Customer Reviews


96 Reviews
5 star:
 (79)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Instructional Guide
This has to be the best instructional guide for maille that I've read yet. The detailed close up pictures of actually working with the rings has been very helpful. There is a lot of detail to showing exactly how a weave works for beginners, and shows a fast track to refresh your memory if you're doing it again or if you have a lot of experience weaving. I highly...
Published on November 23, 2010 by Rod Westwood

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not formatted for kindle
There is no table of contents... You just have to go through all the pages to see what's in it.
Published 11 months ago by E. Pritchett


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Instructional Guide, November 23, 2010
This review is from: Chained: Create Gorgeous Chain Mail Jewelry One Ring at a Time (Paperback)
This has to be the best instructional guide for maille that I've read yet. The detailed close up pictures of actually working with the rings has been very helpful. There is a lot of detail to showing exactly how a weave works for beginners, and shows a fast track to refresh your memory if you're doing it again or if you have a lot of experience weaving. I highly recommend this book to people of all skill levels. And the projects are fantastic, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Beginner's Book, February 3, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chained: Create Gorgeous Chain Mail Jewelry One Ring at a Time (Paperback)
I have to say I was a little disappointed in this book. I was looking for some advanced weaves -- Jens Pind, Dragonscale, that cool Caterpillar thing she does, Cyclon or even Half Persian. The majority of the weaves were a base of byzantine, Japanese or helms.

I gave this book 4 stars anyway, because the book was very well written -- it was like talking to an old friend about her passion. It relaxed and conversational, and packed with TONS of useful information for a beginning weaver.

The photos are also gorgeous, and Rebeca's instructions are the best.... and I've purchased a ton of patterns ... if you can't learn it from Rebeca, you can't learn it. If you're newer and having a tough time with a weave, you need these instructions. Period.

She goes through all the pros and cons of metals, which was also nice for the beginner. I felt like there was too much time spent on opening and closing rings, but again, if you're beginning, you need to know how important a perfectly closed ring is.

It did leave me feeling like there's room for alot of creativity in weaving and using color, which I tend to shy away from because I don't care for aluminum and niobium is too pricey.

Additionally, she's confident enough to tell you where you can purchase supplies at places other than her store, which is just plain cool.

Rebeca's perfect quality of work and her use of color make her pieces shine. If you're just beginning, you'll be out buying rings in no time after reading this. If you've been addicted for awhile, you'll be eagerly awaiting her next, hopefully Expert Only, book, and I'll be waiting with you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MUST HAVE!!!, November 29, 2010
By 
Christa K (Illinois, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chained: Create Gorgeous Chain Mail Jewelry One Ring at a Time (Paperback)
This book has got to be added to the library of every mailler or wannabe mailler out there! The pictures are outstanding - you can see each step. The detailed instructions make even the hardest of weaves understandable. For the beginning student, each section starts with an easy weave and then progresses to intermediate, advanced and expert. The beauty of this is that you are able to learn each weave (or review it) then go on to more difficult, intrecate variations. You'll feel like an expert in no time! The first chapter provides so much useful information for people who are new to chainmaille or to those who have been weaving for a while. By far, this is the best chainmaille book I have ever seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Chainmail Guide, December 12, 2010
This review is from: Chained: Create Gorgeous Chain Mail Jewelry One Ring at a Time (Paperback)
My first chainmail class was with Rebeca, and I was hooked. I have taken classes with many chainmail instructors and several of them are very good, but Rebeca is the best. She is a chainmail expert and has created many weaves. Her instructions are thorough, and the step-by-step photos are excellent.

If you can't get to Chicago or Milwaukee (the Bead and Button Show every June) for a class with Rebeca, you're now in luck - this book offers something for beginners through advanced weavers. There is a 30 page introductory/reference section at the beginning of the book that is packed full of useful information. When explaining how to properly open and close jump rings, most books show 2 pictures - an open ring and a closed ring. Rebeca thoroughly covers the proper way to open and close jump rings with 8 pages of detailed instructions and 45 photos. She teaches you to get a perfect ring closure even when the ring might be flawed. Nothing else makes such a noticeable difference in the quality of your jewelry. Even advanced chainmaillers can benefit from this section of the book.

There are 4 chapters covering weaving projects: Japanese, Byzantine, Helm, and Coiled. You'll get thorough descriptions and many photos for each basic weave and several variations (most of which are Rebeca's original designs). She gives you project ring sizes for both base metal and precious metal rings. You know what a help this is if you've ever wanted to complete a project in a book or magazine using a different metal; often, the same ring size in a different metal doesn't work. The Coiled chapter offers both new weaves and unique variations on existing weaves. The coiling technique was developed by Rebeca, and it will give you the opportunity to stretch your skills and create jewelry that will get attention wherever you wear it.

Finally, besides helping you improve and expand your chainmail skills, this book will give you hours of fun and beautifully finished jewelry whether you're a beginner or an advanced chainmailler.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Instruction at it's finest!, January 4, 2011
By 
Frances Ramales (HOWARD CITY, MI, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chained: Create Gorgeous Chain Mail Jewelry One Ring at a Time (Paperback)
I am a self taught Chainmaille Artist. I have been using instructional products as well as materials from Rebeca Mojica's company Blue Buddha Boutique in Chicago for almost 3 1/2 years. This book offers beginners and advanced jewelery makers alike, an insight to developing and fine tuning basic technique as well as design.

The gorgeous photographs, and easy, step by step directions are in clear, concise English and not too technical. Each section focuses on a specific weave 'family' and shows beautiful variations & color schemes. There is even a section for beginners outlining tools and how to properly use them; materials and how to care for them and pros and cons for using them in jewelry projects. Saving time and money!

I am so happy to have found Rebeca & Blue Buddha and learned from her; an Icon in the industry of Metal Arts, Jewelry Design and Instruction. She attends the Milwaukee Bead & Button Show with wonderful lessons and products that are essential for making the dazzling jewelry in her book and for creating your own designed inspired by her expertize and her staffs diligent prototypes.

If you are interested in learning to create jewelry in unique and eye catching designs this book is a must have.

This is not your average instructional manual. It is a guide for anyone wanting to learn technique, design and create something you can enjoy wearing, giving as gifts or selling.

You will learn in one book what took some people years to perfect. '

Friends flip through this book amazed and ask, "Can you make this?" With a smile and proud nod, I reply, "Yes, and you can too! Buy the book!"

My only question is "When's the NEXT one coming out?" :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Simply MUST-HAVE, April 26, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chained: Create Gorgeous Chain Mail Jewelry One Ring at a Time (Paperback)
My daughter-in-law introduced me to chain mail jewelry. I was hooked immediately, but needed a book with projects. While there are hundreds of tutorials on the web, they are mostly for learning weaves, not making completed projects. "Chained" not only has simple instructions and teaches basic weaves, but you learn by creating gorgeous projects as you go.

Pluses:
The book doesn't jump right into projects, but rather it starts with the very basics of how rings are made, sized, how to open and close rings properly. This is invaluable in producing jewelry that looks professional, not home-made. Techniques taught also corrected some bad habits I picked up early on.

All projects have listings for both precious metal ring size requirements and base metal sizes. This means you can make an inexpensive version of each projects before ruining precious metal rings, which can be quite expensive. Also, many projects look so good in the base metal versions, I'll never bother doing precious metal versions.
Reviewed: Chained, by Rebecca Mojica

The pictures and instructions are VERY clear and concise. The photographs of finished projects grab your interest, but the project instructions don't let you down.

Each project is rated beginner through advanced. Most of the projects are beginner or intermediate level. Also, each project is rated according to the time it will take to complete. For example, one beautiful necklace is a beginner level project, but epic time length. This sets realistic expectations of how long you will have to devote to each project.

If you want to shop at Blue Buddha Boutique, which is owned by the author, kits are available for each of the projects shown, so you can make one exactly like the one shown in the book. But since the materials lists are given and are complete and clear, you can buy your supplies anywhere that sells quality rings.

Minuses:
I haven't found any real drawbacks with this book yet and I have completed several projects already and I've had the book only a week.

Bottom Line: Buy this book and start with affordable projects today. Leave books like "Chain Mail Jewelry: Contemporary from Classic Techniques for the folks with the deep pockets and want expensive boutique type jewelry. Buy this book (Chained) and begin creating gorgeous affordable pieces that are more approachable. Jewelry that is both beautiful and fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Want to learn Chain Mail-Buy THIS book!, June 24, 2012
By 
Sally J. Sapp (Maryville, Illinois USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chained: Create Gorgeous Chain Mail Jewelry One Ring at a Time (Paperback)
I had seen chain mail jewelry at an arts show and really like it. Not your run of the mill jewelry. I have an art degree so I figured I could learn to do it myself. I only bought one book to start off with and this was it. I can't say enough about the book. The illustrations are wonderful and within no time I was able to make one of the most difficult bracelets in the book with no real problem. The reason? The photos in the book! They are clear, large enough and close up enough to see everything very well. I am a visual learner and if I have to rely mostly on written instructions I have fits. Don't worry about that with this book. While the written directions are good the photos pull it all together for a very easy and fun learning experience. So many great projects in the book and variations on so many of them. You absolutely can't go wrong with this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyig this, May 14, 2012
By 
Wendy G (New Orleans, LA USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chained: Create Gorgeous Chain Mail Jewelry One Ring at a Time (Paperback)
This is a straight forward book that has given me some real good information. I have never done this before, so as a beginner I needed a lot of the information that was written int his book. For example, how each of the different types of metals will react to being worked with, being worn and being cared for. It had nice projects to get you started using fundamental techniques with each of the different metals and then showing the reader how to expand on those techniques. I am having a lot of fun learning a new jewelry making style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific resource for chainmaillers of all levels, January 28, 2011
This review is from: Chained: Create Gorgeous Chain Mail Jewelry One Ring at a Time (Paperback)
Rebeca has done an outstanding job with this beautifully-written book. With a generous number of projects suitable for everyone from beginners to advanced chainmaillers, Chained is a must-have for every jewelry-maker's library. Her instructions are crystal-clear, and her designs are beautiful, interesting, and varied. The order in which she laid out the projects is particularly thoughtful, in that each project builds on the one before for those who are just getting started, although it's not at all difficult for a more experienced weaver to jump into the middle and pick any project he or she likes. After having worked my way through the first third of the projects, I was left with a pile of lovely new jewelry to wear, a more solid understanding of weave "theory", and eagerness to keep going with the next third! I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CHAIN MAIL COMES OUT OF THE DARK AGES!, December 14, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chained: Create Gorgeous Chain Mail Jewelry One Ring at a Time (Paperback)
In this book Rebeca brings Chain Mail out of the "Dark Ages", with color and flare! She takes ancient weaves and updates them for the 21st century by adding color. Then she adds movement and depth by going beyond the norm and jazzing up age old designs.

As other reviewers have said, someone new to chain mail could get this book and master these weaves in no time at all, the directions are amazing with step by step pictures. Someone like myself, who already knows the art will revel in the new ways to do their art.

I've been getting my chain mail supplies from Rebeca since discovering the art of Chain Mail. I've even me her and her staff at the Bead and Button store. You couldn't meet a better group of motivated people. Their service and products are top notch!

I've been anticipating this book for months now and I wasn't disappointed! You won't be disappointed with this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Chained: Create Gorgeous Chain Mail Jewelry One Ring at a Time
Chained: Create Gorgeous Chain Mail Jewelry One Ring at a Time by Rebeca Mojica (Paperback - December 13, 2010)
$24.99 $18.75
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.