Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon $5 Albums Explore Home Audio All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Valentine's Day Cards Knock snow out cold Amazon Gift Card Offer girls2 girls2 girls2  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now SnS

Format: DVDChange
Price:$10.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 23, 2005
Although many will say season 3 was the last great season of Charmed, season 4 actually holds the title. While later seasons do have their share of fun and excitement (even though it is not nearly as entertaining as the earlier seasons). Season 4 introduces Paige, the Halliwell sisters' half-sister. With oldest sister Prue dead the power of three is reconstituted with Paige.

Season 4 Includes The Episodes:

1. Charmed Again Part 1 - With Prue dead, Piper and Phoebe are lured to their recently discovered half-sister Paige.

2. Charmed Again Part 2 - The sisters finally convince Paige about their withcy ways and the power of three is reconstituted.

3. Hell Hath No Fury - After being filled with anger over the loss of Prue, Piper becomes a Fury during a battle.

4. Enter The Demon - Phoebe and Paige switch bodies and also have to thwart a demon in Limbo.

5. Size Matters - The sisters are shrunken to 6 inches tall.

6. A Knight To Remember - Paige's past life comes back to haunt her.

7. Brain Drain - The Source convinces Piper that she is in a mental hospital and attempts to make her give up her powers.

8. Black As Cole - Cole must face what his demonic alter ego has done when a woman wants to kill him.

9. Muse To My Ears - Muses have been kidnapped and it is up to sisters to save them.

10. A Paige From The Past - Paige goes back to her teenage years to deal with her issues.

11. Trial By Magic - Phoebe has jury duty and is convinced that the accused murderer is innocent when the others say he is guilty.

12. Lost And Bound - The girls help a young boy who is wanted by the Source.

13. Charmed And Dangerous - When The Source releases the power of the Hollow, the whole magic communnity is in danger.

14. The Three Faces Of Phoebe - Not sure if she wants to marry Cole, Phoebe enlists the help of her younger and older self.

15. Marry-Go-Round - The Day of Phoebe and Cole's wedding day is finally upon us. But Cole has another agenda.

16. The Fifth Halliwheel - Paige begins to feel like a fifth wheel to Phoebe and Cole and Piper and Leo.

17. Saving Private Leo - Two of Leo's best friends from the army who died blame Leo for their death and want revenge.

18. Bite Me - A vampire queen turns Paige into a vampire in an attempt to dethrone the Source.

19. We're Off To See The Wizard - Phoebe tells her sisters that she is pregnant with Cole's baby.

20. Long Live The Queen - With Phoebe as the queen of the underworld, ruling alongside Cole, the power of three may be destroyed forever.

21. Womb Raider - The Seer tries to steal Phoebe's baby and become the ruler of the underworld.

22. Witch Way Now? - After all of the demons throughout the last four years, the Angel of Destiny offers the sisters a chance to live normal lives, but will they accept?

Season 4 is definately one that will go down to be remembered, with Paige arriving and Phoebe and Cole's relationship, this is arguably one of the most dramatic seasons of the show ever made.
review image
0Comment237 of 242 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2006
In Charmed Season 4 we mourn the departure of eldest sister, Prue Halliwell who, unbeknownst to us, until the beginning of this season is killed by a demon named Shaques (sp?). In light of this, the power of three is reinstated by their learning of a half sister on their mothers side named Paige Matthews.

This is by far one of the most suspensful and entertaining seasons as we watch Phoebe turn into the queen of the underworld, the charmed ones vanquish the Source and Pipers' first pregnancy. The show leaves off pretty much right where season three left off in terms of Coles dark past. The suspensful story line that follows traditional Chinese and Norse mythology in which a god killed the 'source' of all evil only to become it was one we had seen happening for more than a season. Now thats good story writing!

Favorite quote: Paige to Cole: "You were a demon AND a lawyer?? Insert joke here!"

Favorite Episode: "We're Off to see the Wizard"

1. Charmed Again-

Mourning the death of Prue, Piper and Phoebe must now come to grips with the loss of their oldest sister, and the loss of the Power of Three. However, The Source discovers an unknown sister - the daughter of Patty and her whitelighter Sam, who had been kept hidden, Paige, the now-youngest Halliwell can restore the Power of Three and reunite the sisters' strength as witches.

2. Hell Hath No Fury

Paige takes the Book of Shadows into her work to cast spells which help her co-workers. Meanwhile, Piper, who is filled with anger over the death of Prue and the recent actions of Paige, is possessed by a member of a supernatural band of vigilantes known as the Furies.

3. Enter The Demon

While making a potion, Paige accidentally switches bodies with Phoebe. Meanwhile, when an apprentice ninja kills his master, the sisters must find a way to vanquish him, while learning to control their switched powers.

4. Size Matters

Piper, Phoebe and Paige are shrunk to a height of five inches when they walk into a trap set by a demon named Gamil.

5. A Knight To Remember

Paige accidentally summons a medieval knight, who believes Paige is the love of his life. However, the knight is under the influence of an evil sorceress.

6. Brain Drain

The Source sends Piper into a deep coma, where she perceives an alternate reality. Phoebe and Paige must find a way to return her to reality and save her from giving up her powers while she is delusional.

7. Black As Cole

Cole must face his true demonic nature when he is faced with another demon who is mistaken as the murderer of local witches who belong to the same coven. Meanwhile, Cole proposes to Phoebe, and Piper and Leo consider their future involving children.

8, Muse To My Ears

The Halliwell sisters must find a way to release Muses which have been abducted by a warlock who is attempting to build an evil faction in the absence of the Source.

9. A Paige From The Past

With Leo as her guide, Paige goes back in time to her teen years, in an attempt to resolve her feelings about the accident that killed her parents. Meanwhile, Piper must prevent ghosts, who have inhabited Phoebe's and Cole's bodies, from fulfilling their mission.

10. Trial By Magic

While Phoebe performs jury duty in a murder case, she is hit with a premonition about the real killer, and must convince the rest of the jury that the defendant is not guilty without exposing magic. Meanwhile, Piper, Paige and Leo try help Phoebe find the real murderer, but they stumble upon a gang of demons involved and they must solve the crime and keep Paige's friend out of danger before Phoebe gets thrown off the jury.

11. Lost And Bound

Wanting to protect a ten-year-old orphaned boy who is a firestarter, Piper and Leo try to hunt down the demon before he can deliver the kid to the Source. Meanwhile, Phoebe is given Grams' wedding ring by Cole, but to their surprise the ring has been cursed to transform the wearer into a traditional 1950's suburban housewife.

12. Charmed And Dangerous

The Source breaks an age-old agreement between good and evil by stealing The Hollow, an ancient vapor which he uses to absorb Piper & Paige's powers. Meanwhile, Phoebe must allow Cole to help them, despite her having a premonition involving Cole sacrificing his life to save her from evil, but there may be more to the premonition that Phoebe just can't see.

13. The Three Faces Of Phoebe

Phoebe develops a case of cold feet over marrying Cole and casts a spell which brings a young innocent Phoebe and an old cynical Phoebe to the Manor to help her make a decision. Meanwhile, while Cole is horrified to find that the Source is now taking over his entire being, the Source's chief rival, who believes the Source is dead, is convinced by the Seer to kill the Charmed Ones in order to earn the allegiance of the entire underworld.

14. Marry Go Round

As Phoebe prepares for her wedding day, she is completely unaware that the Source has taken over Cole's body, a plot that will likely ruin the big event. Meanwhile, when the Seer tells the Source that if he can marry Phoebe in the "dark way", it will insure that their future son will be the most powerful, evil being ever.

15. The Fifth Haliwell

Amongst newlyweds, Phoebe & Cole and already-married, Leo & Piper, Paige begins like a fifth-wheel but she continues her suspicions about Cole. Meanwhile, the Source plots to impregnate Phoebe with his evil spawn.

16. Saving Private Leo

When two ghosts from Leo's past return to seek revenge, Leo faces his demons by submitting, causing Piper's life to be threatened,leaving Paige to deal with the situation. Meanwhile, Cole tries to convince Phoebe they need a home of their own.

17. Bite Me

A vampire queen tries to dethrone Cole as ruler of the Underworld and attempts to turn Paige against her sisters. Meanwhile, Phoebe begins to feel under the weather.

18. We're Off To See THe Wizard

Phoebe tells Piper and Paige that she is pregnant, and that Cole is the father. Meanwhile, Piper and Paige team up with a wizard to stop the coronation of the new Source, unaware that it is Cole and Phoebe is soon to be his Queen of the Underworld.

19. Long Live The Queen

Phoebe accepts her new role in Cole's life, but she still sets out to save an innocent after she has a premonition and even seeks her sisters' help in protecting the man. Meanwhile, Piper's heart doesn't seem to be in it as she prepares to defend her family against any new threats from the underworld.

20. Womb Raider

The Seer plans to steal Phoebe's unborn baby so she can raise the child to become the next Source and prevent the throne from passing on to another demon. Meanwhile, the baby begins to take over control of Phoebe's body, which proves dangerous to Paige.

21. Witch Way Now?

When the Angel of Destiny offers the sisters a chance to relinquish their powers and lead normal lives as a reward for vanquishing the Source of All Evil, their decision is put on the back burner. The sisters try to avoid an FBI agent who has them under surveillance, while also dealing with Cole's calls for help, who is trapped in another realm, holding onto his love for Phoebe. Plus, Piper remarkably finds out that she is pregnant.
0Comment72 of 77 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2005
Well it's all change in the `Charmed' world now. I admit to not having high hopes after such a big character change, the top billed star leaving - how can you make up for that?

I'm happy to admit I was wrong. As much as I love Shannen Doherty, new cast member Rose McGowan is kick-ass. The younger half-sister is the daughter of a witch and White-lighter, so her power is a mix of Prue's and the `orbing' abilities of a White-lighter.

Also the main men Leo and Cole are given bigger roles so there is a huge character growth all round for everyone.

I've tried to keep the more personal aspects out of the episode summaries.

Charmed Again (Part 1)

Charmed Again (Part 2)

After Prue's funeral Piper and Phoebe get the shock of their lives when they find out they have a younger sister Paige, the daughter of their Witch mother and her White-lighter lover. But what will Paige think of the Halliwell's danger filled world?

Hell Hath No Fury

Paige, fascinated by her new found magical powers, takes the Book of Shadows to work with her, much to the distress of Piper, who is also suppressing her feelings over Prue's death. All of Piper's hidden anger attracts a group of furies, who turn her into one of their own.

Enter The Demon

Still trying to get a handle on her powers Paige accidentally swaps bodies with Phoebe while making a potion. Meanwhile an apprentice Ninja kills his master, and it's up to our confused trio to vanquish him.

Size Matters

The demon Gamil shrinks his victims and makes them into figurines. The sisters walk right into his lair, and are shrunk to 5". Will they escape, or will they be baked in the kiln?

A Knight To Remember

While telling a story Paige summons a medical knight. Unfortunately he is followed by an evil sorceress intents on tricking him into marriage.

Brain Drain

Piper falls into a coma, and enters an alternate reality where the source convinces her she is crazy, and attempts to trick her into giving up her powers.

Black As Cole

A demon is accused of murdering witches who belong to the same coven. But the murderer is much closer to the Halliwell's. Is redemption for past sins possible?

Muse To My Ears

The sisters attempt to rescue kidnapped Muses.

A Paige From The Past

Still harbouring guilt over the accident that killed her adoptive parents Paige returns to the past with Leo. Back in the present two murderous ghosts process Phoebe and Cole, leaving Piper to separate them.

Trial By Magic

Serving jury duty, Phoebe has a premonition which reveals the accused is innocent, and a demon is guilty. Can the sisters find the demon, and can Phoebe convince the rest of the jury that the man is innocent?

Lost And Bound

A demon tries to deliver a 10 year old fire-starting orphan to the Source, to use his powers for evil. Piper and Leo fight to protect the child.

Charmed And Dangerous

There exists a semi truce between good and evil who band together to guard a mysterious entity known as the Hollow. That truce is broken when the Source releases the Hollow, which wastes to time in absorbing Piper's and Paige's powers. Two down, one to go...

The Three Faces Of Phoebe

Phoebe has cold feet over marrying Cole, so casts a spell, thus releasing a younger Phoebe, and a older Phoebe to help her make a decision.

Marry-Go-Round

The sisters' prepare for Phoebe's wedding, while the new source and the seer plan their own version of the wedding.

The Fifth Halliwell

With Piper and Leo, with newlywed Phoebe and Cole Paige feels like even more of an outsider. Plus she is the only one who can see something wrong with Cole.

Saving Private Leo

Two vengeful ghosts return from Leo's past endangering Piper's life.

Bite Me

Paige is bitten by a vampire and begins to turn. The vampire queen attempts to de-throne the new source.

We're Off To See The Wizard

Piper and Paige work with a wizard to try and stop the coronation of the new source.

Long Live The Queen

The new source now has his new Queen, while Piper appears ready to give up as new threats continually rain down on her destroyed family.

Womb Raider

The seers plan to steal the newly pregnant Queen's unborn baby, so she can raise it to be the next Source.

Witch Way Now?

The Angel of Destiny offers the sisters a chance to relinquish their powers and lead normal lives as a reward for their selfless sacrifices.
0Comment68 of 74 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 22, 2006
in my opinion, season four is a fitting coda to the Charmed that we knew and loved way back when. While Shannen Doherty is certainly missed, Rose McGowan does a great job stepping in her shoes. Season four is the shows most controversial season it seems, hated by Prue fans because it's a Paige season, and hated by Paige fans because the show is darker and not overtly campy and childish as in latter seasons... I personally loved this season.

Season four picks up not long after the death of Prue in the season 3 finale "All Hell Breaks Loose", Piper and Phoebe find out there is another half-sister out there named Paige, who is coming into her witch powers as well. The two main arcs during this season are Paige accepting her destiny as a Charmed one, moving in with the Halliwell sisters and the doomed relationship between Cole and Phoebe. I've noticed a lot of Buffy fans who are critical of the relationship between these two because it somewhat mirrors that of Buffy and Angel, but I don't understand it. I love both shows but Cole was darker than Angel because he chose many times to turn to the dark side, while Angel's soul was sucked out of him because of a moment of happiness.

Starting with the fifth season of Charmed, the show lightens up quite a bit and becomes more fantasy driven, it's fun for a few episodes but those of us who saw how GOOD the early episodes of Charmed was lost interest once this change of events takes place. In this sense, season four is the last season of Charmed I plan to own on DVD because for me, everything ties up perfectly and I am not so wild about the show it became the next season.
0Comment25 of 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2006
I have to admit at first I was not happy with Rose McGowan playing Paige Matthews. I swore to never watch the show again! But after a couple years of being stubborn I have watched season 4 and really enjoyed it. Paige brought a whole new perspective to the show. To me she has a lot of Prue's charateristics...very independant and always trusts her instincts. How many times did Prue have instincts that Piper and Phoebe didn't believe? Paige is the same way...especially when it came to Cole, Prue never trusted him either. In episode 16 when Phoebe confronts Paige about not liking/trusting Cole...Paige is honest and tells her the truth and then both Piper and Phoebe walk off leaving Paige by herself and Cole has really turned into the Source! That drove me crazy! Then in epsisode 5 Size Matters, Paige had bad feelings about that house and Piper didn't believe her.

But one of my favorite episodes is episode 3 Hell Hath No Fury, Piper is still battling the loss of Prue and trying to accept Paige as her new sister...ends up turning into a Fury. Leo and Paige orb her to Prue's grave forcing her to "let go" and try to move on with her life. Very touching and emotional episode especially at the end when Piper goes to Paige's work to make up for trying to kill her...leaves telling her boss "Paige is my sister".

All in all season four is just as good as seasons 1 - 3. Even with such a drastic character change the show is obviously doing well they are on it's 8th season now!
0Comment12 of 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2005
Having started watching Charmed from Day One, both my husband and I instantly loved this show - of course both of us for different reasons. What man in his right mind would not enjoy watching 3 beautiful women run around in skimpy clothes? But I loved it for the sisterly thing.

I remember hearing, before the start of Season 4, that Shannon was leaving the show. I did not know how they were going to handle her leaving in a plotline and still keep the Power of 3, but I was thrilled that she would no longer be a dominant character in every episode. Prue becomes a man, Prue becomes a dog, Prue's old boyfriend becomes a demon, Prue gets kidnapped. Even on Piper and Leo's wedding day who was the show about - Prue. She splits into her fun and serious self. Prue, Prue, Prue..... I was getting tired of watching to see what happened to Prue every week. With the start of Season 4, the episodes switched from being about a single sister all the time, to being more about the 3 sisters (OK, 2 sisters and a half sister) together in each episode. Yes, Season 4 there is some emphasis on each sister alone in some episodes (Phoebe/Cole storyline) (Piper/Leo storyline) (Paige really being introduced) but on the whole the stories do not revolve around a single sister. And sisters is what makes this show. It is not only about them being witches - it is about the sisterhood. What one sister would do for another. What one sister would do for a half-sister. I would love to have 2 sisters that I could rely on to save my butt from some dangerous sitiuation every week. But seasons 1-3 only gave me a taste of what that sisterly bond COULD really be. Season 4 on through now shows what it REALLY is. The true POWER of Three. Not the witchly power - the sisterly power! That is the true power. That is what this show is really meant to be about.

The writers and producers did the best they could on explaining Prue's death. The season starts with Prue's funeral. Shannon had already left the show when they started filming Season 4. They did not know at the end of Season 3 that she was not coming back. Most times when a character is killed off it happens with the knowledge of the fact that the actor is not coming back. They did not have that luxury here. Leo CAN NOT heal the dead, and the explaination was that both sisters were severly wounded, but that by the time Leo healed Piper - Prue died. Piper even yells at Leo that he saved the wrong sister and that he should have not saved her because she was his wife, but that he should have saved Prue because she was the better witch. What better explaination do you want?

Paige could not have come at a better time - or her origin explained in a better way. Piper and Leo's relationship - a white-lighter and a witch - forbidden. But they were not the first. The girls mother Patti was the first to have such a relationship. And not only did she fall in love with her white-lighter - she had a child. Paige is that child. As grams and Patti are explaining Paige to the girls, Cole sums it up perfectly. He looks at Piper and Leo and says "The apple doesn't fall far from the forbidden tree". Perfect!! I had seen Rose McGowan before and was not so sure I was going to like her - but she proved to me that I should have faith in those who write and produce the show. They know more than I do about casting. It was fun learning to like Paige. And Paige really changed the family dynamics. Piper is no longer the middle child, but now the oldest sister. Phoebe is no longer the baby, but the middle sister. This rarely happens on a program and it was great watching them develop in their new family positions.

And the men of Charmed come more into their own starting this season. In seasons 1-3 the men show up, here and there, but they really become part of the show starting here. Julian/Cole was actually getting better air time than Brain/Leo. This season we get to see a show all about Leo when his past returns to haunt him - literally. And Julian really shines as a truly evil Cole. Not to mention an evil Phoebe!

For those fans (and I have to use the term lightly here) who do nothing but complain that Shannon/Prue left the show - why still watch? Why review a show you no longer watch? As I read in one review - the show is what it is - and you can complain and whine about Prue versus Paige all you want but one fact remains - Prue is gone - Paige is in! The show became much better for it. It has lasted 5 seasons without Shannon. She must not have made the show or else it would have ended the year after she left. And I need to answer the few reviewers who mentioned about hating the fact that instead of Holly's name appearing first in the credit's she is last. Yes, they show Rose and Alyssa, then they show "Holly Marie Combs AS Piper". In 99 percent of shows, when they show the actor/actress and then below add "as...." that is the focus character and they are usually shown last. Holly is not only an actress on the show, but a producer also, and she is part of deciding how the credits go. The WB has nothing to do with it. They only buy and air the show from the producers who make the show.

IF you have bought Seasons 1,2 and 3, then you absolutely NEED to buy Season 4. This is the season where the show shines. To be able to completely change the dynamics of a family is no easy task and it was done here perfectly. Go Piper/Holly. Go Phoebe/Alyssa and go Paige/Rose. The Power of Three - better than ever!!!
0Comment20 of 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2008
I never watched "Charmed" until it was in it's rerun stage. I loved the first 3 seasons very much, but once Alyssa Milano, and the rest of the producers hurded Shannen Doherty from the show, there was too much of the flavor of the original theme lost. Never was there a complete explaination as to why the sisters could not play with time and return Pru, as with everyone else who had died. You know bring her back from the dead, or prevent said death in the first place. Big mistake.

Next when they welcomed Piper's children into the fold and they called upon past generations in the welcoming ceremony, but there was no Pru. Snub? Oh yes a new sister joined the fold, but it just never had the same draw. Suddenly it became the "Phoebe Show," and the rest of the sisters became nothing more than background. That balance was lost.

Shannen was very easy to blame, because of her track record but I have always felt there was more to the story, and the series suffered because of that change, a change for the worse I might add.
77 comments22 of 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2005
Charmed is one of my favorite shows and I like all of the seasons. I like Shannen Doherty and think she is a good actress and I think Pru was a great character but as much as I liked Pru I like the character Paige better because she is just a more interesting character. Pru was a great character for the most part but sometimes she was just too bossy, cranky and uptight and I also found her to be way to conservative and I just think Paige is much more lively and spontaneous and I think Rose McGowan does a good job playing her and I think the fourth season is a great and fun season and being a fan of Fairytales and Mythology I liked how they incorporated stories that involved fairtytales and Greek Myths, etc and I love the pop culture references! I own seasons 1, two and 3 and I can't wait to own season 4 and the rest of the seasons too.
0Comment9 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2006
This is my favorite season of Charmed. My least favorite charactor Prue was gone. I don't know whether it was the fault of the actress or the writers but I got tired of everything being about Prue. Paige regeneratized the show. She was new, fresh and exciting. She could orb which made saving innocents a lot faster. Prue's death also gave Piper and Phoebe the chance to step out of their big sister's shadow and had more room to move. The Phoebe and Cole storyline moved along. I loved Cole fighting his demon half and Phoebe, who's previous seasons always hinted towards the possiblity of Phoebe's darker side. This season delievers it. Piper dealing with trying to become pregnant and having to take over as the older sister. I also liked Piper's grieving over her older sister's death. She made it seem very realitic. Also, Prue's death gave the Charmed Ones all the more reason to go after the Source. There was a clear enemy in the Charmed world and it was very personal. A great season all around.
0Comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2006
Inspired by the actual Earth-centered religion of Wicca, many television viewers in 1998 became enchanted with the fictional story of three extraordinary sisters who, after their grandmother's death, discover that they are witches and that each has a unique magical power. The oldest (the character died at the end of the third season), Prudence "Prue" Halliwell (Shannen Doherty), had discovered that she had a magical "punch" with which she could physically force anyone (or anything) to be thrown away from her. The middle sister, Piper Halliwell (Holly Marie Combs), discovered that she could magically freeze anyone or anything. The youngest sister (during the first three seasons), Phoebe Halliwell (Alyssa Milano), discovered that she had a magical gift of foresight that allows her to see potentially disastrous future events for individuals if she touches an object that has been handled by them. As it turned out, the sisters' mother, Patty Halliwell (regular guest Finola Hughes), and their grandmother, Penny 'Grams' Halliwell (regular guest Jennifer Rhodes), were also witches. Hidden within their San Francisco house attic is their famed Book of Shadows (book of spells and information about various paranormal beings, such as demons and white lighters). The sisters also discovered that they were unique among witches in that they possessed the very powerful ability to invoke the "power of three", which is a very powerful incantation that can be used to destroy demons and other evil beings. In fact, that became their mission: to protect the world from the attacks of various demons, warlocks and other evil beings. Of course, these newly discovered abilities and frequent attacks from demons wrought havoc for the sisters' lives, especially their careers and attempts at dating. However, the sisters also discovered that they were not alone in their efforts as they are frequently visited by the ghosts of their mother and grandmother, and that the equivalent of a guardian angel known as a "white lighter", Leo Watts (Brian Krause), not only provides them with important information and assistance, he can also heal them of their wounds. The sisters are also visited occasionally by their estranged father, Victor Bennett (regular guest James Read); and because the sisters are so frequently involved with seemingly criminal activities, they become friends with local police officer Darryl Morris (Dorian Gregory). Then, there's Cole Turner (Julian McMahon, who started during the third season): a demon in love with Phoebe that often comes to the aid of the sisters.

The fourth season marked what is probably the most significant change in the series to date. Namely, with the death of Prue at the end of the third season, not only were Piper & Phoebe very upset, they also believed that it was the end of the "power of three". However, circumstances lead them into meeting a young woman named Paige Matthews (Rose McGowan), who just so happens to be the illegitimate daughter of their deceased mother and a white lighter. Having been raised by adoptive parents, Paige comes to accept her newly found sisters and discovers that like them, she is also a witch. Also, because her father was a white lighter, she has the powers of a white lighter. Other interesting developments during the fourth season include Cole proposing to Phoebe, but their marriage may not be rosy as the Source slowly takes over Cole and is highly influenced by the evil Seer (Debbi Morgan).

With a new sister, the fourth season's 22 episodes that aired between 2001 and 2002 were very good. They include "Charmed Again Part 1", "Charmed Again Part 2", "Hell Hath No Fury", "Enter the Demon", "Size Matters", "A Knight to Remember", "Brain Drain", "Black As Cole", "Muse to My Ears", "A Paige from the Past", "Trial By Magic", "Lost and Bound", "Charmed and Dangerous", "The Three Faces of Phoebe", "Marry-Go-Round", "The Fifth Halliwheel", "Saving Private Leo", "Bite Me", "We're Off to See the Wizard", "Long Live the Queen", "Womb Raider" and "Witch Way Now?".

With engaging characters, wonderful scripts, exciting plots and great special effects, I rate the very fourth season of "Charmed" with a resounding 5 out of 5 stars and highly recommend it. Rose McGowan did a stupendous job of becoming the new third sister following the departure of Shannen Doherty at the end of the third season.
0Comment7 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.