Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Sixx AM Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Grocery Mother's Day Gifts Amazon Gift Card Offer ctstrph2 ctstrph2 ctstrph2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite UniOrlando Shop Now Learn more

Format: Amazon Video|Change
Price:$19.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 11, 2004
Cheers The Complete Fourth Season is finally being released. Amen! I got the first three seasons the day they came out, had them reserved weeks in advanced, and I'm gonna do the same with The Fourth Season of the greatest show of all time. This is the first season with Woody Harrelson, as Woody Boyd, since Nicholas Colasanto, who played Coach died late in the third season. I will truely miss Coach since he was classic, and hilarious, but I welcome Woody Harrelson to the cast. He's hilarious too! The Complete Fourth Season of Cheers is phenominal. A lot of classic moments, including The Cheers gangs first mix up with Gary's Old Towne Tavern, at the bowling alley,and the classic three episode season ender when Sammy is dating the politician women Janet Eldridge, and at he end askes Diane to marry him. This season is also the first time we see Lilith. Cliffie, and Norm, and Carla are as hilarious as ever as well. So join the gang at Cheers for its classic Complete Fourth Season. I just read on tvshowsondvd.com that there are gonna be no extras on CHEERS or Frasier The Complete Fourth Seasons. But we buy Cheers for the episodes, so its ok with me. Cheers is still classic, and I don't need extras. The episodes are enough. I certaintly won't give it less stars just because of no extras. The episodes themselves merit the 5 star rating. So still join Sammy,Cliffie,Normie,Woody,Diane,and Carla, in a place where everybody knows your name.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 15, 2015
Season 4 is one of my favorites. The season opens with Sam back from his disastrous attempt to stop Diane's wedding to Frasier Crane in Europe and the episodes give the pair plenty of opportunity to explore their odd and affecting dance of love/hate. Diane breaks it off with her alleged dream mate, Frasier (Kelsey Grammar), who descends into a bitter barfly.

Sam seems to pull back on his flagrant womanizing - in full force in season 3. Perhaps AIDS had finally made the mainstream media and his sleeping with everything that moved wasn't considered so harmlessly charming anymore - season 4 is the first time we hear anyone suggest that Sam is opening himself up for an eventual paternity suit. As someone who doesn't watch much TV these days, I don't know if characters like this still exist - is unabashed promiscuity still considered funny?

Ted Danson's natural charm makes you forgive his character's rather egregious behavior - but by the end of the season, Sam was sorely testing my sympathies. While I don't think any actor has portrayed extreme horniness with such appealing acuity before - watch his impressive physicality as week after week he anxiously bounces around Diane in various efforts to bed her - the fact that he repeatedly seduces her into a passionate clinch only to play dumb when she asks him what it all means started to grate on my nerves.

There's a few wonderful episodes where Sam starts to realize his mortality - the one where he suffers a hernia and ends up in the hospital, staring out into a rainy sky and contemplating his encroaching middle-age is particularly touching - and you start to feel the character is truly becoming multi-layered. But an emotionally mature man is apparently verboten at the bar, and each time Sam makes some strides towards growing up, the writers panic and pull him back to his adolescent antics (in their defense, emotional maturity is hard to plumb for laughs). By the end of the season, Diane (and myself, frankly) is half-crazed with his mixed messages.

This is also the season where Cliff, who previously has been a rather shy character, fully embraces his delusions of grandeur - oddly becoming convinced that he's a ladies' man. I guess the writers just didn't know what to do with him besides having him morph into a deranged gardener who thinks his vegetables resemble various famous people.

Woody Harrelson's sweet naivete is a welcome addition to the cast - but I still prefer Coach, who dies in season 3.

Rhea Perlman's character, Carla, remains disappointingly one-note - forever embittered and angry and lobbing insults at whomever happens to cross her path. Granted, the insults are always extremely witty, but it would have been nice to see her mellow a bit.

The season ends with what fans had long been waiting for - Sam proposing to Diane. Unfortunately, his revelation comes directly on the heels of a break-up with yet another woman (this one played by Kate Mulgrew, who would go on to Star Trek fame) and you get the feeling it's more about his growing conviction that he must settle down or risk becoming a laughingstock rather than any real desire to fully commit himself to a life partner.

When he finally proposes to Diane, he gives a heart-melting speech about being crazy about her since the first time he laid eyes on her - but it's a tad difficult to believe given that, 24 hours before that, he was bedding someone else. Diane very rightly expresses some concern about this, and instead of assuring her of his newfound maturity, he forces her to jump in the ocean and then reverts to his crippling commitmentphobia.

Tragically, Diane still looks at him with love glowing in her eyes, ready to embrace him with all of his faults. This was really about the time I wanted to scream at her to run, run for her life - or at least demand several venereal disease tests before agreeing to marriage.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 2, 2015
My wife and I laugh and laugh. The writing is terrific and obviously has not aged with time. Ted, Shelly and all the crew are terrific actors. We will start Season 5 soon and are looking forward to continued enjoyment. Even though we have seen many of these episodes when they first were played, we enjoy them as if they are fresh.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2015
Show was beginning to lost it's sharp edge here, and the loss of Coach was clearly evident. Woody was a decent character, but his character had a fine line to walk between innocent naive youth and outright stupidity. To his credit, his humor and appeal hit far more often than it missed, and he was a worthy addition to the cast. Diane's character was still very charming, cute, and true to form.Her jabs at Sam's intelligence were growing thin by this point though, and Sam's fixation of himself also grew increasingly tiresome and trite. What were once off the cuff, flippant and funny comments were deteriorating into increasingly sleazy and arrogant behavior. I'm not a prude at all, but this detracted from the overall allure of the show. Cliff and Norm's characters were still spot on, although the ideas for witty banter and back and forth were apparently losing steam. The appearances of Frasier were very welcome, and a refreshing interlude of what was becoming a more and more mundane viewing experience. Carla was always the weak link in this show, and her insults missed the mark even more than usual than the show's first 3 seasons. She got a good one off now and then, like one every 2 or 3 episodes. Overall a very fun and enjoyable show though, and head and shoulders above the shows it was competing against in the era. But the unraveling had undeniably begun. Then again, what do I know? Season 4 and 5 marked the 2nd part of the series, in between the Coach years and the dismal Kristie Alley years. Not great. Not horrible. And not overly memorable either. For me, it's a One Time View Season and it'll sit on the shelf for ages before it sees any play again. Increasingly ridiculous, unbelievable story lines and a light hearted view of failing marriages and infidelity keep the eyes rolling. Each cast member from time to time slips so far out of character credibility is strained to the breaking point.
22 comments|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2014
Woody's first season after the death of Coach. Carla has a hay-day with Woody, calling him all kinds of names that imply he's a hick. Dr. Lilith Stern arrives on board and becomes a love interest to Frasier. The barbs that Carla lays on Woody are hilarious. And poor, naive, sweet Woody just wants to be known as a good person. Don't miss it...this or ANY of the first 5 seasons of Cheers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 29, 2013
I had forgotten how great this series was as I think it lost some of its luster vs. Seinfeld and Everybody Loves Raymond. Cheers ensemble cast was amazing, especially when Coach was still alive. Harrellson was great too, but Rebecca came onto the show it "jumped the shark."
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon March 19, 2005
Cheers is a friendly Boston bar where everybody knows your name: For those of us who watched this show week after week during 1980s and later in reruns know that this is one of the greatest sitcoms ever made on TV. This DVD set contains all the 26 episodes of fourth season in four discs. This season makes two important additions to the series; following the death of Nicholas Colasanto (Coach), the season introduced Woody Boyd (Woody Harrelson), and Dr. Lilith Sternin (Bebe Neuwirth), who becomes match for Frasier. Later both win Emmy awards for their supporting roles. In this season we are presented with very interesting episodes such as when Sam visits Diane in a convent after she returns from Italy. Frasier tries to get over Diane and start dating Lilith. In other episodes, the gang tries to turn the tables on Gary's Old Town Tavern in a bowling match ("From Beer to Eternity"), and in the three-part season finale, Sam begins dating an older woman, a local politician (Kate Mulgrew) running for reelection, and Sam's memorable telephone call asking her to marry him, which many viewers remember. This set is reasonably priced and I highly recommend this to anyone who wants to enjoy a great sitcom.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 8, 2015
Great show from a day when actors were actually paid to act and were not carried by laugh tracks. These actors even had the depth to go the other direction and get serious at times. Can you imagine any of these new comedies pulling that off? The last line of the season 5 finale says it all... No new comedy could end a season like that! Just beautiful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2013
The laughs keep coming in this season. Coach is funnier than Woody, wish coach was still on the cast, but Woody is still fun. The video quality is very good for a HD transfer. If only they were filming in the 16x9 format back then. I give it a 4 star since this season is less funnier than the first 3 seasons. However it was still a great show and fun to watch to wind down before going to bed.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2013
Season 4 of Cheers is one of the very best seasons in all of television! The sad thing is that my favorite character (Coach Ernie P.) played flawlessly by the incomparable Nicholas Colasanto ) is not there, rest his soul. His presence is missed the remaining 8 years of the show's run. Season 4 has a perfect 10 rating on every episode. If you love exceptional writing, acting, camera work and story lines of the highest quality...treat yourself to a lot of laughter and watch Cheers! :) Be well.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.