Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The first 6 Monogram Chans reissued....minus one
An outfit called TGG Direct has been licensing MGM/UA titles for reissue on DVD, and this is one of their first packages. The first 6 Monogram Chan films were originally released in a box set entitled Chanthology back in the mid-2000s, with each movie on a separate disc. This set presents only 5 of the films over 2 single sided discs. The discs are enclosed in two...
Published on June 22, 2012 by jrc

versus
85 of 92 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Why These?
When I saw a new Charlie Chan cover illustration, I thought: At last! The remaining unreleased Chan films are finally out...but no, it's just a reissue of things already available. Where are THE RED DRAGON, SHADOWS OVER CHINATOWN, THE DOCKS OF NEW ORLEANS, THE SHANGHAI CHEST, THE GOLDEN EYE, THE FEATHERED SERPENT and THE SKY DRAGON? When they turn up, I'll buy them. But...
Published on September 21, 2011 by G. Schneider


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

85 of 92 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Why These?, September 21, 2011
This review is from: Charlie Chan 5 Movie Gift Box Set (Limited Series) (DVD)
When I saw a new Charlie Chan cover illustration, I thought: At last! The remaining unreleased Chan films are finally out...but no, it's just a reissue of things already available. Where are THE RED DRAGON, SHADOWS OVER CHINATOWN, THE DOCKS OF NEW ORLEANS, THE SHANGHAI CHEST, THE GOLDEN EYE, THE FEATHERED SERPENT and THE SKY DRAGON? When they turn up, I'll buy them. But I've already got everything that's been released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not the best of chan, August 24, 2011
This review is from: Charlie Chan 5 Movie Gift Box Set (Limited Series) (DVD)
I am a big fan of Charlie Chan whether it is Warner Oland or Sidney Toler. This particular set is a double dip from an earlier release (The Chanthology)and is missing Meeting at Midnight, the sixth Chan in that set. These were made at Monogram studios (someone correct me if I'm wrong) after the bigger studio let the Chan series drop (Warner Bros.?). The point being that the chintzy-ness of the studio budget really shows in these productions. Sets, lighting, etc. - everything is second-rate. The Mantan Moreland edge to comedy may strike viewers as offensive and the other Chan sidekicks are not always great. I own these because I own all the Chans (even the other set that is offered here) which is even worse. But if you are a fan of the 30's/40's mystery series such as Wong, Moto, the Saint and the Thin Man, then you will probably want these in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The first 6 Monogram Chans reissued....minus one, June 22, 2012
By 
jrc "jrcasey" (Jonesboro, AR USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Charlie Chan 5 Movie Gift Box Set (Limited Series) (DVD)
An outfit called TGG Direct has been licensing MGM/UA titles for reissue on DVD, and this is one of their first packages. The first 6 Monogram Chan films were originally released in a box set entitled Chanthology back in the mid-2000s, with each movie on a separate disc. This set presents only 5 of the films over 2 single sided discs. The discs are enclosed in two Amray cases inside an outer cardboard box. Both discs appear to be dual-layered, and the transfers are identical to those previously released. As these potboilers run barely an hour each, the programs are well contained on the dual layer discs with no compression problems. No extras are included, but none were seen on the original single-disc editions, either.

Disc 1 features IN THE SECRET SERVICE, THE CHINESE CAT, and THE JADE MASK. Disc 2 features THE SCARLET CLUE and THE SHANGHAI COBRA. Both discs feature a simple menu allowing you to select the movie to be played.

For those who missed out on the Chanthology set, this is a great value for a fraction of the cost. A big upside is that you can see these films with fewer disc changes, which for such short films is quite a bonus.

The downside is that they inexplicably did not include BLACK MAGIC (aka MEETING AT MIDNIGHT). It would have easily been accommodated on disc 2. It is the only title that is in the public domain, so perhaps that had something to do with its omission. Even so, MGM/UA's print is far superior than any public domain elements for that title that I've seen. Moves like this really baffle me and make one wonder if these companies even know what the Hell they're licensing. Collectors who buy these sets generally want ALL of the available titles. In this case, not 5 out of 6 films!

Anyway, I can highly recommend this set despite the omission of BLACK MAGIC
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 39 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This new set is just a reissue, October 12, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Charlie Chan 5 Movie Gift Box Set (Limited Series) (DVD)
What a real disapointment.......
I thought....Finally...at last....the remaining Monogram Charlie Chan films have been released from our friends at TCM but this is just a reissue of the first Monogram Chan films which everyone already owns.
Are they going to screw this up like they did with the Fox Movie Channel?
The Fox Movie Channel was almost like Turner Classic Movies when it first went on the air....Then some young Executive decided to showcase the same more recent movies over and over again.
What could these people be thinking?
Do they really get up in the morning with a brainstorm that everyone wants to see the same damn more recent movies over and over again?
They continue to show this terrible version of "Around The World in 80 Days" that no one has ever heard of....and they show it over and over again.
Why not show some of those great "B" films like they did a dozen years ago?
I attempted to contact the Fox Movie Channel but they obviously ignored my opinion.
Thank God we have Turner Classic Movies.
I can't wait for TCM to release volume 2 of the Charlie Chan spotlight DVD set to include the remaining Monogram Charlie Chan films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Chan, August 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Charlie Chan 5 Movie Gift Box Set (Limited Series) (DVD)
The Chan films in this small collection have been wonderfully restored. These are some of the post war films starring Sidney Toler. The set includes 5 films on 2 dvds. Although there are no extras (trailers etc), the quality of the presentation is outstanding with great images and clear sound. There are two other Chan collections available and this set rounds out the series. If you like the later Chan films, be sure to get this set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What company is releasing the movies, September 21, 2011
This review is from: Charlie Chan 5 Movie Gift Box Set (Limited Series) (DVD)
To the earlier poster, it was Fox that dropped the Charlie Chan series in WWII. A lot of the majors dropped their B movie divisions during the war. Mr Moto ended in 1939 while Sherlock Holmes only after two movies was dropped in 1940 only to be picked up by Universal. Which was B studio during the war with A&C.

Does anybody what company is releasing the movies as MGM own(ed?) the rights? The packaging screams Mill Creek or a public domain company so don't expect a legitamate remastering or any extras. I know TCM/Warners released Chan four movies as well so did MGM sell part of the catalogue or they just leasing the movies out to other distributors? There is similar package for Vincent Price (mostly the Corman/Poe movies) that was also owned by MGM. I would like to know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love all of them, September 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Charlie Chan 5 Movie Gift Box Set (Limited Series) (DVD)
When I review any Chan film I feel it is important to say the I am a Chan fanatic. I have been since I was a kid in the 50's watching them run on TV. So I tend to review these movies strictly as being a Chan movie, not comparing them to other movies. These movies are from the 1944 and 1945 with 4 of the 5 directed by Phil Rosen. The scripts are typical Chan fare, features Charlie Chan and his quotes as in all of the movies. The Chinese Cat and The Scarlet Clue being the most interesting of the 5(although I love them all as I have stated). Sidney Toler is in all of them and he only made 4 more of these films before he was unable to continue the role. The set over all is a good one and the price on these was fantasic. I have a total of 20 of these films on DVD and another 5 that I had taped when they were on TCM. These are not as good as Treasure Island, Wax Museum, Castle in the Desert and Murder Over New York which are my favorites but they are still very fun to watch. I recommend the set to anyone but a must for Chan fans. And yes, I tend to like Sidney Toler over Warner Oland although Oland's At The Opera was outstanding with Boris Karloff in the cast. The actor Roland Winters took over for Mr. Toler and does a OK job, by then the scripts and production values diminished badly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wishing Fox Could Release this Set, February 23, 2012
By 
John J. Dorsey (Danbury, CT United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Charlie Chan 5 Movie Gift Box Set (Limited Series) (DVD)
I too am surprised that only five of the six films in the Chanthology are in this set. I'm guessing the reason for the re-release is that the Chanthology has been out of print for a few years. I got it for Xmas a couple of years ago. The person who got it had to buy a used one online. Warner Bros probably wants to get in on the renewed interest in the Chan series following the success of the Fox releases. Fox did a great job on the Chans it released. They cleaned up dark spots from damaged film and stabilized shaky parts, among other things. They also included great documentaries on each disc. Unfortunately Fox doesn't own the Monogram Chans. It would be great if they could get a hold of them and give those films a proper treatment. Or perhaps Warner Bros should turn the project over to people who really love old films like these and want to mimic Fox's efforts. MGM released the Chanthology and TCM/Warner Bros the other Monogram set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars WHY??, February 1, 2014
This review is from: Charlie Chan 5 Movie Gift Box Set (Limited Series) (DVD)
Why doesn't Amazon clearly list the movies of the anthology next to the picture??? Sometimes I get more info on this from the customer reviews.

Longtime Amazon Chan purchaser-especially those with Mantan Moreland and Benson Fong.

Where is Black Camel? In my opinion the best Chans were At the Olympics. Castle in the Desert, In Egypt, Wax Museum and the double named Black Magic/Meeting at Midnight.
Mantan Moreland , to me, represented the kids (me in the 50's) who were frightenend by seances, Egyptian myths, and wax figures,etc.
And one of the first movies that showed forensics (with Sherlock Holmes) and influenced me to study science. I became a scientist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars charlie chan, May 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Charlie Chan 5 Movie Gift Box Set (Limited Series) (DVD)
These are all family mysteries that were made between the late 1920's through the 1940's.These are great classics that will stand time.You will be pleasently suprised how well these movies were made.I have bought three sets of these movies,this is by far the best set out there.The picture clarity of these movies are GREAT.If you want to watch some GREAT FAMILY ENTERTAINMENT i don't believe you can go wrong with these movies,they are EXCELLENT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Charlie Chan 5 Movie Gift Box Set (Limited Series)
$24.96 $13.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.