Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soon, you'll be crushing beer cans too!
This is perhaps the simplest, most direct book that I know of on the subject matter, which mirrors my experiences with Ben as a teacher.

The book focuses on a pragmatic approach to building skills for practical shooting, targeting an audience of USPSA and IPDA competitors. Make no bones about it, this is primarily oriented towards USPSA competitors, but many of...
Published on November 8, 2012 by Les Kismartoni

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very technical
It was good and very technical a little too much for a novice like me though. A good read though.
Published 21 months ago by Elese M. Eagle


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soon, you'll be crushing beer cans too!, November 8, 2012
By 
Les Kismartoni (Park Ridge, IL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Champion Shooting: A Proven Process for Success at Any Level (Kindle Edition)
This is perhaps the simplest, most direct book that I know of on the subject matter, which mirrors my experiences with Ben as a teacher.

The book focuses on a pragmatic approach to building skills for practical shooting, targeting an audience of USPSA and IPDA competitors. Make no bones about it, this is primarily oriented towards USPSA competitors, but many of the drills and insights ventured would serve others well.

The pragmatic approach presented avoids almost all discussion of technique, except for triggering, and focuses on diagnostic drills and exercises that, when approached diligently, are projected to yield the most benefit for the time involved. The summary of why these drills are important avoids a lot of the rich philosophical discussion that Enos' books contains (which, personally, I like) and focuses on a plain language presentation of why these skills are most important.

Further, the book presents a simplified training regimen (far simpler than, say Seeklanders approach) encapsulating the drills and exercises presented and is a sure blueprint for taking some diligent folks to the top levels...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Efficient success, November 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Champion Shooting: A Proven Process for Success at Any Level (Kindle Edition)
Given limited training/practice time, how you get better? Ben & Jay explain that you practice what gives the best competitive returns. They show you what that is, how to do it for free in your living room, and how to turn a few hundred rounds of live fire practice into the equivalent of thousands of rounds fired in less efficient or focused training.

I teach an Intro to Practical Shooting class each Friday night, and this book will now be what I give students that express interest in rapid improvement. And that is a good caveat... they don't cover shooting or movement techniques, except a bit on trigger / shot release (the most important activity in the game). So pair this book up with a class or two from a competent instructor that is teaching the game. You will go far.

I know each of the authors, and can attest for their competitive success, but I also know the back story of how they got so good, and now you do as well - the book is what they did and what they do - now you can too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Perspective to training., November 7, 2012
This review is from: Champion Shooting: A Proven Process for Success at Any Level (Kindle Edition)
I have to admit I was pleased with the book. This is not your average book on how to shoot gooder. Most books I've read on becoming a better competition shooter go into too much detail on training at home. I liked the way it explains what to look for when doing the dry fire exercises and what aspects of technique it will help improve. So, if you want to shoot gooder, willing commit to the practice drills and to learn to push your current level to the limit. Then this book is a good start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality not quantity, November 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Champion Shooting: A Proven Process for Success at Any Level (Kindle Edition)
In the world of the shooting sports there are 100's if not 1,000's of books, dvds, practice manuals, etc. Obviously some are better than others while some contain the same information just repeated with some personal touches added in by the author. A LOT of books and dvds can be complicated and vaguely get down to the brass tacks of what the reader is looking for. Champion Shooting starts right off by saying, this is a simplistic book with very direct examples for shooters who are looking to progress in their training or learn how to correctly train. The e-book is short and to the point but is dense with information. There are specific drills with specific benchmarks for the reader to incorporate into their training sessions. Many other instructors fail to break down how fast or slow each aspect of shooting should be when training. In Champion Shooting, each aspect, starting with the draw/first shot, reload, transitions and splits are given a specific goal time. This helps the reader actually learn where that precious time is being lost during match competitions. A 1/10th or 2/10th's on each of those aspects add up pretty quickly to separate good shooters from great shooters.

Also, the addition of drills from other great shooters such as Phil Strader, Frank Garcia, etc further drive home the ideology in this book that there is no one defined way to practice. This is covered in the chapter of designing your own drills. This is important because it explains to the reader that you are truly unique and the best way to constantly learn and progress is to keep an open mind to what other shooters are doing and learn from that.

The "week in the life" chapter goes over what a typical training schedule is comprised of for both authors (Ben and Jay). Many will be surprised to learn that a National Champion uses simple to the point drills and courses of fire to effectively train. It also demonstrates that you do not need to shoot a pallet of ammunition a week in order to improve. Stoeger is a regular middle class American on a shooting budget that loads the same ammo on the same kind of press that the majority of people do but is separated by the efficiency of time, proper training, knowing his strengths and weaknesses and how to train to improve them. This is what this book is mainly about. It will give you the proper training tools and instructions on how to best use them. It is up to you if you choose to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Want to see your name at the top of your division's list? Start here., November 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Champion Shooting: A Proven Process for Success at Any Level (Kindle Edition)
There comes a point in every shooters head where they decide if they just want to shoot just to shoot, or if they really want to get better and start beating those names he (or she) always sees above their name.

Well, you know I got to that point and decided I needed a plan to improve. I mainly shoot IDPA, the sport with the photographer's vest (I don't fish). So I wondered if this book would make sense for me. Let me say without any hesitation...YES! I have read other shooting books, watched some videos and sorted through all the forums. It was this book that I feel put me on the right track to improving.

Now just buying the book and reading it won't make a difference, you got to practice, practice and practice. Common sense right? But if you don't practice the right things and know what that practice will improve, you are just working yourself into a circle. This is where this book will do you right in developing your own plan.

It gives you straight forward advice on putting together a thought process and a course of action. No tactical head turning or end of the world stuff, this book is about getting you better, more efficient and more competitive. If you're more an IDPA guy than a USPSA guy, don't worry you WILL get a lot from this book, even though I do see myself doing some more USPSA next year. This book came at a great time of year as the season has started to wind down here on the East Coast. Now it is time to practice up. If you have a genuine interest in getting better I would say start here. This is the next best thing to having Jay and Ben come down to the range with you to shoot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for your practical shooting library., November 14, 2012
This review is from: Champion Shooting: A Proven Process for Success at Any Level (Kindle Edition)
This book has got to be the best, easiest to understand, most informative shooting book I've read to date. From cover to cover this book has lots of what a shooter needs and none of what they don't. There's no fluff here. It feels like you are actually getting one on one instruction from the author. And from a teaching perspective, it's hard to connect with the full range of shooters. This book I believe does just that. It's a very impressive feat, and if you have read several other training books out there,then you would surely agree. I have started training shooters myself and I fully believe in training your student to teach themselves or self evaluate. This book does a wonderful job of doing that as well. And this is a book that you can read over and over again as your shooting improves and continue to learn new things from it. It doesn't matter if you are a D class or a GM, there is good info in here for you. For they're first book I really think Ben and Jay have hit a home run. Great job guys! Can't wait for you to write another one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear, concise, practical information..., January 4, 2013
This review is from: Champion Shooting: A Proven Process for Success at Any Level (Kindle Edition)
Ben and Jay have put together a clearly-written, practical, blunt book about what you need to think about and what you need to do to succeed at the sport of Practical Shooting---specifically, USPSA Action Pistol, though technically this would help any action pistol sport shooter.

Many shooters try to get better by simply going to the range and blasting away. Others attempt to get better by going to class after class. Others assume that simply competing will somehow make them better. And unsurprisingly, most of these people get somewhat better but eventually reach a plateau and stay there. They don't know why they never get better, and their continued practice (using one or all of the above methods) just never seems to make a difference.

Ben and Jay have written in a clear simple fashion both a route to continual improvement, AND an explanation about why the above methods, by themselves, just don't do it. Most importantly, they are clear that merely reading a book (just like merely going to a class, or merely going to the range and blasting away) isn't going to make a difference.

You have to work. And by "work" they mean have a specific plan for practice, have an understanding of your goals---and then actually get out there and do the work in an intelligent fashion.

They've put together a concise plan for improvement, given a list both of common misconceptions and important rules, given a excellent discussion of training tools, and listed a number of specific things (both physically in drills, and mentally in understanding and mindset) that will help you make a significant difference to your ability level.

The book itself isn't the most polished you'll ever read---but it isn't supposed to be Hemingway, either.

If you are actually interested in continually improving in the action shooting sports, AND realize that it will take work and won't occur due to magic----then this book will help you get better. Read it once, think about it, then on your second reading go through and take notes creating your training plan. It doesn't cost much---and it is solidly worth it. It'll help you get better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have, December 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have this on Kindle... and bought a hardcopy for my range bag. With all the money people spend on gear, ammo, etc. this is a no brainer. $12 is insignificant to what you can get back. But please... I'm fine if you don't buy this and you are shooting Production. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not your typical shooting book, November 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Champion Shooting: A Proven Process for Success at Any Level (Kindle Edition)
This is a really good book that reads very quickly. It's doesn't teach about the basics, so if you are new to shooting you should look elsewhere. What it does do is to get you "on the path to improvement with the greatest impact for the effort you put in." The book is about providing the reader with the information needed to put together a training plan. I especially like the section "10 Drills That You Should Master", this section is an invaluable tool that every competitive shooter should have, practice, and master. Not only did I buy the Kindle version, but I also have the paperback version to have in my range bag.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Value added if you want to improve your shooting, November 17, 2012
This book is not for a new shooter to USPSA, this book is clearly written for people who have shot a few matches and are ready to improve their shooting. As titled, the book provides training strategies and if you are not willing to put time into training, then this book is not for you. If you are looking at revising your training program and improving your shooting this book is well worth a read through.

The authors spend some time early in the book discussing training philosophy and how the skill training process works. Although this seems obvious the way they present this material will likely change your perspective on how you should practice. They break down the drills into categories and discuss how each category plays into becoming a better shooter and how each of these categories plays into developing an effective training plan.

One of the best sections in the book was the "week in the life" section where the authors give you a view into how they train and how much they train. This is truly eye opening and it makes it very clear to get better you need to train and train effective. This book will help you to develop an effective training program and improve your skills, but only if you are willing to put in the time to really read the book and implement a training program. Overall a good quick read that takes a refreshing new view on USPSA training.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.