Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Charles Nicolle, Pasteur's Imperial Missionary (Rochester Studies in Medical History) 1st Edition

5 out of 5 stars 1 customer review
ISBN-13: 978-1580464659
ISBN-10: 1580464653
Why is ISBN important?
ISBN
This bar-code number lets you verify that you're getting exactly the right version or edition of a book. The 13-digit and 10-digit formats both work.
Scan an ISBN with your phone
Use the Amazon App to scan ISBNs and compare prices.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Buy used On clicking this link, a new layer will be open
$24.68 On clicking this link, a new layer will be open
Buy new On clicking this link, a new layer will be open
$39.95 On clicking this link, a new layer will be open
More Buying Choices
26 New from $20.18 7 Used from $24.68
Free Two-Day Shipping for College Students with Amazon Student Free%20Two-Day%20Shipping%20for%20College%20Students%20with%20Amazon%20Student


When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi
"When Breath Becomes Air" by Paul Kalanithi
For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question - What makes a life worth living? Learn more | See related books
$39.95 FREE Shipping. Only 1 left in stock (more on the way). Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.

Editorial Reviews

Review

Kim Pelis has written a magesterial biography of Charles Nicolle, the Nobel prize-winning microbiologist who demonstrated the louse-borne transmission of one of humankind's most dreaded scourges: typhus fever. But this beautifully written book covers so much more than Nicolle's exemplary scientific life. Indeed, it is a superb and scholarly exploration of late nineteenth and early twentieth century medicine, colonialism, international public health, and the social and cultural history of disease. --Howard Markel, M.D., Ph.D., George E. Wantz Professor of the History of Medicine, University of Michigan, author of When Germs Travel Charles Nicolle was one of the most complex and creative of Pasteur's disciples. His combination as scientist, clinician, administrator, novelist, philosopher, and tortured individual makes him a fascinating man. Kim Pelis has done justice to all facets of Nicolle's life and work. This is a gem of a book. --W. F. Bynum, M.D, Ph.D, FRCP, Professor Emeritus of History of Medicine, University College London There was no shortage of competition in the hunt for the cause of typhus, and Nicolle's claim to have discovered the louse as the agent of transmission did not go uncontested. Few important discoveries do. Taking us through the socio-scientific history of typhus, Pelis adroitly details how Nicolle and his close collaborator, Ernest Conseil (director of public health in Tunis), arrived at their discovery. H-FRANCE, January 2007

About the Author

Now working full time for the NIH as a researcher/historian, 7/07. Kim Pelis is visiting assistant professor of history at the University of Notre Dame.
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE


China
Engineering & Transportation Books
Discover books for all types of engineers, auto enthusiasts, and much more. Learn more

Product Details

  • Series: Rochester Studies in Medical History
  • Paperback: 418 pages
  • Publisher: BOYE6; 1 edition (April 15, 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1580464653
  • ISBN-13: 978-1580464659
  • Product Dimensions: 6 x 0.9 x 9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.3 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #5,252,975 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

5 star
100%
4 star
0%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Hardcover
The book is beautifully written, first of all. Dr. Pelis is able to do for medical biography what few others are able to and that is contextualize the person she's writing about not just in his own time and place but in his intellectual field as well (and the book contains an excellent history of the field of disease research to boot). The book can be read by anyone, not just specialists in the history of medicine - it holds something for doctors, anthropologists, various kinds of historians, as well as the well-read layperson. The book is not bogged down in technical jargon, but it was clearly written by a scholar who knows her literature as well as her history. Pelis really does justice to this complex character and gives more than just the tired old "brilliant but tortured man" trope. Nicolle's letters really allow Pelis to bring him to life and despite his personal flaws, one comes away from the book in awe of and with respect for the man who did so much for the world, yet still felt he was a failure in the end.
Comment 4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more
Charles Nicolle, Pasteur's Imperial Missionary (Rochester Studies in Medical History)
This item: Charles Nicolle, Pasteur's Imperial Missionary (Rochester Studies in Medical History)
Price: $39.95
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com
Want to discover more products? Check out this page to see more: science books