Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Enter for the chance to win front row seats to Barbra Streisand Segway miniPro

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$5.82+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 8, 2002
Along with his other classic, "James and the Giant Peach", Roald Dalh's "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory" stands at the top of the heap when it comes to children's books. This is a pure classic of imagination, storytelling and magic. Far superior to the film (where Willy Wonka becomes the title character), the book tells the story from Charlie Bucket's point of view. Charlie, who lives with his four ancient grandparents and his mother in a one-room house, is the kind of child who can only dream about his future, since his family has barely enough money to survive. When the Wonka chocolatier announces that five golden tickets to visit the aged factory have been carefully tucked inside chocolate bars the world over, Charlie's dreams are suddenly wide open. He stumbles on some money in the street, purchases a chocolate bar and is thrust into the limelight beccoming one of the five lucky vistors. The rest of the tale is one of scrumptous folly and nerve-wracking sentiment, highlighted by magical workers (the one and only Oompa Loompas), the etheral Willy Wonka, a host of loony characters - both adults and kids - and a thrill ride in a factory where time stands still and also rocks forwards, backwards, sideways and then some! It's a classic tale of the triumph of good over evil, generosity over greed and family over fair-weathered friends. Sure to be enjoyed by children of all ages, adults included, this is the best children's book ever written - and deserves prominent place in every child's library.
0Comment| 98 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2005
My absolute favorite as a child and newly beloved by my kids. ONE CAUTION . . . the illustrations in the current version by Quentin Blake are highly inferior to the ones in the original printing by Schindelman. The originals convey Dahl's twisted, almost gothic vision much more richly. These illustrations (and I think some accompanying text) are distinctly non-PC vis. the Oompa-Loompas, but, especially if you are using this as a "read-to-me" book, this actually provides a teachable moment. Definitely get this book for your kids, but, for a more fulfilling experience, seek out a used version pre-1988 or so.
0Comment| 50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2004
*** A Purist's Review ***
Joseph Schindelman's illustrations are to Roald Dahl's text like Peanut Butter is to Jelly.
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory is one of those exciting and unexpected reading experiences that makes an impression when you are young and then years later comes to mind when choosing books for your own children. It is an exploration into a whimsical universe but yet grounded in a real and recognizable Victorian place... Nice for those who have not yet acquired a taste for complicated science fiction and fantasy.
My favorite part of the book was the characterizations of the children and their families and a critical part of my enjoyment was the hilarious and classical Joseph Schindelman illustrations. His pictures are truly inspired and cleverly silly... and appear to so accurately portray the essence of each character and scene... as though he knew exactly what Roald Dahl meant - even though this is a fantasy that could have many different visual interpretations. They captured my imagination and added immeasureably to the fun of the story. As a child I had absolutely no desire to see the Gene Wilder movie because the illustrations were so integral to the story in my mind. They remind me of the illustrations in the "Le Petit Nicholas" series (illustrated by Jean Jacque Sempe). . .which are so expressive and cute and elegantly done that they don't even need to be in color.
The new edition illustrations are so disappointing in comparison. It's really too bad that the new generation of young readers will be eating peanut butter and jelly sandwiches with no peanut butter. I will instead look for a used copy of the older edition to give as a gift because introducing this wonderful book to a young child without those original illustrations would not be doing it justice.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 15, 2013
It's done very well and the illustrations from Quentin Blake are lovely.

Remember though that because it's a pop up book it's not going to contain the entire story. Square Candies that Look Round for example is missing.

Our daughter, an avid Charlie Chocolate Factory fan noted paragraphs and chapters were missing. She was ok after I explained it but just wanted to let others know if their children are particular like mine.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 12, 2012
There's a seal on the cover of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory that says "The World's No. 1 Storyteller" in reference to author Roald Dahl. Even though there are many cool and ingenious pop-ups, pull tabs and lift- the -flaps in this book, the emphasis is on the text. This is a great story that can be somewhat enhanced by pop-ups and other paper engineering tricks, but the really good stuff is in the text, like the songs sung by the Oompa Loompas when each greedy, spoiled, dull, or obsessed child is eliminated from Willie Wonka's game. The book cover says ages 4 and up, but probably 5 or 6 would be better. Lots of thought -provoking ideas for children and grown-ups to discuss after reading this story.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2003
What kid wouldn't love to tour a chocolate factory that no one had visited for several years? What kid wouldn't want access to secrets held by the greatest candy maker ever?
What kid wouldn't want to embark on a wild adventure and meet the amazing, Willy Wonka?
I can't think of one who wouldn't! :-)
I know I would love to do all of those things and I'm not even a kid anymore... well, I guess I'm a kid at heart.
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory is an amazing book. I was first exposed to this story by my 3rd grade teacher, as a whole class read aloud. And from that day forward, I was a lover of the writings of Roald Dahl.
I have since read this story every year of my teaching career to my own classes. And I can honestly say that I have not found a class yet that has not loved the story of Charlie's amazing adventure! This is one of the greatest books ever written for children... and I really mean that!
Roald Dahl introduces us to the Bucket family, an unfortunate family who struggles to survive on the money Mr. Bucket makes as a toothpaste cap screwer.
One day Mr. Bucket is laid off from his job and the family begins to starve. One member of the family, little Charlie, struggles to subsist on bread and cabbage soup. Poor Charlie finds himself starving to death, when one day he finds a dollar in the snow and his whole life changes. With this dollar Charlie buys a candy bar just to fill his stomach and gets so much more than he could ever imagine.
Charlie becomes the 5th child to find a golden ticket and with it, has the marvelous opportunity to visit Mr. Wonka's chocolate factory.
At the factory Charlie meets up with a most wild assortment of characters:
* Augustus Gloop: A large boy who loves to eat more than anything in the world. His uncontrollable appetite leads him to a sticky end.
* Veruca Salt: A spolied rotten young lady. Who is prone to terrible tantrums when she can't get what she wants. Her greed leads her to a messy exit.
* Violet Beauregard: An incessant gum chewer who chomps and chomps her jaws day in and day out. Her insatiable desire for gum leads to her chewy end.
* Mike Teevee: A crazy Television addict, whose love for TV sends him zipping through the stratosphere.
* The Oompa Loompas: A group of melodic factory workers who work for Mr. Wonka, and act as a chorus in a greek tragedy. Their silly songs are one of the many highlights of this book.
* Mr. Willy Wonka: The enegmatic ruler of a chocolate universe. He has more secrets and surprises than we could ever hope for.
I highly reccommend this book for kids from 0 to 99! It is a nice read aloud for younger children, at an appropriate independent reading level for 3rd through 5th graders and can easily hold the attention of an adult. Read this wonderful book you will not be disappointed!
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2006
This book is fantastic it is about a very poor boy named Charlie Bucket. He always goes to school with out a jacket because they don't have money to buy Charlie things. The setting of the book is an unnamed city; small wooden house on the edge of a great city,a fabled chocolate factory. The conflict is five children who have found golden tickets compete to see who will take over Mr. Wonka's chocolate factory. It all started when the newpaper announces that the Wonka chocolate factory will hide five golden tickets in the Wonka chocolate bars. Charlie desperately hopes he will find a golden ticket. The problem is that each year he gets a chocolate on his birthday, and he doesn't have money to buy one. Charlie father loses his job and the poor family is on brink of starvation. Charlie finds a dollar bill on the street, and before he tells his mother, he goes to buy two chocolate bars. One of the bars contains the fifth golden ticket. Charlie and his Grandpa Joe go to the Wonka Chocolate Factory. When the are finally there Mr. Wonka tells everybody to be careful,and not touch any thing from the factory. Then Augustus Gloop falls into the hot chocolate river while attempting to drink it, and gets sucked up by one of the pipes. Veruca Salt is determined to be a bad nut by nut judging squirrels who throw her out with the trash. Violet Beauregarde grabs an experimental piece of gum and chew herself into a giant blueberry. She is removed from the factory. Mike Teavee shrinks himself and his father has to carry him out in his breast pocket. So Charlie is the only one that is left in the factory. Mr. Wonka tries to find a person that would keep the chocolate factory. Mr. Wonka decided to give away his factory because he is too old. Then he decides that Charlie is the one who will run the factory exactly the way he has always run it. Finally Mr. Wonka congrarulates him for winning the entire factory for himself and his family.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2016
I didn’t read this book as a child, so now that I have children of my own, we really loved reading this book together. It is written in a way that young and old can enjoy it.

It’s about a young boy's journey to winning a tour through the chocolate factory in his town. There are plenty of times where we laughed out loud at the ridiculous imagination of Roald Dahl. We are going to order the next one in the series so we can see what else happens!
review image
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2001
This book is so delicious I just want to eat it! "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory" might be in many people's eyes a story about morality but to me, it's a story about children and their love of all things sweet, sticky and delicious. Charlie Bucket is the delightful boy (who is so poor all he gets to eat is cabbage soup) who finds a golden ticket in a chocolate bar he buys with money he finds in the street. This ticket entitles him and a companion to enter the wonderful world of Mr. Willy Wonka, the most famous and mysterious chocolate maker that the universe has ever known. Other competition winners include such heinous but wonderfully over the top characters like Augustus Gloop, the greediest boy in the world, and Veruca Salt, a spoilt brat whose father buys 10,000 chocolate bars so she can win a golden ticket. These greedy children and their frightful companions get their come-uppance in various hilarious ways that will have you spluttering with laughter with every page that you turn. Dahl's most famous creation in this book though are the Oompa-Loompas, a race of small people that Mr. Wonka has saved from extinction in the days when he traveled the world. This is a glorious, glorious book, filled with amazing characters, incredible sweets such as the everlasting gobstopper for the child with limited pocket money, and the chewing gum that that is a whole three course meal in itself. Your mouth will be watering throughout the story, and the river of chocolate will make you drool a waterfall. A scrumptious book for everyone no matter what their age.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2013
Difficult to write a helpful review, as each used book has condition issues, unless it is in 'new condition', Had a personal reason for purchasing this, as the illustrator is a friend, and I wanted my grandson to have a copy with the original illustrations-especially as he was reading the book in his class, and that version was illustrated by someone else. So, while I may be happy with my purchase, I doubt that someone else will find my review helpful.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.