Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ah, the glorious return of Kelly Willis
The first 'really must buy' CD of 2013 in the alt-country/Americana genre. A duet album with husband singer-songwriter Bruce Robison has been muted for some time, especially as they have been performing together since before the duet Christmas album they made a few years back. That was a nice Christmas-frothy album, but this is something else. Great new songs by Bruce,...
Published 23 months ago by F Arnold

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars one great song
ok record. Olve Kelly Willi, but just one really good song(track 5). would buy anything she sings anyway. Rest of the songs could be a little more hooky.
Published 22 months ago by super#1


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ah, the glorious return of Kelly Willis, February 12, 2013
This review is from: Cheater's Game (Audio CD)
The first 'really must buy' CD of 2013 in the alt-country/Americana genre. A duet album with husband singer-songwriter Bruce Robison has been muted for some time, especially as they have been performing together since before the duet Christmas album they made a few years back. That was a nice Christmas-frothy album, but this is something else. Great new songs by Bruce, superb covers (check out The Blasters' 'Border Radio' or 'Born to Roll'), some top quality players with some very sympathetic instrumentation, and then mix in the outstanding vocals of Kelly Willis, possibly the best female country vocalist in the business. No egos at work here, just great duet singing with the vocals pushed forwards or back in the mix according to the requirements of the song and the lyrics, and beautiful steel and fiddle inserts. If there was any justice, she should be a megastar with record sales in the tens of millions. As it is, it is great for fans to hear her first serious outing for more than 5 years. Outstanding stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific, February 13, 2013
By 
Thomas Senor (Fayetteville, AR, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cheater's Game (MP3 Music)
If you are fan of either Kelly Willis or Bruce Robison, you'll love this. If you don't know much about them, think Emmylou and Gram. If country music played on the radio sounded like this, I'd listen. Great vocals, fine melodies and harmonies, and solid lyrics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A long time coming!, February 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cheater's Game (Audio CD)
A great treat for Americana fans. Kelly Willis and Bruce Robison long ago figured out that their chocolate and peanut butter (respectively) went great together and live audiences have seen it happen. Thanks for making a beautiful and fun album! Looking forward to the next show in the North East.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars they are meant to sing together, February 26, 2013
By 
Kellie (Hartsburg, MO United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cheater's Game (MP3 Music)
Beautiful song choices and their voices go together like gin and tonic. Kelly's voice is gorgeous and Bruce is no slouch either. Lets hope this isn't their last collaboration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Music, February 14, 2013
By 
Martin V. Lucas III (Pflugerville, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cheater's Game (MP3 Music)
Texas talent at its' best. This is what keeps the Texas music scene alive and vibrant. Suggest everyone but it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't miss this one!, February 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cheater's Game (Audio CD)
Most albums today will contain only a couple of good songs - the rest are just filler. Hence the success of music download websites such as iTunes, allowing the public to pick & choose the tracks. I rarely purchase an album, but this entire album is great! From the covers, I especially loved Border Radio and 9,999,999 Tears. Bruce Robison once again proves his song writing ability with Waterfall, Dreamin', No Kind of Dancer. Lifeline has been one of my favorite songs since I first heard it. While the version on this album is good, I prefer Bruce's live version (like at the Broken Spoke!). Kelly's voice is simply amazing. I never get tired of listening to her. Kelly & Bruce's harmonies flow beautifully. The other outstanding quality about Cheater's Game is that it is NOT over-produced. It seems everything out of Nashville (& in pop music) today is so full of noise (excessive backing music way beyond what you'd hear live) you can't hear the song & singer. It should be noted Cheater's Game has been on top of the national Americana Music chart for four weeks as of today (2-27-13). If you like Texas Music, this is one album to own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great new CD from Kelly, April 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cheater's Game (Audio CD)
I have been a Kelly Willis fan since I saw her on Austin City Limits in 1990. I saw her with Bruce in Nashville NC in 2003 when they toured together. They are a great duo, however, I would like another solo album from Kelly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just great!, February 25, 2013
By 
clutj "John" (Houston, Texas) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cheater's Game (Audio CD)
Superb songwriting by Bruce, great vocals by both, a sharp backing band, one of those albums where everything is working perfectly. Americana, alt-country...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars at last, February 21, 2013
This review is from: Cheater's Game (MP3 Music)
Kelly willis's achingly beautiful voice and her and Bruce's great songwriting talents blend into a fantastic album of ear candy!! Been wating for these tow to do this since they first got together Thank you, thank you, thank you!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Required Listening, February 18, 2013
By 
William L. Bunt (Pottstown, PA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cheater's Game (MP3 Music)
Absolutely a delight! I've always been more of a Kelly than Bruce fan, and though I've liked their previous collaborations somewhat, I approached this full-fledged effort with some trepidation. I shouldn't have worried! Bruce takes a bit of a backseat to let Kelly shine (as she deserves!), and his voice complements her perfectly. This is a true example of where the sum is greater than the parts. A must have for fans of Americana and traditional country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Cheater's Game
Cheater's Game by Bruce Robison (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.