Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


71 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you could only buy one book on workaholism, this is it!
This is a frightening look at workaholism (the addiction to adrenaline) and the different forms in which it manifests itself. Dr. Robinson's words will hit home if you are or know a workaholic. The book includes information on how to recognize the symptoms, the disease's affect on partners, children and co-workers as well as descriptions of workaholic company...
Published on October 30, 1999

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Aimed at practitioners
Be warned: this book seems aimed more at convincing practitioners that "workaholism is a real problem" and is not a book that has steps laid out like "do this and that to break you workaholic habit". Also the author only mentions in passing (literally like one sentence "oh by the way there may be other problems that are deeper which should also be addressed" but then...
Published 22 months ago by Roger Deloy Pack


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

71 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you could only buy one book on workaholism, this is it!, October 30, 1999
By A Customer
This is a frightening look at workaholism (the addiction to adrenaline) and the different forms in which it manifests itself. Dr. Robinson's words will hit home if you are or know a workaholic. The book includes information on how to recognize the symptoms, the disease's affect on partners, children and co-workers as well as descriptions of workaholic company cultures, and why this disease is encouraged instead of treated. The book gives some help on steps towards managing the disease from the Workaholics Anonymous 12 step program and other programs. Like all other addictions, Dr. Robinson points out that there's no easy fix, especially since the workaholic still has to work. But the disease is as life threatening as any other chemical addiction. There are lists of resources offered including programs, books and tapes. Keep this one nearby when you need the facts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book that can change your life!, August 7, 2006
By 
John Mattson (Providence, RI United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chained to the Desk: A Guidebook for Workaholics, Their Partners and Children, and the Clinicians Who Treat Them (Paperback)
Begrudgingly I began to read this book at my wife's request, not expecting much - what a surprise I was in for. Chapter after chapter led to new revelations about my own work addition and how it impacts others. What the author presents is a way to overcome a sick work ethic and replace it with a new attitude that allows you to make your life rich and rewarding. Whether you are work-motivated by money or personal interests, this book is highly recommended for anyone who can't leave work in the office or believes that work is the most important part of their life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chained to the Desk Review, March 28, 2007
This review is from: Chained to the Desk: A Guidebook for Workaholics, Their Partners and Children, and the Clinicians Who Treat Them (Paperback)
The moment I got this book I could not put it down. It offered helpful information for a wife of a workaholic. It connected words with the feelings that have been felt, the frustrations and disappoints. It is a must read for anyone who is a workaholic, and who lives with one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eye Opener about Workaholism, September 22, 2007
This review is from: Chained to the Desk: A Guidebook for Workaholics, Their Partners and Children, and the Clinicians Who Treat Them (Paperback)
"Chained to the Desk" is an excellent book for both the layperson and the clinician on workaholism. It provides an informative and clearly articulated discussion of the symptoms of workaholism, the possible causes, and how to fight it. The book's discussion of the addiction's impact on spouses and partners, children, friends, and work colleagues is particularly instructive. The author also provides a simple test for determining to what degree, if any, the reader suffers from workaholism. I highly recommend this book for the individual who is prone to taking her blackberry on vacation or is otherwise "chained to her desk" and for the those close to her who must suffer the consequences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive and Touching, October 14, 2008
If you only read one book on workaholism, this should be it! It is informative, well-researched, and authentic (with narratives from real people) and includes a list of helpful resources such as Workaholics Anonymous. I found the chapter on the childhoods of workaholics especially touching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Do not underestimate the value and necessity of reading this book, October 7, 2007
This review is from: Chained to the Desk: A Guidebook for Workaholics, Their Partners and Children, and the Clinicians Who Treat Them (Paperback)
Depending on the clinician to whom one talks, between 50 and 85% of Western populations are workaholic, so "Chained to the Desk" should appeal to virtually every English-speaking Westerner. Few of us will, however, read it. This is a great tragedy because, if you suffer from an addiction to work, not only do you probably suffer from many other less "socially admirable" addictions that will undoubtedly be shortening your life and making it less enjoyable than necessary, you are probably also unwittingly spreading this very debilitating and serious disease and, moreover, will unwittingly be creating varying degrees of "hell" for your intimates. I know. I lost my family before I woke up to the family-and-life-threatening concomitants of this disease.

"Chained to the Desk" is extremely comprehensive, well-referenced, well organized, cogently argued, and replete with practical suggestions. Yet it suffers from a major flaw: it describes workaholics as "them" and leaves those of us who do not like to be described as "them" just as much "in the unknowing cold" as before. Nevertheless, if you can identify with Dr. Robinson's "them" without "turning off or away", studying this book will help you either escape or heal from workaholism. As for Dr. Robinson, well, since he was once himself severely addicted to work, he has another book to write for us in which I recommend his publisher insists that he substitute the words "we" and "us" for "they" and "them". Maybe then the Anglosphere will wake up to our gross, grievous, and ongoing failures to use technologies and techniques for the true and lasting benefit of both ourselves and our planet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational Guidebook, December 13, 2011
CHAINED TO THE DESK has has been my inspirational guidebook for years in both my personal life and mental and public health practice. It has helped me remember the importance of balance in our work lives and the impact when that is lost. We throw ourselves into activity and work in the quest to be productive, and in the process however unwittingly put ourselves at risk of losing not only our sense of selves but also those who we love.

The book as such provides a unique contribution to the field of human addictions. Workaholism is under-recognized and appreciated and often misunderstood, adding to personal and interpersonal problems in functioning when not addressed. A must read for those struggling with work balance, their families and friends. Mental health professionals might not only gain special insight into their clients and ways to motivate them and help them heal, but also identify personal issues that interfere with living mindfully and being the most effective provider possible.

The author makes masterful use of case histories of those struggling, their families and children. They provide detailed descriptions of what it means to grow up in a workaholic family with the intergenerational wounds that remain to be healed in order to prevent repetition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Needed Insight!, September 27, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
As the wife of a workaholic, this book provided much needed insight into his struggles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book if you are seeking to understand work addiction, February 14, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chained to the Desk: A Guidebook for Workaholics, Their Partners and Children, and the Clinicians Who Treat Them (Paperback)
bought this slightly used but in fabulous condition; you cannot beat amazon's used books which makes for a beautiful deal! The book was filled w/ great info on the etiology & mechanisms of work addiction and tips to help you cope
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Book, January 24, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chained to the Desk: A Guidebook for Workaholics, Their Partners and Children, and the Clinicians Who Treat Them (Paperback)
This is an awesome book that describes the seriousness of the addiction. The biggest obstacle will be getting the workaholic to actually read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.