Customer Reviews


312 Reviews
5 star:
 (249)
4 star:
 (50)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


75 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best first season of any TV situation comedy ever
"Cheers" is an atypical classic television situation comedy in that its first season (1982-83) is arguably its best. The show won the Emmys for Outstanding Comedy Series, Lead Actress in a Comedy Series: Shelley Long, Directing in a Comedy Series: James Burrows, "Showdown (Part 2)," Writing in a Comedy Series: Glen Charles, Les Charles, "Give Me...
Published on June 22, 2003 by Amazon Customer

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars False Advertising, NOT FREE ON AMAZON Prime like they promise before you sign up.
False Advertising Amazon advertises that this is for free Seasons 1-11 but once you start watching it the free Prime option goes away.
Published 6 months ago by Sam


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

75 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best first season of any TV situation comedy ever, June 22, 2003
By 
Amazon Customer (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (COMMUNITY FORUM 04)   
This review is from: Cheers: Season 1 (DVD)
"Cheers" is an atypical classic television situation comedy in that its first season (1982-83) is arguably its best. The show won the Emmys for Outstanding Comedy Series, Lead Actress in a Comedy Series: Shelley Long, Directing in a Comedy Series: James Burrows, "Showdown (Part 2)," Writing in a Comedy Series: Glen Charles, Les Charles, "Give Me a Ring Sometime," and even Outstanding Individual Achievement/Graphic Design and Title Sequences: James Castle, Bruce Bryant. This would explain why the series, which finished 75th in the Nielsens with a 13.1 rating, survived on NBC's Thursday night lineup.
Looking back on the series as a whole it becomes clear that one inherent advantage for "Cheers" was that no matter what joke the writers came up with there was the perfect character to tell it. If you had a sarcastic barb then that went to Carla (Rhea Perlman), a dumb comment would come out of the mouth of Coach (Nick Colasanto), the arcane bar trivia belonged to Cliff (John Ratzenberger), the caustic non-sequiters and marriage humor was the province of Norm (George Wendt), the intellectual bon mots went to Diane (Shelley Long), and Sam (Ted Danson) played the Lord of the Come Ons. Equally as important, the bar where everybody knows your name was an appropriate place for all of these types of humor. As Diane says in the first episode: "Where better than here to study life in all its facets? People meet in bars, they part, they rejoice, they suffer, they come here to be with their own kind."
But the most important thing was that "Cheers" made the opposite attract concept work. Televison has a hard time handling romantic comedy. Making it work, like on "Lois & Clark: The New Adventures of Superman" is the exception; the rule is Dave and Maddie imploding on "Moonlighting." But Cheers managed to make the story of Sam and Diane with its on again, off again, really off, back on, never going to happen, then again who knows for several seasons. On the eve of her elopement Diane Chambers comes to Cheers and while sitting on a barstool sees her entire life crumble before her eyes. By the end of the night she is a barmaid and although Diane and Sam have nothing in common, they are doomed. At the end of the season when Sam's brother shows up to sweep Diane off her feet with an invitation to Paris, we know that Sam will finally confess his feelings ("Showdown, Part 2"), although Diane has to threaten to run her fingernails on the chalkboard to get him to stay. Then comes one of the great final clinches of all time.
I always say that I liked "Cheers" before Sam left the show, which confuses people since it was Shelley Long's Diane who left the show (but managed to return a few times). But my point is that the Sam of these early years, and the first season in particular, was a much different character from the show's second half. There was a pathos to Sam, which disappeared when the mental image of him dancing with Diane when they were old and grey from her final episode faded away. Sam the womanizer was a joke during those final seasons: but in this first year you can see how charming he can be: the point is amply proven when Sam tells Diane where he remembers seeing the same color as he sees in her eyes. There is also an edge to Sam as an ex-baseball player ("Sam at Eleven" and "Endless Slump") that disappears later on as it becomes one giant joke.
When you watch the complete first season again on DVD you will see that there is a serious side to "Cheers." Watch Coach's daughter (Allyce Beasley) try to explain to her father that she is not beautiful in "The Coach's Daughter" without crying. Of course that was the episode they showed to honor Nick Colasanto when he passed away. But there is also the choice episodes that feature quick appearances ("Sam at Eleven") and complete episodes ("Pick a Con...Any Con") focusing on Harry the Hat (Harry Anderson). Another thing that helps take the pressure off the Sam-Diane potential romance is the bumbling antagonism between Diane and Carla. This is a constant note that can pop up at any time during an episode, but sometimes Carla goes out of her way to play with Diane's mind ("Truth or Consequences," "Father Knows Last").
This is my favorite season of "Cheers" and I am willing to take on any and all comers who want to offer rebuttal to my claim that this is the greatest first season for any situation comedy in television history. "I Love Lucy," "The Honeymooners," "The Dick Van Dyke Show," "The Mary Tyler Moore Show," "All in the Family," "M*A*S*H," "Seinfeld," "Friends," all got a lot better after their inaugural season. None of them started as great as "Cheers" did, and if you want to discuss this over a drink I will have a cola with a couple of cherries in it, please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars At least all the episodes are here!, May 26, 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cheers: Season 1 (DVD)
If you are Cheers fan, obviously this is a must have. Where else can you get every episode from the first season in one package? The lack of extras is unfortunate, but the reason I purchased the set and the reason I watch it is for the show itself.
Sadly, though, the episodes are not presented in their original order. How hard would it have been to put episodes 1-6 on disk 1, and so on? What's episode 7, Coach's Daughter, doing placed as the second selection of disk one? I may not watch every episode in order every single time I view the disks, but upon my first viewing I would have liked if I could watch the episodes in order without switching disks until I completed each disk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars After all these years, Cheers still sparkles, May 23, 2003
By 
WillRM (San Diego, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cheers: Season 1 (DVD)
It has been a long wait for those of us addicted to Cheers. But patience is rewarded.
The clarity of the images makes it seem like one is watching each episode for the first time. It is easy to forget how REALLY good the first year was (and still is). The shows are very intelligent, noticeably more so than later years, and witty. It is fun to observe the inconsistencies in the characters -- in one episode Norm is clearly not married and Sam brings his "ex-wife" into the bar. But at the same time the characters, without the more clearly defined "roles" of later years, are often more interesting, most especially Carla.
I met Rhea Perlman and she was understandably not all that proud of the rather 2 dimensional Carla of the later years. Here the character is wise-cracking, but with more depth and Perlman's considerable talents have room to shine. Also, Coach is a a great character, expertly realised, and more. One episode has the scene with Coach and his daughter Lisa, who is "not comfortable with her beauty," that is arguably the most moving, and genuinely so, scene ever in a TV series. And the sexual tension between Sam and Diane is about as good as it gets. I marvel that this season's shows were the lowest rated program on TV -- it is simply great comedy, suberbly written, and well performed by a strong cast that is consistently "on." How extremely fortunate that NBC stuck with the show!
Technically, as mentioned above, it is amazing to see the familiar images in such detail and clarity. The sound quality too is much improved over broadcasts of the time and most of the reruns. And, of course, each episode is complete -- unlike the broadcast reruns which frequently cut lines, and occasionally scenes.
One quibble. The shows are not in their original broadcast order, which makes the inconsistencies in character development even more baffling. But it is a quibble.
Overall, magnificent. Highly recommended.
So now, when do we get season 2?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everyboby Know's Their Names, April 19, 2003
By 
Raine (United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cheers: Season 1 (DVD)
Before Woody, Rebecca, or even Frasier joined the gang, there was just Sam, Diane, Carla, Cliff, Coach, and of course NORM! Or as Diane would say Norman. Cheers is one of my faovrite shows ever, and with good cause. Although the show really starts to bloom in the second season, the first is still worth getting. The show starts off with a 35 year old ex baseball player for the boston Red Sox, sam, running a bar, along with his ex-baseball coach, and his bossy, always pregant waitress Carla. After only a few moments we met, inspiring writer/poet, bride-to-be Diane Chambers. When her boyfriend leaves her, she takes a job at Sam's bar, called Cheers. Norm is the same as he is in every season, a beer drinking, in-and-out-of-work, costumer. And hears a little known fact (Cheers fans should recognize those words), Cliff's character is only a supporting character, and has less scenes, than in any other scenes.
Although the 3rd season and up are really my favorites, the first season offers us some of the smartest comedy writting ever. At only 37 dollars, and the free shipping option, if you order from amazon, this is a must have.
Here are some things for Cheers fans to watch for.
1. Coach - this character was replaced by Woody after the actor, Nicholas Colasanto died. Although I love Woody, and think the Coach and Woody are very similar. There is a certain charm found in Coach, that makes him a truely memorable character.
2. Is that Paul? - For fans of the later seasons of Cheers, you may remember a character named Paul. He was never a main character, but he was a often returning character. Although Paul is not in these episodes, the actor, plays random characters throughout the seasons, including this one. So for those who remember him, he is in at least one episode of this season.
3. He loves her, he loves her not - Sam and Diane's story line is done perfectly. Although they don't get together until the end of this season, their comments, and arguments about each other, are not to be missed.
Order this dvd set today, and when it comes out, sit down and revisit a place where everybody know's your name.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest sitcoms in television history!, April 18, 2005
This review is from: Cheers: Season 1 (DVD)
One of the greatest television comedies in history, Cheers is an absolute "must see" for anyone who's ever had a regular hangout "where everybody knows your name". The shows centers itself around the friendly neighborhood Boston bar named Cheers. The bar is owned by former Boston Red Sox relief pitcher Sam Malone (Ted Danson). Sam has two employees - bartender Ernie "Coach" Pantusso and waitress Carla Tortelli. Things are great for Sam until he hires a jilted graduate student named Diane Chambers (Shelley Long) to waitress in the bar. Regular barflies Norm Peterson and Cliff Clavin round out a strong supporting cast.

The first season DVD offers patrons their first glimpse of the most famous bar in America. The character's identities are slowly unveiled as fans watch Sam in full "babe hound" mode, Carla in her usual pregnant state, Coach in his usual state of confusion, Norm in his usual drinking spot, Cliff spouting his usual arcane trivia, and Diane is her usual mode of telling everyone about everything.

Below is a list of the episodes included on the Cheers (Season 1) DVD:

Episode 1 (Give Me A Ring Sometime)

Episode 2 (Sam's Women)

Episode 3 (The Tortelli Tort)

Episode 4 (Sam At Eleven)

Episode 5 (Coach's Daughter)

Episode 6 (Any Friend Of Diane's)

Episode 7 (Friends, Romans, Accountants)

Episode 8 (Truce Or Consequences)

Episode 9 (Coach Returns To Action)

Episode 10 (Endless Slumper)

Episode 11 (One For The Book)

Episode 12 (The Spy Who Came In For A Cold One)

Episode 13 (Now Pitching, Sam Malone)

Episode 14 (Let Me Count The Ways)

Episode 15 (Father Knows Last)

Episode 16 (The Boys In The Bar)

Episode 17 (Diane's Perfect Date)

Episode 18 (No Contest)

Episode 19 (Pick A Con... Any Con)

Episode 20 (Someone Single, Someone Blue)

Episode 21 (Showdown 1)

Episode 22 (Showdown 2)

The DVD Report
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the greatest show, period, January 8, 2004
This review is from: Cheers: Season 1 (DVD)
The television show 'Cheers' meant so much to so many people. For me, I could relate to many characters. I went through my "Diane' and my 'Rebecca'. The appeal of this show was not just the comedy, but the writing. Cheers was a soap opera disguised as a SitCom. We cared about the people on the show. I still remember when Coach died. I thought it was the end of the show. Thankfully that wasn't the case. He was replaced, but never forgotten (Geronimo). We all cared about Sam and Diane, we wanted them to be happy. In the end though, the very last episode, I still don't know if they were or not.
But you can see the crazy, first season that made it all happen. Possibly the most touching episode is 'Coach's Daughter'. She finally understands what his idea of beauty is. That was great acting, and great writing. It doesn't get better than Cheers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of America's All-Time best Sitcoms, March 16, 2005
By 
Ian Phillips (Bolton, Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cheers: Season 1 (DVD)
Cheers very first season premiered on primetime U.S T.V in 1982. Little did people know that this series set in Boston's most famous bar would become such a phenomenon that would last for 11 years and stretch to an impressive 270 episode run. Cheers was deservedly showered with many awards and was still on top when the show sadly ended in 1993 (with the final episode bringing in record viewing figures for the series).

I was merely 2 years old when Cheers first swung into action. Of todays new generation of U.S sitcoms, Will And Grace (1999 -) and Friends (1994 - 2004) rank as my all-time favourites. Cheers is still near at the top of my list as the show is like fine wine - has gotten better with age! Obviously the clothes and hairstyles instantly date the series but overlooking that obvious fact Cheers still plays extremely well.

At long, long last (and way overdue) fans of this classic landmark series in American television history can enjoy the series once again with the first season being released in an attractive four DVD box set containing all 22 episodes that were filmed between 1982-83 (as well as boasting a host of interesting special features including an interview with Ted Danson and a fun trivia game that tests fans knowledge of the series).

The premiere episode of Cheers sees snotty academic Diane Chambers arrive at the infamous bar with her equally pompous partner only to be jilted before they were about to set off on a romantic vacation. In a twist, Diane is soon hired by Sam as a waitress and slowly succumbs to Sams somewhat brash charm. And that was how this fantastic series began.....

What makes Cheers such a knockout classic was the wonderful contrast of characters. Former pro baseball player Sam "Mayday" Malone is a slightly cocky but very likeable character with an eye for the ladies. Diane Chambers sweet but rather niaeve way of thinking becomes a foil for sharp witted and very boisterous Carla. Complimenting these three key characters are Coach, the hilariously eccentric and dim-witted but sweet and good-hearted barman, the notorious Norm who is renowned for his permanent seating spot at the corner of the bar and Cliff who fast becomes Norms sparring drinking partner.

Ted Danson as Sam Malone is at the central gravity of the show, running the aptly named Cheers bar with a cool efficency. Danson plays the down-to-earth, womanising character to great effect, bringing in a lot of the laughs where as Shelley Long as Diane Chambers (who becomes much more likeable and down to earth after the opening episode) is just utterly adorable. Ted Danson and Shelley Long both sparked off one another displaying naturalistic affection for one another and enjoying an electric on-screen chemistry. Sam and Diane soon became one of T.V's most popular (mismatched) couples. The fact that the two characters had both come from completely different walks of life added to the magic and chemistry of their complex on-screen partnership.

Rhea Perlman is universally excellent as tough-talking, no-nonsense Carla. Her fiery spirit and witty put downs became another essential ingredient to the show and Carla's on-screen feud with Diane was always hilarious. Perlman's impeccable timing was always, to say the least, hilarious.

The sweetness of Nicholas Colasanto's approach to his screwball character, Coach, is played with conviction and was like a breath of fresh air in the series whilst those two sparring drinking buddies played by George Wendt (Norm) and John Ratzenberger (Cliff) complimented the diverse blend of characters.

Cheers first season was a knockout and a thriving start to the shows history. Every episode was fabulous with superb comic playing from all the cast involved. Most of the amusing situations that alternated between different characters in the show were all (mostly) set in the Cheers bar. The titles of the season one episodes are as follows:

Ep 1: Give Me A Ring Sometime

Ep 2: Coach's Daughter

Ep 3: Sam's Women

Ep 4: The Tortelli Tort

Ep 5: Sam At Eleven

Ep 6: Any Friend Of Diane's

Ep 7: Friends, Romans And Accountants

Ep 8: Truce Or Consequences

Ep 9: Coach Returns To Action

Ep 10: Endless Slumper

Ep 11: One For The Book

Ep 12: The Spy Who Came In For A Cold One

Ep 13: Now Pitching, Sam Malone

Ep 14: Let Me Count The Ways

Ep 15: Father Knows Last

Ep 16: The Boys In The Bar

Ep 17: Diane's Perfect Date

Ep 18: No Contest

Ep 19: Pick A Con...Any Con

Ep 20: Someone Single, Someone Blue

Ep 21: Show Down (Part 1)

Ep 22: Show Down (Part 2)

The first season ends on the cracking episode where Sam and Diane finally get together after months of a tense, sexually-charged build up. The whole ethos of this first series was built on a will-they?, won't-they? premise. When the two did finally get it on, many viwers cheered to see these two loveable characters, that were so incompatable, finally consummate their relationship (off-screen of course).

Cheers (1982-93) remains a milestone in American sitcom history and has enjoyed success across the world including Britain where the show became a primetime favourite on the network television station, Channel 4. Lovers of American comedy will be enthralled!

Ian Phillips
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best Seasons of One of the Best Shows, February 28, 2003
By 
Josh "of Rohan" (ROSEVILLE, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cheers: Season 1 (DVD)
One of the best seasons of One of the Best Shows February 28, 2003
The acting and writing is some of the finest to grace the airwaves. Diane as played brilliantly by Shelly Long is a real treat. It took many characters to try to replace the vacuum left after she departed the series. In truth the show was not the same without her, but the entire series is well worth collecting. The show is a wonderful depiction of a diverse group of customers and employees that come together in something of a surrogate family in Boston Bar. This portion of the series also functions as a great romantic comedy fueled by stellar chemistry between Diane and Sam as polar opposites that attract. Very sharp humor and great dialogue punctuate the series. One of the ten best television shows of all time. The best TV DVD package released to date. These shows are highly repeatable and worth owning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CHEERS TO AN OUTSTANDING SERIES, May 27, 2003
By 
Alan W. Petrucelli (THE ENTERTAINMENT REPORT (ALAN W. PETRUCELLI)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cheers: Season 1 (DVD)
Raise your mug o' beer and give 28 cheers to this nifty 4-disc box set. (Die-hard devotees know that "28" is the number of Emmy Awards won by the show and its staff and stars.) All the memorable characters from all 22 of the first season's memorable episodes are here, including "Give Me a Ring Sometime," the series' pilot. The bonus material is OK, nothing great --- an acceptable interview with Ted Danson, a trivia game that's way too easy, though the featurette on "Stormin' Norm-isms" is as cute as Diane ever was ... or will be. Take a break from all your worries and get away to a place where everyone knows your name.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IT'S A LITTLE KNOWN FACT ......, September 18, 2006
This review is from: Cheers: Season 1 (DVD)
The series pilot is a dead giveaway that the creators knew they had a hit on their hands - a lot of times you'll see a small difference in quality between a pilot episode and the rest of the series, but in this case the first episode is, quality wise, at the same level as the other 21 episodes.

You can tell how long a show was on the air by the fuss they make when it eventually ends. And when Cheers ended, after 11 years, the fuss was huge.

The premise was fairly simple and pretty novel - take one bar in Boston, now, add some regulars, including Sam (lady's man and owner of the bar), Coach (the dim, but lovable barkeep), Carla (the one barmaid, who is equal parts feisty and fertile), Norm (Norm!) and Cliff (Mr. Zip's answer man). Gently add one dumped and down-on-her-luck brainiac (Diane) and stir. The result is a sitcom where the next story is whomever walks through the bar doors next. Brilliant!

While I love the humor and have come to appreciate the continuing saga of the bar regulars I like the style of Cheers the most. The majority of sitcoms involve some variation on the two-story, one family, suburban home, but Cheers took place in a bar. And that's it. Designed like a large stage play, the action never leaves the bar - people come and go, homes are mentioned, but RARILY does the camera leave the bar.

The four disc set comes with a nice helping of extras, but not a lot. The best is probably "Setting the Bay: A Conversation with Ted Danson", a four minute short wherein Ted Danson briefly goes over his role on Cheers and his thoughts about its charms, but honestly it was pretty short (8 minutes, most of which is clips from the show). In addition there are the following four clip collections;

"Love at First Sight: Opposites Distract"

"Coach Ernie Pantusso's Rules of the Game"

"I'll Drink to That: Stormin' Normisms"

"It's A Little Known Fact..."

Each features the best of the bits for each of the main characters, with the exception of Carla. The best would have to be the collection of Normisms - Norm's various responses to various greetings is a show standard and always good for a laugh, so compiling them all in one place is good for a hoot.

And finally, a Cheers trivia game, which tests to see if you've been paying close attention !

Now, if only I can get that theme out of my head...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Cheers: Season 1
Cheers: Season 1 by Ted Danson (DVD - 2003)
$22.98 $12.70
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.