Chance of a Ghost (A Haunted Guesthouse Mystery) and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Qty:1
  • List Price: $7.99
  • Save: $0.80 (10%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 15 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Add to Cart
Want it Monday, April 21? Order within and choose One-Day Shipping at checkout. Details
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Used: Good | Details
Sold by hippo_books
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Item qualifies for FREE shipping and Prime! This item is used.
Add to Cart
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Chance of a Ghost (A Haunted Guesthouse Mystery) Mass Market Paperback


See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from Collectible from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Mass Market Paperback
"Please retry"
$7.19
$2.00 $0.12

Frequently Bought Together

Chance of a Ghost (A Haunted Guesthouse Mystery) + Old Haunts (A Haunted Guesthouse Mystery) + AN Uninvited Ghost (A Haunted Guesthouse Mystery)
Price for all three: $21.57

Buy the selected items together

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Big Spring Books
Editors' Picks in Spring Releases
Ready for some fresh reads? Browse our picks for Big Spring Books to please all kinds of readers.

Product Details

  • Series: A Haunted Guesthouse Mystery (Book 4)
  • Mass Market Paperback: 304 pages
  • Publisher: Berkley (February 5, 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0425251683
  • ISBN-13: 978-0425251683
  • Product Dimensions: 6.6 x 4.1 x 1.1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 5 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (53 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #118,916 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Review

Praise for the Haunted Guesthouse Mysteries:

"If you love classic caper comedies, as I do, you'll have a real affinity for the tart-tongued Alison Kerby and her lively entourage."—Claudia Bishop

"A wonderful new series...a laugh-out-loud, fast-paced and charming tale that will keep you turning pages and guessing until the very end."—Kate Carlisle

"Fans of Charlaine Harris and Sarah Graves will relish this original, laugh-laden paranormal mystery."—Julia Spencer-Fleming

"An entertaining and spellbinding tale."—The Mystery Gazette

About the Author

E.J. Copperman is the pseudonym for an award-nominated mystery author and freelance writer who has written for The New York Times, Hollywood Scriptwriter, Writer's Digest, Entertainment Weekly and many other publications. A native New Jerseyan, Copperman has written for the screen and online, in addition to the journalism that pays the bills.

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

A great read - nice light hearted paranormal mystery book.
Bookworm1808
The writing is excellent with non-stop humor and clever and witty dialogue.
D. Love
Well, that is going to be up to the reader's personal opinion and values.
L. Rigod

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful By L. Rigod on February 26, 2013
Format: Mass Market Paperback Verified Purchase
The characters are realistic, and humorous. We are carefully taken step by step (or page by page) through the double mystery, until we are shown the solution of both crimes.

Or were they both crimes? Well, that is going to be up to the reader's personal opinion and values. One of the things I like about this series, and this book, is the use of 'mystery' to show not only murders but other situations. In this book, we have a murder case, or two, we have a missing persons case, or not...you get the idea.

Alison Kerby, the main character, and owner of the Guesthouse, has a great sense of humor, irony, and relationships. I was pleased by her character evolvement. Alison is also a Mother, but recognizes being a daughter as well. Alison's Mother is a joy also. We get to understand her a bit better in this book and I enjoyed the meeting.

Daughter, Melissa, is a wonderful girl. She is smart, humorous, accepting of her families ability to view, speak, and interact with departed spirits. Melissa handles most situations with a maturity that I do not know if I, personally, would manage.

Then there are the Winter Guests. We are treated to a surprise there and I hope they become semi-regular characters in upcoming books.

This was a great cozy murder mystery and more!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful By S. Collins on February 6, 2013
Format: Mass Market Paperback Verified Purchase
I really have enjoyed the books in this series, and this one doesn't fail to live up to the earlier ones. Can't wait for the next. Like the previous reviewer, I love the humor, especially the line about the heat in the Volvo being "roughly as efficient as the United States Congress, which is to say it made a lot of noise but got very little done." I also love the relationships between the characters.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful By Queenvon on February 21, 2013
Format: Mass Market Paperback Verified Purchase
Although this is the 3rd full-length novel (there is also a novella for a total of 4 books in the series) it is NOT necessary to read the others first to enjoy this one...but you will WANT to read them all!
Chance of a Ghost finds our heroine waiting for a snow storm and caught up in a mystery (of course!). The main plot is solving the mystery of who murdered Lawrence Laurent, an emoting thespian. In exchange for finding out whodunnit, he will give PI Alison info on her missing father (also a ghost)-subplot 1. Other subplots are: Where is Alison's father? Why doesn't Alison's father visit her & his granddaughter? Who is Alison's mother secretly seeing? Who keeps leaving threatening messages for Alison? Will the retired police chief & his wife, staying at the guesthouse, discover the ghostly secret? Will they check out early? Will there be a blizzard? Will Jeanne ever be able to let go of her baby or will she smother him? Will Alison figure out what her nightmares starring her father mean? Does her new old friend have more than reminescing in mind? Can she realize her plans to let more light in the library by knocking out the wall...or is it load bearing? Will they solve the mystery before someone or something harms Alison or someone she loves? Will Alison actually cook? ALL THESE plots and subplots are dealt with...And MORE in Chance of a Ghost Chance of a Ghost (A Haunted Guesthouse Mystery)

We are given greater insight into several characters & their relationships in this installment: Alison, her father, her mom, Jeanne & her infant son...
Read more ›
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By hot cuchi on August 30, 2013
Format: Mass Market Paperback Verified Purchase
I had bought the "Haunted Guesthouse" looking for a more adult (not tween) ghost story. I had come across some of the other "Haunted Guesthouse" books and loved them all! I now bought the first edition of these novels to find out how the client discovered the ghosts. Great writing, and finally stories where the ghosts are not trying to scare someone to death, or physically trying to beat up the owner, children of the ghost house - or where shadows are seen with no explanation. These books are enjoyable, exciting and hard to put down! The ghosts in these stories are funny, intelligent and happily love the owners of the Inn. I am an avid ghost reader, and have read my share of stupid ghosts stories and to readers of this review, Try these books, I do not think that anyone will be disappointed (unless you are truly a ghost reader who likes the usual ghost hunter books). This is a wonderful writing change and will keep the collection!!!!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By L. .G. avid reader on June 24, 2013
Format: Mass Market Paperback Verified Purchase
Fun ghost mystery - I needed that ... school starts back tomorrow :(
I think there have been several others in this series before this one - but this was my first

Allison Kirby owns a guesthouse and is also a part-time (reluctant) private detective whose client in this story is someone who is dead looking to find out what or who made them that way
Allison is asked to investigate the possible murder of her mother's ghost visitor, a former "thespian," Lawrence Laurentz. Although the autopsy record states Lawrence died of "natural causes" (a heart problem), he insists he was electrocuted by an invisible assailant who chucked a toaster in his bathtub.

Yes, Allison, Allison's mother Loretta, and Allison's daughter Melissa - all see and talk to ghosts.
It seems there are 2 ghosts who live in Allison's house - Maxie the lady who lived in the house until she was murdered - and Paul, the private investigator who was also murdered along with Maxie. Paul encourages Allison in her private investigations.

This story is also connected to the death of Allison's father who died 5 years previously due to cancer. To say more would give away the story.
If you are looking for a fun ghost mystery - this is it :)
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Product Images from Customers

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Search
ARRAY(0xa58504b0)

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?