review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 10, 2007
This product screws into the T-ring and hooks to my Canon Rebel-XTI as expected. The product attaches to my telescope as expected. Unforunately, I could not focus as is. The telescope required adjusting the mirror position to perfect the focus. So I learned something. Connected to a Tasco Luminova telescope.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2015
You really need to research if this is what you want. It is a good quality piece, but I found , as did others that this only works for prime focus work. You cannot put a eyepiece inside it like you might want to do for many other types of photography. Celestron does not furnish any instructions. If it is what you want, it is a five star piece, if not, zero.
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 11, 2015
Fits some Celestron Newtonian reflectors but not others. Attached it to a Canon EOS T3 and then to the Celestron 127EQ and it focuses fine (even though my EQ127 EQ is not that sharp after a year of endless fiddling with collimation). Then connected the same camera & adapter to the very sharp Celestron 114EQ and it would only focus with a Barlow (a Celestron Omni 2x Barlow eyepiece screwd into the T-adapter base, to be precise). Same story with the very sharp Celestron 80AZ, that one needs a Barlow too to achieve prime focus. Disappointing result, since with the Barlow the field of view for me is too narrow, and the luminosity too weak for nebulae and galaxies.
22 comments|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 101 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.