Customer Reviews


5,744 Reviews
5 star:
 (3,582)
4 star:
 (1,249)
3 star:
 (441)
2 star:
 (219)
1 star:
 (253)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1,363 of 1,405 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality mount -- not cheap but low-cost (by design). Like it.
I was skeptical of this mount. Why should this be so cheap compared to other mounting kits? I ordered one (due to the price), and prepared to return it if I did not think the mount could handle the weight of the 52" LCD TV (Samsung).

Once I got it, I understood the cost. Good low-cost design and built with solid heavy duty steel.
- Two horizontal bars...
Published on June 3, 2009 by Young

versus
203 of 218 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Had to lower my score because of manufacturing changes
I have been using Cheetah mounts for several years now. They used to be a 5 star product, but I'm re-reviewing this product and lowering it to 1 star after they have made several changes to the product in an obvious attempt to cut manufacturing and shipping costs. After opening the package to hang my latest television, I discovered that the top and bottom rails are no...
Published 15 months ago by Rick


‹ Previous | 1 2575 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1,363 of 1,405 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality mount -- not cheap but low-cost (by design). Like it., June 3, 2009
By 
Young "GoRedSox" (San Jose, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cheetah Mounts APTMM2B Flush Tilt (1.3" Profile) TV Wall Mount Bracket for 32-65 inch LED, LCD and Plasma Flat Screen TVs Up To VESA 684x400 and 165lbs, Including a Twisted Veins 10' Braided High Speed with Ethernet HDMI Cable and a 6" 3-Axis Magnetic Bubble Level (Electronics)
I was skeptical of this mount. Why should this be so cheap compared to other mounting kits? I ordered one (due to the price), and prepared to return it if I did not think the mount could handle the weight of the 52" LCD TV (Samsung).

Once I got it, I understood the cost. Good low-cost design and built with solid heavy duty steel.
- Two horizontal bars are load-bearing, and for proper VESA spacing, they have to be parallel and relative distance must be in the right tolerances. These are made of solid steel.
- Two vertical bars (in the wall mount) are flimsey, and that's ok. it should be solid enough make a rectangle box w/ square angles. That's it.
- Two vertical mounting (to the TV) brackets are of heavy duty metal. Making this in to two parts (not one), reduction of material, but also allows free horizontal adjustment on the TV mount.
- By doing the above, the kit is small, uses less metal (and reduce shipping and material waste).

Positives
---------
1. Good solid and heavy duty construction.

2. Good value (low-cost). Paid less than $ 25 including shipping.

3. Easy install. Took 15 min to figure out the instruction (which is not totally clear), and 10~15 min to install and ready to watch.

4. built-in level worked well during marking of mouting holes on the wall --I tested w/ my own, and was consistent.

5. Once the mounted on the wall, and bracket on TV, you could adjust horizontal TV placement on the mount, just by sliding few inches left or right, post install. I expect this to be safe and true if the wall mount is directly screwed into the wall studs. I do not expect dry-wall install without the use of the studs to handle such adjustment.

6. The brackets on TV could also be used to adjust vertical TV placement by a few inches up and down. But for this one, you'll need to lift TV off the bracket and adjust and pull back :-).

7. There is a reasonable space (I would say, just right) from the wall to the TV to get cables/connectors through WITHOUT using any expensive 90 degree connectors. Plenty of space between two horizontal bars to put extra power outlet and data HDMI cable outlet to hide all the cables.

8. This supports tilt up/down, and works well. Amazon product description does not make it clear.

Negatives
---------
1. Just one. Clearer instruction so that I do not need to spend 15 min figuring things out. One could learn a lot form IKEA :-).
2. Packing/Packaging -- Not necessarily Cheetah Mount issue -- mine came w/o missing parts, although I noticed torn cardboard box edges and some parts COULD have been lost during shipping. Either double box, or have Cheetah use heavier box stock.

Helpful Hints & Comments
-------------------------
1. DO NOT forget to tighten the screws (2) on the bottom horizontal bars AFTER TV is placed on the wall mount -- especially if you are in CA w/ quake. This is what prevents TV falling off the mount accidentally. But do not over-tighten (you are NOT securing from left-to-right movement).
2. Very happy w/ my purchase. Will get one more for my other TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


311 of 328 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The more expensive wall mounts are overkill!, April 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cheetah Mounts APTMM2B Flush Tilt (1.3" Profile) TV Wall Mount Bracket for 32-65 inch LED, LCD and Plasma Flat Screen TVs Up To VESA 684x400 and 165lbs, Including a Twisted Veins 10' Braided High Speed with Ethernet HDMI Cable and a 6" 3-Axis Magnetic Bubble Level (Electronics)
I rarely write reviews, but I have been installing HDTVs for over 5 years and I am constantly getting questions from people asking which wall mount they should buy. Without exception, I refer them to Amazon and Cheetah Mounts. I've used over a dozen of these mounts for installations, and other than the built-in level being NOT trustworthy, this is a great mount and should work for just about any TV in the 32-65" range. I have used this to mount anything from lighter LCD/LED displays to large heavier plasma TV's and it supports all of them just fine. I have also used other expensive wall mounts in the past and so I can provide a comparative review.

A lot of the reviews say the Cheetah mount looks cheap or flimsy. In comparison to the more expensive mounts, I would agree with that observation. However, when you understand the physics of what the wall mount is actually doing, you'll realize that a bulkier mount really isn't giving you much additional support in a fixed or tilt mount application. That's because contrary to popular opinion, the wall mount isn't really carrying the entire weight of your TV - in fact, with the exception of articulating arm mounts, it's actually not even carrying a majority of it. When the back bracket is installed across two studs (which is absolutely the way it should be done) and the bolts are firmly attached, the bracket, wallboard, and studs become tied together as one cohesive unit. This allows maximum load transfer between the wall mount and the studs, which leaves the studs bearing most of the weight. This concept applies the same whether you use a Cheetah mount or a more expensive mount.

I am not saying that the more expensive mounts that use thicker gauge steel aren't stronger than the Cheetah Mount. I would definitely wager that in a side-by-side test with increasing weights, the Cheetah Mount would probably fail before any of the other mounts I have worked with just based on the gauge of steel differences. But, we're not talking about hanging your Ford Focus on the wall...we're talking about hanging a flat-panel TV and at the end of the day, the mount either holds your TV on the wall or it doesn't. And, the Cheetah Mount does a fine job doing that. This particular Cheetah mount is rated for 32"-65" TV's up to 165 lbs, and I cannot attest to the validity of that because you'll be hard-pressed to find any flat-panel display that comes even close to 165 lbs. The heaviest TV I have ever mounted in the 32" - 65" range is a 65" Panasonic plasma that weighed 100 lbs, and that is considered to be one of the heaviest TV's out there. This mount handled that TV perfectly fine.

A few pieces of advice regarding working with the Cheetah Mount:

1) As mentioned, do not trust the level that is built into the bracket - I have had some that were OK and some that were way off. The separate 6-inch level that is included is sufficient, but if you have a 2-ft or 4-ft level, you'll be most assured of being level.

2) If you don't have a stud finder, invest in one (you can use the money you saved buying this bracket vs. a more expensive one). If you have a stud finder, make sure the batteries are good. The bolts used to attach the bracket to the wall are large, so you want to hit close to the center of the stud to get maximum hold.

3) Connect the cables to the TV before hanging it. You may have to have a 3rd person connect the cables just as you are raising the TV. Once the TV is on the bracket, it will sit so close to the wall that it is almost impossible to maneuver cables around.

Long story short, if you're skeptical trusting your $1,000+ investment to a $25 bracket, don't be. This thing will work just fine, and you'll be patting yourself on the back that you spent so much less on your wall mount than your friends!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


203 of 218 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Had to lower my score because of manufacturing changes, April 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cheetah Mounts APTMM2B Flush Tilt (1.3" Profile) TV Wall Mount Bracket for 32-65 inch LED, LCD and Plasma Flat Screen TVs Up To VESA 684x400 and 165lbs, Including a Twisted Veins 10' Braided High Speed with Ethernet HDMI Cable and a 6" 3-Axis Magnetic Bubble Level (Electronics)
I have been using Cheetah mounts for several years now. They used to be a 5 star product, but I'm re-reviewing this product and lowering it to 1 star after they have made several changes to the product in an obvious attempt to cut manufacturing and shipping costs. After opening the package to hang my latest television, I discovered that the top and bottom rails are no longer 1 solid piece of steel. They are now two pieces that need to be bolted together in the center by 12 screws, just so they can make the box smaller. The steel itself is much thinner now and instead of a powder coat finish, they are using cheap spray paint. There used to be a bubble level attached to the top bracket, in addition to a small torpedo level in the box. The mounted bubble level is now gone, and the torpedo level has been replaced with a cheaper one too. You used to be able to adjust the tilt of the mount using thumb levers. Those thumb levers are now gone, and have been replaced with philips screws, so now you need to try to hold a screwdriver in the 3" gap between the wall and the television. Believe it or not, they even cut back on the lag bolts used to secure the mount to the wall. Now, instead of 4 large lag bolts, they now give you 2 large and 2 small. I used to be able to assemble one of these in 5 minutes; this one took 30.

What's worse is they replaced the original Cheetah mount with this piece of crap, so they could keep all the 5-star reviews they had received on the previous bracket! What they should have done is listed it as a new product, as they have completely changed every aspect of the product and certainly the quality. Very deceptive practice! I will certainly never purchase another bracket by this manufacturer. They should be ashamed of themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


364 of 408 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Can't beat it for the price! Cheetah APTMM2B, March 18, 2011
By 
A. Thomas (Washington DC) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cheetah Mounts APTMM2B Flush Tilt (1.3" Profile) TV Wall Mount Bracket for 32-65 inch LED, LCD and Plasma Flat Screen TVs Up To VESA 684x400 and 165lbs, Including a Twisted Veins 10' Braided High Speed with Ethernet HDMI Cable and a 6" 3-Axis Magnetic Bubble Level (Electronics)
Just installed a 42" Plasma in our bedroom, and here's my take:

This is actually a surprisingly high-quality, sturdy mount. When I took it out of the box, I was pleasantly surprised.

Be forewarned that the directions that come with this kit are mediocre at best. The pictures are vague, and only after wrangling with this pile of metal did I figure out how this thing is supposed to be assembled and installed. Please note that the mollies included in this kit are for MASONRY, not drywall. Probably obvious to most, but again the anemic instructions may lead you down a path of destruction. I may or may not have been led down said path... :-)

So if you're using this in your home, here's what you need to do: 1. Assemble the rack on the floor/table/bed/whatever, and make sure it is square. 2. Find the wall studs, and mark them lightly with a pencil. 3. Hold the mount up on the wall where you want it, and the make sure the holes (not the "obvious" 4 holes) align with the stud marks. Adjust as necessary. 3. Level the mount horizontally, and drill pilot holes into the studs (make sure you are on-center!) and drill THROUGH the appropriate holes on the mount. 4. Use the included lag bolts to affix the assembled rack to the wall with an impact driver. 5. Attach the vertical bars to the TV, and then hook them on the installed rack. 6. Slide the mounted TV left/right, and tighten the clamps once the preferred angle is achieved. 7. Carefully screw the lower set screws into place (which hold the TV in place in the event that it gets bumped).

I was just at <a commercial retailer> recently, and they have the EXACT same mount, under a different brand name, for $140.00. Had I purchased their product, I'm sure this review would be a tad more negatively biased.

The bottom line: It works, it's sturdy, it's flexible. The instructions are lacking, which leads to frustration, but your average DYI person can pretty easily figure this out.

Would I buy it again? Yes. In fact, I AM going to be buying another one real soon for the basement setup.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


99 of 109 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy this! You'll never level your TV!, August 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cheetah Mounts APTMM2B Flush Tilt (1.3" Profile) TV Wall Mount Bracket for 32-65 inch LED, LCD and Plasma Flat Screen TVs Up To VESA 684x400 and 165lbs, Including a Twisted Veins 10' Braided High Speed with Ethernet HDMI Cable and a 6" 3-Axis Magnetic Bubble Level (Electronics)
You'll notice the majority of the positive reviews about this product are from a few years ago. Apparently since then, they've changed the design such that the supporting main piece comes disassembled and in four pieces. I don't know if it's just incredibly difficult to assemble this properly, or if it's now just a bad design, but the actual mount frame IS NOT LEVEL. As another reviewer mentioned, it's sort of like a bow-tie once assembled. However, this is not noticeable to the naked eye. You'll think you mounted this thing level until you go to set your TV upon it, and then you'll realize in frustration just how crooked it is.

Like many other mounts, this thing goes into the wall studs with huge bolts, so there's very little room to make any corrections to the out-of-level condition. Thus, you're left with moving it a few inches up or down on the wall and starting over. I tried hanging this thing twice, and both times it was not level. It wasn't until after the second try that I realized the problem is the mount itself and not my leveling skill. Not to mention the level that comes with this thing reads differently if you have it upside down (yes, you read that right, there is a proper orientation on the level - apparently the top of it isn't as straight as the magnetic bottom side).

Even though I didn't get this far, I noticed the tilt functionality has to be set with the TV off of the wall. What's worse, both sides move independently of each other, so you'd better hope you get them lined up perfectly with each other before putting your TV up. I would imagine this could take a bit of trial and error to get right.

My final complaint is really more of an annoyance that was fairly easy for me to overcome but may pose problems for others. The "safety" screws on the rails on the back of the TV that you screw in from the bottom once its hung are difficult to reach. I used a very long screwdriver and a flashlight, but given how close to the wall the TV is, it was a tight fit, and there's no way you could get in the handle of the screwdriver or your hands between the TV and the wall. So, if you're going to use this and actually care about properly securing it, you will need a very long phillips screwdriver to do so. How long depends upon the size of your TV. I used one that was about a foot long to reach the screws behind my 42" TV.

Overall, I would recommend folks stay away from this mount. All of the glowing reviews for it were obviously for an earlier, different one-piece design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 53 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars CHECK THE DATES ON THE AMAZON REVIEWS, November 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cheetah Mounts APTMM2B Flush Tilt (1.3" Profile) TV Wall Mount Bracket for 32-65 inch LED, LCD and Plasma Flat Screen TVs Up To VESA 684x400 and 165lbs, Including a Twisted Veins 10' Braided High Speed with Ethernet HDMI Cable and a 6" 3-Axis Magnetic Bubble Level (Electronics)
As others have noted, the 5 star reviews written on AMZ were for a prior revision of this product - not the one shown here. The current product for sale is junk. Cheetah advertises this new unit as "improved" and "using less metal". Read that as "cost-cutting" that doomed one of the best cost-quality ratio TV mounts.

The new unit flimsy, uneven, and the included hardware is so bad the nuts will strip the screws on a medium torque setting. Beware, they even cut costs with the lag screws.

I fell for the "overall 4-5 star" rating game here on Amazon. Cheetah is advertising the current (terrible) revision with the older (quality) units' ratings. I came back and checked the review dates & now I see what they did. Caveat emptor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of time and poorly made., November 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cheetah Mounts APTMM2B Flush Tilt (1.3" Profile) TV Wall Mount Bracket for 32-65 inch LED, LCD and Plasma Flat Screen TVs Up To VESA 684x400 and 165lbs, Including a Twisted Veins 10' Braided High Speed with Ethernet HDMI Cable and a 6" 3-Axis Magnetic Bubble Level (Electronics)
The screws and the holes did not match. Poorly made. Honestly speaking I feel this product should be removed from amazon. It's not worth to be sold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


194 of 237 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great TV Mount, December 21, 2008
By 
Ethan John (Metro Detroit) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cheetah Mounts APTMM2B Flush Tilt (1.3" Profile) TV Wall Mount Bracket for 32-65 inch LED, LCD and Plasma Flat Screen TVs Up To VESA 684x400 and 165lbs, Including a Twisted Veins 10' Braided High Speed with Ethernet HDMI Cable and a 6" 3-Axis Magnetic Bubble Level (Electronics)
The Cheetah mount is an incredible value. The mount is amazingly sturdy and very well built. It took me about 30 minutes to assemble the parts out of the box. Then another hour to mount the TV to the brick above our fireplace. I used 4 Quicktap blue masonry anchors to attach the mount to the wall, and it is so secure I could probably hang from the TV itself.

I was also pleased to find that the mount included all of the hardware (bolts, washers, spacers) that you would need to mount almost any VESA compatible flat panel. Our TV is a 52 inch Samsung (750 series) and the bolts I needed were included.

Overall, a great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


157 of 192 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bullit Proof, December 29, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cheetah Mounts APTMM2B Flush Tilt (1.3" Profile) TV Wall Mount Bracket for 32-65 inch LED, LCD and Plasma Flat Screen TVs Up To VESA 684x400 and 165lbs, Including a Twisted Veins 10' Braided High Speed with Ethernet HDMI Cable and a 6" 3-Axis Magnetic Bubble Level (Electronics)
I love my new home theater system.

In fact, I love it so much that I tend to watch it a bit too much.

The wife and I got in a heated debate about my new television use. One thing led to another, and she tried to rip my 50" Samsung clean off the wall.

Thanks to this mount the TV is still on the wall, and working well.

Mount > Angry wife.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


157 of 193 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mount is fine, once you have all the pieces, March 23, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cheetah Mounts APTMM2B Flush Tilt (1.3" Profile) TV Wall Mount Bracket for 32-65 inch LED, LCD and Plasma Flat Screen TVs Up To VESA 684x400 and 165lbs, Including a Twisted Veins 10' Braided High Speed with Ethernet HDMI Cable and a 6" 3-Axis Magnetic Bubble Level (Electronics)
I ordered this mount after doing all kinds of research on mounts out there for my new Toshiba 37" - the reviews were good, and the price even better. And, as you know by now, one could easily pay $300 for a tilt mount if they didn't know any better and listened to the folks at best buy.

Missing Part:
I ordered on a Friday, and it arrived the following Thursday. The box was tattered and looked like it had been through a war. It was obviously a returned item, as the contents (hardware, etc) was not organized in any way. Also, there was a major piece missing from the kit that would keep me from being able to mount the TV over the weekend. very disappointing. Now, i don't mind getting someone's returned item, as long as all the parts are there. It drives me crazy to know that Cheetah resold this mount without first checking to make sure everything was there. On Friday evening, i submitted a 'problem' through amazon to the seller - i was sure this was going to go unresolved and i would have to find another solution. On Saturday, low and behold, i received a phone call from a rep at Cheetah who said he would send out the part, 2-day air, first thing Monday morning.

Lost, i'm sure:
On Thursday, i call the Cheetah rep back and tell him that I haven't rec'd the part yet. he tells me that UPS lost it in the shipping and he just sent another one. You know what, just tell the truth - you forgot to send it Monday. Just don't lie - it looks awful. Now, i should get it Monday and another weekend is lost.

Wrong part:
Monday comes and the package arrives FedEx. Wrong part! I had made it crystal clear which part was missing and he seemed to know exactly which one it was. I called him up and he blamed his warehouse people and said that he would go to the warehouse himself and watch the staff member place the correct part in the bag and slap the mailing sticker on there. oy - this is getting ridiculous.

Got it:
The correct part came on Wednesday and i'm good to go. I installed it on Sunday and it went up without any problems and I'm happy. the mount is sturdy, adjusts horizontally very easily, and was simple to install. The built in level is wrong, so use your own.

I am happy with the end result at the price i paid. The effort it took me to get the mount and all it's pieces was insane, but i must say that the people at Cheetah mounts were nothing but nice and responsive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2575 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.