Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_cbcc_7_fly_beacon Sixx AM Tile Wearable Technology Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Mother's Day Gifts Shop now Amazon Gift Card Offer seeso seeso seeso  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite UniOrlando Shop Now SnS

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars11
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$23.96+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 30, 1999
This excellent book goes over the different styles of artist books. Each chapter is an in-depth look at each style, with plenty of examples. The material is well-organized and easy to read without sacrificing academic rigor. This book has introduced me to the various approaches in making artist books. This book would be good either for the artist book aficionado, the art history student interested in artist books, or the serious book maker.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 24, 2001
A landmark book. Does double duty as a showcase of some of the most incredible books of the century and puts forth some much needed critical groundwork. Johanna Drucker has done the world of book arts a huge service by initiating discussions about the definitions and categories that are necessary to formulate a critical language for this art.
The theory parts are not heavy-handed, but spring naturally from the way she has decided to structure the material for presentation. Not many books are a reference, an inspiration, a sweeping survey, a seed for further criticism, and a flower of criticism in their own right. This one is all that and more.
Your expectations of this book might be quite high if you've been wishing in vain for something like it. Even so, you will not be disappointed, because there is nothing else like it.
When I finished it, I flipped back through the pages once, pressed the covers gently together and whispered to the book, "Well done, Johanna, well done, indeed."
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 26, 2006
It is rare enough for art books to be commented on, but to have the opportunity to read commentary on art book making and writing by a poet and old hat at art book typesetting, binding, etc is a great joy. A reference to cherish, and part of a necessary set of works by a fine author who is still underacknowledged for all she is bringing to contemporary book arts today.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2003
This book is an incredible resource to artists creating bookworks or any form of artist's books. Numerous professors in Columbia College's Book & Paper Arts MFA program use excerpts for readings and they always add insight and information to the recipients. Additionally, the readings (chapters) are not so complex as to not be able to absorb the information.
It is outrageous that the [$$$] book is being sold for [$$$] here, just because it's out of print. Book artists are not bankers!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 2, 2012
A book for the art historian, critic and thinking artist. You fit in there and you'll get a lot out of this book, i'm reading the revised new edition and am very glad i found this book. I'm an artist who took a number of book arts course many years ago and am not getting back to that medium [or intermedia art] and found this discussion to be very helpful to me, not the 'how-to' at all but a deep look at the medium.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 24, 2001
A landmark book. Does double duty as a showcase of some of the most incredible books of the century and puts forth some much needed critical groundwork. Johanna Drucker has done the world of book arts a huge service by initiating discussions about the definitions and categories that are necessary to formulate a critical language for this art.
The theory parts are not heavy-handed, but spring naturally from the way she has decided to structure the material for presentation. Not many books are a reference, an inspiration, a sweeping survey, a seed for further criticism, and a flower of criticism in their own right. This one is all that and more.
Your expectations of this book might be quite high if you've been wishing in vain for something like it. Even so, you will not be disappointed, because there is nothing else like it.
When I finished it, I flipped back through the pages once, pressed the covers gently together and whispered to the book, "Well done, Johanna, well done, indeed."
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 30, 2013
Was very helpful and informative on the subject of artist's books. If this is something you are interested in, I would get this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2012
I like this book, because is very useful for everyone, who is interested in Artist's Books, modern art, cultural sciences
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 21, 2014
Great book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2009
I added this to an order of other books about 'artist books' because the reviews said it was a classic, etc. Maybe it is, but it is really just s scholarly tome ABOUT the 20th century history/concept of artist books and some artists - very few illustrations (all B&W) to illuminate all those words. I was going to just return it immediately but decided it would not hurt me to learn more.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse