Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Rocking Good Time
This movie is everything a horror film is supposed to be: tons of gore, a hot young cast (most of which can't act all that well), and a host of veteran actors (Brad Dourif, Keith David, Betsy Russell, etc) making appearances.

From the title, you have probably gathered a bit about the plot. There is a chain letter targeting a technology-obsessed group of teens...
Published on February 3, 2011 by Cory T. Shaeffer

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars YOU'VE GOT MAIL
In this age of e-mail, texting, tweeting and twittering, it's inevitable that screenwriters utilize this media as warnings about invasion of privacy and our loss of face to face communication. CHAIN LETTER is one such movie.
Sadly, the execution is pedestrian, shallow and only mildly interesting.
The 20-something "teens" as usual aren't appealing and the...
Published on February 12, 2011 by Michael Butts


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars YOU'VE GOT MAIL, February 12, 2011
By 
This review is from: Chain Letter (Unrated) (DVD)
In this age of e-mail, texting, tweeting and twittering, it's inevitable that screenwriters utilize this media as warnings about invasion of privacy and our loss of face to face communication. CHAIN LETTER is one such movie.
Sadly, the execution is pedestrian, shallow and only mildly interesting.
The 20-something "teens" as usual aren't appealing and the motivation for their gruesome deaths is left hanging and merely serves as a prelude to the inevitable sequel.
Horror vets Brad Dourif, Keith David and Betsy Russell get paychecks for their cliche roles but are unremarkable.
I was involved up until its ridiculous ending--the nail in the coffin.
Hope we start getting some decent horror flicks soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Rocking Good Time, February 3, 2011
This review is from: Chain Letter (DVD)
This movie is everything a horror film is supposed to be: tons of gore, a hot young cast (most of which can't act all that well), and a host of veteran actors (Brad Dourif, Keith David, Betsy Russell, etc) making appearances.

From the title, you have probably gathered a bit about the plot. There is a chain letter targeting a technology-obsessed group of teens. They have to pass it on or a psychopathic killer mangles them in a most creative way.

A combination of "The Ring" and "Stay Alive," this movie avoids the excess torture of the "Saw" films, as well as the long drawn out storylines of other films of this nature. It's just a good time. There is nothing stunning or original about the film that will make it stick in your memory forever, but it satisfies the horror film lover's appetite for lots of gore, a little nudity, and an overall great time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Internet Doesn't Work That Way!, January 11, 2013
This review is from: Chain Letter (Unrated) (DVD)
How my ratings work:
5 - I really liked/loved it
4 - I liked it
3 - Could've been better/worth a look
2 - Just didn't live up to the potential
1 - Simply awful

SPOILER ALERT! SPOILER ALERT!

You'd think that by now Hollywood would know how computers and the internet works. For those that don't know, the internet doesn't produce static nor does it flash barcodes. I guess Hollywood folk assume that because computers have a screen like TVs have a screen then that must mean they produce static. That would be incorrect because TVs (old ones anyway) have different internal working compared to computers. Not that this can make a movie bad, so let's get to the actual review.

This movie is awful! Someone decides to kill people because they don't spread spam, wow, that's just wow. Also, like most modern horror films, we barely get to know the main characters, and if we do they aren't that interesting or they're sucky characters so we don't care what happens to them. I hate seeing Keith David and Brad Dourif slumming it in movies like this because both are so much better. I gotta say, 5 years really does affect how some people look, because Noah Segan looked more like a high school student in the 2005 film Brick (course he was around 22 then) than he does in this movie. That's another actor who's way better than this crap. I'll give it this, the movie looks good and the gore effects are decent and it's nice to see practical effects, but there are way better movies than this that have good gore (example: John Carpenter's The Thing, The Evil Dead, Evil Dead 2: Dead by Dawn, pretty much any of the original Nightmare on Elm Street films, and so many more). Even the Saw films, for the most part, at least attempt to make you care about the victims. And the motivations of the killer are never made clear, and they hint at some stupid anti tech cult but they never confirm if it's them.

Starting the movie off as a flashback is rarely a good idea, unless it gives you a chance to get to know the main character and actually cares what happens to them. This is not one of those movies. It's amazing how two people don't notice chains hooked up to their cars, or that they're garage door is slightly open. Then there's the fact that the girl chained up decides to lift her head up as she's being dragged, so of course she hits her head on the door. And finally there's the fact that he dad doesn't notice she's chained to the car and continues to drive and it splits her in half and one of her friends is running after the car shouting her name. Hate to break it to you dude, but you don't usually survive getting split in half so yelling her name won't make her less dead. I like to imagine that the dad didn't notice the parts of his daughter dragging behind his car till he got to work (sorry, I have a dark sense of humor like that) and then he puked his brains out.

There really is nothing much you can say about the movie itself because it just drags on and on and nothing really happens. Once again Hollywood, learn how the internet works and stop adding static to the internet. It doesn't make you look stylish, it makes your movie look stupid. I realize this isn't a very well put together review, but the movie wasn't well put together so I think it's a fair trade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gory Slasher Madness, January 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chain Letter (Unrated) (DVD)
We had a movie night with family and other family members. Horror pictures were the chosen honors. We watched a were-wolf movie and decided to look at this picture. When it was on cable, I didn't really pay attention to much of it. Since I like some gore, and saw a little bit, I bought the movie. If you are a gore hound, then this movie is for you. People died horrible deaths. I did not realize this was a slasher film, which is not one of my favorite horror genres. My daughter became upset on some of the parts. She watches too much, "Criminal Minds". She felt that the way some of the casts died, could have happened that way in real life. My sister really was having way too much fun watching this picture. I on the other hand, was hiding my face and screaming on some of the parts.

The acting from some was okay, except the annoying brother that was jealous of his sister. Some of the death scenes were over the top and almost funny. Not to sound heartless, but the brother getting it was sad, but a little cartoonist. A person couldn't really escape their faith after responding to the chain letter. The killer was scary looking and really enjoyed his work. He was brutal and the director enjoyed placing the camera right up close to see the tortures. One scene, I had to turn the TV down and turn my face away. It was too painful to listen to the young man's suffering. This is the part that got my daughter upset, which was a point well taken.

After all that, my sister and I enjoyed the movie for its shock value and okay story line. My daughter did not. I'am not sure if I will watch it again. So slasher fans, knock yourself out and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Would be more interesting if it were about chain smoking, January 11, 2013
This review is from: Chain Letter (Unrated) (DVD)
What are the odds that I'm viewing another Noah Segan (Deadgirl) high school movie? I looked him up on imdb, and he was born in 1983! Time to retire this teenage crap. Seems any movie revolving around video games/computers/technology automatically blows. This movie is no exception. Neil (Cody Kasch) receives a chain letter, and it gets passed on to four friends and relatives. Ignore it and you die. CHAIN LETTER! The box says: "As time runs out and the deadly letter's rules become more challenging, the survivors must untangle this chilling secret." I'm not sure what there is to untangle. Ignore the message, and you are treated with a visit from a giant deformed creep. A subplot about an anti-technology cult is touched upon, but not explored. Many gruesome chain-related deaths and a grim ending cannot save this turkey, turkey!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Chain Letter Review, October 22, 2011
This review is from: Chain Letter (DVD)
This movie stinks like WWE Wrestlemania 9!!! There's nothing to the "If you the dump chain letter,you get killed" storyline. The plot drags on & on like that "I Quit" match between The Miz & John Cena from Over the Limit 2011 and copies most of it from The Ring. The title opening is annoying like that orange from Youtube. The opening kill was pointless like Peter's cow kite. The cast are also annoying,forgettable,stupid and 1D. The only A+ is the blood & gore but gets ruined by bad editing. The villian is also 1D like the bullies form IT. The jump scares are predictable & not scary. This makes WCW Halloween Havoc 2000 scarier by compairson. I give Chain Letter a 1 out of 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars chain letters... lol, October 19, 2014
By 
This review is from: Chain Letter (DVD)
Chain Letter is only scary for people who are taken aback or feel concerned whenever they receive messages through email or facebook that say "Send this to 10 other people or else!" Some people actually feel uncomfortable and fear the consequences unless they send it to 10 other people. I know crazy right! That's basically what a chain letter is, and what makes up the plotline to this "horror".

Now I'm willing to give this movie a little bit of a break because despite the bottom of the barrel choice for a plot that's way too typical of the modern age we live in grasping for anything to wrap a movie around, there actually ARE a few decent moments in Chain Letter. I enjoy the death of a person chained to the back of two cars, so when the cars drive down the road the person chained gets smacked around experiencing bumps and bruises in graphic fashion. This is especially thrilling when the lady in the right car looks in the mirror while stopping at a red light and realizes there's a body attached to the back of her car but... she can't warn the guy in the other car in time as he speeds off so yeah, that poor body, haha. For additional effect maybe they should have filmed these particular scenes somewhere in Pennsylvania, har har! In case you don't know, PA has some extremely bumpy roads. Would have been ideal I tell ya!

Anyway the other deaths involving a girl rather realistically dying after a spear goes through her head is pretty cool, as is the one where the teenage boy gets his face ripped apart by a chain tightening across his face. I can't even imagine what it would feel like to have a chain smash my face in such a way. Maybe these deaths aren't original at all but I've never seen them before in other films so for now I'll consider them nice moments of creativity. How about that guys head who gets squashed like a supersized bug while looking at his car motor, haha. Blood just dunks out of his head like a giant bin of red pudding.

Otherwise the storyline is just really bad. The acting is below average (the brother and sister arguing over a computer with childish insults is plain writing) and the cop detective going around figuring out clues wasn't a good actor either and seemed somewhat arrogant and inappropriate for his role. Lousy acting all around by everybody. Only the deaths can save this one. It's passable only for the deaths, but please, if you know what a chain letter is and have received them online, you'll probably end up mocking or flat out disliking the choice to base an entire script around the subject. It's just not worthy enough for a horror film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars They don't make 'em like they used to-and this is why, August 31, 2011
This review is from: Chain Letter (Unrated) (DVD)
Alot of 1 Star Ratings were helpful IMO. However, these are just MY questions that I feel should be addressed: The parents didn't notice the gargage door was open at least a foot? Did the killer send "Jessi" a text while she was heading to the bathroom or was that some one else telling her to turn around? What is with the flashbacks during the first kill? Why did the teacher creepily touch the main character's arm after class? **What does the 200 year Chain Curse "Jessi" looks up on the internet have to do with anything? What is with this deformed killer that busts through walls one minute and then is doing sophisticated hacking the next? What is with the detective's computer background with all of the letters? Why does nerdy brother guy whip out a gun? Why doesn't the detective have a partner, call for back-up, or give his location when persuing the believed killer? What does an anti-tech cult have anything to do with a bankrupt meat chain supplier and a monster hacker? Is the "Technology Terrioist" group the same this as "Antech" cult? How did the detective put together barcode tattoos he couldn't of possibly seen? Why did "Jessi" smash her phone and not her labtop? What's with the title sequence 5 minutes before the end of the movie? I'm sure there's more but those were some off the top of my head. It's possible the drive of the killer was to get them to break all of there electronic toys but I guess well never know because...For the Million Dollar Question: What happened to the ending?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Letter Be...., March 22, 2011
By 
N. Green "CJ-JT!" (Ottawa, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chain Letter (DVD)
As in let this movie b....sad to say, I love horror movies...I love Betsy Russell...but this movie goes nowhere with her nor the plot...leaves you hanging....and that is that...glad I have it as I have almost everything Betsy Russell but if she wasn't in it, it would go in the sell bin...wow, my first negative comment on Amazon..sorry...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Chain Letter, May 16, 2011
By 
This review is from: Chain Letter (Unrated) (DVD)
Can't they make anymore good horror movies these days?Anthor one you would want to skip.Glad I didn't pay any money to see it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Chain Letter
Chain Letter by Deon Taylor (DVD - 2011)
$14.98 $9.31
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.