Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Nothing But Thieves All-New Amazon Fire TV Grocery Amethyst Jewelry Create an Amazon Wedding Registry Amazon Gift Card Offer jstfd6 jstfd6 jstfd6  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Voyage Winter Sports on Amazon.com SnS


Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 20, 2008
At first glance, Celtic Folk Soul: Art, Myth and Symbol is a gorgeous coffee table book that showcases Welsh artist Jen Delyth's contemporary Celtic artwork. Yet the book offers much more. Her text draws from her extensive knowledge of Celtic mysticism, not only from where and how it developed in history, but how by its very nature it continues to transcend time as it is expressed through the arts. Interspersed are many delightful treats: stories from Celtic myth, selections from ancient poets such as Taliesin, Amergin and Aneirin as well as modern poets like Fiona MacLeod, plus tidbits of folklore handed down generation to generation by the people of the Celtic nations.

In Celtic Folk Soul: Art, Myth and Symbol Jen Delyth beautifully illustrates the intertwining relationship that Celtic cultural heritage--past and present--has with nature. Absolutely stunning with shimmering colors and intricate rhythms, if art could sing and dance, it certainly does here. In addition, the artist opens the door to learn, explore and intuit one's own sense of time, space, spirit, and creativity through the synchronicity of Celtic art, stories and poems. Anyone who needs a lift from the mundane has only to open the pages to be carried away to a fascinating otherworldliness.
0Comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 7, 2008
The Celts have produced wonderful art - but what does it all mean? "Celtic Folk Soul: Art, Myth, and Symbol" is a book of art and history, hoping to investigate the spiritual aspects of Celtic artworks. Going through the major pieces left behind by people who lived before Christianity reached the British Isles, and offering a look at how they interpreted both the mundane and spiritual worlds through their druids, "Celtic Folk Soul: Art, Myth, and Symbol" is a scholarly, educational, and awe-inspiring look at the Celts, highly recommended for both history and art collections.
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2009
This is one of the best books on Celtic Folk Art that I have ever read. I have many books on the subject but I really like the way that symbols are related into designs. Not many books do this. The symbols are also more simplified and are great for the beginner designer. Without a doubt this is one of the most extensive resource of all things Celtic. It also has some gorgeous paintings in it that utilize intense color and fantasy to the designs. It is a gorgeous book.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 22, 2010
The Folksoul is paradoxically ancient and modern as it transcends all sense of time. Once I opened the book it was hard to put it down. Truly a spellbinding treasured book of vibrantly beautiful and evolutionary Celtic art, myth and symbolism that captures your imagination and heart and takes you on a magical journey deep into the essence of the Celtic soul. A book to read and re-read and learn, sense and feel something new each time you pick it up. Jen Delyth is an image weaver - masterful at using a transformative flow of words together with an impecccable art layout that together breathe new life into ancient legends and Celtic history of earth based spirituality. The sacred feminine re-awakens and the healing practices of shamanism and healing story are revived.

Jen Delyth describes herself as a part of a lineage of pattern makers and image weavers and sets out to "...sing the ancient language of myth, dancing with new cadence to rhythms beaten into our hearts long ago." She accomplishes just that! If you understand those words with your heart, then this book is for you - truly one you will love and treasure as I do.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 11, 2015
Stunningly beautiful book in excellent condition delivered very quickly. The narrative is poetic and the illustrations are beautiful. I shall enjoy many hours with this book and hopefully it will inspire me on my own journey to art. It is oriented to Welsh Celtic art but it is a short journey to Scottish or Irish Celtic art.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2013
I am doing a painting of a pagan Celtic mythic character and this book provides good source material. The book (me too) seems to confuse Welsh mythology and Celtic mythology, because the characters are intertwined. You have to sort out what you want. The artwork is superior and a delight to review.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2010
I have many books on Celtic Design. So I was reluctant to purchase another for fear it would not live up to the rest in my library. Therefore I was pleasantly delighted with this book. It's a must have for any Celtic Art fan!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2011
This book is not only beautifully illustrated..it is so full of information. Anyone interested in Celtic art, myth & symbol will appreciate having this book in their library.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 16, 2013
If you're drawn to the Celtic viewpoint, you'll love this book. Not so much for the prose, but certainly for the illustrations which are breathtakingly beautiful.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2010
I lose track of time just gazing at the artwork in this volume. I can't wait to lose myself in its text. . . .
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse