Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Lt. Charles Gatewood & His Apache Wars Memoir
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Look Park Fire TV Stick Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
39
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$16.24+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 3, 2006
Louis Kraft does exactly what you're supposed to do with a memoir--he illuminates Gatewood's own words and Gatewood's life. Gatewood's description of meetings with the Apache, of life trying to manage the reservation, is absolutely priceless but Kraft puts the lieutenant into the broader context of his time and circumstance. Gatewood is a man worth knowing, and Kraft does an excellent job of introducing him to us. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and highly recommend it.

Deb Goodrich,

Publisher

Kansas Journal of Military History
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 11, 2006
Louis Kraft writes sensational books, my first knowledge of him came from GATEWOOD AND GERONIMO (New Mexico Press, 2000), which was also a History Book Club selection. And for being an "independant historian" he has turned out several very good books of history, this being a notable one.

Unless one has read on the Apache wars in Arizona Territory, 1878-1886, the name Charles B. Gatewood may have very little meaning. But finally due this book and the efforts of Mr. Kraft, Lt. Gatewood is at last receiving some well deserved historical attention.

Within a couple years of being posted to Arizona, Lt. Gatewood was in charge of the Apache Scouts and pretty much the key man concerning operational relations with the Apaches. Now, from Mr. Kraft and the University of Nebraska we can read Lt. Gatewood's 'recorded experiences', but only up to a point, for Lt. Gatewood died before he could complete them. What we receive here though is a valuable primary source printed for the first time.

Have interest in the Indian Fighting Army in late Arizona Territory Apache Wars? Then you cannot pass this book up.

Recommended.

Semper Fi.
33 comments| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2009
To any historian a good memoir provides a closer look at a person and the chronicled times. Thanks to Louis Kraft we all get a better look into Lt. Charles B. Gatewood- a key and often overlooked figure in the latter Apache Campaigns of the American Southwest.
Gatewood was quietly there with Alchesay, Victorio, Josanie, Tom Horn, Naiche, Al Sieber, Generals Crook and Miles, the 'Apache Kid' and, of course, Geronimo and more than just 'being there' he tried his best to make something worthy of his time and position. Interesting is that he was one of the few 'White eyes' that the Apaches trusted which says something more about the Army officer as a man. Most heroes are stellar at a distance but many lose their shine the closer they get to us. Gatewood though shone strong even when many around him didn't. No superman, just a man and soldier who tried to do the 'right thing' when it mattered and paid for it as a result.
Kraft doesn't get in the way of Gatewood's own words so what you have here is a plain spoken personal account and another closer look at the history we thought we knew. Using additional sources Kraft helped find Gatewood's voice so that what we get is an echo of the past worth listening to.
A solid resource and chronicle.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 16, 2009
Lt. Charles Gatewood & His Apache Wars Memoir is the primary source memoir and testimony of Lt. Charles B. Gatewood (1853-96), an educated and remarkable Virginian who served in the Sixth U.S. Cavalry as the commander of Indian scouts. What made Gatewood exceptional was the immense effort he put into understanding Indian cultures, and eventually, the drive for Indian rights. Independent modern scholar Louis Kraft rounds out Gatewood's perspective with additional commentary, extensive notes, and an epilogue. Lt. Charles Gatewood & His Apache Wars Memoir is a unique and welcome supplement to American military history or Native American studies shelves.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 30, 2011
I've lived in Phoenix now for almost three decades, and have heard a lot about Geronimo, most of it fiction. Ive seen some of the movies, read short descriptions of his life and times, and been exposed to the myths surrounding this amazing person. But not until I read this Army officer's actual accounts of his experience in capturing Geronimo and his band was my curiosity satisfied. As I made my way through Lt. Gatewood's gripping actual personal experience I could smell the mesquite, feel the dry dust of the air, hear the cries, of terror and despair from both native American and settler victims of this sad but true tale. Now I feel like I've really been there...right when it all happened. Because he was!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2009
A very enlightened overview of the shabby treatment accorded a young, caring and compassionate brilliant Officer. Sheds light on some major characters (Gen Crook)of the Apache wars whose behavior was less then stellar. Additionally gives really good insight into the nitty gritty of actual campaigning agains the Apaches. Tragic in the sense that had there been a few more persons with the attidude of Lt. Gatewood towards native americans we might today have a more diverse and vibrant native american culture then we do. Excellent read but for some of the stilted original victorian writing though that's easily overcome because of the excellent index and notes.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 3, 2013
Charles Gatewood, the individual that really captured Geronimo and never got credit for his superb ability as a true friend to the Apache. Without the trust he had gained with the Apache of 1886, there would have been no capture and great books of "B.S." to be written by so many. The officers and higher ups, always got the credit and the Eastern press "lapped it up". A truly great book on a truly great man and someone that was a true friend to the early day Apache.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2015
If you like western history this is your read.Excellent first hand account off the Apache Wars,Gatewood is a important figure in this history but it would seem a forgotten one,he bucked the Army brass and they wrote him out of their history.Read about Al Sieber,army scout to get a different perspective on these events.The movie Geronimo got me interested in knowing more about my fellow Virginian Gatewood
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 4, 2013
Incredibly detailed reading from someone who lived it. This book is hands down one of my favorite historical texts I own and reads very easily. The amount of knowledge Lt. Gatewood possessed, not only of the Southwestern United States but of the customs and language of the Apache peoples is nothing short of amazing and makes for some interesting reading. It's incredible that he took the time to write as he did and I'm extremely glad he did; to hear and read of the events that unfolded during the course of his service in the Arizona Territory during that period of time and his friendship with and service in efforts to help such figures as Geronimo, Nana and Cochise, among others makes for some great reading both as a historical text and as an entertaining read in it's own right.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 2, 2012
Reading many books about the Indian Wars brought me to the story of Lt. Charles Gatewood and Geronimo. I watched the movie and needed to find out the real story of this young Lt. Gatewood. The movie was of course way off in comparison of the book.
Lt. Gatewood was truly left behind in recognition of his accomplishments of the Apache Wars and Geronimo.
It was stated in this book that Lt. Gatewood was buried in Arlington National Cemetery and when I looked up famous people buried at Arlington only Gen, Nelson Miles was there and how he ended the Apache wars, no mention of Lt. Gatewood.
Truly an unsung hero.
Excellent reading.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse