Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon St Lucia Bose SoundLink AE All-New Amazon Fire TV Luxury Beauty Valentine's Day Cards Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Prime Exclusive Savings in Video Games Shop Now DOTD

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars9
5 star
56%
4 star
44%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:$16.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 19, 2000
After living in India for 12 years (1971-1983) this delightful book brought back so many wonderful memories that were so strong you could almost taste them. Diana Rosen has done an excellent job of blending the romantic culture with the traditions of making and serving tea that transcends all classes and castes of the India subcontinent. After reading 'Chai' I have order six more copies as gifts for my close friends. Everyone who enjoys a cup of tea, and what it can bring, will love this tasty and instructive book.
0Comment31 of 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2001
This is a fine book for any tea lover. My only quibble is with the recipes using a 14 ounce can of unsweetened condensed milk. The only milk that comes in that size is the Eagle Brand type which IS sweetened. I made the recipes with the sweetened milk and they taste fine. I think it is a typo, but I may be wrong.
11 comment20 of 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 27, 2012
If you are a tea drinker and can appreciate the aromatic scent and warming blend of spices in your tea, then this is the book for you. I am a chai tea drinker -- its extremely flavorful, inviting, and soothing. This book indicates the various types and recipes of chai tea, and it tells the story of its origin and the authors experience with the teas. If you are interested in chai teas, then this is the book to have in your collection of recipe books.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 7, 2010
This is an excellent book, detailing the history and love of chai. Many recipes, from basic chai mixes to chai cheesecake. Written in the style of a travel commentary along with the recipes, makes for very entertaining reading. Well worth buying if you are a chai lover.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2008
This is lovely little book. The anecdotes and details about chai and its origins are almost as warming as the tea itself.
0Comment4 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 15, 2014
I bought this book as a gift for our daughter, who loves chai. I put it in a basket with lots of chai, cups and related items. She was delighted with it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 31, 2015
If you want chai lore, history and recipes, you want this book. It is a comprehensive resource on chai. So interesting and fun!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2014
Making my own chai with this, trying to save money. Great fun, tweaking recipes to be sugar free. Highly recommend.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2013
i love chai tea but a whole book on chai tea? i dunno... and the bad thing is its not paperless
0Comment0 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse