Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


60 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chanel through the eyes of the greatest fashion photographers
Jérôme Gautier (a Paris based journalist and fashion historian), has created a sumptuous ode to Chanel via the greatest fashion photographers who ever lived.

Similar in format to Daniele Bott's Chanel: Collections and Creations, Gautier takes eleven key Chanel style elements and juxtaposes the original forms of the trademarks with current day...
Published on November 2, 2011 by Amazon Customer

versus
71 of 72 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mostly Lagerfeld
I received this as a requested gift and although it features some beautiful photography, I'm disappointed and annoyed--because I think it's being marketed in a way that would have you believe it's about Coco Chanel--but it's really not. What it does is give her some lip service with a smattering of photos. The balance--roughly 75%--is about Karl Lagerfeld and Chanel...
Published on February 13, 2012 by macmccat


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

60 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chanel through the eyes of the greatest fashion photographers, November 2, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chanel: The Vocabulary of Style (Hardcover)
Jérôme Gautier (a Paris based journalist and fashion historian), has created a sumptuous ode to Chanel via the greatest fashion photographers who ever lived.

Similar in format to Daniele Bott's Chanel: Collections and Creations, Gautier takes eleven key Chanel style elements and juxtaposes the original forms of the trademarks with current day innovations, letting Chanel's enduring style speak for itself.

Each chapter contains a brief history of the key style element and gorgeous archived and contemporary fashion photographs of models and celebrities:

Chapter 1: The Body Liberated - Chanel's fashions liberate women from corsets

Chapter 2: Little Black Dresses - The LBD and its place in fashion history

Chapter 3: Black into Night - Dresses go to ankle length for day, brushing the floor at night - black is no longer just for mourning

Chapter 4: Baroque Inspirations -Chanel is introduced to Venice by Misia - "queen of modern Baroque"

Chapter 5: 31, Rue Cambon - Chanel buys the building and adds surrounding properties to create Maison Chanel

Chapter 6: Youth and Evolution - Chanel's life - fact and fiction

Chapter 7: Simple Chic - The enduring appeal of Chanel hats

Chapter 8: Androgyne - Chanel creates clothes based on the comfort men enjoy

Chapter 9: From Tweed to Tweeds - Chanel's enduring corded tweed suit

Chapter 10: The Total Look - Accessorizing with Chanel

Chapter 11: Rebel - Chanel Fashion as defiant as the woman herself

At the end of the book is a legend to each fashion photograph. The photographer, model or celebrity, Chanel collection the item came from, magazine or book where it first appeared are all documented.

This book comes in a beautiful pink hardcover slipcase, measures 9 ½ by 12 5/8, contains 211 gorgeous color and black & white illustrations and weighs in at six pounds.

I also recommend:

Chanel: Collections and Creations by Danièle Bott - The book explores five central themes--the suit, the camellia, jewelry, makeup and perfume, the little black dress--and follows the threads from past to present to show how these key items have been rediscovered and reinvented by new designers.

Jacques Helleu & Chanel by Jacques Helleu - Jacques Helleu is the eye behind the House of Chanel's enduring image, having explored the meanings of this legendary brand in daring commercials and fabulous print ads for the past 40 years. He has given tangible, glamorous shape to the essential mystique of Chanel's perfumes. This beautifully designed and lavishly illustrated volume tells the story of Helleu's vision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


71 of 72 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mostly Lagerfeld, February 13, 2012
By 
This review is from: Chanel: The Vocabulary of Style (Hardcover)
I received this as a requested gift and although it features some beautiful photography, I'm disappointed and annoyed--because I think it's being marketed in a way that would have you believe it's about Coco Chanel--but it's really not. What it does is give her some lip service with a smattering of photos. The balance--roughly 75%--is about Karl Lagerfeld and Chanel magazine ads from the 90's & 2000"s; which I've already been bombarded with for the past 20 years.

I'm interested in fashion history from the early 20th century and wanted a biography / historical timeline of Coco Chanel's collections and was hoping for a substantial coffee table book featuring ONLY that. Does such a thing exist? Or must every recent publication pay homage to Lagerfeld? I'm asking because I'd love a tried and true recommendation if anyone has one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chanel: The Vocabulary of Style, December 30, 2011
By 
Lilly Ford (Los Angeles , CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Chanel: The Vocabulary of Style (Hardcover)
This is a wonderful book showing a stunning collection of Chanel's creations both from the past and the present along with multiple shots of Coco Chanel.
The book is large and thick full of spectacular photographs both color and b/w showing the pieces at their best.
The book also contains concise chapters detailing the sources of inspiration behind the creation of the illustrated garments, thus, putting the pieces in a wider context.
This is a highly recommended book for all fans of Chanel and beautiful fashion photography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Chanel or Lagerfeld?, May 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chanel: The Vocabulary of Style (Hardcover)
Don't buy this book if Coco Chanel is your real interest. Twice now I've purchased a book I thought would be mostly about La Chanel only to find it is mostly eulogizing Karl Lagerfeld. I'm beginning to think that any author who wants to access the Fashion House's historical records can't do so unless Lagerfeld gets top billing. I won't get caught again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CHANEL Rules., November 4, 2013
By 
Pendit 1 "pharesdesign" (Farmington Hills, MI USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chanel: The Vocabulary of Style (Hardcover)
I'm an admirer of Ms. Chanel's design abilities. This book gives me insight into her design abilities and clues to the whys and wherefores of her decision making.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The world of Chanel, March 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chanel: The Vocabulary of Style (Hardcover)
A very nice book ranging from the beginning by Coco Chanel herself to the last creations by Karl Lagerfeld,the true world of CHANEL.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking book, August 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chanel: The Vocabulary of Style (Hardcover)
This is more of a look behind the scenes and a biographical book - most images are viewable online but its a great read for any bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, January 26, 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chanel: The Vocabulary of Style (Hardcover)
Je m'attendais à autre chose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, July 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chanel: The Vocabulary of Style (Hardcover)
It worked
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chanel: Vocabulary of Style, January 28, 2012
This review is from: Chanel: The Vocabulary of Style (Hardcover)
Coco Chanel was the most influential fashion designer of the 20th century. Inspiring later designers such as Jil Sander, Helmut Lang and Donna Karan. She changed the way women dressed forever, creating classic chic clothes for active emancipated women.

Chanel's vocabulary of style - the little black dress, baroque details, androgyny are all presented here. The book cleverly juxtaposes fashion plates from Chanel's own time with the most recent creations by Karl Lagerfeld. The contrast and similarities between archive and contemporary fashion photographs gives this book its charm. The book has masses of terrific photography, by some of the world's most famous photographers, Richard Avedon, Karl Lagerfeld, Nick Knight and Mario Testino are just some of the gifted photographers whose work appears in this volume.
In addition to hundreds of photos, the book has a comprehensive biography of Coco (Gabrielle) Chanel, charting her story from penniless seamstress to fashion icon. An uncompromising woman who defied the conventions of her time, not only in her work, but also in her life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Chanel: The Vocabulary of Style
Chanel: The Vocabulary of Style by Jérôme Gautier (Hardcover - November 29, 2011)
$100.00 $69.16
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.