Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A surprisingly in-depth and sympathetic portrayal of this complex figure
Did you know that Che was asthmatic? Che: A Graphic Biography is a black-and-white graphic novel presentation of the life, death, and ideals of revolutionary icon Ernesto "Che" Guevara. From his motorcycle journey through Latin America to his rise to fame as a leader of Fidel Castro's movement to his travels through Africa to his involvement in the Bolivian insurgency...
Published on February 10, 2009 by Midwest Book Review

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars mediocre
The story got disconnected a couple times as if something were skipped and the graphic isn't impressive.
Published 1 month ago by Back2Bassick


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A surprisingly in-depth and sympathetic portrayal of this complex figure, February 10, 2009
Did you know that Che was asthmatic? Che: A Graphic Biography is a black-and-white graphic novel presentation of the life, death, and ideals of revolutionary icon Ernesto "Che" Guevara. From his motorcycle journey through Latin America to his rise to fame as a leader of Fidel Castro's movement to his travels through Africa to his involvement in the Bolivian insurgency that ultimately led to his death, Che: A Graphic Biography is a surprisingly in-depth and sympathetic portrayal of this complex figure. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Che for new, thoughtful generation, January 17, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Alot of intensive research went into this graphic bio, which adds to its appeal, especially for a younger generation. Takes read way beyond the tee icon -- and 'cut out' revolutionary -- to his multiple accomplishments globally. Such a keen social conscience and a rare willingness to sacrifice for what he perceived as a better world.
Appropriate for gifting high-school-age grandchildren, your adult daughter and nephew. Beyond US propaganda, Spain Rodriguez's concept and drawing is exceptional--an heirloom in the making.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Che book ever!!!!, August 8, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I loved this book because it didn't make Che out to be the handsome young hero yet gave his life the meaning he deserved. I think the graphics we amazing and would recommend this book to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable and informative!, January 18, 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Che: A Graphic Biography (Paperback)
Always enjoyed Spain's art ever since his "Trashman" days at EVO. This is a well written and beautifully illustrated Che bio that showed me many aspects of the revolutionary icon's bio i had been unaware of. He (Che) was quite a world traveler, and my favorite anecdote deals with his exasperation while training African cadre that scoffs at taking basic military precautions because they insist they are protected from bullets by magic. One guy tells Che not to worry because the other side believes it too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars mediocre, December 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Che: A Graphic Biography (Paperback)
The story got disconnected a couple times as if something were skipped and the graphic isn't impressive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great storytelling, September 17, 2011
This review is from: Che: A Graphic Biography (Paperback)
Strong artistic work, absorbing read. You want this book.

Another review mentions "Appropriate for gifting high-school-age" -- yes, and younger; the violence children are exposed to in quite mainstream cartoons is way worse than this, and the writing is very accessible. I do not mean to suggest that this is a kiddie book, just that it is a uniquely digestible (and thus important) history. Rodriguez and Joe Sacco (and Chester Brown, and &c) deserve a lot more mainstream attention and praise; it is no small feat to make history and politics into something so page-turning and accessible.

I have never been able to read Spain without kinda wincing at the rough edges -- a Spain Rodriguez breast is a sight to behold -- but his bold style works well here; a Che biography with soothing visuals would not have made the same impact.

I'll wait a bit on passing down my other comix but this is a great addition to my library for homeschooling my young daughter, and I will be amazed if it does not inspire great interest in Latin American politics; I am off to find myself a history of Cuba. Che's life and work is fascinating stuff, and I feel sorry for people unable to see past their own politics far enough to realise as much. There is plenty to criticise about Che, but also much to love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, August 8, 2014
By 
Debora D. Royal (Dumfries, VA United States) - See all my reviews
Excellent transaction and product!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cutting edge comic book, December 22, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
"Che - A Graphic Biography" captured the essence of the Che story. It did justice to both the man and the myth. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very insightful look into Che's life, January 15, 2012
By 
King Yin Yan (Lantau, Hong Kong) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Che: A Graphic Biography (Paperback)
The book follows Che's early life and gives us a glimpse into his psychological / personality development. On p24 Che is quoted with this observation: "The black is indolent and a dreamer; spending his meager wage on frivolity and drink. The European has a tradition of work and saving, which has pursued him as far as this corner of American and drives him to advance himself." (Read the book or you'll get it out of context.) But I think that is a very interesting comment. Later in the book you will find that Che was trying to fight along with recruits who were very incompetent and superstitious. Eventually that proved to be his undoing. Perhaps we can learn from this that it is impossible to help losers indiscriminately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not bad..., October 4, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Pretty good artwork...not great but have seen far worse. Not sure were the author got some of his facts but it was okay. Delivery time was quick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Che: A Graphic Biography
Che: A Graphic Biography by (Cartoonist) Spain (Paperback - October 17, 2008)
Used & New from: $6.93
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.