Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, A modern Italian splatter film!
I ordered this after reading a review in HorrorHound that said it was more violent than 'Story of Ricky'.
Let me just say I was not disappointed!! The story of a man who makes a pact with a demon that lives in his shoulder to get revenge on his wife's murderers. Adam becomes a supernatural demonic killing machine and tears through a city of goons and thugs with his...
Published 12 months ago by Dellamorte

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars - No character build up - Very low budget Pros - - If you like gore then this movie is for you
Cons -
- Sometimes you can barely see what's going on in the movie because it's very dark.
- No character build up
- Very low budget

Pros -
- If you like gore then this movie is for you. Good use of CG and practical effects. The effects surpassed my expectations.

Overall -
If you a fan of movies so bad they're good - you...
Published 1 month ago by ZombieMovieGuide


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, A modern Italian splatter film!, January 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Adam Chaplin (DVD)
I ordered this after reading a review in HorrorHound that said it was more violent than 'Story of Ricky'.
Let me just say I was not disappointed!! The story of a man who makes a pact with a demon that lives in his shoulder to get revenge on his wife's murderers. Adam becomes a supernatural demonic killing machine and tears through a city of goons and thugs with his bare hands to get his revenge. Adam Chaplin: Violent Avenger is a return to bloody, stylized cartoonish violence that hasn't been seen in a while. This one has it all - amazing effects set pieces, a crazy story and unique look. There's even an homage to Cannibal Holocaust. Highly recommended for those that remember the golden days of gore in the mid to late '80's (Peter Jackson, Lucio Fulci, etc) check it out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite Sinister and Hardcore :), July 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Adam Chaplin (DVD)
Loaded with NASTY GORE AND ULTRA VIOLENT- has a nice mix of computer and prop FX. Pleasant surprise, thoroughly enjoyed this film! Definetly recommend to hard core horror and underground fans.

4.5/5 STARS from horrorfreek.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adam Chaplin, February 16, 2014
This review is from: Adam Chaplin (DVD)
A man wishes for revenge against the person responsible for his wife’s brutal death, so he strikes a deal with a demon to gain dark, superhuman powers in a bloody quest for revenge. This movie is definitely an experience. It’s a hyper-stylized hybrid of a comic book/anime/splatter film and it is damn good. Insane gore! You can tell it didn’t have much of a budget but somehow they deliver some truly remarkable FX work. Brutal kills, over the top bloodshed and just a load of creativity. The direction is great as the pace is completely breakneck, I never witnessed a dull moment. The story is complex at first but unveils very nicely into a rather satisfying affair. A gorefest for a new era but still harkens back to the splatter films of yesteryear. I wasn’t exactly expecting brilliance but somehow I got it, and a whole lot more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No-Budget Anime Inspired Blood Splattered Masterpiece, November 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Adam Chaplin (DVD)
One of the best low budget films I have ever seen. Truly creative and filled with unbridled imagination and insanity. Definitely not for the squeamish, but if you like dark brooding heroes, gruesome villains, insane anime style fights, and over the top gore then this one is for you. Would make a great double feature with Manborg.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Grotesque Lunacy, November 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Adam Chaplin (DVD)
This is a really audacious low-budget movie. It reminded me most of The Story of Riki-Oh and the Fist of the North Star series. But it also fits nicely in the camp, gore movie school, like Hobo with a Shotgun, Street Trash and the Toxic Avenger - however this movie is more stylized compared to any of those movies. We have a slick, blue digitized sheen that covers every shot that gets juxtaposed with blood that ranges in color from christmas red to HOT PINK. The gore is abundant and truly non-stop. Blood splashes, sprays and pours in every conceivable matrix. The movie uses a mix of old school latex effects with CGI, which I think was well integrated given the cartoonish nature of the violence and it's desire to emulate aspects of splatter anime. What makes this movie slightly different than the movies that inspired it, is that this film is practically HUMORLESS. Although the nature of the violence is overtly cartoonish and way beyond the pale - only if you think over-the-top violence is funny in and of itself could this movie be considered funny. Adam Chaplin's quest to avenge his dead wife is treated as a serious quest and the goons and villains he encounters are decked out in extremely grotesque, deformed facial prosthetics that make them unremittingly ugly. And they are generally shot in Ingmar Bergman like close-ups! And unlike the cheesy, over-top villains of Hobo With a Shotgun - the hulking thug "Denny" of this movie is a real monster with a backstory. And lets not forget the evil, shoulder demon (a nightmarish stroke of genius!) Even though it is played by a puppet, he is oddly unsettling. Even though Emanuele De Santi is both the star and director of the movie, his screenplay didn't give him much to do, other than brood. He is a presence, though. He certainly holds a Conan era, Arnold Scharwzenegger like appeal about him thru the grim proceedings. Adam Chaplin tries to obliterate as many people as possible in it's quick run time - bones are broken, limbs are bent backwards. Heads are smashed in, smacked off, cleaved in half. It all takes place in an overcast, cold, vague sci-fi concrete setting that is strangely underpopulated. I can't wait to see what De Santi does next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars - No character build up - Very low budget Pros - - If you like gore then this movie is for you, December 22, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Adam Chaplin (DVD)
Cons -
- Sometimes you can barely see what's going on in the movie because it's very dark.
- No character build up
- Very low budget

Pros -
- If you like gore then this movie is for you. Good use of CG and practical effects. The effects surpassed my expectations.

Overall -
If you a fan of movies so bad they're good - you should check this out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's a renter!, July 5, 2014
This review is from: Adam Chaplin (DVD)
Nice effects but really a silly story with no effective rising action or motivation. Rent this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... gory blood fights even if its in another language awesome story and great fight scenes kind of reminds me ..., January 5, 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Adam Chaplin (DVD)
lots of sick gory blood fights even if its in another language awesome story and great fight scenes kind of reminds me of fist of the north star anime but a movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ... this had a lot of blood so made me happy seeing all that carnage, November 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Adam Chaplin (DVD)
i thought it would be in english but it was not
but this had a lot of blood so made me happy seeing all that carnage
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, August 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Adam Chaplin (DVD)
Fun and gory as hell. Low budget so don't expect big blockbuster style effects
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Adam Chaplin
Adam Chaplin by Emanuele De Santi (DVD - 2011)
$19.99 $14.22
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.