Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best VIZ studios has to offer
Aya is a teenager girl and her twin brother name Aki, who are members of a wealthy powerful family. On Aya 16th birthday she was given a special present which was a test and she failed. She is found to be the reincarnation of a teenyo (celestial madien), and when shaken, she will transform into Ceres, the tennyo. Due to legend, if left to live, the recarnation of Ceres...
Published on August 22, 2005 by Ronnie Clay

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well, it was okay...
Okay, I think the previous reviews and product description should give people a good enough idea of what the anime was actually about, so I'll just go on to my opinions.

The plot of this anime is fairly good, and the length (24 episodes total) means there's not much filler. However, it also means that there isn't much room for things like character development,...
Published on December 4, 2004


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well, it was okay..., December 4, 2004
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Ceres, Celestial Legend - Collector's Edition (Vol. 1) (DVD)
Okay, I think the previous reviews and product description should give people a good enough idea of what the anime was actually about, so I'll just go on to my opinions.

The plot of this anime is fairly good, and the length (24 episodes total) means there's not much filler. However, it also means that there isn't much room for things like character development, and the story sometimes feels rushed. Subplots that took up a whole book in the manga are condensed into one episode, leaving the viewer saying something like "So she died... tell me again why I'm supposed to care?" or "Wait, what exactly was the point of that?" The main characters are fairly well-developed, but there are some that feel like we hardly get to know them before they die- and die they do, almost without exception. Also, it has less humor than did the manga (though Mrs. Q is still as funny as ever).

The art is okay- very similar to the art from the Fushigi Yuugi anime. The blood looks really fake (though I can't decide whether that's a good thing or not), but the character designs are pretty good.

The dub and sub are both good (insofar as dubs/"official" subs ever are). They didn't do anything horrible to the original script, and the voice actors are mainly pretty good. It bothered me that "ten'nyo" was translated as "angel" most of the time, but that could just be me.

But having said all that, I think I feel this way mostly because I've read the manga. It's not a bad anime, in and of itself. It just isn't as good.

So... if you haven't read the manga and don't ever want to, and you enjoy shoujo-ness and twenty-four episodes of almost-constant angst (well, twenty-three, really, since the first one's not as depressing as the rest), you'll probably like this anime. But if you're not vehemently opposed to reading, why not do yourself a favor and get the manga instead? It's longer (which takes care of most of my issues with the anime, although it may be off-putting to people without much time... but then, they're graphic novels, they don't take long to read) and the art is better. I enjoyed the manga more, overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best VIZ studios has to offer, August 22, 2005
By 
Ronnie Clay "R.C." (Winnsboro, Louisiana) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ceres, Celestial Legend - Collector's Edition (Vol. 1) (DVD)
Aya is a teenager girl and her twin brother name Aki, who are members of a wealthy powerful family. On Aya 16th birthday she was given a special present which was a test and she failed. She is found to be the reincarnation of a teenyo (celestial madien), and when shaken, she will transform into Ceres, the tennyo. Due to legend, if left to live, the recarnation of Ceres will bring ruin upon the Mikage family. Aya quickly found out she is haunted by her own family, who plains to kill her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A little better than FY, but contains many of the same flaws, February 26, 2004
This review is from: Ceres, Celestial Legend - Collector's Edition (Vol. 1) (DVD)
Oh my! Back to the exasperating angst and hair-pulling love triangles we have in Fushigi Yuugi. Ayashi no Ceres is a decent series, with a solid storyline and some plot twists. The music is very good, the animation average. One of my biggest complaints with this series is the fact that Aya & Tooya are like Miaka & Tamahome clones, which really really takes away from the character. I keep associating Aya with Miaka's stupidity and Tooya with Tamahome's bland personality. Some of the episodes feel like fillers to drag out the storyline, but hey, the series moves along at a decent pace and ends pretty well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ayashi no Ceres/ Ceres, Celestial Legend, August 14, 2006
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Ceres, Celestial Legend - Collector's Edition (Vol. 1) (DVD)
This is definetly a must see series. It's become one of my favorite animes and I watched it all in one night. Aya and Aki are twins who upon turning 16, find that they carry within them the spirits of their ancestors- Ceres, a tenyo or sky fairy lives within Aya. Aki carries the spirit of her husband, a power hungry idiot who stole something of great value to Ceres- the series starts off with a bang and the animation is very good. It can get a little confusing watching the transformations and remembering who is who but it becomes clearer after the third episode. Totemo kireii
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great series!, December 31, 2003
By 
Ceres Nosnikta (New Haven, Michigan USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ceres, Celestial Legend - Collector's Edition (Vol. 1) (DVD)
I really like Ayashi no ceres (ceres,celestial legend)!
This is only the first 12 episodes, but everyone of them is great.
Only Downfall is Touya... hes annoying, and I mean reaaaaaally annoying... More annoying that Aya's dub voice (well i dont know about that)
I really like Yuhi and Chidori's dub voices, fans of Zoids; Chaotic Century will reconize them as Van and Fiona's voice. Another few they'll reconize is the Grandpa's voice (Rosso's voice), Shizumi (Viola's voice), Kagami (prozen's voice) and I think Aki is Raven's voice (i could be wrong). However great those voices are, if you hear Aya's voice it will be a giant turndown for this series, I suggest you watch it in Japanese first (Aya's voice is really good in the Japanese version).
This series has it all, Horror (things that WILL scare you first time you see it), Humor (Oda Kyu is the best, and so is Alex... really funny characters), Romance (Chidori loves Yuhi, Yuhi loves Aya, Aya loves Touya.. its like a soap opera... I think Ceres likes Yuhi too...) Action (what else would you expect from a athletic cook martial artist like Yuhi? Even Touya, I have to admit, kicks arse sometimes... Plus Ceres fights, and Wei ^_^) and blood (Who can resist blood? best part of the series, heh)
Who cant help but resist this serious? Its beautiful, and dark... Much darker than Fushigi Yuugi ever was
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ceres, Celestial Legend ~ Ayashi No Ceres, December 18, 2004
By 
Roman Numeral (Colorado Springs, CO (USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ceres, Celestial Legend - Collector's Edition (Vol. 1) (DVD)
Wow, this is really close to being an EXCELLENT series. I will note that I actually would give this a 4.5/5. For a suberb English dub and descent animation.

To start off, the Opening Song is one of the hottest opening gimmicks of all time! This piano piece "Scarlet" is beautiful.

Watase Yuu's is the manga successor behind Fushigi Yuugi. And well, Ceres has proved to be much better.

Somehow, I agree that its somewhat similiar to Sailor Moon. It has fighting, romance...its your Modern-day fantasy drama. Yet, this is definitely not childish like SM. This series gets violent quickly. It just got the same elements of art and romance as the classic SM.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Anime are not Cartoons, June 26, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ceres, Celestial Legend - Collector's Edition (Vol. 1) (DVD)
Anime has become a fast growing form of entertainment here in America and should be looked at with a very different mind-set. While some is indeed far to over the top and completely inappropriate to be classified as cartoons, others are simply there to provide a slightly more sophisticated take on the childish entertaiment of cartoons and animated movies.

Ceres falls in between these two absolutes. While it does not contain some of the more explicitly adult material(sexual content, drugs, etc.), Ceres does have a more graphic element in the showing of violence. There is some sexual reference, but it also provides a medium for the correct questions to be asked about that side of interpersonal relations. The balance brought into the story by well formulated questions posed by the characters allows for continued thought not just simple acceptance.

Viewers need to remember that these are not cartoons regardless of the fact they are animated. If a person can step back and appreciate the difference between cartoons and anime, sound judgment can be made about what should be watched for entertaiment quality and content. And what anime should be avoided based solely on the uselessness of the material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, October 4, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ceres, Celestial Legend - Collector's Edition (Vol. 1) (DVD)
I had only read the books that this show is based on, and I was worried that like with most things they would cut things out for the tv series. However, they did not! The show followed the books almost spot on. The quality was great and if you love the books you will love the show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Shojo Action, March 15, 2008
This review is from: Ceres, Celestial Legend - Collector's Edition (Vol. 1) (DVD)
Though I had rented the first disc of this item, Yu Watase is one of my favorites shojo artists,but Fushigi Yugi is litte better becase that anime has less blood.
Overall this is one of the few shojo anime that action in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok I guess, December 31, 2004
By 
This review is from: Ceres, Celestial Legend - Collector's Edition (Vol. 1) (DVD)
If you are going to watch it read the manga first it is soooooo much better than the anime but nonetheless it was a good movie but aya's voice is really annoying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Ceres, Celestial Legend - Collector's Edition (Vol. 1)
Used & New from: $74.89
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.