Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to tell if you're ready for Change-Friendly Leadership., November 9, 2012
By 
Tbonicus (Oklahoma City) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Change-Friendly Leadership: How to Transform Good Intentions into Great Performance (Hardcover)
So ... all these great reviews from really smart people, and you still wonder if a leader like you really needs Change-Friendly Leadership?

Yeah, I was a natural-born change agent too. You and me and a million others, still wearing our change game faces but wondering why it didn't work. The answer is pretty simple:

If you live in a real-time, get-results, make-it-happen world,
then for crying out loud get great advice
from a hands-on, sleeves-up, been-there practitioner.

That's the mother lode of insight from Dr. Rodger Dean Duncan in Change-Friendly Leadership, where he spells out the deceptively simple and often counterintuitive principles of the very, very difficult task of turning Good Intentions (always abundant and cheap) into Great Performance (always elusive but profitable).

Dr. Duncan makes a fresh and compelling case for genuinely engaging people rather than simply ordering bodies around. Turn to any page and you'll know on sight you're among kindred spirit:

* If you know that human beings are the world's best detectors of leadership hype and phony veneer
* If you realize most leaders don't need to motivate their people--they need to stop demotivating them
* If you don't labor under the illusion that people who want change can effect change
* If you want to burn the next chalkboard epiphany from an ivory tower academic
* If you'd trade a hundred change theorists for one true practitioner

... then Change-Friendly Leadership will earn a top spot among the most-useful-right-here-and-now books in your business library.

It's not about rah-rah, rallies and being a nice guy. These are time-tested, field-proven principles and practices uniquely developed by Dr. Duncan and his team applicable to every business discipline--or for that matter, to any collective human endeavor.

Through his scary-brilliant grasp of human nature, fascinating case studies, clarity of exposition and fun to read examples, it's powerfully clear Dr. Duncan is a man of wit and wisdom who has lived out everything he's written down.

So read what's written down, and live it out for yourself.

Lastly, here's a little secret. Whether you can afford just one book this year, or one book for each of a thousand employees, make it Change-Friendly Leadership and watch what happens. But if you can afford neither the time or money for even one copy, just stand in the bookstore and read Chapter 6 about the Nature and Power of Trust during change. That lesson alone is worth hours of post-graduate study and years of experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Master Storyteller, September 18, 2012
This review is from: Change-Friendly Leadership: How to Transform Good Intentions into Great Performance (Hardcover)
By many estimates, there are well over 1500 books published annually in the popular press addressing aspects of business acumen, strategy and leadership. If you read only a handful, this is one that should be on your list.

Rodger Dean Duncan provides us a fresh lens through which we can examine timeless principles of effective leadership and change management. Duncan uses these principles as the warp threads in a fine tapestry of enlightening stories, analogies and metaphors. The iconography of his Change Friendly Leadership tapestry is, as promised, a user-friendly guide to dealing with change, transition and implementation issues.

Duncan is a master storyteller. He has a unique talent for leveraging poignant stories to illuminate fundamental principles and truths in common experiences. Because stories are perhaps the most effective way to communicate, teach and coach, Change Friendly Leadership does exactly that: it communicates, teaches and coaches. Duncan's work brings to life the principles of leadership we've all studied, observed, experienced and fought to practice - and does so in a context that naturally promotes the retention of positive behaviors.

Read the book, and then read it again. Take notes and keep a digital copy handy. You'll soon find yourself retelling, quoting and paraphrasing the book as you transform good intentions into great performances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A friendly, knowledgeable guide through change, September 18, 2012
This review is from: Change-Friendly Leadership: How to Transform Good Intentions into Great Performance (Hardcover)
Change is hard, and leading through change is even harder. Rodger Dean Duncan has a wonderfully calm, down-to-earth, avuncular approach that's guaranteed to make you feel more hopeful immediately. And then he goes on to provide his readers with core, simple advice about how to lead through change in ways that reduce organizational disruption and make it much more likely that your best people will make it through intact.

Rodger's advice is based on decades of real-world experience, and his common sense and understanding of the human condition shine through in every chapter.

If your organization is undergoing massive change (and whose isn't, at this point?), Change-Friendly Leadership is a supportive and very worthwhile resource.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Vision without execution is hallucination." Thomas Edison, September 18, 2012
This review is from: Change-Friendly Leadership: How to Transform Good Intentions into Great Performance (Hardcover)
Frankly, I did not know quite what to expect as I began to read this book. In a brief but thoughtful Foreword, Stephen M.R. Covey praises its relevance, insightfulness, and accessibility. Then as I worked my way through the material that follows, I agreed with Covey's praise. Hall of Fame football coach Vince Lombardi once held up a piece of chalk and said to his players, "I can beat any team with this." Obviously, any strategy, framework, methodology, etc. is only as effective as those who use it. That is why I selected the Edison quotation for the title of my review and that is why Rodger Dean Duncan places so much emphasis on explaining the "how" of change leadership and management at all levels and in all areas.

I commend him on his skillful use of reader-friendly devices throughout the book, notably checklists, sequences of action steps, clusters of bullet points, "Remember the Four Ts" reminders in Chapters 2-9 (more about that in a moment), [Fill in the Blank] Self-Assessment exercises, and "Influence Levers" (e.g. "Change-Friendly Leadership"). Duncan also provides "Bonus Points" material to consult after reading each of the three Sections in the book. Information about additional resources online is provided on Page 274. I also appreciate the selection and strategic placement of dozens of relevant quotations throughout the book.

Regrettably the most important reader-friendly device, an index, is not included. However, one will be added to the second edition. Meanwhile, one is provided online at the DoctorDuncan website.

These are among the dozens of passages that caught my eye:

o "Levels of Engagement" (Pages 13-14)
o "Change-Friendly Steps" (26-32)
o "Authenticity = Trust" (41-43)
o "Symbols and Metaphors" (48-50)
o "Conclusion - Challenge the Stories You Tell Yourself" (70-75)
o "Defer Judgment" (92-98)
o "Trust Builders" (127-142)
o "Compelling Purpose" (153-160)
o "A Perspective on Resistance" (198-204)
o "Use Multiple Influence Levers" (215-221)
o "Diagnostics That Count" (245-248)

With regard to the "Four Ts" and why they should be remembered, Duncan frequently stresses the importance of Thinking, Talking, Trusting, and being Team Friendly in all behaviors and relationships with others, especially collaboration, both within an beyond the workplace. Duncan devotes a separate chapter to each of the four in Section Two but they are really interdependent...or at least should be. Develop a positive mindset that guides and supports what you say and what you do so that others will trust you, indeed seek and appreciate opportunities to work with you to achieve shared goals. There will always be situations when, for whatever reasons, we are -- or are perceived to be -- negative in what we say or do. In a word, "Unfriendly." That is when we should remember the four Ts and then, more importantly, make corrective adjustments.

Credit Duncan with providing a framework that, with Change-Friendly leadership, can enable change initiatives to avoid or overcome the inevitable cultural barriers that result from what James O'Toole (in Leading Change) so aptly characterizes as "the ideology of comfort and the tyranny of custom." However, the very culture that is then established after change initiatives succeed (most don't) may then pose the same barriers to which O'Toole refers. Hence the importance of sustaining a continuous loop of exploring, discovery, and sharing throughout the given enterprise. I agree with Rodger Dean Duncan that "genuinely engaging with other human beings - especially those who are resistant to change - could well be the "secret sauce" of ultimate success. Hence, therefore, the importance also of the "friendly factor," one that is based on mutual respect and trust.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't change a thing... until you read this book first!, October 1, 2012
This review is from: Change-Friendly Leadership: How to Transform Good Intentions into Great Performance (Hardcover)
Whenever I read books about leadership and change I always expect to find a few good bits of information that I can apply or adapt. In this book, I didn't find just a few bits--I found page after page after page of useful insights. It's like having an entire leadership library in a single volume. Dr. Duncan distills his experience and success into real-world, practical applications that everyone can use. Whether you are currently leading change initiatives, or you anticipate leading change, this book is like having a personal executive coach at your side. Written in a clear, conversational style it is an essential guide for today's leaders as well as leaders of tomorrow. It's like a field guide that you can use over and over again whenever unforeseen road blocks appear. Whether it's applying "The Power of the Four Ts" or the seven steps of the "Change-Friendly Leadership Model" Dr. Duncan has given us a handbook for success for any size organization: businesses, schools, families, civic groups, churches, the list goes on and on. Do yourself a favor; read and apply the principles in this book. Then tell everyone you know. Because like Dr. Duncan says, "Change really is a big deal." So use this book and get it right the first time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical and Immediately Useable, September 18, 2012
This review is from: Change-Friendly Leadership: How to Transform Good Intentions into Great Performance (Hardcover)
I've been in the business of helping organizations successfully implement strategic change for about 25 years. An ongoing challenge is the theoretical nature of a lot of what has been written in the field of Change Management. Dr. Rodger Dean Duncan has been in the trenches working with a large variety of organizations and has definitely graduated from the "school of scar tissue!" He not only observed and captured - he has learned from his vast experience. In "Change Friendly Leadership" Dr. Duncan provides the benefit of all his experience with highly relevant, practical tips and techniques to not only enhance our change efforts but to make us all better leaders and better people! Dr. Duncan also draws on the significant data he's captured in years of assessing organizations. I highly recommend this book to anyone working to successfully navigate life's changes in all walks of life. This book is a joy to read and will hold your attention. Rodger's examples and anecdotes are relevant and often entertaining. Rodger is a master at capturing the irony in many day to day situations and then he gently but firmly guides us to a better way. This book is "chuck-a-block" full of specific techniques and ideas for skills improvement. The foundation for being "Change Friendly" is what he calls the Four T s -
*Think Friendly
*Talk Friendly
*Trust Friendly
*Team Friendly
This framework is simple and powerful. It really covers the gamut of what's necessary to be individually and collectively successful. As I've read the book I've been applying key concepts and I'm already seeing a difference.
Back to my opening point - this is practical, helpful information and enjoyable to read. You'll be missing out if you don't buy and read this book now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Change-Friendly Leadership, September 18, 2012
This review is from: Change-Friendly Leadership: How to Transform Good Intentions into Great Performance (Hardcover)
Change-Friendly Leadership is a must read for anyone in the role of boss, leader, teacher or parent. The old fashioned idea of being a stern, disconnected leader who maintains a superior and distant relationship from those they lead unfortunately persists. In this reader-friendly book, Duncan helps all of us who are in the role of boss, leader or manager better understand his innovative methods. He explains why and how to lead by inviting and being friendly. Using his ideas means that people will change and follow. I enthusiastically recommend this book to all!

Nancy S Buck, PhD
Peaceful Parenting Inc
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What Steve Jobs did for mp3 players and smart phones, Dr. Rodger Duncan does for change!, September 18, 2012
By 
Scott Scioli (Philadelphia, PA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Change-Friendly Leadership: How to Transform Good Intentions into Great Performance (Hardcover)
This is certainly not the first book on change. But what Steve Jobs and Apple did for the mp3 player and smart phone, Dr. Rodger Duncan does for change management. Duncan makes change management user-friendly, and do-able.

Dr. Duncan hits it out of the park with his engaging and revealing book. Leaders of any organization (corporate, civic, religious, or even political) will benefit from reading this book and implementing the strategies. Every employee who is actively engaged or wants to be should read this book. Leaders of the future will have read and implemented Duncan's change leadership strategies.

Change-Friendly Leadership: How to Transform Good Intentions into Great Performance is not a theoretical framework but rather a user manual. This book breaks down the key aspects of change and demonstrates through stories, metaphors, facts, and figures, the reality of change and change leadership.

Taking a page from his mentor Stephen Covey's philosophy, Dr. Duncan provides a principled approach to change leadership. He distinguishes "transactional" skills which most leaders have from "transformational skills" which so many lack. In the culture of change in which we all live, the former skills without the latter make a leader all but impotent.

Having personally lived through years of sloganeering, lip service, and `banners of the month' in corporations and firms in America - this book touched me deeply. This is what was almost always lacking.

Readers will find it strikes a chord within them. Duncan develops a leadership platform of respect and caring, not intimidation and contention. The approach is not one of mere platitudes and not just "warm and fuzzies." The books reveals what everyone in the organization really needs to understand and yes, feel about change - whether they are a Champion, Agent, Sponsor, or Target of change.

This books shows leaders that it is critical for them to engage the heads, hearts, and hopes of the people involved, and how to do it. Like many great discoveries, the strategies in book are so on point that after we read them, we think "well of course, that's obvious!" Duncan provides an array of checklists, self-assessments, and online tools for the reader that make this book a reference to be consulted repeatedly, not read once and put on the shelf.

There are no shortcuts in Change-Friendly Leadership: How to Transform Good Intentions into Great Performance. The importance of authentic and trustworthy leadership cannot be underestimated, and Duncan values such leadership with brand equity or proprietary technology. To help rescue leaders from themselves, Duncan administers his CPR (Converse, Practice, and Reinforce) plan, which if practiced effectively will build trust.

Duncan elaborates on the well-grounded foundation of the Change-Friendly framework:
1. the Think-Friendly mindset;
2. the Talk-Friendly communication skills;
3. the Trust-Friendly attitude; and
4. the Team-Friendly environment.

The author does not presume to provide a one-size fits all formulaic recipe for leading change. Rather Dr. Duncan wisely advises that his seven step protocol is designed "to be your servant, not your master."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good solid book with helpful ideas, June 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Very good book - lots of solid ideas and tools. I do a lot of change management work for clients and I found this book to offer solid ideas, good suggestions and helpful examples. A VERY good addition to anyone's library on change,change management and change leadership. I recommend this book strongly for anyone faced with change in their organization... which is just about everyone!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not just friendly - ITS EASY!, April 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a great book for anyone that wants to find all they need about leadership in on place! Roger Duncan has a unique gift in the way in which he entertains the reader and well as educates them at the same time. It is full of techniques, insights, tips, and tools, allowing the reader to really understand the concepts. He also follows each lesson with a great story that velcros the concepts even more so. I highly recommend the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Change-Friendly Leadership: How to Transform Good Intentions into Great Performance
$24.95 $17.23
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.