Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beauty and timeless hope
"Enchanting" is an overused word, but Maurice Sendak's illustrations and Ruth Krauss' narrative in Charlotte and the White Horse are enchanting without a quibble or a doubt. In this story about love, hope, newness, and possibilities, author Krauss sprinkles allusions to the biblical Song of Songs / Song of Solomon throughout the tale of Charlotte and her colt "- not a...
Published on May 8, 2012 by Leah Chang

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
The story was kind of dreary and, let's face it, not much fun. My niece got bored with it and we didn't finish it.
Published 12 months ago by needingknittles


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beauty and timeless hope, May 8, 2012
This review is from: Charlotte and The White Horse (Hardcover)
"Enchanting" is an overused word, but Maurice Sendak's illustrations and Ruth Krauss' narrative in Charlotte and the White Horse are enchanting without a quibble or a doubt. In this story about love, hope, newness, and possibilities, author Krauss sprinkles allusions to the biblical Song of Songs / Song of Solomon throughout the tale of Charlotte and her colt "- not a lion, not a fire engine -" Milky Way. The wind and the rains are gone, grasses sprouting, trees in bud. With radishes planted and winter over, spring and the time of singing have arrived in the land where Charlotte and Milky Way live. Sendak's full-color watercolor illustrations are simple yet wonderfully detailed. Charlotte and the White Horse would be a wonderful keepsake for yourself or a gift for someone of any age, from preschool to centenarian. Maurice Sendak died this morning, 08 May 2012, at the age of 83; I'd long intended to review and blog Charlotte and the White Horse, and finally, here's my review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect gift, July 6, 2003
This review is from: Charlotte and The White Horse (Hardcover)
This book is a must have for women and girls who have the horse "bug". It also makes a perfect gift for any one who loves horses. It is about love, determination and the natural and mysterious connections that women and girls have with their horses. The illustrations are gorgeous and perfectly depict the tender moments of growing up with a horse. A very special book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, September 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Charlotte and The White Horse (Hardcover)
I can look at this book over and over and never cease to be amazed. The pictures are especially haunting, but then again, they're Sendak. Everything about it is tender, delicate and even dreamlike.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely story, I never get tired of reading it to my child, October 8, 2013
By 
JMS (DURHAM, NC, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Charlotte and The White Horse (Hardcover)
Beautiful story about a girl and her white horse, told in a way a young child would remember things. Lovely illustrations that are timeless. I really love this book and will keep it in my permanent collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book from my Childhood, November 19, 2011
This review is from: Charlotte and The White Horse (Hardcover)
Great book that dream were made of.. Had first read this book when I was 6 years old and it brought back many memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, January 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Charlotte and The White Horse (Hardcover)
The story was kind of dreary and, let's face it, not much fun. My niece got bored with it and we didn't finish it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, October 12, 2014
This review is from: Charlotte and The White Horse (Hardcover)
This is a gorgeous book that any Sendak fan would love to have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Charlotte and The White Horse
Charlotte and The White Horse by Ruth Krauss (Hardcover - December 4, 2001)
$15.99 $13.66
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.