Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars works great, but none have been white
works great! i have used this all summer. have not had any ants get in the feeder with the bell, but the feeder i had the green gaurd (kind with pesticides) statred failing after 2 months. i can reuse the bell for years to come. i don't know why they show the bell in white- i have now ordered 5 and everyone of them has been red.
Published on September 28, 2011 by M. C. Rick

versus
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bell ant guard
Works like a charm for keeping ants at bay. The only negative is the S hooks included with the bell. But they are a significant negative. They are too small to hang directly on a shepherd's hook, so you need to hang them from a larger S hook. That coupled with the fact that it can be difficult to hang a feeder from the bottom one makes the hanging process a real...
Published on September 6, 2012 by K. Holjes


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars works great, but none have been white, September 28, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cherry Valley ANT OFF Plastic Bell Ant Guard for Nectar Bird Feeders Model 5572 (Lawn & Patio)
works great! i have used this all summer. have not had any ants get in the feeder with the bell, but the feeder i had the green gaurd (kind with pesticides) statred failing after 2 months. i can reuse the bell for years to come. i don't know why they show the bell in white- i have now ordered 5 and everyone of them has been red.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bell ant guard, September 6, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cherry Valley ANT OFF Plastic Bell Ant Guard for Nectar Bird Feeders Model 5572 (Lawn & Patio)
Works like a charm for keeping ants at bay. The only negative is the S hooks included with the bell. But they are a significant negative. They are too small to hang directly on a shepherd's hook, so you need to hang them from a larger S hook. That coupled with the fact that it can be difficult to hang a feeder from the bottom one makes the hanging process a real challenge. Making matters worse is that they fall off the bell very easily. The first time I tried hanging the bell with my feeder attached, I not only spilled a significant amount of the hummingbird nectar, I also lost the S hook that hangs from the bell's clanger in the foliage beneath my shepherd's hook. To prevent a recurrence, I tried using pliers to tighten the tiny hooks onto the bell, but that doesn't work either because they are so small. I ended up going to the hardware store and buying larger S hooks to replace the bell's inadequate ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Requires petroleum jelly!, September 10, 2012
By 
Mary (DECATUR, GA, United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cherry Valley ANT OFF Plastic Bell Ant Guard for Nectar Bird Feeders Model 5572 (Lawn & Patio)
I bought this for my hummingbird feeder ant problem. I was sold by the claim that it doesn't require messy salad oil or water to work. "Great!", I thought. Sadly, it still requires the use of arguably messier petroleum jelly on the inside of the bell. I end up with the jelly all over my hands while i'm trying to unhook/hook the hummingbird feeder to refill it. However, it does seem to keep the ants at bay, and for five bucks, it's not worth returning it. If I could go back in time though, I'd probably have ordered a simpler ant moat that just uses water.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ANT GUARD, July 21, 2012
By 
Ann "one-eye" (NESHKORO, WI, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cherry Valley ANT OFF Plastic Bell Ant Guard for Nectar Bird Feeders Model 5572 (Lawn & Patio)
Excellent to keep ants out of feeders. This really works so much better than the ones you fill with water.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short..., August 20, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cherry Valley ANT OFF Plastic Bell Ant Guard for Nectar Bird Feeders Model 5572 (Lawn & Patio)
...and sweet. This item does exactly what it claims. I love it!!! These came in red, which was an added bonus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THESE WORK ~ and can be used year after year., January 19, 2013
This review is from: Cherry Valley ANT OFF Plastic Bell Ant Guard for Nectar Bird Feeders Model 5572 (Lawn & Patio)
These work exactly as they say they do ~
Spread a thin layer of petroleum jelly inside the bell
and hang it between the feeder & the hanger.
These cute little bells keep the ants away ~ period!

If the layer is quite thin as directed ~ keep an eye on the feeder
that you don't see any ants ~ you may need to reapply 1 or 2 times during the season.

I applied the jelly a little thicker ~ approx 1/16" or so ~ then indicated on the box.
In the heat of summer ~ it dripped a couple times on top the feeder. (feeder is in full sun)
But the layer lasted the entire Hummingbird season with-out any ants.

I used to use Perky-pet ant guard which contains pesticides to work & is colored green.
It looses it's potency in one season, and states precautions how to dispose of it.
I like this guard better in every way ~ works perfectly ~ doesn't contain pesticides ~
and is reusable.

I received the red color which is a plus ~
since Hummingbirds are naturally drawn to red.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, July 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cherry Valley ANT OFF Plastic Bell Ant Guard for Nectar Bird Feeders Model 5572 (Lawn & Patio)
It did arrive in red which matches the feeder. It's the only one I could find that looks nice and not like a spray paint cap hanging upside down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Winner, June 25, 2012
By 
Duffer. "Bo" (Conyers, GA United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cherry Valley ANT OFF Plastic Bell Ant Guard for Nectar Bird Feeders Model 5572 (Lawn & Patio)
This is an inexpensive yet effective product that keeps ants at bay. The product description depicts this ant guard as being white. The color I received is red which blends in with the red feeder. This is very simple to set up and even includes S-Hooks. This is an item well worth considering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very easy to use, and really works!, March 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cherry Valley ANT OFF Plastic Bell Ant Guard for Nectar Bird Feeders Model 5572 (Lawn & Patio)
These kind of ant guards are hard to find, and was happy that Amazon had them. All you do is coat it with Vaseline and hang it with your feeder; it works alot better than the ones you have to fill with water.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Frustrating, December 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cherry Valley ANT OFF Plastic Bell Ant Guard for Nectar Bird Feeders Model 5572 (Lawn & Patio)
It doesn't really keep out the ants, they seem to know how to crawl under it to drop onto the bird feeder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.