Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars addicting game
I enjoy playing Mahjongg - which I knew the game as Taipei. Such a simple little game and so addicting. Just what I need at the end of the day. Still keeps my brain active and yet relaxing. When you finish one puzzle, it will give you the next one in succession. The adventure mode is interesting and tells you a story along the way. This game is downloaded from...
Published on September 25, 2009 by Marie R. Fischer

versus
13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Think twice before ordering downloadable softwear from Amazon
I had ordered this game for my stand alone laptop and thought I could back it up on a cd and then load it to my other computer. Well guess what, no way will Amazon.com allow this. You HAVE to be able to get online through their downloader....the software is not really yours even though you buy it....hummm...go figure....you will be unable to use it on any computer NOT...
Published on May 16, 2010 by Amazon Prime Shopper


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars addicting game, September 25, 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mahjongg: Ancient Mayas [Download] (Software Download)
I enjoy playing Mahjongg - which I knew the game as Taipei. Such a simple little game and so addicting. Just what I need at the end of the day. Still keeps my brain active and yet relaxing. When you finish one puzzle, it will give you the next one in succession. The adventure mode is interesting and tells you a story along the way. This game is downloaded from Amazon and the price is great. Can't go wrong with that combination. Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic game and great improvement over the usual plain vanilla game, September 22, 2010
By 
Lawrence Brown "Larry Brown" (HOUSTON, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mahjongg: Ancient Mayas [Download] (Software Download)
Fantastic game and great improvement over the usual plain vanilla game
This is an awesome game. It has great cartoon style graphics of the rainforest and Mayan pyramids, etc. It leads you on adventures past various famous actual Mayan sites like Tikál (Guatemala) and Copán (Honduras). It features various Mayan flavored tilesets and photographic backgrounds of rain-forest, beach, waterfall, pyramids, etc. It also features some fantastic rain-forest flavored music. I actually don't know what Mayan music should sound like, but this music sounds like African jungle music and I also noticed some Peruvian sounding pan-flutes. It's good music on an absolute scale and also contributes heavily to the rain-forest adventure atmosphere. It also features archeological sound effects like heavy stone tablets sliding open, monkeys, birds, and (presumably) Mayan natives grunting (sometimes in tune with the music).

The game is a big improvement over the usual Mahjongg game in several ways: The entire game is slickly produced and operates smoothly, more so than expected. The Mayan theme is used throughout: the cursor, help windows, tiles, backgrounds, music and sound effects, lettering, command buttons, every single thing that you see on the screen has a Mayan theme. The game opens up new features (like tilesets) as you progress through it. Most importantly, this version of Mahjongg elevates the usual simply one-dimensional game into an actual game with time awards, multiple levels, a storyline, surprise features, and special bonus tiles (for example a wildcard tile). In "adventure" mode, you work your way through a Mayan adventure by visiting Mayan sites (starting with El Gran Jaguar in Tikál) and solving a Mahjongg puzzle at each site. When you solve the puzzle, then you move on to the next Mayan site, possibly adding some game features along the way. I won't spoil the surprise of the bonus tiles. An additional delightful surprise is a comic book intro story in the vein of Indiana Jones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Think twice before ordering downloadable softwear from Amazon, May 16, 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mahjongg: Ancient Mayas [Download] (Software Download)
I had ordered this game for my stand alone laptop and thought I could back it up on a cd and then load it to my other computer. Well guess what, no way will Amazon.com allow this. You HAVE to be able to get online through their downloader....the software is not really yours even though you buy it....hummm...go figure....you will be unable to use it on any computer NOT connected to the internet. Shame on you Amazon for not allowing for software belonging to a customer to be backed up offline!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Fun Game, but . . ., December 24, 2010
By 
Alex (Northern Virginia, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mahjongg: Ancient Mayas [Download] (Software Download)
It's a fun game, but it insists on minimizing itself at random when I click on a tile. I'm using a Windows 7 64 bit machine. Uninstalled the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Change of pace fun., May 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mahjongg: Ancient Mayas [Download] (Software Download)
I have many forms of Mahjongg so that I can experience a variety of the game. Playing against the clock keeps me challenged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Favorite Version, March 13, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mahjongg: Ancient Mayas [Download] (Software Download)
Been playing this one for years but lost it when my laptop took a dive. Made my day when I found it on Amazon. Thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Addicting!, December 5, 2013
By 
Karla S "Morgan St. Aubin" (Black Creek, WI United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mahjongg: Ancient Mayas [Download] (Software Download)
Music is great, the pieces have great design options and the puzzles are moderately difficult but not impossible to solve. I had another puzzle that had puzzles that could not possible be solved and this one is a much better option!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars journey, September 4, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mahjongg: Ancient Mayas [Download] (Software Download)
the mahjong story journeys give you so many different patterns,for you to solveAnd the journey is challenging !.
Great game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Mahjonng Ancient Mayas, September 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mahjongg: Ancient Mayas [Download] (Software Download)
It is "Just ok." Pretty much the same as all the other mahjongg games, it just has a bit of a different look. nothing special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ancient Mayans mahjong, June 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mahjongg: Ancient Mayas [Download] (Software Download)
your download worked .I got it to work after a few phone calls to friends and an hour of trying.

after that I enjoyed the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Mahjongg: Ancient Mayas [Download]
$9.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.