Customer Reviews


308 Reviews
5 star:
 (254)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


78 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost perfect..
That Celine Dion is one of the most generous and sincere artists in music today is pretty well-known. While she has taken a beating from the media and from detractors for being over-the-top in some of her vocals, a bit too dorky in her performances and in interviews, she has remained (sans the chest-beating) true to herself and to the music and fans that made her...
Published on January 5, 2008 by Michael T. Rognlien

versus
55 of 66 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The show is great, but the DVD has some flaws.
Well, this is a great live show, but I'm not sure how happy I am with the dvd. The big problem I have is the oboard action of the filming. The show itself is a huge spectacle, which would benefit from lots of long, slow-moving shots that allow the viewer to take in what is happening on stage. Instead, the footage is chopped and slightly erratic. There come points where,...
Published on February 3, 2008 by P.J. of Azrafel


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

78 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost perfect.., January 5, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Celine Dion: A New Day - Live in Las Vegas (DVD)
That Celine Dion is one of the most generous and sincere artists in music today is pretty well-known. While she has taken a beating from the media and from detractors for being over-the-top in some of her vocals, a bit too dorky in her performances and in interviews, she has remained (sans the chest-beating) true to herself and to the music and fans that made her famous.

This DVD set is not only for those who saw the show and want a copy of it to remember, or for those who didn't get to see it and wanted to, but it really feels first and foremost like a gift to her die-hard fans. Most others wouldn't care for the extended amount of footage (over 3 hours worth) dedicated to the trivia about the show, its creation, execution and evolution over the past four years.

I did see the show twice in 2003, and feel that the DVD does a wonderful job of recreating the experience, but if you didn't get to Vegas and sit in the theater that was specifically built for this show, it's not the same.

A couple of other differences for those who saw the show: Nature Boy was omitted as the opening and swapped out for the more appropriate "A New Day Has Come" .. I always thought it was odd that the title song from the show was not sung back in 2003. Also removed is the tacky and ill-fitting cover of "Fever", but added in are "Love Can Move Mountains" (one of my favorites of hers of all time) and "River Deep, Mountain High" in full Tina Turner Tribute mode.

I do regret the omission of two of my personal favorite songs from the shows I saw in 2003 - Je'taime Encore (I Love You Still), one of her most haunting French-language songs she's ever recorded, and the show-ending "What a Wonderful World" that, as she sang it, had black and white photos of people from the audience on the giant LCD screen behind her. It was a touching and intimate way to end a very theatrical production. You CAN, however, get both of the audio recordings of these two songs on the live CD of the show that was released a few years back.

The fan tribute on here, while often cheesy, is also an endearing look at some of her biggest fans. That Celine was gracious and kind as she met personally with them all, moved to tears by some of their personal 'thank you's to her, underscores the grace and humility that accompanies the great gift of song she received.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


93 of 99 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW! A Vocal and Visual Extravaganza, December 14, 2007
By 
Buddy S (Baltimore, MD USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Celine Dion: A New Day - Live in Las Vegas (DVD)
I saw this concert in Las Vegas in September, 2007 and enjoyed watching this DVD just as much as, if not more than, watching the live concert itself. This DVD comes very close to replicating both the visual and audio impact of the actual concert.

Celine Dion gives a super performance, but the concert is much more than just the vocals - - the songs are woven into an elaborate Las Vegas style stage production. The concert venue, the Coliseum at Caesar's Palace, was built specifically for this show, which opened in 2003 and closed in December, 2007. The arena has 4,000 seats placed in a semi circle around an immense stage. The seats are positioned so that no seat is more than 120 feet from the stage.

The stage production was arranged by Franco Dragone, a Belgian film and theater director. Before "A New Day," he directed the Las Vegas Cirque De Soleil productions of "Mystere" and "O." It is therefore not surprising that dancers perform during virtually every song. The troupe has about 60 dancers, but they rarely all appear on stage at the same time. The dancing is accompanied by magnificent stage effects, which feature, among other things, a tree sprouting from the stage; dancers gently dropping from the rafters on swings and other props; a man riding a bicycle into the sky (much as ET did in the movie); dancers floating above the stage in large picture frames; floating dancers pushing floating street lights; and, last but not least, a grand piano complete with a piano player floating above the stage floor. This DVD does an excellent job of capturing both the dancing and elaborate staging, while not compromising the video of Celine Dion performing.

Celine sings a total of 18 songs. The set begins with seven of her biggest hits: A New Day Has Come, The Power of Love, It's All Coming Back to Me Now, Because You Loved Me, To Love You More, I'm Alive and I Drove All Night. She then sings the less familiar "Seduces Me" and "If I Could." This is followed by her biggest French language hit "Pour Que Tu M'Aimes Encore," "I Surrender," and an Italian language song "Ammore Annascunnuto." Following this, she sings two Frank Sinatra songs: "All The Way" and "I've Got the World on a String" (during which she is accompanied in part by old video of Sinatra singing.) Next is "I Wish," "Love Can Move Mountains," and "River Deep, Mountain High." The finale is the theme song from Titanic "My Heart Can Go On." Celine's voice is clear and powerful throughout the show and she delivers each song with perfection.

There are several bonus features of interest on the second disk in this DVD set: the first is a behind the scenes rundown of the entire show, starting at the point where Celine leaves her Las Vegas home and is driven in a limo to Caesar's Palace. The feature follows pre show preparations and, while the concert is in progress, shows some of the back stage activity including costume changes, performers running to get in the correct position for the next song and a depiction of how dancers and stage props float across the stage and down from the rafters, etc. The second "extra" tells the history of the production, starting with Celine meeting Franco Dragone and the development of the idea of Celine performing a long run engagement in Las Vegas. It then details a series of significant events, such as designing and building the theater, recruiting and auditioning cast members, and opening night in 2003. The information is furnished mostly through interviews with Celine, her managers, Dragone, and cast members.

The bottom line is that this is a great concert DVD. If you enjoy Celine Dion's music, you will not make a mistake buying this one - the performance is mesmerizing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 66 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The show is great, but the DVD has some flaws., February 3, 2008
This review is from: Celine Dion: A New Day - Live in Las Vegas (DVD)
Well, this is a great live show, but I'm not sure how happy I am with the dvd. The big problem I have is the oboard action of the filming. The show itself is a huge spectacle, which would benefit from lots of long, slow-moving shots that allow the viewer to take in what is happening on stage. Instead, the footage is chopped and slightly erratic. There come points where, between the action on stage and the rapid flurries of changing camera shots, the whole thing becomes a dizzying blur.

I was actually on the film crew for the making of this dvd, and having seen the show live 4 times during that process, I can attest to the fact that this dvd fails to capture the true artistry onstage.

The problem is that the whole thing is edited as though it were a standard concert, with nothing but immobile musicians to view, where active angle changes are needed to keep things interesting to watch. This is not an ordinary concert setting, though. The importance of capturing the huge stage show seems to be lost in the shuffle, with the film being creative right over top of the show's creativity, forming a muddled mess which, while still eye grabbing (and great sounding) really fails to capture the impact of the show in the way it could have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Celine Dion at her best, January 13, 2008
By 
Terri "3kids-at-home" (Crescent City, California United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Celine Dion: A New Day - Live in Las Vegas (DVD)
This is a wonderful DVD to watch, and has been watched at my home several times already! It comes with one DVD of her last concert, and is about 90 minutes long. It is beautiful to watch, with back-up dancers and singers. The presentation is awesome! The disc #2 of the DVD's is the same concert, only it's behind the scenes. It shows Celine getting ready for the show, eating, and most of all, the rushing around to get prepared. It shows her in between songs running to her dressing room and getting her outfits changed. It also shows her dancers point of views. It is a cool DVD that will get watched over and over. It has all her greatest hits including "I'm Alive". Very nice. It will be watched many more times I can guarentee that one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Phenomenal @}->---, March 16, 2008
By 
Little Miss Cutey (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Celine Dion: A New Day - Live in Las Vegas (DVD)
I don't know what more to say about this dvd that other fans haven't said already, but you have to know how brilliant this is. If you were fortunate enough (like me) to have seen this concert in person, then you will want a copy for sure. It's the next best thing to being there and an amazing souvenir - it beats any programme I ever bought at a concert. She sings almost every song you could want to hear again and you get a good idea of the set changes and wonderful dancing in the background.
I don't think I can add upon what other reviewers have written - I just want to be another fan and concert goer that is trying to explain how phenomenal her voice, music and concert are. Grab a copy. It's a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An exception deal for an exceptional Blu-ray release, March 2, 2008
By 
Modrnknght (Hollywood, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The picture and sound quality of the concert is amazing. I was pleased to discover that it didn't just consist of Celine Dion singing, but also incorporates an incredibly large amount of dancers brought in by the head of the Cirque de Soleil shows. Stunning on all counts.

The special feature that is on the first of the 2 Blu-ray discs consists of Dion greeting fans in person from all over the world. On the second disc, thee is a truly stunning special feature is one that runs two hours (longer than the concert on the first disc) and it is the entire Las Vegas show running on stage while we get a backstage view of all the technical and talent sides. Really fascinating! There is also one more featurette called "Secrets." The special features are in high def, too, on the Blu-ray discs.

They fill this release with so much that you truly feel like you have been to an incredible dinner and ate everything in sight. A must-have Blu release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING!!!, March 11, 2008
By 
Amanda Case (La Grande, OR USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Celine Dion: A New Day - Live in Las Vegas (DVD)
It was just like being at her show again in Vegas! I loved the extra footage to of the behind the scenes. I also bought one for my friend that is a huge fan. We are seeing Celine again on her World Tour!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC!, December 21, 2007
This review is from: Celine Dion: A New Day - Live in Las Vegas (DVD)
I had the great honor of attending a full dress rehearsal of A New Day a week before the show opened - 7th row center. This was actually the performance that was televised (in part) on opening night, March 27th 2003. It was nothing short of AMAZING!!! Being a full dress rehearsal where the show producers were still deciding which acts would stay and which acts would have to be cut due to time constraints of the actual show we were treated to a much longer version with acts that have never been done for the general public. What a rare gift!

I also had opening night tickets for myself and my family. Again AMAZING. Living in Las Vegas, I've had the pleasure of seeing the show three more times since then (a total of 5 times over the past 5 years). The last show I saw was December 8th, 2007 - closing week. Each of the five shows has been a bit different with different costumes and different staging for most of the numbers. And each show has been wonderful- so full of energy, heart and immense talent! As I watch the DVD, I can tell by the costumes that the show was videotaped sometime in the past year so it's very current.

With that background, I can tell you without hesitation, this DVD set is INCREDIBLE! While obviously not the same as being in the audience, they producers have done a wonderful job of capturing the total show and the impact of it all. It would be impossible to capture everything that's happening on stage, all of the dancers, the "sets", the cinematography on the GIGANTIC LCD screen in the background, the flying instruments ... there is so much happening on and above the huge stage that a camera is incapable of completely capturing it all. However, the director, cameramen and technicians have done a remarkable job of capturing as much as humanly possible and bringing the at-home audience a BETTER THAN first rate experience.

The "extras" on the DVD are wonderful as well. The viewer is taken on a limo ride with Celine and Renee, from their home in Lake Las Vegas to the theatre and the dressing room. You have an intimate look at what goes into preparing for the show and what goes on back stage. While our Star is on stage singing her heart out, you have a look at the other performers as they prepare for their roles. It's a very interesting and enjoyable look into the reality of the production and see the dedication, talent and pure heart of all involved!

More bonus features take you back to the beginning - from inspiration to creation. You hear from Franco Dragone. You learn about the auditions of the cast. You get a glimpse of Celine meeting her cast members for the first time. Watch as the theatre is built and the show evolves from inspiration to actualization. And so much more. Very interesting and even inspirational.

I absolutely LOVE this DVD set and highly recommend it! If you've never had the thrill of attending this show, you owe it to yourself to experience it through the DVD. If you have had the privilege of seeing the show, you'll love reliving the experience over and over again as well as watching the bonus features. STANDING OVATION for this DVD set... BRAVO - WELL DONE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!, March 10, 2008
By 
I was very impressed with the image and sound quality of this Blu-ray disc. It made me feel as if I was actually in Las Vegas watching the show. This is what I purchased my Klipsh surround sound, Sony 1080p LCD television, and Yamaha receiver for. It was candy to my ears. Oh, by the way, the actual concert was very good also. This is a must own even if you don't like Celine Dion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars STANDING OVATION, December 1, 2007
This review is from: Celine Dion: A New Day - Live in Las Vegas (DVD)
I had the extreme privilege of seeing this show in Las Vegas, and let me tell you, this is a feast for the eyes and ears. The visuals and dancers bring a fresh wave to Dion's classics. The stage is huge and the background LCD screen in the largest in North America, bringing an intense scenic appeal to Celine's fabulous singing. The combination of high energy and soft moments all graced with sensational vocals gives you an hour and a half of pure concert entertainment. They've done a fantastic, high quality job of capturing the energy and unique experience the show offers live. Dion does not disappoint, it's a MUST SEE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Celine Dion: A New Day - Live in Las Vegas
Celine Dion: A New Day - Live in Las Vegas by Celine Dion (DVD - 2007)
$21.98 $14.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.