Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Recess Monkey Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 11, 2006
Charlie Parker will always be the greatest saxaphone player who ever lived. This CD is a fine example of why he is regarded as the best(and always will be). This the REAL DEAL people, the REAL DEAL. In 2004, Charlie Parker became one of the many stars to get a compilation in the 20th Century Masters The Millenium Collection CDs. Read on for further details.

The Millenium Collections are always great. They remaster the tracks 24.bit so the sound is awesome. Charlie Parker's compilation is cool, just like he was.

In this CD, you get several tracks you can't find easily. Among them are Autumn In New York and the underrated gem Just Friends. Both of which (in my view) are true hits. It's a shame they haven't included these 2 tracks of The Bird on other Best-ofs.

Charlie Parker has recorded on several record labels such as Dial, His Masters Voice, Savoy and more. In 1959, 4 years after his death, Verve remastered them and started releasing Charlie Parker vinyls on the Verve label. This CD is a fine example only it sounds a heck of a lot better! And when you're looking for the best-sounding Charlie Parker CD out there, this CD takes the cake. You can tell just by listening to [...] Music Samplers.

Overall this CD is highly reccommended! If you liked this one, here are some others you may like:

The Complete Charlie Parker: 1950
The Essential Charlie Parker
Charlie Parker Ken Burns JAZZ Collection

All of those are classic Parker CDs. But in terms of sound and finding the CD that will appeal to the casual and hard core fans alike, this one is the one to pick.

Highlights for me: 'K.C. Blues' and 'Just Friends'. ONE OF THE BEST CHARLIE PARKER CDS OUT IN THE MARKET!

Charlie Parker (August 29, 1920-March 12, 1955). Enjoy!!!
0Comment|60 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 14, 2007
This is close to as much great music as you can buy for ten bucks, but my preference is for The Essential Charlie Parker for a dollar less. Part of that is the longer and better remastered solo on Star Eyes, not one of Parker's best known, but a real gem.
Nobody has ever displayed the complete mastery of the alto saxophone in jazz as well as Bird, and this disc gives you a good introduction as to why he is at the top of the jazz pantheon.
0Comment|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 16, 2009
This budget CD is a great way to introduce you to the music of Charlie Parker. It covers his later recordings under Norman Granz's supervision thus nothing from Dial & Savoy Records.

These 12 tracks basically gives us a look into the World of Charlie Parker. From his recordings with strings ("Just Friends" & "Autumn in New York") to a couple of songs he did for Dial/Savoy that he later re-recorded ("Loverman", "Now's the Time", & the closer) & even some Latin jazz (My Little Suede Shoes). The recordings are remastered to a T- doesn't sound like they've been taken from 78 RPM records. The musicians present in these songs are a who's who of bebop greats like Ray Brown, Dizzy Gillespie, Monk, Miles Davis, Buddy Rich, Max Roach, & John Lewis to name a few. After hearing his music, I sometimes wonder where Parker would have taken jazz had he not died so young.

In addition to the disc, there's some photos & an interesting essay that comes with the liner notes. Be forewarned: once you hear Bird's music you'll want more.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2015
It is sad to know that a man with
that skill in music died so young and in that way.
Died at 35, the doctor who made the autopsy
thaught he was 60 years old.
Miles Davis said: "You can tell the history of jazz in four words:
Louis Armstrong. Charlie Parker" Deduced from that.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 20, 2012
This Best of Charlie Parker offers a good selection of some of Bird's best songs. I recommend this album for anyone who wants to get to know the music of Charlie Parker. This collection gathers material from 1947-53, the heart of his very significant recording career. Unfortunately it is not the most complete collection of his best as it does not include some of his standards like "Ornithology" and "Yardbird Suite" which are well known favorites of his fans. Nevertheless, this 20th Century Masters CD comes with great liner notes and photos of this very important jazz musician. Get it and enjoy!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2012
The Best of Charlie parker 20th Century Masters the Millennium Collection is in the top 3 Jazz CD's I have by Parker, Parkers is one of the best Jazz artes of his time and to seat and enjoy he on the CD was and is a treat for me.

VJDUGAN Jazz lover
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2015
I am reconnecting to jazz and acquiring a few of the great albums before my time and this being a best of CD I had to have it. I dive in and soak up what is Charlie Parker in this CD. It is a great mix of what I am sure are only a glimpse of his creativeness and masterpiece. I am truly honored to be able to enjoy this classic work of musical artistry!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2015
I gave it 5 starts because I love Jazz. Charlie Parker is a great musician although his bebop style is not my favorite. Still love to listen to his music and all the other greats from that era. A shame he died so young. We could have had many more years of his talent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 18, 2013
MOST PEOPLE IN TODAY'S WORLD DON'T HAVE TIME TO APPRECIATE OR SIT STILL LONG ENOUGH TO HEAR THIS SOULFUL SOUND.

Shipped in proficient time. CD arrived ahead of schedule. No damage. Packaged really well. Played excellently in my car stereo. Bought back memories. Have purchased from this company many times. Will continue the relationship.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2014
I only sporadically know of Mr. Parker's work as jazz is not my strong suite, but I thoroughly enjoy this collection. Many collections don't go well together because the work is from different time periods etc, but the choices for this are great in my opinion. They span a good many years but play well together.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.