Customer Reviews


154 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (60)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but nothing special
I bought this 8GB Centon Datastick PRO today and liked it.

The GOODS

- nice grey aluminum casing means it is durable
- LED flashes when copying or transferring files from device
- 2.0 fast standard speed
- lanyard groove on the flash drive & not on the cap!
- silver imprint text design gives a nice look to it

The...
Published on August 7, 2009 by Suong Nguyen

versus
83 of 85 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Drive Failed
I ordered this product and transfered about 16 GB of data to it. I used it for awhile; but after about a month, it failed to be recognized as a known USB device. I couldn't even format it. It simply couldn't be recognized as a flash drive. Needless to say, all the new data I stored on it during the month I used it was lost.
Published on January 4, 2011 by richardt


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

83 of 85 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Drive Failed, January 4, 2011
This review is from: Centon 32 GB DataStick Pro USB 2.0 Flash Drive DSP32GB-001 (Personal Computers)
I ordered this product and transfered about 16 GB of data to it. I used it for awhile; but after about a month, it failed to be recognized as a known USB device. I couldn't even format it. It simply couldn't be recognized as a flash drive. Needless to say, all the new data I stored on it during the month I used it was lost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 63 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No good!, December 30, 2010
By 
This review is from: Centon 32 GB DataStick Pro USB 2.0 Flash Drive DSP32GB-001 (Personal Computers)
I have the same problem...I got it to use with my JVC car stereo but after a few minutes it seems to lock up. I did a full format and tried again but same thing happens. Useless...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Substandard, June 22, 2011
By 
This review is from: Centon 32 GB DataStick Pro USB 2.0 Flash Drive DSP32GB-001 (Personal Computers)
I bought the 32 GB Centon Datastick a few months ago. After a week of use, I had to purchase a different USB drive. The Centon data stick destroyed several files and folders of school work I copied over, and consistently lost data. And that's after less than a week of use. Out of curiosity, about a month ago, I tried to copy a few megs worth of data. The files were, of course, hopelessly corrupt.

I've never seen such an unreliable, failure prone piece of computer equipment. Please do not use this USB drive to try to transfer any important data, as the data will be destroyed. I have no idea why a company would release such a shoddy item onto the market place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars For half the price it works half the time, May 8, 2008
By 
K. A. DEJESUS (APO, AE United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this because it was a great price for the amount of drive space. I loaded it with, among other things, financial files such as Quicken backup files and a spreadsheet of credit card payments. It worked fine for a few weeks. Then last week in the middle of reconciling my Quicken file I got an error message that the drive could not be read. It took several minutes to recover the info. Today it happened again with a spreadsheet. If you want to save a few bucks in the short term, buy one of these. But it looks like I'll be shopping for another flash drive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Junk, February 26, 2010
I've had many flash drives, and whatever the brand they always did what was expected. Not this piece of junk. After only a couple of days working with it, it suddenly couldn't be read, and needed to be reformatted.

Don't be suckered into the low price, you'll only get junk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Centon DataStick Pro by Centon (64gb), June 3, 2011
Very slow access - can not reorg or compress disk.

Took 2 hours to load 4 files totaling 2gb.

Can't call Centon - gotta email them. They'll send you another .....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Please Don't waste your money, March 15, 2011
This review is from: Centon 32 GB DataStick Pro USB 2.0 Flash Drive DSP32GB-001 (Personal Computers)
This flash drive s horrible: You can call this a temporary 8 G.B drive. It only works for a couple of weeks and its not 32 G.B it never holds even half.

This drive fails to work most time, and must be formatted, and in the end it does not work at all.

It would be much smarter to just buy a name brand 8 GB drive that will actually work, and you wont loose your money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but nothing special, August 7, 2009
By 
I bought this 8GB Centon Datastick PRO today and liked it.

The GOODS

- nice grey aluminum casing means it is durable
- LED flashes when copying or transferring files from device
- 2.0 fast standard speed
- lanyard groove on the flash drive & not on the cap!
- silver imprint text design gives a nice look to it

The BADS

- the plastic protruding inside the cap will wear out overtime, inevitably causing the cap to become less secure, making it prone for dust to enter the USB's teeth. And of course, your more likely to lose the cap eventually.

()()()()()(Update: I used this for about 1 week and today I'm experiencing an error. The computer is asking me to reformat this USB flash drive. The same message pops up when I plug the flash drive an another computer. I will return this product.

I bought mine for $19.95 at Fry's Electronic at a regular price so don't pay anything more than that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of Money, July 13, 2012
After trying to transfer 8GB of files, it stopped and declared "WRITE PROTECTED." After searching many forums and help pages, I now have a very expensive paperweight. Not even heavy enough to hold down paper... What a waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Buyer Beware, June 25, 2010
Three product reviews at another electronics website, newegg.com, say this device fails to work properly.

Nothing "pro" about it
Reviewed By: Harlo on 4/13/2010 Tech Level: high - Ownership: 1 week to 1 month
Pros: Small form factor. Shiny.
Cons: Loses data on a whim. Not Xbox360 ready. Unable to copy large files to it.
Other Thoughts: I've gone through two of these with the same results. It appears to just be the device itself. I've copied files to it, moved it to another machine and it detects it as blank. It wouldn't even let me transfer something over a gigabyte saying the drive was full when there was nothing on it. Tried to use in the the Xbox 360 and it said it failed data transfer. Guess it knows better than my PC and Mac. It may have a lifetime warranty but you just get another broken device.

Hunk of Junk
Reviewed By: hillerman on 2/19/2010 Tech Level: high - Ownership: 1 month to 1 year
This user purchased this item from Newegg
Pros: At least it worked long enough to retrieve my pictures.
Cons: I bought this for a trip to Costa Rica where I moved my pictures to it, I returned, retrieved my pictures from it, and it never worked again. Of course, this was 35 days after I bought it so, the return policy was void. Do not buy this product.

Reviewed By: ephelps on 10/11/2009 Tech Level: average - Ownership: 1 month to 1 year
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Died abruptly after two months
Other Thoughts: I was very happy with the drive and had no problems at all -- right up to the day when it quit working. The power light still comes on, but any PC I plug it into now thinks nothing is plugged in. So ya, total loss. Bummer, eh?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.