Chance of a Ghost (A Haunted Guesthouse Mystery Book 4) and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Buy New
$7.19
Qty:1
  • List Price: $7.99
  • Save: $0.80 (10%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 14 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Chance of a Ghost (A Haunted Guesthouse Mystery) Mass Market Paperback – February 5, 2013


See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Mass Market Paperback
"Please retry"
$7.19
$3.68 $0.01
12%20Days%20of%20Deals%20in%20Books


Frequently Bought Together

Chance of a Ghost (A Haunted Guesthouse Mystery) + The Thrill of the Haunt (A Haunted Guesthouse Mystery) + Old Haunts (A Haunted Guesthouse Mystery)
Price for all three: $23.17

Buy the selected items together
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Holiday Deals in Books
Holiday Deals in Books
Find deals for every reader in the Holiday Deals in Books store, featuring savings of up to 50% on cookbooks, children's books, literature & fiction, and more.

Product Details

  • Series: A Haunted Guesthouse Mystery (Book 4)
  • Mass Market Paperback: 304 pages
  • Publisher: Berkley (February 5, 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0425251683
  • ISBN-13: 978-0425251683
  • Product Dimensions: 4.2 x 0.8 x 6.8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 5 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (64 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #517,565 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Review

Praise for the Haunted Guesthouse Mysteries:

"If you love classic caper comedies, as I do, you'll have a real affinity for the tart-tongued Alison Kerby and her lively entourage."—Claudia Bishop

"A wonderful new series...a laugh-out-loud, fast-paced and charming tale that will keep you turning pages and guessing until the very end."—Kate Carlisle

"Fans of Charlaine Harris and Sarah Graves will relish this original, laugh-laden paranormal mystery."—Julia Spencer-Fleming

"An entertaining and spellbinding tale."—The Mystery Gazette

About the Author

E.J. Copperman is the pseudonym for an award-nominated mystery author and freelance writer who has written for The New York Times, Hollywood Scriptwriter, Writer's Digest, Entertainment Weekly and many other publications. A native New Jerseyan, Copperman has written for the screen and online, in addition to the journalism that pays the bills.

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

Love the characters.
Linda K Miller
Alison is also a Mother, but recognizes being a daughter as well.
L. Rigod
I Recommend this for anyone interested in ghosts and mysteries!
Rob Gutro

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful By L. Rigod on February 26, 2013
Format: Mass Market Paperback Verified Purchase
The characters are realistic, and humorous. We are carefully taken step by step (or page by page) through the double mystery, until we are shown the solution of both crimes.

Or were they both crimes? Well, that is going to be up to the reader's personal opinion and values. One of the things I like about this series, and this book, is the use of 'mystery' to show not only murders but other situations. In this book, we have a murder case, or two, we have a missing persons case, or not...you get the idea.

Alison Kerby, the main character, and owner of the Guesthouse, has a great sense of humor, irony, and relationships. I was pleased by her character evolvement. Alison is also a Mother, but recognizes being a daughter as well. Alison's Mother is a joy also. We get to understand her a bit better in this book and I enjoyed the meeting.

Daughter, Melissa, is a wonderful girl. She is smart, humorous, accepting of her families ability to view, speak, and interact with departed spirits. Melissa handles most situations with a maturity that I do not know if I, personally, would manage.

Then there are the Winter Guests. We are treated to a surprise there and I hope they become semi-regular characters in upcoming books.

This was a great cozy murder mystery and more!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful By Queenvon on February 21, 2013
Format: Mass Market Paperback Verified Purchase
Although this is the 3rd full-length novel (there is also a novella for a total of 4 books in the series) it is NOT necessary to read the others first to enjoy this one...but you will WANT to read them all!
Chance of a Ghost finds our heroine waiting for a snow storm and caught up in a mystery (of course!). The main plot is solving the mystery of who murdered Lawrence Laurent, an emoting thespian. In exchange for finding out whodunnit, he will give PI Alison info on her missing father (also a ghost)-subplot 1. Other subplots are: Where is Alison's father? Why doesn't Alison's father visit her & his granddaughter? Who is Alison's mother secretly seeing? Who keeps leaving threatening messages for Alison? Will the retired police chief & his wife, staying at the guesthouse, discover the ghostly secret? Will they check out early? Will there be a blizzard? Will Jeanne ever be able to let go of her baby or will she smother him? Will Alison figure out what her nightmares starring her father mean? Does her new old friend have more than reminescing in mind? Can she realize her plans to let more light in the library by knocking out the wall...or is it load bearing? Will they solve the mystery before someone or something harms Alison or someone she loves? Will Alison actually cook? ALL THESE plots and subplots are dealt with...And MORE in Chance of a Ghost Chance of a Ghost (A Haunted Guesthouse Mystery)

We are given greater insight into several characters & their relationships in this installment: Alison, her father, her mom, Jeanne & her infant son...
Read more ›
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful By S. Collins on February 6, 2013
Format: Mass Market Paperback Verified Purchase
I really have enjoyed the books in this series, and this one doesn't fail to live up to the earlier ones. Can't wait for the next. Like the previous reviewer, I love the humor, especially the line about the heat in the Volvo being "roughly as efficient as the United States Congress, which is to say it made a lot of noise but got very little done." I also love the relationships between the characters.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Busy Bea on February 18, 2013
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
A huge fan of E. J. Copperman's A Haunted Guesthouse Mystery series. Allison is back again with her two friends/ghosts who she can not get rid of so has arranged for them to entertain her New Jersey Bed (not breakfast since she doesn't cook) guesthouse.
In this series, it is winter and only one couple (who don't know about the ghosts) are staying. This makes for some interesting times. Allison's father, a ghost, is missing and her mother who also sees ghosts is very upset and asks her daughter to find him not an easy task. An actor Lawrence Laurentz, who is a ghost, gets involved and things get crazy as usual. More changes throughout and romance if one kiss is counted. Must read and look forward to next book to complete this one.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By hot cuchi on August 30, 2013
Format: Mass Market Paperback Verified Purchase
I had bought the "Haunted Guesthouse" looking for a more adult (not tween) ghost story. I had come across some of the other "Haunted Guesthouse" books and loved them all! I now bought the first edition of these novels to find out how the client discovered the ghosts. Great writing, and finally stories where the ghosts are not trying to scare someone to death, or physically trying to beat up the owner, children of the ghost house - or where shadows are seen with no explanation. These books are enjoyable, exciting and hard to put down! The ghosts in these stories are funny, intelligent and happily love the owners of the Inn. I am an avid ghost reader, and have read my share of stupid ghosts stories and to readers of this review, Try these books, I do not think that anyone will be disappointed (unless you are truly a ghost reader who likes the usual ghost hunter books). This is a wonderful writing change and will keep the collection!!!!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?