Truck Month Spring Reading 2016 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_cbcc_7_fly_beacon Sixx AM Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Subscribe & Save Mother's Day Gifts Amazon Gift Card Offer ctstrph2 ctstrph2 ctstrph2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Spring Arrivals in Outdoor Clothing SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 4, 2009
Okay, I admit it. I am a little biased in my review. You see, the author is my dad.

He really poured his heart and soul into completely revising this bible of boating over a year and a half. It shows, and this is a must-have for every boater, whether you're a beginner or expert. I have been boating with Chuck since I was five years old, and I still learn new things every time I pick up Chapman.

Update, Sept 13, 2010: The world is a little poorer today. My dad quietly passed away after a 9 month illness. I hope this book makes lots of people's lives more enjoyable and safer. That's why he worked so hard on it.
1010 comments|93 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2009
The Boater's Bible! This is the book you pull out during those long winter months between boating seasons. A thorough introduction and excellent reference.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 15, 2009
The nautical 'bible' Chapman Piloting & Seamanship has been completely updated and reviewed with new charts, photos and illustrations for its 66th anniversary edition, making it an ongoing foundation title for any serious nautical collection. Chapters have been fully updated with the latest U.S. regulations, fees and federal laws and cover everything from how to assist a stranded boat charts vs. maps, considering radar's pros and cons, and more. A 'must' reference.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2011
Chapman Piloting & Seamanship 66th Edition (Chapman Piloting, Seamanship and Small Boat Handling)

Yes, this is a big book, Yes it has lots of information..... but that is exactly what this book is all about. If you have a boat and care about boating or sailing,this is the cornerstone book for your library.

I have owned 3-4 versions of this book over the past 30 years and I am amazed how it continues to stay relevant to the modern world of boating. Nothing has ever come close to this book and I doubt anything ever will.

It is not by reading it cover to cover that you will benefit the most from the timeless wisdom within its pages, rather it is by reading and studying it bit by bit over time. You must consume the knowledge and savor it. To say you have read Chapman is a foolish statement. To say you own and study Chapman are the words of a wise boater/sailor.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 21, 2012
This book is easy to follow and should be part of every boat owners reading list. I'm in the Coast Guard Auxiliary and I find this book better them almost all the CG books from the courses I have taken.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2011
I find the book to be well organized and easy to read. There is information on every subject related to technical and practical application. This book is a must for anyone venturing out on the water. I do find the hardcover book somewhat bulky; not to practical for quick referencing on the "high seas". Otherwise a great value! Patrick G.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2012
This book grew out of boating manuals written by Chapman and others nearly 100 years ago for the U.S. Navy and U.S. Coast Guard. Even today, you can see the family resemblance between the Coast Guard Boat Crew Manual and Chapman. Today's Chapman is much deeper in many topics, though.

Chapman is not only a masterpiece of a tutorial and reference on boating, it is a masterpiece of writing. Clear, well-paced, delightful to read. And the beautiful diagrams and other graphics in the latest editions are worth the price of the whole book.

If you're a boater, or just like boats, buy this book. Buy copies for all your boating friends and family!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2013
There are few books that are absolute must haves on any given subject. This is one of them. Stunning in detail and packed with great writing, illustrations, photos, and regulations, this is one fantastic book. There may be better individual books, for example, on marine weather, or marlinspike seamanship. But to have two full chapters on these subjects, plus dozens more, at the level of detail that it does, is a testament to the exhaustive research that went into this book. If you're a sailor or a power boater or a fisherman or just have a deep love and respect for the water, don't go out to eat tonight and buy this book instead. For the price, under $20 shipped, every boater should have this on her shelf. It's a great, fun read. This is also the last edition to be edited by Charles Husick, who passed in 2010. Trade winds to you, Mr. Husick!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2012
There's no better boat-owner bible on the market. I've got a Chapman's from ~1980, this is similar though updated. Some great rules/regs, some great newbie boat-handling tips, but it seems to get bogged-down in high-detail on some things (like compass compensation) while quickly overviewing other topics (like VHF/DSCC) that could use more detail (like how to call for radio-checks, how to use DSCC, how to use AIS). This is a good reference every boat owner should have.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2013
This book arrived in excellent shape and in plenty of time before the Christmas holiday. I was amazed!!! It appeared smaller in it's picture, so I was a bit surprised in it's size and weight once I received it. This is a VERY big book!! VERY heavy too!! But, worth every penny. My boyfriend loved his book, a true captain's Bible. I would buy from this seller again. Definitely!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse