Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Living The Vision
I joined Federal Express in August 1974 and remained with the company until January 1999. I had the privilege of working for Roger Frock beginning in 1975. He has truly brought to life many of the events, people and tribulations that made FedEx great. The road to success was very uneven, but we never seemed to lose the faith in our leadership. While Roger credits Fred...
Published on March 7, 2007 by J. Wheeler

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected.
I am a business major and this book was required reading for one of my classes. The teacher said it was a very entertaining book, but seeing as his passion for life is 'management' I wasn't expecting much. But after an initial reading I actually began to get into the material, and was pleasantly suprised to find out that it was quite a good book. It was very interesting...
Published on May 12, 2007 by Elijah R. Kirkley


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Living The Vision, March 7, 2007
This review is from: Changing How the World Does Business: Fedex's Incredible Journey to Success - The Inside Story (Hardcover)
I joined Federal Express in August 1974 and remained with the company until January 1999. I had the privilege of working for Roger Frock beginning in 1975. He has truly brought to life many of the events, people and tribulations that made FedEx great. The road to success was very uneven, but we never seemed to lose the faith in our leadership. While Roger credits Fred Smith with strong leadership, it was the team of Frock, Fitzgerald, Fagan, Basch, Brandon, Wilmott and many others who could thrive with only one rule; Do What is Right...right for the customer, right for the company and right for the employees. Today FedEx has volumes of rules, but the early days were built aound a vision. Execution took courage, tenacity, ingenuity and loyalty. Fred Smith and the senior mangement team (mentioned above) inculcated all of the attributes in a small and somewhat ragtag group of employees. I only wish Roger had brought out some of the humor of the early days. Pay was low, but we laughed alot and played practical jokes on each other.

Bravo Zulu (Well Done) Roger for a well written book, simple in style, yet so demonstrative of the events and people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hard Work or Lucky Work both take cash., October 27, 2006
This review is from: Changing How the World Does Business: Fedex's Incredible Journey to Success - The Inside Story (Hardcover)
This is MUST READ for every member of any organization. Owners, managers, employees, the principles are the same. Roger has given the insider view of FedEx but the reader must decide how much of what kind made it a success. Was it the vision of Fred Smith or the hard work of the dedicated employees? Was it both? What tipped the scales? This will take it's place among the reference manuals of "how to" and "how not to". I challange the HR departments to pay attention and learn. This is employee dedication that doesn't respond to money and can't be bought. The abject loyalty between the executives, managers and employees are the only thing that held this leaky boat afloat. What a delicate balance between vision and dedication. Gutsy in it's most pristine form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Story that Needed to be Shared, November 7, 2006
This review is from: Changing How the World Does Business: Fedex's Incredible Journey to Success - The Inside Story (Hardcover)
Having been a former employee of Federal Express,as early as 1975, I am familiar in a most personal manner with the exciting journey of Federal Express from it's start up to global giant. Roger Frock's book offered me the opportunity to travel back in time and refresh and recall the near unrealistic sojourn of this remarkable entity that has become a dinner table word all over the planet. The book reveals the amazing details here to for untold, mind boggling obstacles and extraordinary creativity and dedication, commitment, humor and insight so dramatically part of those individuals who became the key players in this world changing endeavor. There is no other book written about FedEx by an original senior officer of the company, nor one that reveals the heart and soul of this much admired and successful company as does Changing the Way the World Does Business. It lifts one's spirit and one can feel the magnetic pull to "learn more" as one puruses its pages. Entrepreneurial personalities, clerks, big and small business, beginners, and established executives, the book is a haven of enlightenment for what it takes to become a success. What I found in addition to all of this is the self-evident humility that is evident in the ethical values that were and are so eloquently obvious within the gentleman himself who authored this incredible story of the truth of how FedEx did what it did and has become what it has become while shining a light on those ethical values that were forever at play in the creation itself. A rare thing in this day and age and much needed in my opinion. The book is sheer pleasure and satisfaction. Definitely a five star plus rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected., May 12, 2007
This review is from: Changing How the World Does Business: Fedex's Incredible Journey to Success - The Inside Story (Hardcover)
I am a business major and this book was required reading for one of my classes. The teacher said it was a very entertaining book, but seeing as his passion for life is 'management' I wasn't expecting much. But after an initial reading I actually began to get into the material, and was pleasantly suprised to find out that it was quite a good book. It was very interesting to see how the company went from nothing to what it is today, and how peoples lifes were affected by these changes. If you have the slightest interest in business or the transportation industry, I would recommend this item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating story., August 1, 2007
By 
This review is from: Changing How the World Does Business: Fedex's Incredible Journey to Success - The Inside Story (Hardcover)
It is hard to imagine what our lives would be like without the reliable overnight delivery system pioneered by FedEx. It is equally difficult to imagine the obstacles that had to be overcome to make this a viable business.

Roger Frock possesses two valuable attributes in telling the FedEx story. First of all he is the ultimate insider who started working with Fred Smith, the founder, before the company was even formed. Secondly, he writes well. The result is a fascinating book that can keep you up late at night.

This is a story about people who were captured by a dream, who lived that dream. The made the dream come true despite times when the dream verged into a nightmare. Not only did the company have to face the problems of a then government regulated industry, but also the OPEC oil embargo, well-established competitors in the air transportation industry and the constant need for venture capital.

Mr. Frock clearly develops the main events through each phase of the company's growth, showing how a committed, talented group of people can work together to make the impossible happen. Along the way he also illustrates solid business principles that can help any company seeking to set and achieve its goals.

Michael Long,
President
Long Financial Services
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FedEx story delivers, May 23, 2007
This review is from: Changing How the World Does Business: Fedex's Incredible Journey to Success - The Inside Story (Hardcover)
FedEx is more than a household word; it is a household verb replacing the word "delivery" as in, "No worries, we'll FedEx this so they'll have it tomorrow." The story of this colorful company's history and the personalities that brought it to fruition is captivating - filled as it is with cliffhangers, dodged disasters and near failure. In the early days of Federal Express, nothing was a sure thing. Founder Fred Smith and his management team had to elude financial ruin while inventing an entirely new industry. Author and former FedEx general manager Roger Frock fondly recounts the tumultuous early days of the company, although you may wish he had shared more of his insight into the personality of Smith, who remains an elusive unknown. We recommend this book to those who enjoy rags-to-riches corporate stories or to anyone who relies on FedEx to deliver goods that "absolutely, positively have to be there overnight."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soul of a New Business, April 29, 2007
This review is from: Changing How the World Does Business: Fedex's Incredible Journey to Success - The Inside Story (Hardcover)
With apologies to Tracy Kidder!

Mr. Frock's saga, and it can be described only as that, chronicles the birth, development and maturity of FedEX, one of the most successful businesses in US business history. Fred Smith and the team he assembled to develop a really unique idea -- overnight small package delivery to anywhere in the United States -- demonstrated how vision, teamwork, integrity, and creativity CAN overcome daunting challenges. We almost take FedEx for granted now, but Mr. Frock, one of the original senior management team, tells how this was achieved. And the book is one of those page turners, unique really, because we all know how the story ends. But I literally could not put it down.

Some impressions: Mr. Frock tells the story well, making even some of the techical stuff understandable. I really enjoyed his sense of wonder and amazement he expresses at the challenges the company met and overcame. He places people and their personal achivements right where they belong in a story like this -- right in the middle. Mike Collins, the astronaut who orbited the moon while Armstrong and Aldrin landed, once expressed his feelings as the mission went forward: I think we are actually going to pull this off. It is easy to see Roger reaching some tough goal in the business saying that...

Another is the characterization of the formiable FedEx founder, Fred Smith. As Mr. Frock notes when most of senior management team was set to resign when it appeared Mr. Smith himself would be forced to resign in Board dispute: Was our decision to resign the right one? Absolutely! We felt great allegiance to our leader... But even Fred slipped once...but you need to read the bood to find out why. (And why he bet the FedEx checking account in a visit to Vegas...)

Finally, the last section of the book is FedEx's view of the people part of any successful business: an open door policy, security, fair treatment, and employees evaluating management. There are more, but as the story is told, one realizes these principles were actively applied to the the people who made (and make up) the organization.

A great story, well told. Highest marks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good story - Warts and All, December 7, 2006
This review is from: Changing How the World Does Business: Fedex's Incredible Journey to Success - The Inside Story (Hardcover)
Success rarely comes easy, even for the best concepts. Roger Frock's book takes the reader literally from the planning stages of Federal Express (as it then was) , through a difficult taxi down the runway, prior to a rocky takeoff and ultimately very successful flight.

Although he is long out of Fedex, Frock seems to be able to rely on copious notes and the memories of many of his colleagues to write a truly interesting book on the early years of one of THE success stories of recent decades.

The book should be an inspiration for the struggling entrepreneur. On its first day of operation, it delivered only SIX packages. It was constantly short of cash in the early years and struggled with the stultifying government bureaucracy that surrounded air transportation prior to deregulation.

Fedex would never have overcome these and other problems had it not been for the foresight, drive and passion of its founder, Fred Smith. But this is no hagiography to Smith. Frock illustrates a man who had some inner demons, who played the casino tables in Las Vegas to win $27,000 to keep Fedex alive and most significantly of all, actually forged documents to guarantee a $2.0 million loan to keep the new air carrier afloat.

The excellent business results, good chronological material plus warts and all commentary make this a business book that is substantially more interesting than most.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, April 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I do aircraft maintenance for this company so I really enjoyed reading this fascinating story. It is amazing to read how many obstacles where overcome and what Fred Smith did to make this company work and take care of his employees in the process. Great read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great story, April 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great read and inside look how the top cargo airline got it started. Great to see an airline actually follow up on taking care of ALL THEIR EMPLOYEES!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Changing How the World Does Business: Fedex's Incredible Journey to Success - The Inside Story
$27.95 $19.78
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.