Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Nice Chanukah Book!
I chose this book for my classroom rather than other Chanukah books because it covers all nine days in a nice clear way. It is a gentle nice story that many children will enjoy and many kids will better understand how Chanukah is celebrated by Jewish people in the United States.
Published on November 26, 2007 by Lynn Ellingwood

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars lights and stereotypes
The nice thing about this book is that it represents Chanukah as a festival of lights. But the book remains quite constrained in its imagination, and of course the family is white and full of the oldest gender stereotypes (mom in the kitchen, dad wearing the kippah and saying the prayers).
Published 14 months ago by critik


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Nice Chanukah Book!, November 26, 2007
This review is from: Chanukah Lights Everywhere (Paperback)
I chose this book for my classroom rather than other Chanukah books because it covers all nine days in a nice clear way. It is a gentle nice story that many children will enjoy and many kids will better understand how Chanukah is celebrated by Jewish people in the United States.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely text, beautiful illustrations, November 4, 2009
By 
M. Frank "mom of A&E" (Oakton, Virginia USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Chanukah Lights Everywhere (Paperback)
We own just about every Chanukah book there is, and this is one of my favorites. The illustrations are warm and lovely, the text is neither juvenile (please no more rhyming books!) nor dull (retelling of the Maccabee story, anyone?), and the concept - connecting the "festival of lights" to all the many lights that brighten the holiday season (cars' headlights, houselights, Christmas lights) - is clever, meaningful and inclusive. A winner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Pluralistic Channukah Book, January 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chanukah Lights Everywhere (Paperback)
This book was recommended to me by a preschool director who wanted to talk about being Jewish and celebrating Channukah in a world filled with different religions and customs. My son goes to a preschool with children from many backgrounds and when he began talking about wanting a Christmas tree and having Santa visit, I decided I wanted him to understand that you can both feel special about celebrating your own holiday but also respect and appreciate other children's holidays- that it doesn't have to be one or the other. I think this is a great book for children who are trying to decide what or how they should feel about being different than their friends this time of year. The book talks about the beauty of light during the winter holidays and how the lights of Channukah are just one kind of special light during this time. Overall, really age appropriate book for 4, 5, and 6 year olds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, December 8, 2013
By 
M. Berg (Dayton, WA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chanukah Lights Everywhere (Paperback)
I love this book! It's a great quick read that teaches the main points of the traditions of Chanukah. My students always love listening to this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Endearing and Educational, December 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chanukah Lights Everywhere (Paperback)
I purchased this gem of a book to explain Chanukah to kindergarten children. Colorful illustrations and a sweet story line keeps children entertained as well as teaches about Chanukah. I am very pleased with the book and look forward to exploring more titles from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Grammy's Gift, September 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chanukah Lights Everywhere (Paperback)
We are working on teaching my granddaughter about different cultures and traditions. This book was on target, on time, and in super condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Book, December 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chanukah Lights Everywhere (Paperback)
My son (2.5 yrs) and I enjoyed reading this book many nights up until Channukah and all throughout! It's really well-written and it's a beautiful story with cute illustrations. I definitely recommend this book for the holiday and all year-round!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Chanukah Book, December 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chanukah Lights Everywhere (Paperback)
This is a nice, simple story about Chanukah. It doesn't provide detail about the history of the holiday. It's more about the common traditions of the holiday. I also like how it mentions Chanukah and being Jewish in the context of a world of other religious beliefs. I highly recommend it for kids of all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very well done. An excellent product., January 17, 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chanukah Lights Everywhere (Paperback)
This really added to the joy of our holiday celebration. Especially for the children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars lights and stereotypes, November 27, 2013
By 
critik (Oakland, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Chanukah Lights Everywhere (Paperback)
The nice thing about this book is that it represents Chanukah as a festival of lights. But the book remains quite constrained in its imagination, and of course the family is white and full of the oldest gender stereotypes (mom in the kitchen, dad wearing the kippah and saying the prayers).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Chanukah Lights Everywhere
Chanukah Lights Everywhere by Michael J. Rosen (Paperback - October 1, 2006)
$7.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.