Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An inside peek at "the Palace of the Peak" and its glorious gardens
This hour-long 1995 DVD tour of "the grandest country house in all England," is a stunner. A great preview for anyone planning a visit and an entrancing enticement for the armchair traveler as well.

After the 11th Duke of Devonshire's death in 2004, his widow, Deborah, the youngest and last of the famous Mitford sisters and well known as the author of several...
Published 23 months ago by Sharon Isch

versus
18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Charming, but insufficient
When the late Duke was still alive, this TV documentary was made. The "Marquess of Hartingdon" is the "complimentary title" of the heir to the Duke (he is the current Duke). Lovely shots of the rooms, orante and pretty walls, furniture, the various out buildings, and the statues collected and stored in the former Oragerarium.

Ideal for those who have been...
Published on October 5, 2009 by A. M. Wagner


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An inside peek at "the Palace of the Peak" and its glorious gardens, October 28, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chatsworth: The Grandest Country House in All England-Duke and Duchess of Devonshire, Marquess of Hartington, Derbyshire countryside (DVD)
This hour-long 1995 DVD tour of "the grandest country house in all England," is a stunner. A great preview for anyone planning a visit and an entrancing enticement for the armchair traveler as well.

After the 11th Duke of Devonshire's death in 2004, his widow, Deborah, the youngest and last of the famous Mitford sisters and well known as the author of several marvelous books on Chatsworth*, became the Dowager Duchess. She now lives nearby in a former vicarage. (Both appear briefly in this film.) Their son, Peregrine, better known as "Stoker," became the 12th Duke, and it is he, then the Marquess of Hartington, who provides the excellent narration here for the house and grounds that would, a decade later, become his. The views of the Chatsworth gardens throughout the four seasons are magnificent enough to make you want to plan four visits instead of just one.

Of course there've been some changes in the 18 years since this film was made and the eight since the duchy changed hands. A visit to the Chatsworth web site showcases many of them--most particularly the 12th Duke and Duchess's addition of modern art and sculpture to both the house and grounds (loved by some, loathed by others). It also has a wealth of practical information: listings of special events, tips on how to get there and places to to eat, stay and shop on or near the estate etc.

Also of note: In 2011, BBC TV did a three-part series on Chatsworth, but at this writing it doesn't seem to be available on DVD in America. I'll revisit this review if/when I learn otherwise.

* Meanwhile three books by the Dowager Duchess that I enjoyed and think you might, too are:Chatsworth: The House which delves into Devonshire/Cavendish family history and shows both the thirty-some rooms on the public tour as well as the private family quarters, The Garden at Chatsworth,and Round About Chatsworth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Charming, but insufficient, October 5, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chatsworth: The Grandest Country House in All England-Duke and Duchess of Devonshire, Marquess of Hartington, Derbyshire countryside (DVD)
When the late Duke was still alive, this TV documentary was made. The "Marquess of Hartingdon" is the "complimentary title" of the heir to the Duke (he is the current Duke). Lovely shots of the rooms, orante and pretty walls, furniture, the various out buildings, and the statues collected and stored in the former Oragerarium.

Ideal for those who have been there. Like a collection of movies shot by someone who had wide access. Albeit remastered from 1980's film. This DVD does not include Edensor Village, nor very much of the Deer Park. And thank goodness it was made before the *truly awful* modern sculptures were placed in the long views!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable DVD Visit, September 29, 2010
By 
carriew "carriew" (southern california) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chatsworth: The Grandest Country House in All England-Duke and Duchess of Devonshire, Marquess of Hartington, Derbyshire countryside (DVD)
This brought back lovely memories for us -- beautifully photographed and put together. Commentary is often a distraction in travel DVDs, but we found this to be low-key and pleasant. Like another reviewer here, I wish there had been more of the gardens included, because they were a favorite for us, too. Still, it's a very pleasant way to remember a visit to Chatsworth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant Tour of This Beautiful Estate, November 4, 2013
By 
S. E. Jarvis (Encino, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chatsworth (Amazon Instant Video)
This was an interesting video but I preferred the "Chatsworth" episode from the "Secrets of Iconic British Estates." I felt I learned more from that program. However, this one did have a more personal touch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chatting about Chatsworth, December 30, 2013
This review is from: Chatsworth (Amazon Instant Video)
If you were visually stunned by the beauty of Mr. Darcy's home in PRIDE AND PREJUDICE (2005), this film gives you a visual tour of that building. Chatsworth is one of the most well-known of English Country homes. It has been inhabited by the same family for all of its existence. One of its most famous occupants, the youngest of the Mitford sisters, Deb, is in this film briefly. Once her husband died, her son, who narrates the film, took over its ownership and management.

He takes you around to many of the rooms - although there are too many to view - and you see bedrooms, the great entry, the library (where Deb is situated), and the State apartment and sculpture room among others. I was actually surprised at how dark many of the rooms were. He also notes some of the important antiques, art and coronation chairs of English Kings which belong to the home. You venture outside to see some of the surrounding gardens and landscape and outer buildings in all of the four seasons. I would have liked to have gone into the hunting lodge.

The tour lasts almost an hour and the narration is pleasant and appropriate. It adds to the ambiance to have the current heir to the home talk about his inheritance. This provides a inside look to one of England's most historical and arresting homes. It may whet your appetite to read more about it and its inhabitants, and perhaps visit it one day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like being there again..., October 24, 2013
This review is from: Chatsworth (Amazon Instant Video)
While at the visitor's center in Summer Wine country, I ask the clerk if there was a "manor house' open to the public.
She mentioned a couple. So I ask,"If you had to pick only one..." She didn't hesitate. "Chatsworth!" She also remarked what a beautiful drive it was.
After getting lost only once, and navigating on the left hand side of the road; I stopped at Chatsworth farms for lunch in the converted barn. There is also a market to purchase produce and gifts. Nearby is the village of Bakewell and on to Chatsworth itself. I spent the day roaming the rooms that are open to the public (all in the video) and then the gardens and hiking trails until sunset.
Although it is a private residence, I felt like the grounds belonged to the public. Locals walked through pastures and gardens on their way to the village, children use the the fountains and cascades as a water park, and the staff are there to make your visit rememberable. One even told me how to get to the theater tucked away in the tower (not on the regular tour).
If you never get there, this video is the next best thing.
Oh, just a thought about the modern sculpture the present Duke has added. Each generation has left its addition to Chatsworth. I'm sure there were critics of the 6th Duke at the turn of the 17th century for liking all that "modern sculpture". The buiding is only stone (however beautiful and perfect it may seem). It is the family, their history, and their love that is the gift of Chatsworth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I enoyed having the son of the current owners showing us around his family home., October 21, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chatsworth: The Grandest Country House in All England-Duke and Duchess of Devonshire, Marquess of Hartington, Derbyshire countryside (DVD)
Even though I also watched "The Secrets of Chatsworth" on PBS, there wasn't as much information about the interior of the home, only the grounds and gardens. I hought it was nice to have the heir to the estate show us around his family home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice trip, August 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chatsworth: The Grandest Country House in All England-Duke and Duchess of Devonshire, Marquess of Hartington, Derbyshire countryside (DVD)
My husband and I like to watch films about these old houses. They are so interesting. Just seeing the house and the way it is put together is fascinating to us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding DVD about a stunning home!, June 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chatsworth: The Grandest Country House in All England-Duke and Duchess of Devonshire, Marquess of Hartington, Derbyshire countryside (DVD)
The DVD takes you through so much of the house, gives information on generations of family, shows furnishing that have been there for centuries & history about the family that has owned it. You feel like the tour has taken you into parts of the estate that the usual visitor would have missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good to know about the wonderful art pieces and landscape,, January 1, 2014
This review is from: Chatsworth (Amazon Instant Video)
although I would like to see more about the building construction itself. It means, I am more interested how the rooms where used in the daily life, for example, like it is shown in the TV series Downton Abbey. I wanted to see the secret passages and mysteries it still hides. I guess, moreover, I would like to see bathrooms, kitchens, utensils, wardrobes, all these in detail. I know it is my particular interest. Anyway, it was exciting for me to see inside this amazing building, because there are not castles in the country I was born. Besides I probably will never have the chance to visit one of them in my life. Overall, it was interesting to watch and get to know about the beautiful gardens, the immaculate landscape and the centuries of history enclosed at Chatsworth. Thank you for reading, and I apologize for any English mistakes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.